Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
Hi Angelia,

You can pop by when you're there again... just drop me an email and I'll try to be around.

I got some ID mags... but still at my in laws' place... I'll pick them up again and see when you need it can get from me?

Hey all,

All done for the day...

Got my keys...Went into the room at abt 2.40pm and was out done by 3.20pm.

Went to see the flat after geting the keys.

Meeting the ID persons tomorrow.

Let them guage if the designs are ideal for the space that we have.

So far, need to change the kitchen designs.

Keep u all updated.

Enjoy!

Hi Ann,

Great... you have collected your keys and will be doing renovation soon.

For me still waiting for Town Council to get back to me when to rectify the defect that we found last Saturday (Collect last Tues but open door last Sat)

Quite many defects... Must complete the defects before contractor start work.

Do enjoy your renovation...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ann,</FONT>
whoa, u took even shorter time than me..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Alex,</FONT>
aiyo, last nite go new flat to check for defect (got scared at the list of defects u gave us lah) and knock knock till my knuckles so painful..

the tiles are okie, but the bedroom doors a little little bit slanted but guess this can ask contractor to help us fix. the bomb shelter door oso slanted.. cannot lock properly. i.e cannot turn handles upwards to 90 degrees fully.. than we see see see and realised that the lock doesn't fit nicely into the "hole" on top.. can see the paint in the "hole" coming off due to the friction..

prob will send the defect list by tmr... btw, where to send the list to?? CCKC town council? is there a form to fill? we hvn't gone thru that stack of docu given by HDB leh...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Sweetiee,</FONT>
nice meeting u &amp; hubby.. must say ur house is very nicely done up, though eventually u din engage ID.. both kuek and i like ur kitchen sliding door. dun mind if we "copy" the design?

also amazed by the way u "hide" the bedroom door. actually separates the living area from the room very nicely.

hi Angelia,

Nice meeting up with you &amp; kuek also...
Must apologise for keeping you guys waiting downstairs...

Thanks for your compliments...

Hee, the kitchen sliding door har? It's actually a mistake! I mean, it wasn't the design we originally wanted! Thank God that it turned out to be ok... so we accepted it but still demanding discount from them...
Well, you can improvise the design if you want... but just make sure it blends with your overall concept lor...

The bedroom door har... it was just my crazy idea but in the end we managed to do it like a feature wall...

Feel free to swing by for chit chat again...

Hi Angelia,

Over the seperate e-mail I told you that my girl girl actually using "Tapping Rod" to test... Ooopss... forgotten to inform you that this Tapping Rod is not easy to obtain but next alternative you could use "Coins" to knock. This process is very "Siong" lah...

The form is together with the small "black bag" given during key collection. You could send the defects list to fax 63100725 (CCK Town Council) or call 63958688. Each block will have different Technical officer to handle the defects... I have sent and called on Monday, but until now no reply leh... Will call them later.

ya, did remember u mentioned the tapping rod. but we dun hv mah, so used knuckles lor..

okie. than maybe tonite go back i fill up, tmr fax liao... hopefully dun need to wait another 3 wks for them to get back or rectify the faults....

aiya, not ur fault, we were there early mah.. gd oso, at least got some "romantic" moments with hubby... eh, eh, eh, dun think "crooked" okie.. juz that we got a chance to talk in a peaceful surrounding.. minus the MRT and the sounds of the insects....
it's been a long while since we did that.

Hi Alex,

What sort of defects did u find at your place?

I gave my place a glance through and not too sure if there were any defects.

Maybe shd go and have a thorough check thru' becos we nd to report within 7 days.

Hi Angelia,

How's ur place, so far? Loving it more and more huh?

Hi Sweetiee,

You are the most senior CCKang-er, having moved in first

Enjoy before the rest of us move in and visit your house :P

Since Angelia has praised your nice house, we shall all drop by...hee hee (just kidding)...Don't wanna scare you :P

Hi Ann,

Quite a number of defects. It is possible to provide your e-mail? I'll send you the attachment. (same one that I sent to Angelia.).

This coming Sat, Contractor will come and verify it. My block is handle by Mr. Soh from Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd.

