Christian Brides

hi ladies!
I am new to this thread. Hi hi!
My AD is in July 2005.
So far, only settled hotel, bridal studio, makeup/hair and photoshoot. The rest, not yet. Feeling very tired already... Also checking on my new house. Just collected keys and now checking on defects for the past week. Tired lei.... Any suggestion on church deco? I only budget $400 or so on the church deco. Any lobang? Thanks in advance!

Hi Happylady...when is ur AD? mine also in July 05
The $400 is for flowers only or all the decor? i hope to DIY...also low budget. Maybe $200

So happen to chance upon this thread & it's really nice to read the postings.. my AD will most prob be in Oct'05 (not 100% confirm cos haven't booked the hotel) hee.. but have settled BS... meanwhile, also scouting around for churches for the church wedding...

Hi Happylady and SweetPea
For a $400 budget, it's really quite tight to do fresh flowers. Better check what your pastor's requirement are. Usually the 2 at the altar are expected to be fresh flowers.
Then maybe you have to get paper/ plastic ones resembling the fresh ones for the pews.
Alternatively dun use flowers? Ribbons shd be cheaper...

Forgot to ask in my previous post

Anyone did research for invitation card suppliers? Intend to do a post-card invitation, ard $0.30-$0.50.

mehmeh,

You can try this place. Its called Conet Printing, look for Roland. His number is 96260756. He will let you see samples of paper. You just have to let him know what the purpose is for
Cheers !

hi sweetpea,

sorry i've been bz with work recently. glad to know you have found a church. i'll be going down to BS to confirm my gown this sun. =D

Hi happylady,
mine is also Jul. There are 3 jul brides now - sweetpea, u and me =P

As for the deco, i've also budgetted around $300. Thank God that i've managed to get a fren's fren (freelances) to do it for me and it's within my budget. It's also depending on kinda flowers u'll using. How abt Amanda n gifts? saw it @ e other thread, seems ok and mayb able to fit into your budget?

I am working on the prelude (music in the air before processional) now. Any suggestions? I know there's a good CD out there called "25 wedding favourites" or something like that but I'm not keen to buy it just for wedding. Anyone happens to have it that I can borrow to make a copy?

Great work La La Ooh and Candy!
Will check out country florist
Candy you able to provide the contact of the florist u are referring to?

La La Ooh.. Tt CD is quite gd, heard it at Life Bkshop
You might want to check with newly wedded couples fr ur church

Hi mehmeh,

i'm not getting from a florist. She is just doing freelances deco - remcommended by a fren.

Hi la la ooh, what songs are u looking for? i do not have the cd but have others so may have the songs that you want?

Hi fellow sisters in christ....

wow.. haven't been in this thread for a super long time liao... so glad to be back.. and will certainly need some time to catch up.

Hee.. going to start on my marriage prep course soon too...

Hi Mehmeh...

Also having that budget for church invites.. have you managed to get the cards at the price you are looking for?

oh ya...
hee.. need you gals' advice on something... what will you all do if one side of the family insists on not having alcohol for the dinner for whatever reasons it may be (except cost saving... which isn't a matter to them cos FH and I are paying for the wedding and dinner ourselves..), what will you all do?

Both FH and I are caught in a dilemma.... cos we are more than happy to oblige since it would bear an even better testimony of our faith..... and as my FH is from Breakthrough Missions (if you have heard before).. he was really glad about it cos he has indeed experienced all the dire effects of alcohol before...... but on the other hand, we felt it might be awkward and won't be so nice to invite friends and relatives without offering alcohol...

Any advice on the above? Quite vexed over this simple prob.. haiz....

Candy,

i don't really know what i want but i was told there a nice piece called give me forever (i do). i just want some pieces to add to my collection of songs which already includes butterfly kisses, love me, etc. any suggestions?

Hi Teng,

how abt just some wine and no hard liquor or beer? pple who drink beer and hard liquor have a higher tendency to over-indulge and get themselves drunk..but i think wine drinkers tend to go easy..
Besides, Jesus's 1st miracle was turning water into wine at a wedding!

but having said that, i think it's perfectly alright that no alcohol is served at the wedding.

Hi mehmeh,

Which life bookshop store did you find the CD of wedding music?

