Christian Brides

yup. if cookie doesnt mind i hope to put it up on my wedding slides during the church.

i'm not doing the conventional growing up til we meet photo slides. =) i hope to do something different to display while ppl are waiting for the ceremony to begin. cookie's write up came at the right time. =) it's very attention capturing and meaningful! =)

hope she'll say yes! =P

Really touched by the sharing and support here.. glad that I know this thread cos the testimonies are very impactful.. and help me grow stronger in faith..

I have good news to share.. I can serve food outside my chapel.. the cleaners agree to standby on my wedding day to clean up the school.. yesterday was praying about it and today God answers my prayers..

Now will be doing a very mini reception cos we don’t have much time for reception.. now sourcing for ideas..

Hi Teng,
We have actually booked a function room for the HM but my bf wants a church atmosphere.. so we got a chapel instead.. more cosy and intimate…

Hi cookies,
Will take note your comments… thanks for your help

SL... now that you mention it, i totally forgot to do something to "entertain" the guests before the ceremony. hee... my organist was playing some light music that's all. but from the way it went, i think the guests pretty much entertained themselves!

ggjj... Indeed God answers prayers! what do you mean by mini? perhaps can have a "normal" reception instead of the full wedding menu?

was surprised and saddened by the posts which appeared here since I last came. I truly feel this thread is the most open and moving one.

I am quite glad to be able to find a gp of sisters in christ to share with. To be frank, I am a pretty new christian who has very few close christian frens and I often long for someone whom i can confide in in a 'christian manner'. feel very lonely sometimes. i cant talk to my close frens who are not christians abt church and christian stuff cos they will look at me strangely. I do try to share gospel to them but so far no luck.

Tin Tin, I am so sorry about what happened. will pray for you. Do take care of yourself.

Skye - could i trouble you to forward me the schedule for the wedding and reception too? I've pm-d you my email. Many thanks!

hi c1980,
mmm.. still brainstorming.. cos my initial plan is the church ceremony start at 2:30pm.. which will end around 3:30pm.. my dinner starts 7:30pm.. so need to rework the timing.. i want something like so that people can eat dinner later on.. so am toying around the idea of doing pastries, cakes, kuehs, etc.. what u think?

can u share with me the quotations for catering.. as well as recommendations.. thanks

hi ggjj...
for caterers...
my recommendations are...
a) NeoGarden (but they don't do table deco)
b) Elsie's Kitchen
c) Mum's Kitchen (i used them)

the price range for wedding packages tend to start at $10 (up to $12, $15 and $20) per pax. they are competitive on ...
a) taste / quality
b) deco
c) fringe benefits / offers

oh yeah... choose the tea reception as they will concentrate on the light stuff :: finger food so that your guests still have space. the other point of view is that, dinners seldom start on time. so maybe buffer for them to last till 8plus?

i had a pretty huge catering because i had like 300-350 pax...

St andrew only allows anglicans to hold weddings in their church.. whereas Salvation Army allows non members to rent the chapel for weddings.. do contact them..

St andrew cathedral is really nice!!!!!!!!!!

Hi c1980,

No problems sharing the website. Just wanted to share with everyone some of the stuff I learnt during my marriage prep course.

Hi SL,

I'm afraid not.... think the only exception is if you're from another Anglican church that's undergoing reno/not available.

As for the significance, no problems using that for your wedding slides. Actually, I have some more info but didn't put them up coz think it is not so relevant to S'pore context.

Hi Tintin,

God knows your deepest desires and will definitely bring the right man to you when the right time comes. Be strong k? Know that God loves you and He will somehow turn all bad into good. Believe that God will not only restore, but also provide you with someone who's 1000x better into your life, someone who loves God and who loves you lots more than you could ever love him...

thanks cookies!

i have done it up swee swee already! really excited about it. =)

btw, ericia, i'm glad to have found this forum too. it really goes beyond the ask questions and wait for my questions to be answered. which is really wonderful.

maybe one day we can have a big gathering just to see what we all look like! for all you know we might even be ex school mates or something! =)

thanks all for the info on SAC. =)

Dear ggjj,

Thank God that ur prayers were answered. Have not started proper research on caterers so the others will have to provide feedback. But my office had a tea reception recently by Purple Sage. General consensus was that it was over-priced and not too good. While the layout was pretty, the food was soggy. We had phad thai, cream puffs, sandwiches, spring rolls and the usual deep fried finger food. The guys complained abt the quality of the food, though I'm not sure if the sogginess was due to the caterers or us...

Hi Ericia,

Keep up with the faith! Press on, we would be here to 'listen' & spur you on!

Heyhey TinTin,

*Hugs* for you. Philippians 4:8 'Think about all you can Praise God for & be glad about it'

Harlow Cookies,

I think those stuff about biblical point of views on marriage are really gd for my non-Christian guests. May I also use them in my upcoming wedding? Thanks alot in advance!

