Christian Brides

teng2

hehe.actually just open up the file, type in save as a name anywhere then reload the attachment.....

a bit troublesome but guess the effort is worth it :D

Hi aimee...you are ???? i have a friend who's married last year with one of breakthru's brothers..... and is pregnant now..but not sure if the baby is due next month....

if you are her....wah..the world is so small hahah...by the way.. I came across this site..only about two weeks ago :D yup, my FH is in FCMC now...but not me yet....

nicatan

dear all sisters-in-Christ,

woww... im realli encourgaged by the testimonies here... God nver fails to amaze me with His love and grace...

let us continue to pray for one another and c each other's faith increased!! Amen!

pammie

hi sisters in christ...can any1 of you help me out with the order of service??? i'm thinking of using powerpoint slides n projecting on screen. i'm not sure the right sequence - wedding march, solmenisation, wedding vows..etc. can any1 advise me?? THANKS

laughing

Hi Pam,

My church does it in this order:
• Start of Holy Matrimony
• Musical Prelude
• Processional
• Opening Prayer
• Praise & Worship
• Exhortation
• Pronouncement of Blessings:
   - Exchange Of Vows/Rings
   - Holy Communion
   - Unity Candle
• Recessional

Exactly what we do in each, I am not too sure though..have you checked with your pastor or wedding coordinator yet?

aimee

Hi Teng,
Hm...i know your friend's husband (the one from breakthru), but i dun really know your friend's name
She's due sometime Jun/Jul right? Are you in contact with her? i'm only due next month...
Actually i'm attending HHMC at kitchener road, and your FH attended our gospel camp in June...so that's why can do up the link

Small world hoh??
So meaning currently you not attending the service with your FH? then where are you going to have your matrimony at?
Well, actually my husband and i are also not well-versed in chinese (as we have been in an eng youth group for abt 10yrs before changing over to the current church). Therefore you can imagine the language problems we face??!

Hi Pam,
Prob share my order of service with you all here:
-Prelude
-Processional
-Praise & Worship
-Exchange of Vows
-Exchange of Rings
-Holy Communion
-Unity Candle
-Special Dedication
-Exhortation
-Song of Praise
-Benediction
-Recessional
-Postlude
-Reception

This is from a standard procedures my church follows, but i left out the unity candle cos already got communion. Another couple kept the candle and left out communion cos the bride is not baptised yet.

May God bless all the brides here!

pammie

Thank you very much Lala Ooh

where is the solemnisation part?
we're having everything on the same day - ie ROM also on the AD.. I'm not v sure what is Holy Communion and Unity Candle but this is very useful already.. at least i got a baseline.

appreciate yr help...

tealeaf

Hi sisters-in-christ,

I would also like to share a testimony. I went for PS just this Tuesday. Have been praying for good weather since many days back. Since Sat, the weather has been good and hot, however on Tues (PS day), it drizzled in the morning ... photographer, make-up artist and FH all were worried about the outdoor PS in the afternoon, however, thank God that I had so much faith that day that I kept telling everyone of them that the afternoon will surely be sunny and with blue skies.

In my heart, I know God will never fail me coz my Father in heaven will want the best for his children.

Indeed, the Tues afternoon was bright and sunny. The bonus is that it was also windy despite the hot weather!! My photographer commented that we have plenty of blue skies !! Immediately I told him, of coz because I prayed mah

God is good all the time!! I told FH that we must share this testimony in cell group. FH is not a feverant Christian, however, in every little thing I wanna let him know how faithful is God, praying that one day, he will be on fire for HIM.

teng2

true true I agree totally with la la that God is good at all times

yoz...aimee....the world is indeed small.....yup, remembered he joined on of his previous breakthru brothers in the gospel camp.......... had wanted to attend too but was taking my exams then.

now I'm attending service at St Andrew......
will join him at FCMC once my schedule (many reasons..from work to helping my mum when she goes for service...) permits........most likely by end of the year.....
and we will have the marital counselling at FCMC too...........

fern

Hey Lala,
I had my PS in March, the monsoon season. I dunno if you gals remember a period of really bad rain and thunderstorms during Mar? Highest rainfall recorded in Singapore!!
On the day of my PS, it stormed badly just before and we prayed for good weather. The rain cleared just before the PS! We had a cool afternoon for shoots.
I was really grateful cos I'm someone who sweats easily and imagine walking around in that hot gown! We had a romantic and dreamy effect in our pics too. (After the rain, everything looks fresh and dreamy...)

