Christian Brides

Hi Lilfeets...

Someone once told me these words of wisdom...

"Just try your best... and leave God to do the rest"

Have faith... I'm sure He'll pull you thru

i'm new in this forum n glad to see 1 thread on Christian bride-to-be. My wedding will be in Jul 05 at The People's Bible Church.

Hi Candy, I just went down to The People's Bible Church this morning. The church is suitable for my wedding, except that the reception I prefer to be airconditioned..so still hesitant about booking it.

agreed with you. think most pple preferred to have air-conditioned place including myself. i still use the place cos it's my church n it'll be much easier for my helpers since it's our own church. From past experiences, i (n other pple)still enjoyed attending my frenz' wedding tho it could be warm at times - depending on what time their service ends, how big is the crowd n which part of the year. may be we are kinda used to the 'warm' fellowship already. So when is your big day? how many guests are u expecting n what time will your wedding be? mayb i can help to advise see if it's suitable for your wedding?

Hi ccyh,
I will have about 300 guests and service most prob end abt 3pm..kinda hot weather rite? Prob is my fiance perspires very easily, so I don't want him to be too uncomfortable. But your church's rental is cheaper than most churches, so we might give-and-take and sacrifice a bit.

Hi Lynette,
ya...can be kinda warm @ around 3pm. try to use max space if u can like push the gate out to the max (if u r'mber seeing one) that would create bit more space. Also, if your guests would want to, they can also have their meals at the lift lobby where there r also some pews to seat (with fan). maybe u can talk to Andy again see if there's any other possibility of maximise the space. maybe you would like to come and take a look again around 3pm. Let me know if you r coming. i may be able to help. Think yours can be easily solved.
I'm very worry about mine cos i'll be inviting abt 500 guests (est) cos it involves 2 churches. My fiance is from another church. We may need to have tentage.

am new here & having a church wedding next mth in yishun christian church.. i need some assistance on having a church wedding, ths..

plse share ur scripture versus for preaching by pastor.. also how to decorate church with flowers/ribbons.. also do u DIY printing or outsource to printer?

Hi Santuarium

For scripture verses, the common ones would be:

- Ephesians 5:2, 25-32
- 1 Corinthians 13:1-7,13
- John 15:9-12
- Colossian 3:12-17

I think it would be good to consult your pastor in advance to let him know the scripture readings that you are choosing. If possible, songs chosen should also match the theme of the scripture you have chosen.

For ribbons / flowers, you can decorate your pews with fresh flowers and ribbons, alternate pews. which means 1 pew with ribbons, another with flowers, and then ribbons and flowers. Will be cheaper this way rather than using flowers for all pews.

For printing, I outsourced it to my sis friend.

Hi babysheep,

Thks for ur info, may i ask where do u get ur ribbons? can we ask the florist whom we getting flowers from to do for us?

Did u use ur white wedding cards to invite frenz for church too?

Santuarium

Yes, the florist will be providing the pew ribbons for us.

For church wedding, I had a separate card from the dinner one, cos it was impossible to squeeze all the details of church and wedding dinner onto one square shaped hotel card. Which was a blessing in disguise anyway. Cos from my friend's experience, people can't make up their minds if u invite them to both. One of my friends whom I've invited for both, first said she's coming to church only, not dinner, then SMSed me to say, coming for dinner only, not church, then changed her mind yet again to say it was church only.

Can u imagine the logistical nightmare? Luckily it is just 1 or 2.

hi... searching for the following songs:-
1. Deeper in Love
2. I Love To be In Your Presence
in chinese... any idea?

Hi Candy,
We've decided to use Covenant Presbyterian Church for our wedding instead. My fiance really cannot tahan non-aircon leh... =)

c1980, zhan4 mei3 zhi1 quan2 is very good isn't it? It's by a taiwanese group of the same name. Talks about the worship inspired by the grace of God, and the call to worship. Personally, I find the melody very provoking and words very meaningful.

ya, attended quite a few of my friends' wedding.
found that the song "rang4 zhan4 mei3 fei1 yang2" can actually bring up the mood for the wedding spirits......

i also like some of the songs esp 'rang zan mei fei yang' and may sing during my wedding... browsing and listening to it now =)

Does anyone know how much to rent Holy Grace Presbyterian Church? Suddenly Covenant Presbyterian Church might be a bit small to accommodate our guests...

Hi SweetPea,

i'm going slow in my prep now cos my fiance will be having exam in Nov. We always try to do things together. I am doing some readings (as instructed by my pastor) now prior to our marriage counselling which will be starting in late Nov and surfing net to shortlist a few caterers and get info such as deco etc. I've already booked my church for the BIG day (no banquet so no need to book hotel or restaruant
) and bridal shop. Have even selected my gowns (OTR). My PS will be in mid Jan. many of my friends said i super fast!?!?
so how about you?

Hi Candy,

Its ok to be efficient... as the wedding day draws nearer, there will be a thousand and one things to do so its always good to pace them out... better early then wait till the last min then get STRESSED ! hee hee... my wedding is next dec and I've more or less finished all my preps... just waiting for end of next year to send out the invites

Hi TinTin,

agreed with you, I prefer to prepare earlier than to rush things through at the end... it'll be very stress. I'm enjoying the preparation process
So your big day is end of the yr. Congras! How's feeling?

Hi Candy,
Its end of next year so too early to feel anything I guess just very caught up with work at the moment coz my FH and I work together and we are busiest at towards the final quarter of the year...

Juz wondering if there's any Christian-based pre-marriage counseling available? I'm fr a church with a big congregation and I have to admit that I'm not an active member. And the thing is, there's no pre-marriage counseling available in my church. So i'm wondering if other churches allow non-members to attend their counseling?? Any idea??

Candy,
You are indeed very fast!

