Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
<font color="ff0000">Alex,</font>
Actually there are also other factors to consider, like the quality and size of the TV (eg. older 21" CRT vs Widescreen/Plasma) , the quality of the cable itself and also the DVDP.
Is there any DVD menu setting that needs to be tweaked to optimise progressive scan video ?

Good time for me to learn abt all this too, to prepare my own systems in a few weeks time.

<font color="ff0000">Meow,</font>
Then can u make it on the 20th ?
Venue not fixed yet, but it would be good if we could hold it in one of our homes, to make it convenient for pple to drop by (like Pris and her bb). Seems that currently the only 'potential' and possible places are at Angelia, and Yours?

Our company's D&amp;D will be tonite, so can go off at 3pm.... hurray!

Hi Ahmel,

Thanks again... Mine is 100hz Flat screen (not Plasma) Have tried all the setting within the DVDP and TV menu. Must say can see only slight difference but not very obvious lor...

In your TV setting, you need to set to progressive scan or for some have auto. In the DVD setting you need to set the setting that is suitable for your TV. In TV and DVD menu actually have stated it lor...

Just to share with you one thing. One of my friend ever brought a better Toshiba DVDP and a normal Shinco DVD together for comparison. To his surprise there is also slight difference but price different is 70% to 100% gap. In the end he refunded the Toshiba back to Carrierfour... ha haa haaa... Idea for testing right....

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
heh....rowdy is good, more fun !
so probably ur neighbour may come and peek-peek again huh?

I never knew can do refund in Carrefour, wat are the conditions for the refund ? must buy above a certain $ amt of goods?

Which video connection u used for ur PS2 ? I tried the S-video, and it is sharper and clearer compared to composite yellow cable. But too bad the bedroom TV i normally used to play games does not have a S-video connection

Oh, sorry, I thought you have already moved in liao. hmmm....so now seems that only Angelia can 'volunteer' her house ..... Angelia ??

Angelia,
Wah sudden disappears... what a good move hee hee hee...

Ahmel,
Dun tekan her anymore... otherwise she dun comes in chat with us...

If I still remember refund fo any product can be done if you still have original packaging, sellable conditions, with receipt, not more than 15 days of purchase date. Except of alcohol and cigarette products if I am not wrong...

If Carrefour is too far, IMM Giant also similar practice lor... But not sure how many days from the date of purchase date leh...

S-video cable for PS2 hmmmm idea hor... have not tried before maybe I'll try later....

Netsnob,
Also thanks for your advice too... Plus come in here more often hor...

Thanks for your compliment on my son.

Ahmel,
I thought I told you his name before..., oops forgotten you are uncle liao so old people mostly have bad memory....hahah (Just Joking)Don't take it too serious.
His name is Lance Goh and my dad tese my son name and call him " Let's Go".
You got PS2 huh, my hubby wanted one but I promise to get him one but he have to wait till I start working first....so he waited for 2 years and I still have not get him one...hahah!
MAybe I can ask him go to your house or Alex house to join you all play.

Richard,
Actually that coffeeshop that Meow have mention is at blk 67+ there. But only got fried hokkien prawn noodles, char kwey tiao and sometimes the prata shop opens that late.
Me staying at blk 684B so me often go there to have dinner, the zi cha shop there is nice espically there claypot noodles.

Wowz........today miss out alot.......

U all really chim in the cable tingy.......next time must consult you all.......heheeh

Priscilla

Thanks for it
Will go ard scouting for it when i move it........still long way b4 i move in.....currently still sourcing for contractor.......

Btw, how many of you all move in already (besides Angelia and Priscilla) ??

hi Alex,

My pleasure. I will be here more often.

hi Richard,

I have being in Yew Tee since Nov 2002, it slightly over a year. What about u?

warmest regards

Hi netsnob

Me not yet move in............collecting key in feb 04........shld move in next year

What's yr view abt the area :P

Hey guys, i jus wanna share here. If anyone consider to have shower screen or big mirror in house. I have a direct contact and is really cheaper than what contractors quote. I was quote $600plus(if i didn't remenber wrongly) but now when i jus go direct and still using the same company, i was charged only $300plus with the same quality of glass too. I've been to their factory, very ulu but its very near to our area at Sugnei Kadut there only.
The company only make glass, i ask them to make my shower screen and frosted toilet door. Even my carpentry(another company) also get my glass mirrors and cabinets door from them too.

