Christian Brides

Need help here! Does anybody have any recommendation of churches that will allow non-members to rent for weddings?

I am not member of my current church as I have only started attending church early this year, and my church is very very strict about this. My pastor has agreed to help me conduct a wedding service if I can find a church to rent.

My wedding is on a weekday in Dec. And my pastor is not encouraging places like TTC or christian centres/buildings, must be church. I don't have much guest, about 50-80 only. Thanks!

most churches allow nonmembers to rent ah. =)

my church does not allow anyone to hold weddings so all of us gotta look elsewhere.

what kind of churches do you like? stained glass?

Grace Methodist, Trueway, Toa Payoh Methodist, are a few that allow non-members to rent. =)

hope i helped!

Hi Carelinwen,

What SL has mentioned is true. Most churches do not loan out their premises to non-church members. Those churches she has named are the few we know of which allow non-members to rent..

I guess, when ur Pastor discourages u to use non-church buildings, it's probably a suggestion. But if it comes to a situation whereby the above churches are already booked, I figure it shd be all right to use non-Church venues.

Anyway, it's the body of Christ tt matters rather than a physical building?

Hi Timmin,

U've got mail.. All the details are in the mail~

Hi SL,

Thanks! Sounds like a feasible suggestion.

Another thought - do you think it would be ok to do away with tea ceremony in morning for guy's side and just do one combined tea ceremony for both guy and girl side? Wonder if it is improper or disrespectful to not go to the guy's parents' place at all...

Quiet home is good! Currently staying in London, place is near major road - police sirens constantly going off at night, can't rest well at all.

hi sisters,
i am back in this thread after a long time. hope anyone rem me
I was the bride who was having prob with having church wedding becos of opposition from FH parents on the christianity issue.
Anyway, we are proceeding with our marriage plans cos we cant come to a compromise with his parents. So far, we have booked orchid country club to have the solemnisation by pastor then followed by wedding dinner. dunno if his relatives will go but we will worry abt it later...
as for the tea ceremony, i also a bit headache. wil either have it in morning or have it at the OCC place, after solemnisation and before dinner.wonder if its weird to invite relatives one by one to go to the stage where we have solemnisation for us to jingcha. another option is to have jingcha in a private function room before the dinner.hmmmm
now we are scouting for AD photographer. anyone know any cheap ones (700-1k), no need videography.
also now we are trying to decide on the WG and EG design...not easy.

Hi SL and mehmeh,

Thanks! I will try to contact the few mentioned but I have an added problem of not baptised yet. But at least I have gone thru MPC already. I hope to get baptised in my current church but missed the last round in april. But if I have to I will get baptised elsewhere first. Feeling very stressed with the planning now!!!

If anyone here has news of baptism classes for methodist churches for baptism within the next 3 months, please let me know too.

Erica,

My PS photographer who is a professional commercial photog doing weddings part-time, does actual day too and he had promotion previously for about $500. I'm not sure how good is he at AD as I only saw his studio and outdoor works. Let me know if you are interested.

BTW for your budgeted amount of $700-1000, you will be able to get a very good photographer already. Most of the good and popular ones are in this range.

Hi Erica,
you might want to check out
http://www.wedding-moments.com/
their packages range frm $450 to $900 (with a lot of stuffs added). quite like their style.
i kinda researched lots and lots...until in the end we asked a friend to help us take photos..heh..

hi carelinwen,
i think Changi Bethany church also can be booked for weddings. i think my church also, saw the rates when we were booking, but it may be too large for yr small grp of ppl. but if u're interested i can email u details.

Carelinwen,

I do not understand why your pastor discourages you to marry in a building that's not an official church. I find that quite stringent. Have you considered the Armenian Church? It can seat abt 100 pax, but heard that there's no air con. It's quite meaningful to marry in such a church tho cos it's the oldest church in Singapore and it looks pretty from the outside. However, there're some tombstones in its backyard I heard, but for early churches, it's a norm to bury their pastors or leaders of the church in the premise.

i've heard about the Armenian Church. =) heard it's a very nice church!

hey ericia... of course we remember you! welcome back! i think a function room is more appropriate actually. jing cha is supposed to be quite solemn leh. =)

how about Big Day Studio? their charges are about $900 i think (or less coz the last time they quoted me was based on 2 days)... they will even do up a website for you! very pretty! =)

mehmeh... actually i meant that most churches rent their church out for weddings. hee. i didnt know most dont coz my church goers have to source outside since our church building is not opened for booking. no wonder my friends always got married in the same few churches coz there is limited supply! =)

carelinwen, you can try also Church of Singapore. but the church is quite huge tho. the stained glass is nice!