Hi Alex,

Oh dear, my email caught a virus...I clicked on a title that didn't look familiar and the PC always gives a farting sound when I try to go into the email. Have not been able to rectify it since...

Can just tell me briefly what to look out for?

If not convenient, then it's ok..

I shall just go knock all the walls :P

Hi Ann,

It is ok. Is just that I am lazy to type lah...

For my units there are many "Hair line" Cracks at the tiles (Wall and floor). Hollow tiles are common. When you knock on tiles or wall (can either use metal spoon or coins), you will hear that it sound different. Some dun mind about hollow tiles/wall becuase apperance looks ok, but after certain years tiles/walls will "pop" out...

For some tiles already crack, contractor usually use white cream (dun know what it call) to paste on it. But actually if you look carefully you will notice that it has already chip off... For cracks it is better to use your hand to feel the tiles because sometimes it is cover by a layer of dirt which won't be obvious by seeing.

Do look out for the doors. Some can't close propoerly. (In line with walls) and some can't lock fully.

Do remember to check the window, whether can be close and lock fully. As for Window especially at the casement paint/protective layer usually peel off.

For Ceiling, check whether if there is any water stain. If there is most likely becuase of water seepage from upper level. For those top level will be easier to check becuase of occasional raining, but for normal level unless someone living on top wet the floor than you will see the effect clearly.

Most of my problems are hollow tiles, walls and mis-alignment of doors

Wow... if I have not remember wrongly, yours is EA right. More area to check...

hi Ann,

Hee, I'm not the most senior CCKang-er lah, many have moved in before me... like Lyn...

Feel free to pop by... drop me a note here first in case my flat is in a mess!

Hi Alex,

Thanks for the info...shall go to the house tomorrow and look at the place more closely...

Hi Sweetiee,

Will spring u a surprise
see how messy u can be :P

Hi Angelia,

Bz bz bz bz?

Alex, i think i still owe you the contractor's number. Very sorry as these few days are so busy. I am meeting the contractor tomorrow, i will get his namecard &amp; let you know on monday.

I have just gotten back a quotation from one of the ID yesterday. Quoted me ard $25k (without aircon, electrical fittings). Not sure if this is ok pricing. Also, the kitchen cabinet quoted $3500+ &amp; with solid top will be another $1500+. Is this too expensive cos don't remember my sis' kitchen cabinet being so expensive.

Hi Kas,

Hope to hear from your good news soon.

As for $25k, need to compare items before knowing whether cost is ok...

As for Kitchen cabinet, need to know $/ft. Use $3500/xxft = $/ft. Some are slightly expensive because inclusive of accessories or some panel of foster glass. very difficult to judee without the details.

Sames goes to your Solid top. $/ft will be difference for different length and brand...

Or you might want to have a seperate discussion at the e-mail address i sent you?

Just happen to see this thread today. My hubby and I are staying in Blk 685B. We completed our reno last August. Will be having our customary in Dec this year. We spend around 30+K for our reno of our four room unit. Have done quite a lot of built-ins.

If any one needs our quotation for reference, feel free to let me know.

Hi Angelia,

Welcome...Welcome...

I guess you might have already move in... Do hope you have enjoy staying in CCKC.

Happen to have another Agilent Ng (from Blk 692A) in this thread...

hi Alex,
can give me your email address again? I left it at home. I have gotten the contractor's contacts.

Hi Angelia Wong,

Welcome...
I'm at 686C, very near you... also 4-room.

hi Alex...

Hee... it's Angelia Ng... You wrote Agilent... later she hammers you...

Hi Sweetiee,

Thanks for your reminder... Hi ya, Agilent happen to be one of my major customer (Agilent tech). I guess I type too fast while reading compay e-mail... I always so sotong... he heee...

Hi Angelia (Ng),

So sorry...

Hi Kas,

Please help to send to [email protected] Thanks in advance

thx for highlighting to orange{Alex}.

me was waiting to see if u realise u type wrongly anot! kekeke... ok lah, apologise accepted!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angelia (Wong),</FONT>
welcome... next time when the others want to post, they gotta put down our surname as well, kekeke..