TinTin, though I am not a Christian, but I have chanced upon this thread and know what has happend to you. Though we have never met before, we have spoken before briefly on the phone when I was enquiring on The Pond Package.

I wish to let you know that, I can really feel your pain. My close friend has that experience before, right after her ROM, the guy asked for a break up as he got involved with another woman. She kept it a secret, but when I cant reach her on the phone, I felt that she is in somekind of trouble. I am glad I found her during her darkest period, and lend her a shoulder to cry. But she recovered fast with her religion, I am sure you will do the same too. Be brave.

hi ggjj,
read that u're looking for caterer? i've done some research on different caterers - lavish, javalink, chillipadi, cjs catering, angeli. these were some of the few that had good reviews on the SB forum, but i've recently booked with angeli...

mebbe if u can share what you're looking out for in a caterer (i.e. food quality or decor or both just as important to u?), i can share with you my 'observations' abt the caterers...

Just to update, I will be having my HM in St Teresa after all as after asking around christian churches, they are either not available, too expensive or have to get my own choir. Plus I have to ROM first as my pastor cannot do that part. But I hope that I can still get support from you gals regarding catering and other wedding prep stuff.

Hi meh meh,
Promised to give you details when more confirmed, here it is, I will be having my HM at St Teresa on 3rd dec this year and my banquet will be on 5th at Hyatt. my BS is Silhouette.

hi rokko,

i am oso in the cater research...

me going for food rather than deco....but deco is still expected for my church recep...so any information??

many thanks for the advice and suggestions.. i more interested in food quality and affordability (read: cheap price).. rokko, pls share the quotes, if possible.. thanks.. [email protected]

hi cookies,
can i use ur info on the website too.. cos a lot of my friends are non-christians.. my family too..

i am happy to see that even thro the web, we can minister to one another.. this is amazing.. the love and grace of God is with us... in abundance.. i love our almighty God for He is so good.. amen

hi carelinwen,

my pastor cannot solemnise as well.. but he usually works with a JP who will witness the whole ceremony... and the JP will conduct the signing of the papers at the end of the service.. so the couple wun need to take vows twice..prob you can check with your pastor... =)

hi Wong YY and ggjj,
if you're going for good food and affordable, i would strongly recommend cjs catering. they cater for my sister's church all the time and my sister says i can be assured of their food quality... and also their variety. i think for $15/pax you get something like 16 dishes? hehee... very value for money... i need to check if i still have the quotes... but the only downside is that i think they are not very strong on their decor. even my sister says they only ask them to cater, decor is always done by the church people. you can check out their website: http://www.cjscatering.com.sg/

the rest:
chillipadi - not bad, very unique nonya dishes and nonya kuehs, and they even decorate the table with red batik cloth which i think makes it very distinctive. you can talk to stephanie and arrange for free food tasting to decide whether you like the food first... http://www.chillipadi.com.sg/

lavish and javalink - i think they're both quite ok in terms of food and decor, cant really comment too much about that. Lavish did a really nice reception for my fren's wedding at chijmes tho, but he paid quite a lot for that, something like $22/pax, so i think lavish can be quite pricey...
http://www.lavish.com.sg/
http://www.javalink.com.sg/

angeli - im catering from them... food is reportedly good and i've met the manager and seen the pictures - decor is done very well with candles and flowers and teddy bears! and if u have more than 400 pax they will serve complimentary brownies and ice cream for guests... *yums* so i think they're good both in food and decor... http://www.angeli.com.sg (click on the gallery to see pics of the food and setup)

me also looking for caterer now....what abt kriston? they say they do quite good wedding recep right?

rokko all these are for tea recep only? how abt lunch buffets?

Hi ggjj

I'm getting Elsie's Kitchen's tea recep. Had tried at a friends wedding in May. It's not the wedding tea recep, just normal package used for maybe seminars? It costs $5/pax & has a wide spread to select from.. I love the Satay, Chicken wings, Chicken Pie & Mini Fruit tart served then. My mum had a try at Elsie's recently, and she said the sushi's gd too! Can highly consider them yah? They are going to throw in deco (note, only silk flowers) for 300 pax & above.. I would be have 300-350 guests, so wld be getting this in the package too.

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 17 Aug 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Elsie's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Port Dickson</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest?</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Carelinwen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">3 &amp; 5 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Theresa's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hyatt</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ericia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font></td></tr></table>

ggjj &amp; any other BTBs whose details aren't tabulated, care to share your details as shown above? Doing some housekeeping here for all the sisters to know how we are doing..

hi meh meh and rokko,
thanks for your suggestions.. will check it out.. now trying to contain my cost as the reception is really very unexpected..

my details are as follows:
date: 17 dec 05
church: SJI Chapel
decor: should be Secret Garden (still discussing)
Banquet: Conrad
BS: Sophia
Photo/Video: Pentaserve/Novex Media
Honeymoon: Caribbean Cruise &amp; Florida tour
Lovenest: Pinnacle@Doxton
Invites Printer: Wedding Butler

heard that CJS is good but quite troublesome if not enough help to decorate the church up. i used mum's kitchen. had a good experience with them too.