My hubby reminded me that it was a day that God had made, imagine the smile on his face seeing his two children joining in holy matrimony.Isn't that a beautiful picture gals?

teng2

Hi pinkapple...most likely not cos I attend the afternoon mandarin 5pm service on the second level..not the english service leh :D

cookies_gal

Your testimonies are really inspiring, keep them coming!

Hi teng,

I'm attending the 9.30am mandarin service at SAC. Are you a member of the Cheng2 Ren2 Tuan2 Qi4? Lots of young and friendly couples/singles there! Some of them attend the 5pm service too! You may wish to consider joining this cell group

aimee

Nice to hear such lovely testimonies here. And i believe God is really guiding each one of you in your wedding preparation

Hi Pam,
If you are having your solemnisation during the matrimony, it's usually after the exchange of vows & rings. You may want to check with the ministering pastor abt the order of service

Hi teng,
Oh, so sad couldnt see you at the camp. But knowing you here is also the same
Prob God has planned that we will meet here instead

i'm personally very encouraged by your FH's testimony, and i believe God really go through depths to seek after His lost sheep.

i personally feel that it's good for a couple to attend the same church, not only to enjoy the fellowship tog, but i guess it's also an avenue that both can eventually serve in the same church in time to come.

So i assume you are having your matrimony in FCMC? When's your big day going to be?

pinkapple

yup. it's not only good to attend the same church. I think it's necessary since like aimee said, eventually, both should serve in the same church. since u are now one, see your ministries as one.

teng2

Hi Aimee...

Yes, will definitely be at the same church. I am currently only attending the service at St Andrew Church. Will be attending service in his church by year end when my mum can attend the afternoon service in her newly built church in Telok Blangah...now no choice.....and I wouldn't want to start attending a Saturday service then stop again....might as well continue....till I join my FH at his church.

teng2

actually planned to have it in year 2006
but FH wanted next year end... which falls on the day before his bday...

and mine falls the day before valentine....so just right.....

we save on two events each year haha...just kidding...

we are going for marital counselling first...cos I'm also waiting for my results so should start at end of the year....now already sourcing around for venues....etc...and ideas too.....in case we kalan kabo next year.....

cos quite a lot of work projects on hand for next year...so may not be able to commit much to the preparations...hence would rather spread it out lor...how abt you all?

fern

Sorry gals, just one more testimony to share ok? :p

A few weeks ago, I was washing the dishes after dinner. After that, i was standing by the kitchen window drying my hands. I was flicking my hand dry of the water. My wedding ring flew out the window! We stay in an apartment building on the 10th floor. I was so shocked that I couldn't say a thing, i ran to the window to look downstairs (of course i cannot see anything) My husband asked me what i was looking at and i said "my wedding ring..." he thought i was joking and he said WHAT?! I said my wedding ring flew out of the window. We immediately ran downstairs to look for it. I was almost in tears because it was such a stupid thing to have my wedding ring fly out the window... But he told me it's ok, we'll buy a new one. But we prayed for god to help us find the ring.

When we got downstairs, we saw my ring lying right below where my window is, 10floors above! It didn't hit any open windows or "tek kos" on the way down. It didn't bounce or roll off the hard cement floor, just landed and stayed there!

Isn't God amazing, he must have kept my ring there...

tealeaf

My AD is approaching soon, this coming 16 Sept. By this sept, it would be 7 years for me & HB !! Time flies !!

Yep, I will be attending the wedding preparation course this August for 5 sundays with Touch Community Services.

Teng, you are like me & FH, we have plenty of time thus take our time in house reno & wedding preparations, thus not so stressful

cookies_gal

Hi teng,

I wanted to PM you the contact for the cell gp but your PM function wasn't turned on. Maybe you'd like to send me an email and I'll put you in touch? My email is [email protected]

My AD is in June next year. Have gotten most of the major stuff for AD settled. I am now focusing more of my attention on getting my house ready. I'm so thankful that my FH is equally as excited about wedding planning as I am.

laughing

My AD is in Nov04. The wedding stuffs are all in good order so far..but our house is a big problem! We are still flat hunting, and I'm feeling a bit desperate now. But glad my FH reminded me last nite not to look at the situation around me, but to focus my eyes on Jesus. Much like peter who kept his eyes on the Lord and walked on water, but began to sink when he took his eyes off Him. Well, tomorrow is another flat hunting day, hope to have some results!

teng2

Hi Fern...I was laughing as I read..and yet, at the end of it, feel touched at the same time... glad you found your ring...at the right spot and not dented too :D

God's really wonderful, especially so when you really leave things at his hands....

ya, agree with pinkapple...why say sorry...isn't this thread meant for us to share testimonials :p

by the way, just to add to mine....i have a colleague who always gives me a lift to work cos he lives just opposite me.. and later will fetch another colleague from another place...I was really very late yesterday morning and as it was raining...got caught in a super heavy jam in AYE... was thinking "oh gosh..just becos I overslept, I'm causing 2 pax to be late with me"... felt so apolegetic..didn't even dare see the expression on my driver colleague's face.