Hi La La Ooh,
You may wish to use music from the Our Daily Bread series I heard 1 CD from that series and it's instrumental recordings of traditional hymns. Very beautiful esp for those pieces that use bagpipes. Not sure which one it is though.

The Life Bookstore @ Funan Centre has quite a bit of Our Daily Bread CDs, you may wish to pop by there to check it out.

Hi Teng,
Long time no see (pls use the chinese phrase)! *waves*

So did the contact from the Cheng Ren Tuan Qi get in touch with you?

Regarding your dilemma, what La La Ooh suggest is a good alternative. But if you strictly don't wish to serve alcohol, that's fine too. Just go with what you think is right. Besides, if it's your friends/relatives, they should understand your reason for going without alcohol if they know both of you well. Anyway, I believe that people will always have something to comment on for a wedding so no point fretting over 1 aspect of the banquet. Perhaps you may wish to weave in some explanation/testimony for not serving alcohol somewhere in the course of the banquet?

Hi Mehmeh, thanks...
Most prob need only fresh flowers for the alter and table centrepiece at the registry table, and also 2 roses for abt 15 set of pew bows which I will DIY. I hope $200 is enough...

Hi Teng, my parents are Christians but my FH's parents are not..so we compromised with red wine, coz my parent's approved red wine and managed to convince FH's side that wine more classy
Of coz to us, red wine more significant, and less likely for anyone to be drunk. But I am a bit worried as to how to tell people that no beer will be served when they as for beer....?? Any ideas?

Hi Cookies Gal

The last time I saw was at Bishan's outlet. You might just want to pop by any one you happen to pass by or near to your work place and enquire if they have it.

Hi Sweet Pea

From what you've described, seems like apart fr the altar and table centre piece, the rest can actually DIY. You might want to get help fr your jie meis.

About the beer issue, my dad had some advice for my sis's impending wedding.. If there isn't right fr the start, then the guests will ask for wine or hard liquor. If you did have, but you dun intend to open new barrels, then they will say you have mismanaged the situation.

I think alot will depend on your family and in-laws idea. Communicate with them and work sthg out.

God bless!

Hi gals...

knew I could always rely on this wonderful thread and you gals for advice... , yes, have decided to talk to FH's dad to take the red wine instead of the beer/hard liquor.. Thanks so much yah :D

by the way, how are you gals making your church invites? DIY or go thru any printers?

Hi Cookiesgal,

Thanks so much for introducing me to them. I missed the first bible study class due to work commitments... and amazingly, the session was held so near my house, even the cell leader was surprised I lived so near her :P

Teng Teng
I will be asking my printer to do my church invites. He prints my office's publicity materials. Its called Conet Printing, you can look for Roland. His number is 96260756. He will let you see samples of paper. You just have to let him know what the purpose is for Cheers !

Hi TinTin,

Thanks for the contacts.

Yoz sweetpea...

DIY meaning you design and print them with paper bought by yourself? Hee.. was intending to do so too to make it more personalised but my mum's friend is in the printing business and he suggests we do the designs ourselves to make it more meaningful and he will print it for us........Haiz... don't know where to start the designs... esp when the wedding is next year end and we have not photoshoot pics at hand yet..

anyway, still considering whether to let him print.. cos the costs are still there.. though could be cheaper........

Hi Teng..I tot of not engaging a printer but use the desktop printer at home..hee.

But now I cam still wondering if it is cost effective. Paper not as cheap as I tot. And there is only 1 size and 1 type of envelop sisze I can use. Actually, I intend to make my invitation simple and meaningful. Hiaz..so many decisions to make. Could I know when you nice ladies here started designing your cards or engaged a printer?

Hi SweetPea,

I've got a designer to do the designing of the Invite/Wedding Favour/Thank You card and I will be sending it to a printer to do the printing

Hi SweetPea,

Haven't started anything yet... hee. actually thought of doing the same thing as you.. but after looking through some threads, found that hard and nice paper is actually quite expensive.. so don't know whether its worth it or not.

ya lor, just the invitation alone requires many decisions..
overall design
Bible verse
Wordings
quality
accessories (ribbons)
photos
pictures

was wondering what can leave a lasting impression on people and yet not so costly haha.....

then that printer (mum's friend) came along.. so still thinking whether to engage his services.

