Christian Brides

Hi Liz

Welcome. Do u mean to say tt the service wld be held at the ballroom itself? Sounds great! U might even specify to have it earlier, say 7pm.
But anyhow this arrangement helps in cutting down on latecomers, which is common at banquets

Hi Teng

No idea yet, only colour theme I guess.. The closest to a theme wld be having it grand? Heehee

lizzy9981

Hi Teng and mehmeh, thank u and nice to hear fr u. Mehmeh, yup, the svc wld b beld at the ballrm itself.

Great idea to ve it at 7pm. will feedback to mi coordinator! There's really a lot of prep work to do for weddings but overall its fun n blessed.

tambourina

hope it's not rude of me to barge into this thread.

I am a Sep 05 bride. All in one day - church wedding and banquet.

Has anyone of you considered Four Seasons Catering and Smiling Orchid?

I would recommend Greenpoint for church florist if you are sourcing around.

Have you chosen your theme verse? I have picked my church invite cards from tdragon. Will be going down this saturday to finalise the wordings. Shd be using Eph 4:2 as our theme verse.

teng2

Hi tambourina,

Welcome welcome :D

Me having church on a sat and dinner on a sun in Dec05.

Smiling Orchid is well known for their tea reception.... tried them many times for some of my other functions..

What type of cards are you looking at? postcard/open flap kind? now on budget.. so thinking of getting something less costly....

Anyone has idea on where I can find rental of those candle stands to be put along the church aisle? Do the florists handle that?

Hi Tambourina

I did consider Four Seasons when I went for the recent Outdoor Wedding Fair. The spread at the fair was gd, but I do not how it wld be at the actual reception in church.

Did hear many gd comments abt Smiling Orchid. Also quite keen on SO, but their website isn't updated, so not sure if the price mentioned till valid.

Do u have the soft-copy image of how ur card looks like by Tdragon? Is it the postcard or flap card? How much did they charge u per card?

Teng: How was the deco for those reception u attended by Similing Orchid? Is the food spread those frozen then cooked or fresh food? Any particular dish left the strongest impression on you?

If I'm not mistaken, if you wld like the candles, you can inform ur deco vendor & they shd source & handle for u

teng2

Hi mehmeh,

I also went for the outdoor show.. actually feel that there wasn't anything much at the show leh..considering the major marketing done, expected more things....heee.... but liked their concept of the stickers.. though I forgot all about the passport card till i packed my bag haha...

Hmm.. those functions i attended are all tea reception style... quite fresh.. erm, actually depends on what are the food ordered. For example, the savoury items such as samosa and popiah are sure to be frozen right? The deepest impression was perhaps the durian pancake?

For my buffet, I'm going for dinner not tea reception so after going for smiling orchid's food tasting, i find that what they offer are not what I wanted in terms of the dishes... you can contact them at the number on the website for a free food tasting session...

Have you sourced for your church florist?

Hmm.. cards wise, you looking at printing own designs or something ready made?

hi Teng

Thanks for the info.. I do agree tt the outdoor wedding fair wasn't as great as I had expected, not to mention to get up there by stairs! Not worth it leh, thankfully Four Season's cheesecake was nice lah. Hahah

Hmm, what I meant as fresh, not as to say tt they are stale or what. Did they use fresh ingredients or the those pre-cooked frozen snacks? Seems like my parents think very stingy if it's just these snack items, so gotta check properly.
But I was reasoning with them tt this being a tea reception, and ppl wld have had lunch, we shdn't be serving things like curry chicken, fish & all the heavy going items rite?? Sigh

I didn't know what SO has free food tasting session, but I figure it shd be limited to the lunch & dinner stuff, but not tea yah? So u engaged them?

With regards to the church florist, I'm deciding if I want this person who does for my church regularly (view her skills etc at my fren's wedding next Sat), or my colleague's sister or this guy fr Holland V wet mkt.

As for cards, def getting it custom-made, but printed by a prof printer. Design shd be done up by me or FH or together

tambourina

Hi mehmeh and Teng,

my invite card is something like a cross-flap cream-coloured card-holder. Then when you open up, there is a card with invitation words. erm...difficult to visualise hor....=P

i was at holland v last wed. Apparently, the wet market is closed. All the stalls have moved.

SO serves laksa and mee siam, right? And it's cooked on the spots for the guests? My mum attended my cousin's wedding. She quite liked the laksa (or mee siam). So she's pro-SO.

mehmeh, i rem that you were going to have your CS tailored. How's it going? have you had PS already?