Seeing that there's still some space on the right lane, my colleague tried to move in..and I just closed my eyes..praying to Lord to clear the jam..and in just a few seconds..my colleague shifted back...and changed his mind abt moving to the right lane...cos the cars were all moving liao...

Regretted a lot that morning cos I should have started praying fifteen minutes ago at the start of the jam hehe :D then can still be in time to fetch the other colleague.

Well....feels quite sad that we, humans, tend to rely solely on God's power when we are at dead ends...with nothing else to rely on...cos i have to admit at times, when I prayed, my mind do wanders.....haiz...

hmmm... a simple thing happened but a great lesson learnt.....at least for me yah :D

huiling

Hi Fern, that was nice sharing. thanks for being so open. how is your preparation so far? ready to say goodbye to singapore yet?

nicatan

hi lala,

im also attending the mpc by tcs in aug.. yr cse is on sundays oni?

need sum advice here... im attending mpc cse in aug n due to my irregular workin hrs can oni complete in sept or even oct.. i tot of geting married by this yr end in dec. but nw not sure cos dunno if i shd rush... nw seeking God's counsel but still need to hear sum opinions.. thks!!

fern

Hmm, i still have about 2months to go before i leave...still can't bear to leave and i think i will never really know till i experience life in OZ for myself lah...i will still come back here to give updates and to see the progress of you gal's weddings!

How's your preparations so far?

fern

By the way Girl RY, you look very young, maybe we are the same age...do you mind telling me how old you are? I'm 24 next tuesday!

kysha

It's really great to read your testimonies. I'm sure the testimonies here will make an impact in the lives of people reading it. It's always good to give thanks to God even for the smallest things. That's how our faith grows. Amen? Keep the testimonies coming!

tealeaf

Hi Fern,
I love your testimony, so funny yet touching !!! Wow, really amazing !!! Fern, you are so young, me 29 this year liao ....

Hi lalaooh,
Which location are you looking at for your flat hunting?

Hi syt,
yep, the person-in-charge said every sunday. How about you?

fern

Hi gals, good sunday afternoon. Juz a little something warm to share before I go to church:

MOVING INTO MATURITY
-------------------------
Change has the beauty of a rose.
But change also carries its own thorns.

Marriage is magnificent change.
It is a giant step into the maturity of love
and responsibility.

Marriage also brings about a new relationship
with your parents.
The relationshsip becomes more mature.
You have become an adult,
with love and respect for your parents,
that remain all of their lives.

But you have changed.
Your new relationship takes precedence.
Your spouse is Number One.

And yet love and respect for your parents never die.

When you move into a new relationship,
both the old and the new become more mature.

Thank God for parents who help make that change smoother.

(Taken from The Newlywed Book)

"A man must leave his father and mother when he marries so that he can be perfectly joined to his wife, and the two shall be one." Ephesians 5:31

huiling

Hi fern, yep you are right, we are the same age! wedding prep is slow. since my weddign is next year, am just taking my time and enjoying the process. have not chk out the tailor you mentioned at Concourse yet. does he have a good sense of design? BTW, how do you tell if the workmanship is good or not? I don't know what to look out for!

hallo syt

when my bf and me decided to get married, we ask ourselves when will be a good time for us to be ready. for example, mental prep, MPC, enough time to commit to God as we transit to another stage of our lives, the house (when we get the keys) etc.

of these, I feel that MPC is the most important. I have heard that some couples need to thrash out many things during the course, and yet they are pressurised by the date of their wedding. So better not to rush, let the word of God speak to you and take time to pray as a couple. just my thoughts, it may not be applicable for you

laughing

Hi Lala,

I am looking in bukit batok. Anyone also flat hunting now?

Hey, I want to thank you girls who prayed for me! Yesterday, we saw a unit we really like and made an offer! I am praying hard now that God will keep that unit for us and no one else is gonna offer any price higher than ours! So girls, please continue to pray for me!

fern

Girl RY,
I always pass by his shop and he always got beautiful pieces worn on the mannequins. He's the only tailor in the shop, so those pieces must be his work lor...
His works always look very unique and very elegant. I really don't know about the worksmanship, like the seams and all that....But i guess you can go and have a talk w him lor...the name of the shop is called Kang's boutique.