6046.gif

alex, have emailed you the contractor's contacts.

btw, anyone has any ID companies to recommend? Am still looking ard cos so far, only found one who is not bad but need more comparison. Any advice?

Hi Sweetiee and Angelia (Ng),

Guess this few days has been to busy with work. In fact I have been typing my client names almost few hundred time per day. Either through e-mail, summary of meeting, reports, etc... Very scare already lah...

Hi Kas,

Each individual contractor have different specialty. Some good in design, cost, quality, and service etc.

For me I'm chosing El-Fa (IMM). El-fa have Radac and is also from HDBay List. Design not bad. Pricing attractive and able to negotiate. Quality not so bad (have went to their present site to see) So far compare almost 8 ID firms and contractors, Elfa is my top list...

There are a few recommended contractors/ID firms in this thread by our CCKC neighbours, not bad too...

Inorder to avoid confusion, guess you all can type my name as Angie. You think is a good idea, Angelia Ng
Currently, my hubby is in CCK in the weekdays. I will only be in CCK during the weekends as you all know lah, not yet customary...

Sweetiee, where is your block? Is it the one beside my block? Which floor is yours? We wanted high floors initially. However when we selected ours last year, there were no high floors left and we can only be content with our current 9th floor.

Before I forget, to all of you who are in the midst of renovationg your flats, make sure you do not cover up or seal off the "ventilation holes" in the bomb shelter. We did a feature wall to cover up both holes and we were so "lucky" to be one of the targeted unit for "QC" check. Guess they selected the units at random.

We were told to remove the feature wall for one of the hole. They have not come to follow-up since and we have not done anything yet as the thought of having to clean up after all the work just put us off.

Hi Angie,

Just to check with you whether we are allow to cover up only one "ventilation holes" or must not cover at all? Am thnking of covering one and leave one untouch. Don't know whether can or not? Any idea?

Hi Alex,

From wat my hubby told me (I was not around when the officer came to check), we are allowed to cover only one "ventiliation hole". The other one must be left untouched. You can call and double check with the HDB branch at CCK just to make sure

Hi Angie,

My block is the one right at the corner at the very end... next to the multi-storey car park...
I managed to get 15th floor... very windy over my side. So quite happy abt it so far.

We can visit each other one of these days...

So you'll wait till Dec before you officially shift in?

Hi Sweetiee,

Lucky you! Manage to get quite a high floor

Oh sure! will love to see your flat. Read about Angelia Ng's comment about your sliding door and the way you hide your bedroom door. Very interesting

Yup, that's right. Will have to wait till Dec after our customary before I can officially shift in.

Hi Angelia...

hee... we wanted the one on 17th floor initially but was taken one day before us. 16th floor was take the last quarter before us. So in the end took 15th floor but we realise the good thing also that we won't get the morning sun... 15th floor is blocked but 16th and 17th will get it.;P

Oh ya... feel free to come by. Erm, drop me a note here in advance.

Hey sweetiee,

Now I know your address :P

Hi Angelia Wong (Angie)...

We will be neihbours soon.

I am at Blk 690B...

Starting my reno soon...after the final design is agreed upon.

Hi Alex

Looks like you will start your reno soon too
Great!

Hi Angelia Ng

Now I know your surname

Starting your reno soon?

Hi Ann,

Yap... ID Firm came to take measurement (plus see see..). Once Town Council to finished off the retification work they could start work.

At this moment before start work, hope to get more price reduction from them.

Hope to start renovation before 9 Aug (Ghost festival)

Hi Alex,

So we will probably be doing the reno at abt the same time...

I went on Sat/Sun/Mon to see the place...

Looks ok so don't need to report defects...

Just have to wait for my design details to be finalised this Saturday...

I am also looking at ways to cut the reno costs...

Been shopping for furniture?

The shops at Turf City is not too bad if you wanna try...

Bought some there over the weekend

Got my electronic stuff from Harvey Norman too...

Kiasu...just before the Singapore sale ended...