Hi Tambourina

Yupz, CS tailored & have used it for my PS. Took it in March.. Heehee, but haven't gotten back the soft-copy.

Though the Holland V wet mkt has closed, I got the guys name card, so still contactable (I hope!)

SO serves laksa & mee siam ah? Sounds nice lah.. But for which menu, available for tea?

Indeed, ur card is quite hard to visualise. Any pix or soft-copy image of it??

Hihi all

Need a really strong opinion fr u girls...
Currently have gotten quotes fr Angeli & Lavish & Rasel for the church reception

Lavish has been offering the best service & even gave 2 gd menus as I wanted a modification of the $10 to $8 menu. Some issues: GST not included & I haven't tried their food or seen their set-up

Met Rasel at the Wedding Fair by Newpaper at Suntec, the guy seems sincere but a little pushy also? Haven't seen their set-up, but have tried their food on 2 occasions. They offered $8.50 with GST absorbed

Angeli has great food, but haven't seen their set-up, not too willing to modify the price to suit my budget.

I'm still considering Smiling Orchid & Elsie's Kitchen too..
How now brown cow??

teng2

Hi mehmeh,

sorry for the late reply..
ya, i understand what you mean by the food being fresh.. cos was trying to say it depends on what type of food you ordered....
eg : savoury fried spring rolls.. normally are frozen and defrosted to be fried... hehe :p In fact, the savoury items for tea snacks are normally kept in the freezer to keep it fresh before deep frying or cooking....cos don't think caterers are able to make those things just before cooking and serving in functions... unless it's an on-site stall...

I don't think Smiling Orchid limits the food tasting to just lunch and dinner orders.. You can call them up to check. No. I have de-listed them partly because I am looking more to heavier food cos it's a buffet dinner. If you are looking at tea reception, no harm asking them for the food tasting session cos they are known for that rather than the filling items. Their durian pancake is not bad.. they can make it on the spot for guests too... depends on your cost/pax and overall guest list/budget..

Went to Rasel's wedding workshop sometime in March.. the food is not too bad but set-up a bit simple from what I'm expecting... but seems that many pple are recommending it...

I met up with quite a few caterers either through their wedding workshops or shortlist them based on their replies/quotes given to my email enquiries... haha.. their speed of response is a factor to me too.. now have met up with Kriston, Rasel, Continental Delights, Harvest Catering, Smiling Orchid.. the rest... saw them at the outdoor fair but not that interested though I really liked Nouvelle's conveyor belt... which is too expensive liao.... so can forget it hehe :p

Told myself I will confirm my caterer latest end June 2005 bah....

marilyntay

HI Teng,

I am thinking of using harvest or angeli. Since you have met up with harvest, can you share with me what you think of them? thanks

teng2

Hi m&m...

Found their service really prompt... in fact, sent out enquiries to so many caterers and they were to first the get back.. liked their set-up and presentation too... going to meet them again to discuss on the theme/possible change of items on the food etc cos our guest list is increasing....

Deciding between Harvest and CDCS now.... though waiting for the menu from Q'zin too... anyway, still got some time left....

Didn't get angeli's quote yet...

marilyntay

Hi Teng,

Thanks. If you are really taking them, can you update their service here? Cos none of my friends have used them before but I am keen to take them. My wedding is next Apr, cos I still have plenty of time. But I just wanted to do as much research as possible cos I'm changing my job soon. THanks again...

Hi Teng,

I've made a decision on my caterer oredi. My church mate used Elsie for tea reception today & paid $5/head. The spread was sufficient & the food was yummy, except for the Crystal dumpling. The satay, honey-baked chicken winglet & fried mee siam were warm enough inspite of the cold weather today. The mini fruit tarlets were beautiful & the chicken pies were simply great with real visible pieces of chicken in them.

The set-up provided consisted of the buffet tables fully-skirted with clean linen. 2 drink counters. Though there was no floral deco, I felt tt the whole ambience was gd enough. No guests commented on the fact tt the flowers were absent. Anyway they did propose in an email conversation tt for my estimated guest no. of 300, they wld provide me silk floral deco..So thank God for blessing me with such a deal with Elsie's Kitchen

He is indeed Jehovah Jireh

Hi fellow sisters-in-Christ

My PS pix are ready. If u wld like to see them pleae leave ur email add here..