btw, i think when you baptise in a certain church you are actually accepting their vision and joining them as a member. at least that is the case in my church. and normally the cell leader and zone pastor will do the baptising so this person needs to be a regular attendee in cell to begin with. =)

~e~, disrespectful or not you need to check with both sides. maybe they dont mind? maybe they have their own ideas? after 8months of prep i have discovered to my greatest horror that wedding is not about me and my FH but a community affair. haiz... *shake head*... so better to check with all involved! you will be surprised how even with little details others want their opinions heard. all the best! =)

the sky looks overcast... sigh... hope it doesnt rain later coz i'm on half day today! =)))

have a great thursday!

Hi Ericia,

I've engaged Big Day Studio for the AD.. Quite gd & both the PG & VG are fellow bro-in-Christ. One of them is my NUS fren's churchmate
Very reliable ppl

Hi Carelinwen,

U're most welcome!

Hi SL,

So gd, u can take half day.. Teachers dun have such luxury! booohoo.. skies are also overcast on my side too

Have a great day!!

Hi Meh Meh..

Thanks ! I love ur invitation cards.. they r soooo nice!

Hi Carelinwen

The Salvation Army Changi Corps & the Central Corps at Bishan also rents out their chapel for weddings....

U may call them up & enquire.

I find Changi Corps their chapel v nice.. v new with v plush seats.. ;)

Changi Corps 65465827
Central Corps (Bishan) 65550252

Hear their rental is v reasonable too...

oh mehmeh you are a lao shi? =)

but how come you can get married in sept? not going on honeymoon? or is that the weeklong mid term break? =)

i nearly engaged Big Day Studio too. very reasonable and comprehensive, his service.

but i kinda wasnt very comfortable with his style. =) and since i'm not taking photo shoot i really want the AD photos to be perfect. =)

i hope the one i finally engaged will do a good job!

(still raining... sigh... hope it stops in an hour's time!)

Hi n/c,

Glad to hear you liked them too!!

Hi SL,

Yupz, me a lao shi.. Hmm, can get married any time of the year one, just when can go for HM lor. Which is why going for a super short trip during the 1 week break.. Still undecided..

Who did u engage ah? I very long never post the table oredi hor?

Anyone here has any updates for me to update in our tabluation?
Carelinwen: U wanna share some details?
AD, BS, Venue, Photographer, Videographer, Banquet venue, Church Deco, Lovenest & Honeymoon?

My thursday only just started a few hours ago. =( Weekend still so long way away!!

SL - which photographer you using? I'm also not having PS, so would like to get a good AD photographer. can recommend?

Hope the rest of you are having a nice evening!

mehmeh...

me engaged robin photography lor. i saw his AD photographs and like the fact that they are candid. but later i saw his PS shots and became alittle worried coz it was posey. haiz... hope my photos will turn out well. i wanted Chrisling actually just that they are not available on my AD... tough coz 2 days mah...

btw, i went to party with us to buy the just married lisense plate but they no longer sell it! =(((((

and i saw the shoes i bought for my wedding gown going for half price now!!!!! i bought it at slightly more than 100bucks. my heart is bleeding now... someone pass me tissues! =(

hi all sis in Christ.. you all are very active... dunno wat to share coz my AD is still so far away.. so i can only "read" and make notes.. hee

hi mehmeh, i can fix my AD on 15 dec 2006.. will be using SAM for holy matrimony coz we dun have our own building... thanks for updating...

~e~, you can check out tucky's photography.. i like his works after seeing my frens' AD pics... very joyous and real.. portray your wedding as it is.. and also affordable... hope it helps..

bs prof - thanks! do you have his contact or a website i could look at?

SL - didn't know you having wedding on 2 separate days? is it church one day then banquet another day? or having 2 receptions - one for friends, one for relatives? are you having it at the same venue? sorry... many questions, cos still trying to figure out how to schedule everything. dun be upset about your shoes...*pat pat* you couldn't be sure that they would still have it now when you bought it right? better to be safe than sorry. cheer up!

Think this is the most responsive and warm thread here. Thanks for all your advice:P

Hi Carelinwen, could I have your photography contact?

SL and Meh meh, wat is the Big Day Studio contact?

BSprof, Can I also have Tucky's photography contact too?

Hi SL,

U want to DIY ur own 'Just Married' sign?? I think it wld be more meaningfu.. Hmm, but u gotta make sure ur ink/paint is waterproof! heehee

I alittle bit confused leh? Do u mean Robin's or Big Day's AD are posey?