Ah Mel, its ok. I only stay there during the weekends. Thou most things are ready except my washing machine, vaccum cleaner and microwave oven. Should be getting OSIM mermaid or Karcher. Will go see actual product of Karcher first.

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
alamak..didnt realise I have done a David Copperfield act to make someone disappeared!
Sorry ah....so plse come back ....

Let's just meet for lunch/dinner out of CCKC on 20th . Any suggestions for good makan place ? How abt the esplanade, been there once only, not too bad .

<font color="0000ff">People who can make it so far :
Ahmel
Dora (FH?)
Angelia + Kuek
Meow (spouse?)
Shirley (spouse?)
Pris (spouse/Lance?)

Yet to hear a reply from :
ChiaHui, Richard, Netsnob, AhBlur, Dan.
Have not seen the others recently in the forum, hopefully they reply via email . </font>

<font color="ff0000">Pris,</font>
Aiyo, i'm really getting old liao...u did told me b4...very forgetful i must admit

No problem, ur hubby is always welcome to come and play next time.

I think PS2 also supports component video, but the improvement over S-video is quite minimal, and not as obvious as S-video vs basic composite.

U shopping for vacuum cleaner? have u seen the 'Robotic' cleaner? i think it's from electrolux.... very cute and supposed to be able to clean on its own ....

hi Richard,

I bet you looking forward your stay in Yew Tee coming feb next year.

I sure u would like this place as I do.

Yew tee is much near to JB (where u can stretch your hard earned money) via public transport than Orchard rd.

In terms of makan, the choices are pretty limited though.

We have relatives who stayd with us short term and commented that they like the place and it pretty cold at night.

That my 2 cents take on Yew Tee

netsnob.. *-*

i like ur post: Yew tee is much near to JB

actually one of the reason we select yew tee also because it's near kranji where we can go to JB to shop and for me to go home easily

AhMel,
<font color="0000ff">* angelia appears *</font>

actually shldn't be a problem to come over my place. but need to ask hubby first. in case there's any "important" soccer matches he wants to watch.

<font color="119911">PS: was bz last few days that's why did the <font color="0000ff">* disappearing act *</font>. let me get my MILO 1st, catch up on the rest later.</font>

Hi Everybody!

Wah~~~~~~so many things happening, me no time to read leh, sianz..

Anyway, me cant make it on either 19 or 20 coz have to celebrate my fren's bday.

Juz tot mayb would be a nice idea to have potluck, everybody contribute some food &amp; then share share lor.And would be even better if everybody bring ur own utensils etc so that if goin to hold it at Angelia's place, she dun have to do washing etc.

Ahmel &amp; Dora,
my carpentry works is abt 60% up liao, left only those mirror &amp; glass portion not done &amp; mayb some touch up....generally turn out to be quite oook lor, not too impressive but still bearable to the eyes, heheehe :D
Anyhow, had quite a tough time during the reno process,juz wish for it to end asap...

Back to work, i hate monday!

Very sianz...
Monday blues again...
. Somehow after seeing yesterday 4D result lagi sianz....
Brought our lucky number (This Thread 2nd anniversary date) 1912 but come out 1911 and some more starter, very very very the sianz..........
maybe try next week again lor...

Hi AhMel,
Yehhhhh!!!! Arsenal won Blackburn and Chelsea lost to Bolton. This means Arsenal back on the top without losing a single match in premier league

During weekend I try to switching the component connector to PS2. Nearly fainted b'cos so many wire behind my TV. Connect wrongly a few times. Heee...

Hi Pris,
My house? PS2? No problem... I hope to have some PS2 buddies too...
May you might want to bring "lets go" here too. (Just kidding hor...
) He is very very cute...

Hi Meow,
Wah, buying Osim mermaid... very eX wo... keep us update on this product after you have use it ok?

Hi Richard,
I have here for 1 yr 2 months and 2 day liao....

Maybe you could start targeting you contractor/ID now.
or alternative you might want to start booking/buying some furniture, house hold items, electrical appliances now due to 5% GST. If "total amount" spend is S$40K, increase of 1% is additional of S$400. Can buy one PS2 or washing machine liao...

Hi Netsnob,
Good idea to drive to JB for shopping. However I not dare to drive in anymore b'cos first time drive in there already go many small scratches on my call and my rims dented due to holes on the road. Very scary leh...
Maybe I kaiyu driver lor...

Hi Angelia,
Welcome back again....

Hi Chia,
You suggest date give me some inspiration again.... "19" "20" ha ha haaa...