Fiance and I feel that Covenant might be too small for our church wedding, so stil sourcing around.
How come you are not having banquet?

Hi netty,

ya since i'm more free (not so bz at wk) now so try to do the stuff as I maybe quite bz with my wk next yr

how many guests will u be inviting? ya...it's not easy to get an 'ideal' church to meet our needs. have u tried True Way Pres? My member (est abt 400 guests) wanted to use that place before cos have air-con for recep (if i remember correctly) and rental i think it abt $1200? can check it out....

we decided not to have banquet cos we wanna keep it simple. Partly due to my health lah...Not that i'm suffering from any serious illness or what, just that my health is rather weak and also having back prob. so it doesn't allow me to have a whole day event. That's y we decided to have buffet dinner in church instead of having a banquet - need not to rush to another location or changing/make up etc
. Thank God that both our parents are alright with the arrangement (my fiance is the youngest & i'm the eldest!)

Can anyone please share what were/are the P&W songs you have or are going to have at your holy matrimony? I wonder if "How Deep the Father's love for us" is suitable? its actually a hymm i think..

also, anyone has the song "Give me forever (i do)" to email to me?

Hi Cookie,

It really depends on what dialect group you are from. Different dialect groups have differnt gifts that they MUST exchange.
Best to ask your mother what she wants from your FH

hi cookie,

i am having mine this sat. we're giving away :
- hokkien candies/biscuits x 4 types (i'm hokkien)
- 12 cans of pigs trotters
- 12 oranges
- 1 ang pow.

Don't ask me what they mean..i have no idea. it's what my dad wanted. Like tin tin said, best to check with your parents. when my hubby asked my parents, they say everything also no need. now last minute they say they want all these. my conclusion : when older generation say no need, don't take it at face value. check with them again and again....hmm that means i better check with them again on friday nite ;-)

Hi TinTin,

I'm hokkien & my FH is cantonese. So our GDL will most prob be a amalgamation of both our dialect groups' traditions.

Right now, my mum has requested for pigs trotters & wedding cakes for relatives as part of the GDL. She has no clue as to what else is needed so I want to do my own research and propose the list to her lah. Luckily, only my mum is a stickler for traditions. My dad just said, "Ask your mummy".

Hi La La Ooh,
Your list sounds short & sweet. kekeke... I like it.
Yah, definitely agree with you on the point about not taking their words at face value.

BTW, my mum mentioned before that we need to buy some special lamps and turn it on the whole day on our AD in our master bedroom. If my research is correct, this is to signify that the couple will have kids (esp sons). (tian1 ding1) Any nice way to convince her that I don't wish to do it?

Cookie, I didn't have that altho' my mom suggested. instead, i let them put the "red curtain" or "any chai" thingy over my front door.

come to think of it, the "ang chai" may have some biblical basis - blood on the lintel and on both side of the door posts on the passover night??..hehe..solely my own thots so don't any theological experts shoot me ok!

Tin Tin & La La Ooh,

Hi La La Ooh,
How's your wedding prep and house coming along? Have you managed to find a contractor for the toilets yet?

hi people, i m rather new here. i m also attending NCC and expected wedding date is dec 2005. Nice to read all these threads and postings here abt God's wondrous love and provision when u gals r preparin for ur marriage. I must say that i m really encouraged cos at times i ll feel that wedding prep costs r so overwhelming that i feel like giving up on everything. do pray for me and my FH. Thanks!

Indeed, really great & nice to find this thread & hear all ur wonderful testimonies of what a faithful God we serve...
Like many of u, my FH was also not a christian when we 1st got together, but well God is really good to touch my FH's heart soon later, n now he's a much fervent christian than I am...

My AD is in Sept 05. Haven't booked anything yet.... Really hope that many of my wed plannings can be finalized soon... heehee...

Oh well, just rem that i did book one thing, n tat is my pre-marital counselling course, attending my 1st lesson next week....

Hi Eliz

So happy to hear that your FH is a bro-in-christ
What's the actual date for the AD? I'm a Sept 05 bride too. To be exact 3 & 4 Sept

Just a little advice, do start your bookings real soon. September 18 & 19th are 'hot' dates, if i'm not mistaken it's sthg about the 8th month. So most hotel ballrooms are already booked. That is if your are holding a dinner at a hotel ballroom.

According to many of the newly weds in my congregation, settle the dinner first. The others, should start soon. Like booking your church venue followed by a Bridal Studio (if not doing ala-carte).

Enjoy your pre-marital counselling course! And may God bless you with wisdom and grace as you go about preparing

hi lizzy,
my wedding's in dec 2005 too! which weekend's yours? dont be overwhelmed ok? if this helps, ive done nothing other than book the hotel n joined this forum

hi eliz,
agree wif mehmeh.. better book dinner venue soon.. n thanks for sharing the lil testimony abt ur FH. am encouraged!

Hi cookie,

my toilet reno will start tomorrow. I just collected my keys ytday.

my GDL went well. It was just the 4 items i've stated above. the shop i bought the candies loan us a traditional basket..it lended a traditional feel to the whole event and made my parents very happy : )

Hi Candy

Sorry to reply so late...I have booked my church and Dinner, and placed a deposit with a caterer, selected my gown last Sunday!
Now busy with renovations for our nest
I am also in the midst of arranging for our marriage prep course..although we should have done it earlier before all these details come in

hi ladies!
I am new to this thread. Hi hi!
My AD is in July 2005.
So far, only settled hotel, bridal studio, makeup/hair and photoshoot. The rest, not yet. Feeling very tired already... Also checking on my new house. Just collected keys and now checking on defects for the past week. Tired lei.... Any suggestion on church deco? I only budget $400 or so on the church deco. Any lobang? Thanks in advance!