Mehmeh : your number of guests are about the same as mine
scary...

hi ggjj,
just realised that u're staying at The Pinnacle too? hee... can be future neighbours. Our unit is Block 1B and one of the higher floors. Where is ur unit?

to the other girls,
1) CJS is good! They catered for an office function recently and we all loved their food. It was really cheap - about $6 per person for a wide spread of dishes. But as mentioned, their deco is quite ordinary...
2) Fostr* (replace * with e) is a little expensive. Its dishes are quite "high class" and different but only taste slightly above average. However, their desserts are great! We girls kept helping ourselves to their mango crepe and bread and butter pudding. Their brownies and fruit tarts were so-so only. Good presentation as well.
3) Four Seasons catering is so-so. The food is all right and their deco is slightly above average. But i think that they are slightly overpriced in light of their overall quality.

Btw, how is Elsie's Kitchen like? Heard good reviews for their food but have yet to taste it myself. Will post more info after I attend Kriston and Rasel's workshops. As is evident, I am still in the preliminary process of research. Any other input on the issue of caterers is more than welcome! =)

hi rokko,
tried to view the CJS website.. but cant view leh.. u got the quotes for it.. sounds good..

i am only want to cater for abt 100 pax.. do i need to decorate the catering place.. i thought makan only.. no need to decorate.. it is just a short tea reception..

hi count,
my company got rasel before.. in one of our christmas party.. food is nice but portion is not much.. dont know whether it is festive season or what but it is quite ex

in unit 1d.. mid floors.. i the 38XX people queue.. i think u must be one of the early birds right

hi you can try CDCS. they are not too bad too. =) and they do up the reception area too. so very comprehensive. cheapest menu is at $6 i think... =)

i almost got the pinnacle@duxton too! but later decided i really didnt want to wait til 2010... =) so bought something else instead. =)

i just finished all the slideshows i wanna play during dinner and church! phew!

another 3 and a half weeks! mehmeh, are you excited? yours is first!

hey mehmeh...now that i realise your lovenest at Holland V too ....not bad...next year we can meet for tea already....

BTW I have confirmed Raymond Teo to be my AD photographer.

Hi rokko
thanks for the detailed report of the cater...how about Rasel? Anyway, I am going for their free workshop (meaning food tasting) on Sept 11. Browse thru the web seems their quite pricy too, hope their food is ok but not sure on their service yet... any comment?

BTW any one here want to attend the workshop I can mail the registration form to you.

Finally, hi all....I need some advise on honeymoon location...below is my situation;

My Church Wedding is on 18 Mar06 and dinner 25Mar06. Clearly you can see my Church &amp; Dinner is a week apart. My FH &amp; I are intenting to have a small gateaway for 2D3N/3N2D tour to somewhere. Can suggest some place where my FH &amp; I can R&amp;R and most imptly is that when we return, we will not be too tired in order to prepare for the dinner.

So I thank all in advance and appreciate your suggestion. hmmmm....please keep in mind as the short getaway is before dinner, budget is v.tight.

This may not be our only honeymoon as we both have set eyes on Greece. Have not really plan for the Greece trip but really thank God for letting us FINALLY have some thoughts in common.

hi sl,
thanks.. my co always get cdcs for the normal catering.. sick of it liao..

we were one of the first few to register for pinnacle.. but when they send us the queue no we are no 38XX and since it is more than 3000, the letter say our appt date will be issue if there are units available.. so was very disappointed.. everyday pray abt it.. and we were like the last 100 plus selecting the flats..

looks like most of u got split events.. my schedule like pack back to back.. can i check whether there is any brides with church ceremony in the afternoon.. can u let me know ur estimated timing..

hi yy,
u want to consider bintan, bali, those more relaxing short hols.. i think they are good for taking a break though bali is a bit ex
can u send me the registration form.. thanks

you can try Harvest Catering
www.harvest.com.sg/
i like their wide variety of food and their service, they throw quite a lot of things in the package too.
have tried their food at a conference before and my friends and i remembered them coz it was quite gd.

just want to share something with u.. my parents are non-christians and they were actually against me being a christian..
i am going for my water baptism this week.. one of the reason for taking such a long time in making the decision was because of parental objection.. and today, i invited them to my water baptism and they agreed.. even though they have a 7 mth dinner after that.. i really thank God for this miracle..

hi ggjj
i will be going for the session which ends at 2pm. need to go that session cos I have my first fitting on the same day. If you take the same slot, then maybe can meet u.

hi harvest catering is good! =) my friend had them. and the layout was fantastic!

i chose cdcs partly because my company uses them too. so very familiar. there were some setbacks but god was good. things got ironed out. i just hope they will do a good job on the AD. =P

hang in there and know that you are loved very much... by your family, by your friends and by God... =) if you need to take time off your work, please do so. it's really alright. =) i'm sure your colleagues will understand...

hugz!