<font color="ff0000">netsnob,</font>
U r welcomed!
Do try to join us in our next gathering then .

Great to see u appear again !

On Sat, only Arsenal and Chelsea are playing, if on tv would be ard 11pm. Man U only plays on Sun.

luckily Man U also won ! so only 1 point behind Arsenal.... really very close ah...the top 3 teams... interesting hor ?

AhMEl

I think my neighbour very poor thing also... yesterday my dad tested out the hi-fi... think I haven't moved in going to kanna complain liao

ChiaHui
Bearable only??!! Cannot lah... must make sure its perfect mah... you mean the design or the workmanship? If workmanship then got to make sure he rectify lor... if its design then I suppose its quite subjective lor...

Angelia/Ahmel

So where are we having it ha? If in town I cannot liao... remember I told you got to prepare my place for the party mah... If its Angelia's place then I can pop over in the late evening with FH.... so how?

Angelia

Actually you only need to loan out your place lah... got such thing as disposable cutlery mah... we buy and bring our own lor... bring our own food and drinks also... see I'm so thick skinned

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
oh, Arsenal &amp; Chealsea playing?? then prob he oso wanna watch.

11pm is good timing, but u muz include cleaning up time
he usu cleans on Friday nite, then Sat &amp; Sun can rest mah.

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
heheh.. then how abt we use ur place
u dun need to entertain us, we'll help ourselves to ur stereo

Angelia/Ahmel
if its in town I think I can't make it cos on the 19 need to bring bb Lance to take injection at CCK polyclinic so prefer meeting around west area.
On the 20 I need to go do my chrismas shopping already cos left one week to do it only........so busy!
Yap, if on the 19 me n my son n my hubby will be coming n I bring some food over too.

Alex,
Hey!Thanks I will inform my hubby that u welcome him to join u in your PS2 game.

<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
Long time never see u .... very Tow Tia abt ur reno huh .... take it easy... completing this week alr rite ?

U also having someone over ur place on Sat ? if not can also consider leh...

Whether urs or Angelia's place, we wont mess-up la...even if does, we will help to clean-up else no-one can leave!

no lah....not both of them playing each other la... it's Bolton vs Arsenal, Fulham vs Chelsea.
Ur favorite player probably getting World player of the Year, very happy hor ??

Angelia

Me not trying to siam lah... but this weekend really cannot
cos very busy with x'mas shopping and preparation... if in CCKC I can drop by to say hi for a while mah.... cannot stay long also.... sorry ha... I promise CNY gathering will be at my place

i noe, not Chelsea V Arsenal. but he'll still watch

World player of the Year?? might not be easy.. there competition is tough!!

think we better come up wif backup plan cos juz remember hubby wanna catch LOTR 3 this Sat.. tried to get Friday tix, but only left those 1st few rows!

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
no worries. juz teasing u.

Richard, the 24hrs coffee shop is at block is at 678A.

Alex, i jus bought the Osim Mermaid yesterday. Will deliever on this wednesday. Can't wait to use it on my bed and the floor.
Very happy with the puchase lor.

told u competition is tough!! <font color="ff6000">Zidane</font> is the FIFA World Player of the Year!!

Angelia, for the first time. Yes. That time when i reno hor, the next day is my An Chuang but they haven't finish touchup of my bed. Then after i An chuang, they still 'hang around' at that area so its very dusty even i have mattress protector on. Even now my quilt also got some dust on it leh. So i'll sure use it lor.

Angelia, there's another brush to use to clean that brush we use the floor. Anyway, the one use on mattress is another brush call turbo brush which vibrates and so call "beats" the bed while vaccum and all the dust will fly and suck in lor.

Aiyo....Zidane got it ..... really tot Henry would get it this yr leh .... everytime also Ronaldo or Zidane, very sian ...

U and Kuek also cant make it..... then cannot have the gathering liao . Wait for the next chance , else it's CNY liao !

meow,
i c..

AhMel,
hahaha.. not expecting Henry to get it cos seems like it's always the payers from French / Spanish clubs who'll win the title.

me can still attend but can find another venue? else i need to clear up myself

Oh, u free meh ? U dun have to accompany him to the dinner ? If cleaning up is a problem, then no problem cos we'll help u to clear up

So far no other venues possible leh .... mine not ready yet by this Sat .

Wowz wowz......nvr come in for 1 day forum very full........me busy at work lahz....lots of issues to settle.....think same problem for some of us

U all confirmed meeting where ?? Hhehe...me going for karaoke (decent type harz) in the afternoon.....don't know until what time. Can call either of u all on that day to see where u are if i can meet up.