Hi Tin Tin,
Wow, that's sweet... to have the same theme on all these 3 things........ but budgetting hard now so will dig out my own creative juices for once, though not much haha.......

Teng
You have friends in the creative line? If you have then you can engage their services. My designer is my friend so he is doing it as a favour for me so its FOC
I think I'm very blessed if not the designing alone will be very expensive...

Hey LaLaOoh

Do you think Country Florist can do the following below $300?
1) 1 altar centerpiece
2) 1 pair pedestal stand
3) 1 reception table

For your church deco at $400, what was included and what flowers did you use? Any pix to share??

Just fyi..Went to check out Fancy papers over the weekend...quite expensive leh.
I was looking at paper above 200gsm, and average price is $0.30. I asked if there is any discount, the shop keeper say buy the whole ream of 500 pieces, savings about 20%. So price is still abt $0.24 a piece. If I DIY, I calculated a card will cost abt $0.90 a piece.

Paper: $0.24
Skeleton Leaves:$0.20
Ink: Say $40/250 pieces in Black/Whi = $0.16
Envelope: $0.15
Ribbon: $0.15

200 cards will cost me $180!
Anyone has any idea how much a card will cost to print if engaging printer?

Hi Mehmeh,

i think country florist can do your requirement for $300. my photos are not ready so can't show for now.

do look around more...my experience with country florist was not all that pleasant in terms of service so i would not be recommending them any further.

Hi SweetPea,

My printer does my 4C coloured namecards at a very cheap rate.
You can PM me and I can give you his contact. His price is inclusive of paper

Hi LaLaOoh

Thanks for sharing about CountryFlorist. I think service also quite impt to me, coz wedding prep is already such a handful.
Currently I am looking at Woodsville and this outlet at Holland V market...
Anyone with other recommendations?

I'm new in this thread..So happy to be reading all the wonderful stuffs here..My AD is in Oct'05.
Wish all have fun planning..n remember to commit all planning in prayer to God.

Merry X'mas everyone!

Hi sweetpea, how's ur wedding invite going to be? I'm also using skeleton leaves....juz wonder how to make it look like a wedding invite as i consulted some frens they say look for like nice cards... I'm getting married on Jun05 and realised alot not done....help ladies...any nice wedding songs to suggest and theme or colour scheme?

Sorry missed this thread for some time..

Hi Sweetpea,
So will you be making your own cards and getting them printed?

Still thinking abt hand-making my own invites too.. cos more personalised. Still weighing the costs involved.

But if you are getting a caterer for your church reception, you may want to consider those who provide free cards for a minimum order.. then just need to pay for the overprinting charges...

Joan, this website may be useful?
http://www.a-weddingday.com/planning/themes.html
gowns wise, mine are both MTM... so looking thru lots of magazines too but I think trying on what the bridal shop have in store first then decide should be better cos you know how it looked on you.

Anyone has any caterer to recommend? hee.. looking at Mum's Kitchen, Kriston and Select...

Hi Teng

I attended my friend's church wedding & they used Elsie's Kitchen for the reception. As it was a lunch reception, there was a gd spread in terms of variety. The food is gd.. Heard tt their tea reception is quite low in cost per head.

Hi Joan

Go pop by Border's magazine corner & browse thru the bridal magazines there. Think you've gotta work harder ur gown oredi. Time is running short if you intend to MTM ur WG, esp if you r going to do PS. Prob u can also borrow fr friends who have recently gotten married? That saves on buying magazines.

Another gd way to get ideas for ur gown wld be fr the various bridal websites:
1) theknot.com
2) www.brides.com
Both are very useful as they have a huge range of gowns tt can be searched under various options. Save the images & show ur BS the kind of gown u want to have. Of the 2 websites, the latter is more friendly as you do not have to register.

Hi Mehmeh,
Thanks, ya, Elsie's Kitchen's tea reception is really at a very low cost....

Hi Jolene,
Thanks.. will go check it out..

Hee..... have you ladies here attended any marriage preparation courses yet?

Hi Jolene,

Is that conducted by your own church? In English or Mandarin?

Do you ladies know of any marriage preparation courses for non-members?

Hi Teng i replied u at the other thread.

Hmmm...let me ask around.

O my church can only accomodate her members at this time cos overwhelming response this year