I didn't upload all, just some to shareshare

skye_skye

hi mehmeh
yaps...have only recently followed this thread.

my ROM + church wedding on 19th Nov 2005..another 6 mths! feels far away but so fast too..

how about you?

tambourina

hey ask u girls something.

are u involved in church ministries/service? Do you have any difficulties juggling your service with wedding preps/home reno?

Work takes up this much time. My fiance works late, so during weekends or sometimes weeknites we can source for wedding/home stuff and preps. I don't know if i am being self-centred. For this period, i really cannot handle children/youth ministries with work, wedding/new home preps. Sometimes, i feel i have let down my ministry members.

Other couples in my church seemed to have handled well.

Is it ok to take a break from church service to prepare for wedding? But at the same time, that ministry is not doing well?

marilyntay

Hi Tambourina,

I think it's unwise to do that. God may be using this period of time to mould you and to teach you some lessons. It may be tough, but I believed that we will be able to pull through as He is our Help. So hang in there. We do our best and God will do the rest. I always believed that if we honour God, God will honour us. Will keep you in prayer... "Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you." 1 Pt 5:7. Take care. Jesus loves you

Hi gers

Have sent the URL to you girls. Do feel free to make comments..

Hi Skye

Sorry, coz I wasn't sure if you were a genuine sis-in-Christ. Have had bad experience whereby when I shared, there were some nasty remarks.. Just being cautious even as I want to share my joy

Welcome to this thread
kao_welcome.gif

Hi Cookie's gal

Thanks for compliments.. Wanted sthg different fr the norm, so created such concepts & shared with my PG. He did a great job inspite having a headache on the day of PS. Praise God!!

tambourina

hey mehmeh,

thanks for sharing your pics. Can tell that you had fun at PS and gown fitting with your loved ones.

think i know one of your girlfriends in your PS. There were 3 girls standing behind waiting to catch your bouquet. the one in the middle - studied in melbourne?

skye_skye

hi mehmeh,

thanks for sharing yr pics too

and...it's small world oso! so exciting! both of u r in campus crusade rite? me too...! *grin* frm engin region, graduated last yr, not sure if u know me...but we should have seen each other b4.
when's yr AD?

anyways gonna take my PS earlier than planned...in 2-3 weeks time as my gown is ready & we don't have time when the sch season starts..feelin fat :eek: oh dearr...still, i'll share with ya all when it's out!

lizzy9981

hi mehmeh, the pics were so well taken, of course with a lovely bride (U~!!) to complement the good photography skills. V professionally done and can see its really v v nice! thanks for the link!!

Hi Tambourina

Yupzyupz, had loads of gd fun thru out this whole wedding preps process! Heehee

Yupz, tt fren of mine studied in Melbourne
U too?

Hi Skye

Spot on! Both of us were fr CCC, grad in 2003 though. U prob wld know Derek then.. Care to share your real name here? I'm sure Derek wld know you i believe. Have we talked in CCC before?

Sounds like u are a teacher too! Same here.

Btw, my AD is 3 Sept 05.. Coming rite up!
When's urs?

Which is ur BS? Rem to share when u get ur pix k?

Hi Liz

I'm a lovely bride? Heehee, God bless!! All the ncie pix were shared, the unglam moments, not captured!! hahah

Agreed tt the photographer is very professional & able to listen to my likes & dislikes.

tambourina

mehmeh,

i studied in melbourne and seen your friend and a guy (name was George?) at the Swanston St Church of Christ, international student ministry.

Campus crusade...mehmeh and skye may know some of my church mates who are serving there full-time.

mehmeh, my AD is one week after yours. Both of your families are Christian and are ok with you getting married in the ghost month?

oh i like your CS. You got it tailored at tanjong pagar, was it?

small_one

hi mehmeh

thanks for sharing your link. The pics look good and professionally done up. Love your CS too.

Well, since your AD coming rite up, you must be very busy but excited right?

lizzy9981

hi mehmeh, of course u r a lovely bride! heehee

Do you tailor made ur ROM dress, even my fiance complimented that it was lovely!!!

skye_skye

Hi mehmeh,

Yaps, heh..i graduated last year. i believe Derek will remember who i am, u ask him if he knows Grace frm architecture. i'm not sure if we've talked before though i've seen both of u together
i'm not too active in CCC though.

i'm actually giving tuition full-time & doing other biz stuff. my fiance's a sch teacher & onli starting to teach aft this hols. meanwhile, U hav a good june hols break!

my BS is SanMike. AD's Nov 19 2005, with the dinner on 20 Nov. haven't felt the busyness of the wedding preps yet tho.

Hi newcreation,
Welcome!
howz yr wedding preps?