I was recommended by my colleagues to a Electrical Appliances dealer that sell really cheap products compare other places. It includes delivery and installation. Products include Aircon, fridge, TV, fans, heater, etc... About 90% of the brands available in S'pore. Just helping him up to do some promotion here...Try to believe... I'll be getting my stuff from him... KS and cheap cheap... hee heee...

Do call Ah Tang from "Prominent Impex (S) Pte Ltd" at H/p 94502433 or 62971670 or 62924648. It is located at 195 Lavender Street #02-13 Eminent Plaza. There is no display set there. Just give him the model number and he will give you a good price where it is difficult to get it else where. Very cheap you know...

Remarks:\ Don't ask him which one is good or further discount... He will get angry one leh... because price is cheaper compare to others... All my colleagues got their stuff there...

Happy shopping...

For furniture, I'll update later...

Please do share with us if you happen to come across best buy...

ha ha... Ann, sure... make sure you find me at the right unit!

Hi Alex...

Oh ya, I think my hubby's colleague also recommended him the same electrical appliances dealer... my hubby just ordered the TV from there. Much better price than outside. Should have got our other stuff from them earlier.

hi Ann,
think i am very close to you too. I am at 690C. Am hoping to start my reno soon too but still deciding on the ID. But must definitely kick off reno before the hungry ghosts month. Pang dan lah!
But hope that HDB can get the defects settled soon. They told me they will take 3-4 weeks. Gosh! Hope they hurry!!

You sure there are no defects at your place? Mine has alot. That's why the HDB officer said might take longer to rectify.

Alex, did you get my email on the contractor's contacts?

Hi Kas,

Yes I received. Thanks... I've decided to use ElFa.

Yap, I agree with you that there are many defects. To name a few like hollow tiles, tiles hair line crack, pipe leakage, uneven alignment of doors, etc etc...

For those who wanted to lay laminate or parquet or timber material, pls remember to request town council cement screeding earlier together with rectification of defects. This way will not waste time...

Happy renovation...

Hi Dear all,

Need to check if there anybody having experience in lighting... in terms of $$$

Also need to check how much does it cost for PLC light + holder and hologen light + holder and living hall fan??

Need some advice over here

this is Piggy from Blk 684A...Juz got my keys on Mon...v d excited now...

It seems that everyone here have already settling down..that's good news!

Anyone can recommend a good ID?...juz started to source out......

thks!

Just got my keys yesterday...went down to see the unit at the first instance...to my surprise there is not much defects for my unit not as like what being mentioned...but my letter box slot is stuck...do this consider defects to hdb or town council...???

also i found out that the toilets are really small and the door is open to the side where normally people will install their showerscreen...so how...??? also i think the area is too small for a showerscreen too...
have anyone encounter the same problem...???

have anyone tried to install the central heater (main) in the toilet before...??? got problem or not as from what i see there hard;y have any space left on the top...

also the design of my kitchen have to be redo again after looking at the existing severage pipe running from top down in the kitchen...need to box them up....

anyone have the same kitchen layout as mine...??? i'm in unit 683A...having those odd shape (pentagon)...

kindly advise me on this please...???

thanks....

paul

Hi cychang,

I believed most toilets are rather small. My the same. When open toilets doors it will hit the shower screen area. My ID Firm adviced me to put a small stopper at the side of the door to prevent knocking. Idea seems ok but have not started reno yet.

Agree with you there are many piping. I'll be boxing them up with shelving to put small items.

Hi Kas,

Wow...so near...next blk only...

Yep, no defects from what I see. I went through all the things that were mentioned by Alex...3 times actually with different people. Couldn't find any faults.

Hi Alex,

May wish to try Thomson Lighting At IMM. It was the most reasonably priced during my scout there last nite. The designs are nice &amp; modern too. This is the only one I have been happy with.

I agreed that the toilets are small and the door placement is rather inconvenient. However, able to still do shower screens. For the common bathroom, suggest the 3 small sliding panels unless we can be happy with a shower kerb and a nice shower curtain.

Congrats to those who just got their keys!