Hi Lilic,

Wah changed ur nick ah? Okiokie, will update the table

Hi e,

Like SL, my AD is a split-day affair. Holy Matrimony (HM) is on Sat & banquet on Sun evening. U can def schedule everything on the same day too.. Like fetching of bride in morn, tea ceremony late morn, HM in the afternoon & then banquet in the evening. But I personally feel while everything can be completed in a day, the couple may not get to enjoy the happiest day of their lives thoroughly? I want to savour each moment & not to tire out myself, so going for a 2-day affair

Hi Ericia,

U can check out Big Day Studio at www.bigdaystudio.com

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 4 Aug 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Port Dickson</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest?</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">TinTin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 &amp; 10 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent de Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kriston</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond/FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rajahstan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caffeine Creative</font></td></tr></table>

Hi Tambourina,

No idea why ur BS's name isn't allowed to be posted &amp; the threads abt them are removed.. How queer

Ashley,
Ya, my church is strict cos they don't want to send out wrong message to members and visitors. Guess can still talk to pastor if really cannot get a suitable church.

SL,
I was from a methodist school and it was there that I accepted Christ. That's why I hope to be baptised in a methodist church. Saw that you are having yr HM in Grace MC, are you a member of that church? Do you think it is suitable for a small church wedding? Cos I saw GMC on a list of churches that rent out to non-members.

Mehmeh,
hiyah..I also may have to split my wedding into 2 days as some churches only rent out on Sat. Then got whole lot of logistic to re-plan and coordinate. That's why very hard to confirm anything now, will give details when things are settled.

Erica,
Email him to ask for more details hor. [email protected]

I'm extremely busy busy with work, no time to plan anything not even make calls...so may only pop in once in a while, have to go off now.

hi mehmeh... robin's photoshoot photos are very posey. but AD seems fine. i like the candid kinds. =) and i didnt realise his photoshoots were posey until i saw his album at my BS shop... and i got worried. dun want to spend money on posey shots on AD coz i can always get a friend to do that for me ma. dun wan to pay big bucks for something a friend can do for free. =)

but my BS reassured me that his AD photos are candid and natural. so i can only pray that it will turn out the way i want it. after all, i paid deposit liao and really dun want to forfeit that amount. and besides it is a little late to engage another photographer. =)

how do i do my own "just married"? any ideas? =) if it is do-able i dont mind! =)

and any idea where i can buy those bells (metallic) ppl put on their christmas trees? am thinking of tying to my bridal car with the just married sign. =)

btw, i went to "Party with Us" and saw some nice bridal decors you all might want to use to decor your house with on AD. it's very ang mo. not the chinese "shuang xi" kind. can be unique and elegant. just a thot. i might use it to hang over my room door when my FH comes to pick me. =)

oh ya... my wedding is on 2 separate days. tea ceremony and church on one and dinner on another. i wanted dinner on the same day but coz i started preps late (last dec) so couldnt get the sat slot. =) it is also cheaper on one day la. hahahaha... coz no need to pay extra for photographer etc. =)

but at least you will get to wear your pretty gown twice! =)

and ~e~... you are right. been trying to console myself too that way. hahaha. the shoes may not be available ma. now my heart has stopped bleeding. hahaha...

love! it's friday! woohoo!

hi ~e~ and erica

here is tucky's website www.tuckys.com
there is a thread on him as well.. you can check that out.. he is a nice chap.. i suggest that you guys check out his studio and actual albums.. in fact, you should do that for all PG.. and timminbuzz is right, tucky's journal album is really gorgeous leh.. cant wait to have my own.. hahha

hi mehmeh

i am accorded the "doctorate" from the other btb in the dec06 thread.. hhaha.. coz i think i am too fussy liao.. spent 4-5 mths on BS search but cannot settle for any... sigh.. hahhaha

well, tGif... and all of you be blessed with a great weekend.. =)

Haven't popped by in here for a while.
I'm back from my honeymoon and as usual my pics are uploaded onto my webby.

SL,
You can get those bells from this florist along Tan Quee Lan St (nearest MRT: Bugis). I bought mine from there (thanks to my MUA for the tip!) It's located along the same row of shops behind my BS, Bridal Concept. They have both silver &amp; gold color bells in different sizes. I actually went to Concourse first to try looking for it, but can't find it there at all!

hi hi...

i back again....me just sign a freelance photograher....perhaps you gals are interested....
www.geocities.com/piczturesque

His name is Raymond. My Church mate, nice guy. And oso very helpful for me as he guided me alot for the AD planning.

Hello carelinwen
Me from Methodist Church. Perhaps you want to call me church, Wesley Methodist church.

wanna ask sth: i noticed that most photography packages are such that they cover 12 hours or whole day or sth. but if i do not need photography services for the whole day, cos my programme is such that it is tea ceremony in morning, then solemnisation and dinner at evening, with a break in afternoon, then I request for a cheaper price from them? do they charge by hour rate or what? how does this go?

Hey btw, can i have my details in the tabulation as well? church solemnisation at orchid country club. dinner also at orchid. date is 17 jun 06. whitelink. the rest all not confirmed yet.:P

hi sisters,
sorry, need to ask sth abt photography again. feel very sua gu. what is Coffee Table Album?
what is collage? i got the packages from some of the contact you girls gave me and i saw all these funny terms.
i wanna narrow down the photographers to a few before i visit them cos i very lazy. wanna do all these from home.

hi ericia,

coffee table album is a smaller album think 10r

Collage is where all photo chosen will be combine to make a photo. Meaning many small photo in one print.

that is my understanding

Hi Ericia,

Will help update ur details into the table

Why not call the photographers to understand what they offer in the 12 hours? Some photographers are more negotiable i guess? I think if u exceed the 12 hours, they do charge by the hour, and the rates for this vary

Coffee Table Album wld usually consist a 20 page album where by several pix are done up into collages based on themes? For instance prep at bride's place before groom comes, what the gate-crashing involved, romantic moments like unveiling, kissing &amp; holding-hands?

Better to meet them up to get a gd idea, different photographers may have different ideas for how the coffee-table album is to be done. The advantage is tt u can show this album if u find the actual album too bulky, this wld prob serve as a gd summary for all the events

hi cookie's gal!

i went to the shop you mentioned and got the bells! happy! =)))

i'm also very happy coz i noticed my daddy has started wrtiting his wedding invites! yay! =)))))

Hi all, thanks so much for your advice. Think I got a clearer idea now. sigh. feeling a bit tired. My FH just wrote me a long email trying to resolve our many disagreements and conflicts on the marriage thing. he has sort of given up discussing with me over phone and face to face. feel very bad, i think this year, our r/s faced more challenges than any other yr we together.

<font color="0000ff">Christian brides details as on 8 Aug 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Cookie's Gal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 Jun 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church volunteers</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lavish Dine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Inspire Production/Inspire Production</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Europe</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jasvy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">MehMeh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">03 &amp; 04 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bloom Flower Gallery</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Elsie's Kitchen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Orchard</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BigDayStudio/BigdayStudio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Port Dickson</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church:Axxa
Banquet:Kentrich</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Andrew</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hillview</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Tambourina</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Leng Kwang Baptist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Green Point</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marina Mandrain</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">F*line Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Rh*ma Media</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TDragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 &amp; 11 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Grace Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sister</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">CDCS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emmanuel B Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Timah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">SkyeSkye</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 &amp; 20 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">All Saints</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Harvest?</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">San Mike</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Vietnam/Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kat</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TTC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mandarin Oriental KL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Santiago</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Derrick Ong/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Teng</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 &amp; 18 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Ayer Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Safra Mount Faber</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">New Zealand</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bt Purmei</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Nya</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 19 Feb 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Good Shepherd</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Amara</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J &amp; M</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Mauritius/Aussie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Toa Payoh</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">YY</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18 &amp; 25 Mar 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wesley Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Graceful Image</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland V</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">n/c</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">22 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TCC's in-house</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Banquet</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Thomson Wedding Design</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Israel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Gardens</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">m&amp;m</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Apr 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Renewal Christian Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Teochew City Seafood Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gabriel Mendes/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Circuit Road</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ericia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">17 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">OCC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">timminbuzz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">24 Jun 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church of Ascension</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hilton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PLMC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle @ Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">SAM</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's Photography/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church Deco</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinos</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Photo/Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Honeymoon</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Boon Lay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Invites Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">TinTin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 &amp; 10 Dec 06</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent de Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">June Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kriston</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond/FabianLim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rajahstan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Caffeine Creative</font></td></tr></table>

hi ericia

please cheer up? =)

i know what you mean about the differences.

how about putting the wedding preps on hold for awhile? since your wedding is still some way ahead?

i used to have designated no-wedding-talk days with my FH coz i got sick of hearing myself pestering him for ideas and decisions.

smile! =P

Hi Ericia,

Agree with SL too.

Initially, I kept pestering my FH for ideas/views/decisions too after we decided on marriage.. then after a while, I too got tired and didn't talk to him much on the topic liao. However, from july... he started getting kan cheong and was talking to me about the wedding preps' items... hee... and knowing most of the things have been researched... i gave a "oh you are concerned now" attitude... just to spite him.. playfully of course..hee...