Meow

Thanks for the infor.

Netsnob and Alex

Thanks for the tip. I like what u all said.

Yo Alex

U arsenal fan also??

aiya, scarly u clean liao i gotta clean harder!!

or we meet somewhere for dinner?? then dun hv to worry this, worry that

<font color="aa00aa">Richard,</font>
<font color="ff6000">Alex &amp; AhMel</font> r pro Man Utd. me? anything but Man Utd

Morning everyone. I jus got my photos and want to share with all. Enjoy! [01] http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=A3166728FFF&amp;cb=PA
- [ WD Pixs Part 1 - Fetching the Bride &amp; Tea Ceremony 1 ]

[02] http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=A61C4738FFF&amp;cb=PA
- [ WD Pixs Part 2 - Outdoor Shoot ]

[03] http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=A8235C28FFF&amp;cb=PA
- [ WD Pixs Part 3 - Changing to Kua &amp; Tea Ceremony 2 ]

[04] http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=A1B91529000&amp;cb=PA
- [ WD Pixs Part 4 - Wedding Banquet ]

[05] http://www.photoaccess.com/share/guest.jsp?ID=A15B1A28FFD&amp;cb=PA
- [ 8"x12" Photo-Journal Artwork Album ]

meow,
we had the same photographer!! but urs seems so much nicer than mine.

frankly speaking, i find mine's the worst of all he's shot. my family photos are disastrous!! with the sunlight on our face, oso dunno how to smile!!

some pix R good but overall i'm quite disappointed wif my AD pix actually. hiaz... i always so unlucky..

Yup, we can always meet for dinner outside. If wanna find a place nearby, perhaps at Lot1 ? what options do they have there, besides Mac ?

<font color="ff0000">Richard,</font>
oh, so u're a 'Ge-Shen' ?

long time never go Kala alr .... u shld organise one for us next time, okie ?

Do join us after ur session la...ours shld be a dinner . Do u have our CCKC name list ?

Very nice photos! Thanks for sharing

You have some shots taken in ur new flat rite ? seems to be of some 'Zen' look....

Angelia,
Urrr... since when I MU fans. Ever since beckham left MU no longer like them anymore leh.... Love MU those days when Eric C still around.

Me now 100% Arsenal support!!!

Meow-san,
I think some of your photos are qualify to be in the cover page of this website liao... So envy that all photos so nicely taken...

Richard,
Me Arsenal fans...

Meow

Your photos are really very nice... I'm sure you had a wonderful time
Can I ask you a very stupid question?
Is it very very troublesome to move around in the day in the WG with such long train? I was thinking of having a long train also, but was afraid that I'll end up sweeping the floor
Any advice to share?

AhMel/Angelia

Maybe I can't join you guys on Sat liao... was very sick on Mon and Tue, so a lot of things that were supposed to do haven't do... so this Sat must cheong liao .... but still coughing like mad leh
... you guys have fun ok? If I can make it, will give you a call

alex,
oops!!! i always hv the impression that u'r Man Utd fan leh

ahmel,
they hv a Thai restaurant (Siam Kitchen) there, food not bad.

think <font color="ff6000">meow's</font> place more like resort feel.. esp the "mirror window" at the dining area
so balinese.... was very tempted to buy one, but i dunno where to put

AhMel

No lahz....me not "ge shen". Just anyhow sing only. How many of you interested in karaoke ???
I try my best to join u all.....no promise harz

Yappyz.......have the list.

Yo Alex

Me also arsenal fan..........hehehehe.

Hi Meow

Thanks for sharing the photo. Really very nice. Hhahhaa.......agree with Alex.... can use yr photo for cover page of this forum....hahahah

Thanks everyone for your concern...

today back at work... still coughing very badly... all my collegues look at me like I got the Fujian Flu virus or TB

Yah lor holiday liao... must get well if not all the good food cannot eat.... then it will very tragic liao

Poor thing, hope u're better now. I found that for coughing, the chinese cough powder from 'YuRenShen' is very effective, they have different types for either Cold/Hot coughs...

aiyo....so now only u and me are the confirmed pple leh .... how ?

Meow, Shirley, Pris, Dan, AhBlur, the rest? : can you and ur partners make it for this Sat dinner, at Lot 1 ?

haha dora,
dun think your qn is stupid, i wanted to ask the same question too...
btw, i'm lynne. hello everyone. newbie to this thread.