I tried Angeli's food during my MPC retreat, very very nice! My pastor said he has tried their food many times and find them good &amp; value for money for lunch and dinner buffets. But he said their tea buffet is expensive.

I should be having a tea reception cos I have the 3 pm service slot. Anybody got good reccomendation for tea reception for about 80 pax?

Hi ggjj,
My FH actually enquired about SJI and went down to see the chapel as he was an old boy. But the VP was kept emphasising that not allow to have food even though we asked him a few times about it. Also I asked my FH where are the female toilets, he said should be near the teachers room which is quite a distance away from the chapel. Together with other logistic reasons, we decided not have it there. So take note and make sure that signs are put up for your guests. It's a nice cosy chapel, lucky that u got the cleaners to agree to do it.

Hi ggjj,
We signed up early too and our queue no was all right - 707. Thank God for it cos we were really worried that we wouldn't get a unit on a high floor and with good "facing". Where will u be staying in the meantime before the house is completed? Looks like there's a long time to go as they just starting digging... Btw, I'm doing church and banquet on the same day too. But not panicking yet since my AD is only in Nov next yr! Do keep me posted on whether a 1-day affair is too rushed... =)

Hi YY,
We're going for Rasel's workshop too - 1st session. Perhaps may meet u and ggjj there! Any idea if there are other workshops to go for, besides Rasel and Kriston?

hi ggjj
kriston got workshop?? how to register??

Besides the two you mentioned and select at HDB hub, I have no idea of other workshop alreay....
Anyone suggestion??

m&amp;m,
Heard that the food so-so only that is why i didn't want to go

Hi YY,
I called Kriston. U can try calling Eileen at 6488 8117. As the event is this Sunday, u really shd do so fast...

Btw girls,
Can I ask a somewhat silly question? Will u be inviting all your relatives to church and dinner? How abt colleagues? We have a number of senior people who are quite prominent pple (e.g. MPs, judges) and are wondering if it would be a faux paus to invite just these senior pple to dinner and the younger pple to church reception, due to space constraints. My ballroom can only hold up to 55 tables and I do not want to increase the no of tables such that it becomes a huge event... Any ideas on what is best?

count
for us, we valued the church reception and truth betold, we spent a lot more time and effort on the church reception. it meant more to us. dinner was more for our parents.

we invited all our friends for the church. relatives and colleagues as well. for dinner because of space constraints, we gave priority to family guests. our parents, the extended family and business contacts. we had a table of overseas guests for ourselves and a number more for colleagues (close to them lah)...

the rest of our friends were not invited for the dinner. we explained its a "parents" thingy. their guests take up too many tables.

MPs and judges... it depends on how close you are to them. if close, then invite for both. or if the working relationship is close, do so. otherwise, i think inviting just for church would be better.

okay, i've called Kriston for the workshop and charges applys as Free admin is over.

One pax $20....hmm....have to think think again

dear count

i had the same experience. worst still, my parents had colleagues they cannot dont invite. so in the end, the dinner will be filled with aunties and uncles i have never met before. hee.

i felt that the church wedding was more for ppl close to me whom i want them to witness my union with my FH. it's very special to me. so i only invited my very close friends and those i know will be happy to see me tie the knot. i invited all my relatives coz they are relatives (haha) and they watched me grow up ma. i have many unsaved friends and relatives among these so i hope that some seeds can be sowed. =)

as for ppl i dont have a choice but to invite such as colleagues and parents' friends, i saved them for dinner. esp they are much older so dinner makes more sense to them. more long zhong they will feel good attending too. to them, the church wedding is meaningless and i really dun need ppl who wont be happy for me to attend my church wedding. =)

we have MPs (no judges tho) among our guest lists too, i think... and perm sec. hee. coz FH and I are both in gahmen la. and they very kindly said they would come! (i was honestly surprised!) and some of them are his parents old schoolmates. =) dinner was a better option for us actually.

hope that helped! =)

hope that helped!

Hi c1980 and SL,
Thanks for the insight. Both me and FH are lawyers, just that I'm in the civil service. Will prob invite the senior staff to church and dinner, while the others go for church only. Cos I really want something cosy for my dinner and it is bad enough that our parents are taking up 35 tables at least...

Dear YY,
Will tell u how the Kriston workshop goes. Think it's not so worth it if it's $20 per person since it will come up to $40 for both of u... =)