Gals are gals.. we tend to want the "most perfect" thing for our weddings and is always more enthusiastic about the preparations when compared to the guys (this website's membership alone speaks volumes)

Hee... so when the guys said this ok, that also ok and don't seem to care as much as we do, we felt they are not concerned about it.. and we start feeling upset.. grumbles and worse still vent our frustrations on them....

Talking from experience... cos there was a time when I felt very disappointed (own thinking) and angry with my FH... and he started asking me why... that was when we really talked.

He said...

<font color="0000ff">1) "Don't make unnecessary assumptions and ASK instead"</font>
-it doesn't mean he don't care about the wedding things when he didn't talk about it. He mentioned that when gals do things, we normally share ideas, ask this ask that cos we tend to be more vocal in expressing our thoughts.. but when guys do things.... they normally don't...

<font color="0000ff">2) Focusing on a marriage is more important than the wedding day. In chinese, he said "we should concentrate on the Hun1 ying1 rather than Hun1 Li3"</font>
-He said many a times a couple broke up, quarreled, stopped talking etc etc shortly after the wedding or even during the preps because there is a lack of communication on other topics in life... whenever they met, things on the wedding filled the conversation and after the wedding is over, there was an emptiness among the two.... so he suggested we talked about other things too instead of the wedding alone..

<font color="0000ff">3) Splitting of tasks</font>
- he suggested that we split up the tasks and look into those areas under us (ie: get quotes, meet the person involved, informing the relevant parties etc etc) and then update the other on the decisions or alternatives available.

Other tips (own views as well as advice from gals on other threads

a) I realised that guys are usually not as patient on getting the various quotes as us.. so for those requiring communication with vendors on the various quotes, let the gals do it. (eg :caterer, bridal shop etc). After that, do a shortlist of about 3 of them then show it to the guys and together, make a visit down and make the final decision together... cos giving the guys too many quotes will only make them confused and less likely to be focused in their decisions/views.

2) Guys are normally not as particular about designs and decoration as much as we gals.. so those that deals with such items, gals, think it's better that we handle it....

3) Those that are rather static or more fixed such as photo montage, church/banquet program, house reno, contacting the printers/collection etc, transport etc, let the guys handle..

Hee.. hope the above helps..... cos I have been through those stages before... so hopefully, can share share how we went through those "upsetting" times :D

But.... of course, the main thing is that my FH's counselling job helps... "TALKING" is of importance to him... and perhaps he thinks more and further than me at times......... good or bad... really depends hehe :D

yep you are right. I am a very kancheong person and it also doesnt help that we are having so many prob with church wedding with his relatives. i've tried giving him tasks to do but he is so slow that i get worried and i 'take over'. haha. i must learnt to relax huh.

eh btw,can i ask any tips on where and how to rent car? i need a suitable car for the wedding and none of relatives has anyth suitable. :P sth cheap and also provides chauffeur. haha see now me back on worrying abt the wedding stuff again.

hi, need all your advice on a few things, but before that, i'd like to check, is it compulsary that baptism = membership in that particular church which you are baptised in?

Hi Pinkbuttons,

Welcome!
kao_welcome2.gif

I think this might vary with churches. In the past my church worked the way u mentioned, as membership classes were held in conjunction with baptism classes. I think things have changed. Now you can get baptised &amp; pray about whether you want to be a member. In this case, one wld attend the baptism classes &amp; go for baptism. Subsequently attend membership classes if one intends to be a member of the church.

I figure baptism is meant for all Christians, so tt's prob the church's stand. Membership requires the embracing of the vision of the church, so tt involves some practical commitment to the church

Hi Ericia,

Currently dun have such a source.. Maybe borrow ur boss's car? Some may be kind enough to lend.. Or u do a search within the forum to see if u can find any leads..

hi pinkbuttons, in my church baptism = membership. not sure about the rest. =) i think mehmeh is right. it probably varies from church to church. =)

hi ericia, you can try your bridal studio. i know some BS rent cars. some of the BS i checked out in the early days did. =) for about $450 i think. not sure.

Hi Pinkbuttons,

Like what mehmeh says, it depends on the church. For Anglican churches like mine, baptism does not equate to membership. Membership comes only after you have undergone Confirmation. So do check with your church on their practices.

Anyone here having more than 1 bridesmaid to walk down the aisle before you? Know anywhere i can rent identical gowns for them? And also where I can get cheap and nice accessories for the flower girls?