Hi Ann,

So sorry that my understanding power is poor. Could you help to further explain how to do the 3 small sliding panels? Is it for the common toilet panels or for the common toilet shower screen?

For the defects, agree with you it is diificult to spot it. Not even me could spot it. Happen my girl girl is from contruction industry to help me... hee hee heeee....

finally moving to end of the week. Feeling so tired these days with all the renovation sourcing. Am going to look for another quotation tonite. Argh!!

Alex, you might want to reconsider doing shower sliding doors for common toilet cos most likely we will use the common toilet to wash some of our hand washed clothes. You might find it very restrictive in future if you installed a door. I was told by one of the designers when we went shopping for quotations. That's why she discourage us installing shower sliding doors for common toilets. Find this quite true as the toilet is really small.

Hi Piggy, you might want to try out JSDC at IMM &amp; look for the designer Vivi. She's quite good &amp; i like her designs. Price might be quite ex but negotiable. She's quite flexible. She is recommended by my colleague who use her for her Punggol flat. Am seriously considering her once price is ok. I think she is in charge of the 1st flat featured in the Open Sesame last sunday.

Btw, i am considering doing a L-shaped kitchen. Will this be restrictive when we try to hang out the clothes from the top hanger out thru the window. Cos the space look really small. Any one has already done a L-shaped kitchen?

Hi Kas,

Thanks for your suggestion.

You might want to take a look at the other thread "JSDC Design". Believed that Sweetiee have some comments over there. Not sure if it is her.

For Kitchen Cabinets, I have facing the same constriant as yours. ID Firm suggested to me to do L Shape from one end to the other. That means do not protrude in the middle of kitchen. This way have more space.

Hope this information helps.

thks, kas!

will be going with my FH to have a look.....

goin to my new flat oni this sun..FMIL preparing the necessities for us to bring there for the opening of the door for the first time!..hehe..

havent apply for PUB yet...to cut cost ma...those monthly fixed charges!...alamak....paid the SS/CC fees, oledi so heart- pain...YET, I AM NOT THERE TO ENJOY THEIR SERVICES! :|

we are actually looking out for a nice place to hold our wedding dinner next oct oso...anyone can recommend a place with good food, okay ambience can oledi...Current options in my list will be Merchant Court and Yan Palace (my FH and i love the dim sim there)...

Sorry for my long msg..lots of question marks in my head now!..kekeke....

Anyone living near my block, 684A huh?...how long do u walk to Yew Tee MRT huh?...

As I have to cater space for the washing machine, don't think i can stretch the cabinet from 1 end to the other. So will have the cabinet protrude out in the middle.

My experience with JSDC so far is quite ok. Agree that i did not have a good impression of them during my 1st visit cos there's no designer to serve us. But subsequent contact with the designer was good &amp; she has been very prompt in replying my calls &amp; SMS. Guess we will have to meet up with them to really see if there's a connection.

Hi all, so many messages...

Hi cychang,

Actually we din do any shower screens for both toilets. Intend to have just shower curtains initially but now got so used to it coz it seems so much more spacious.
Save cost on shower screen and also no need to wipe also... hee...

Hi kas,

I can understand how you feel... The last time I was also feeling very tired after sourcing all the contractors.

Hi Alex,

Yup, I did post something abt JSDC. They din come back to me with the quote and design at all. Anyway, it's ok lah. That din bother us a lot. But I guess it's important who you liaise with. As long as you're comfortable then it's ok.

Hi Piggy,

How many tables are you looking at?? can help you suggest... kekkeke... kay poh.

And all CCKang-ers,

So far I must say I'm really happy staying there. The nearby path next to canal motivates my hubby go jogging more!
And my place is windy.
And it's not very far from the supermarkets and MRT... My blk should be further than all of your blks but I just took around 10 mins to walk there... And... and... hiya. very good lah, you won't regret choosing CCKC! Hee hee...

Hi Sweetiee,

Which canal are you referring to? Where is it located? I do jog too. Have been jogging on weekdays after work at Clementi Stadium (at my mum's place)However when I am at CCKC on weekends, I can't find any nearby tracks to jog as CCK stadium is quite far from our place.