By the way, i'm glad to see that you are taking your time for the wedding. Afterall, it's gonna be the one most important day of your life. Pray that everything will go smoothly for you...

Lala, really happy for you! Will continue to pray for you and hope you get it. God always gives what is best.

Hey,
anyone went to NC Church yesterday huh?

huiling

Hi Lala, will pray for you. do update us about the outcome for the flat

Hi Fern, thanks for the information, I will go chk the tailor out. I went to Maragret brides recently and was quoted $1.5 for my WG. very ex. for the same design, another seamstress quote me $500. but i rem your experiences and what you told me, so I dared not commit myself to anything yet.

fern

Girl RY,
if you go to the seamstress, maybe you can ask her to list down all the things included for the price she quoted, so that she cannot spring any "surprises" later on. Be as detailed as possible, such as materials, worksmanship, veil included, "keng keng" included, any beading or lace, etc etc...

laughing

Hi Fern,

Yup, I was at the 4th service ytday. How do you find the msg? hmm...i find Bible prophecies usually invite a lot of controversial views!

Girl Ren yu, I almost signed with Margaret when she just moved to her new premise coz I like her and her gowns. But I am glad I didn't coz much later I found a gown I liked at Allure Charix for a much better price. Take your time, you still can afford to shop around more.

fern

Yes pinkapple. Last month he shifted to the basement.

Hi Lala, I was also at the 4th service! I started queuing at about 4pm, got in at about 4.45...got sore feet man...i thought they were going to start the ticketing system so that we didn't have to queue so early? Where were you in the queue and what were you wearing? Maybe I have seen you?

Anyway,
we liked the message. It was the best end times msg i ever heard, not all gloom and doom and full of fear one...we went home and checked out some facts and what pastor prince said makes sense.
By the way, next week he's not going to be around...

laughing

Hi Fern,

Ya, you'll never get a gloom and doom end time msg from NCC. But I just find the illustration of Kennedy and Lincoln a bit far fetched..hmmm..

I dunno why the ticketing was not implemented. Frankly, I am getting a bit tired of Q-ing at NCC now. When I first came to NCC in 2000, I could just stroll in for 9am service...ahh good 'ol dayz. Haha, but if God has given the church revival, I cannot complain lah! Actually, I dun mind Ps prince not being around coz it means shorter Q..haha!

I was in the front part of the Q, near the foodcourt/foot reflex.

zonkkie

great to find this thread. Im a member of NCC as well, attending 1st service. I normally go to the overflow room so can just stroll in abt 15 minutes before 9am.

It was really an interesting message last Saturday. Agree that comparison between Lincoln and Abraham was a lil...hmmm, but well, it doesnt discount from the rest of the message. And guess what, Greece won! hehe

fern

Good morning gals...
Hey Lala and Zonkkie, next week is P.Joshua leh...what about the mid week service huh? Is it P.Josh or the P.Prince? Maybe will go for mid-week...

Hmm, I'm leaving for Australia in Sept, so have to buy lots of P.Prince's cds back! So sad, I will miss NCC and P.Prince so much!

Hey Lala, we normally go for the 4th service. Can you PM me your mobile number? Maybe next time we can meet up at the queue just to say hi to each other. *Not to jump queue of course!
I dun like ppl to jump queue one...

aimee

Hi Girl Ren yu & Lala,
Do take your time to find the bridal shop you are comfortable & happy with. Just remember dun give in to their hard-sellings and persuations. Bridal gowns are usually very nice...and at the spur of the moment, you'd really want to sign up with them one!

Well, i havent been to NCC but would like to know more abt it. Since there are so many NCC brides here, care to tell me what kept you all going back to the church? from your messages, think alot of you (and even the youths in my church) are 'crazy' abt Ps Prince.

laughing

Hi Fern,

Are u going to Australia for good? Which part fo Aus? I'll pm u shortly.

Hi Aimee,

I used to attend a church which emphasized a lot on "works" and I was very involved in the activities. But it soon burned me out coz as a baby Christian, I was not being fed spiritually, and was just running around "doing" lots of stuffs which were so-called church building.

When I left that church, I was all spiritually dried up and emotionally drained. But see, God was good and brought me to NCC and the first sermon I heard from there was the story on Martha and Mary, on how Martha was too busy serving the Lord but missing out on drawing from Him. But Mary chose the good part and sat at the Lord's feet listening to Him, and that pleased Him so much. That sermon really ministered to me so much I made the decision to make NCC my home church.

The story is in Luke 10:38-41, for anyone interested.

I have since learned that grace, the undeserved favour from the Lord, comes through faith, and not through my works. And this has give me much peace!

"Romans5:1 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand."