Choa Chu Kang Cresent / Yew Tee

• Thread starter Thread starter lifetime
  • Start date Start date
wow, so we'll be hving lotsa things to eat.. muz make sure all finish hor, else so wasted

<font color="aa00aa">pris, dora</font>
no problem, juz come rite up, but after 7:30pm hor. cos we'll prob juz reach home

AhMel

Hee hee hee.... too much flying issit??

Angelia

No prob. I think by the time we reach there, have dinner etc, will be after 730pm anyway....

Wah... quite a number coming... good good.... think we'll have a fun time

eh aunty angelia,

must i host in your house..haha;)

so do i have to bring anything? must let me see the wedding vcd. want to see again your hubby telling you why he loves you

epsilon

dan,
we hvn't cut to VCD (but going to... soon...), so it's still on tape. hahaha..

hmm.. maybe a good idea, then i dun hv to "play host"

guess u can juz bring urself &amp; fiance, since most stuff are catered for... drinks, mooncakes, pomelo, snacks.... anything else??

I'll be a bit late on Fri, cos last minute we decided have to go ikea to get some more stuff so that the contractor can help us install before they hand over the keys to us next week.
AhMel
I'll sms you to see where you guys are... I'll still bring some mooncakes

hello....

how's the gathering??

i reach there about 11pm... guess u all left liao

heehee, let me know when's the next gathering, can???

thanks and have a nice day!!

<font color="aa00aa">koalabear,</font>
u'r supposed to msg us!! we din go to the MPH, ended up all stayed at my place, after that went <font color="ff6000">Dora's</font> new place to "see see look look" then went off at abt 11+pm.

keep track of this thread &amp; u won't miss any gatherings

btw, nice meeting up with u gals/guys.. it's really fun. hope everyone had a good time as well

thanks for all the mooncakes, pomelo, tidbits, &amp; <font color="ff6000">arnold</font> for the wine

<font color="aa00aa">chiahui,</font>
my hubby &amp; i feel that u &amp; HTB are too quiet leh.. next time muz talk more okie

<font color="aa00aa">ahMel,</font>
ooi, thanks for being "deputy host"
, else think we'll all be bored!!

so did u get anything from the Philips carnival???

Thanks for hosting us, angelia!
Joyce and I really appreciate the company.
It was nice meeting all of you!
Hope to meet up soon again...

Arnold

Hi Angelia,

Thanks for hosting us!

er..btw, me &amp; HTB[Derrick] bery shy 1 lor,that's y kind of quiet BUT we enjoy everybody's company,hehehee...
Will talk more at the next gathering!

It's really nice meeting all of you.

Looking forward to the next gathering......

Angelia

Thanks for playing host for the gathering, and sorry for the mess we created... hope you and your hubby didn't have a hard time cleaning

It was really good fun... looks like we will have a good time staying in CCK with the good neighbours

eh aunty,

thanks for hosting. had a lot of fun. too bad i do not eat mooncakes and drink turkey tea. nice house you got there. so what on for the next round..deepavali, christmas?

epsilon

<font color="0000ff">Hi All,</font>
Really have a good time on Fri nite, and nice to meet so many wonderful and fun neighbours

Altogether we have 6.5 couples....Let's hope more pple could join in our next gathering. When ah ?

<font color="ff0000">Angelia,</font>
By the time I finished typing this post, probably u have alr made another posting....

Thanks for being the host! Enjoy all your TEAs ... hehe.... next time perhaps can let us try all your COFFEEs

I was at Philips sale from 10 to 11am. Sooo crowded...bought a shaver for my dad, a 1.8L rice-cooker ($59) and a DVD player ($169) - the saleswoman guaranteed that it can play all DVD codes, including pirated disks! hehe...
Afternoon then went to Home Expo, and bought my Sofa and coffee-table. Anyone heard of INZ Furnishings? The L-shape micro-fabric sofa + coffee-table cost $1300, with GST absorbed and free delivery. Still considering whether to get their TV console and Dining table...Praying hard no nitemares later..

u'r all welcomed..

<font color="aa00aa">dora,</font>
though we cleaned up till abt 1 am... can't denied we had a great time
it's the first time we had so many people at our house!!

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
ya lah, cos u nvr bring partner mah.. hiaz..

no lah, i where got post again?? only dare to post abt 2 hrs after u post, else u all will say i "very free" again
actually i really bz.. big headache.. been trying to solve some (imporant) issues since last wk.. till now still not solved!!

oh, coffee ah? we don't drink coffee, but we do keep some N*sCaf* 3-in-1 instant coffee mix in case my parents or some elderly folks come over. u want that?

u bought so little stuff ah? we bought a deep fryer, a hair dryer, a DECT phone (kala 200) and lotsa light bulbs.
think we reached there abt 10+, close to 11am.

<font color="aa00aa">daniel,</font>
ya lor.. dun eat mooncake, dun drink tea, what else u take huh? actually we bought a pandan cake, but i remembered only the next morning when i was searching for food to eat...

nice meeting ur girl girl.. a nice &amp; very friendly gal. no wonder u 2 can hit so well

<font color="aa00aa">chiahui,</font>
so make sure u talk more at the next gathering okie?! or we shall make u sing..

<font color="aa00aa">arnold,</font>
think i didn't talk much to u &amp; <font color="ff6000">joyce</font> cos i was at the "other end"

oh, thanks again for the wine, but..... can we bring it for u when we go to visit u next time??
cos we dun really take red wine, esp French wine..

I've just got a unit in CCK Cres too...now still thinking about renovating...do u have any nice place to buy furniture?? I'm feeling so lost now...

<font color="aa00aa">shirley,</font>
welcome aboard!!

which block have u chosen?

we got our bedroom set from Picket &amp; Rail (P&amp;R), dining set from Barang Barang (B2), sofa from Wyners

Heehee, i also went the Philips sale...so many ppl wor...*faint*

Bought the 25" real flat tv, 1.8litre rice cooker, iron, kala cordless phone and vaccuum cleaner....had a gd time shopping...heehee...guess its gal's character to like to buy tings...and the delivery ppl super efficient, we bought the tings at 3+pm, then by 6+pm they had delivered the items to our hse liowz...

Hi Shirley,
Welcome welcome ! Which block ?

And have you found an ID/contractor alr ?

Angelia,
Me ! I like playing badminton too.

Ping pong also can.
Is Quek gonna climb out of bed at midnite tomorrow? got Man U game leh ....

AhBlur,
wah....u really enjoyed ur shoppping spree ....

how much they charge u for delivery ? 30 bucks ?

<font color="aa00aa">AhMel,</font>
eh, my hubby's surname is <font color="ff6000">Kuek</font> lah.. everyone spelt <font color="ff6000">Quek</font>!! even his frenz who'r inviting him to their wedding dinner... 1 got it wrong on envelope &amp; invitation card, the other, envelope correct, invitiation card wrong!! *faint* so i told him, u go alone, cos me not <font color="0000ff">Mrs Quek</font>

no lah, he'll tape, but won't wake up at midnite. getting old so no more stamina..

hmm... so maybe u can start organising <font color="0000ff">badminton session</font> liao

<font color="aa00aa">celeste,</font>
wow, u sure bought a lot of things.. btw, 1.8L rice cooker?? u staying wif in-laws ah? need so big meh? that time, we searching for as small as possible else very difficult to cook 2 person's share.

<font color="119911">Hip</font> <font color="0077aa">Hip</font> <font color="0000ff">Hurray!</font>

Finally received letter fm HDB for the appointment to collect keys on 30th Sept'03, afternoon. Bet the HDB guy must be abit annoyed with us for sending him a reminder letter that's y delibrately put us on the last slot.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Angelia</font>,
Count me &amp; HTB for the badminton games. We badly need exercising too BUT hor we're not professional players lah, hehehee...

AhBlur

Too bad you didn't join us for the gathering, must join us the next time okie? You bought so much stuff at Philips? I only got a 29" TV and the wet &amp; dry vacuum cleaner....

ChiaHui
So you are finally going to get your keys, so you can start you reno liao...

Angelia

My FH plays badminton with his collegues on Sat. Think he can only join your hubby when we move in next time, cos think he's too lazy to travel lah... Think I'm the lazy one who needs exercising

I am really sorry that I could not turn up for the gathering, but I promise I will turn up for the next one but not during Dec cos I will be doing my confinement by then.
My Eldest sister went in hospital on Thursday so I have to go look after her kids for her so on Friday the gathering I cannot attend.....thanks for all your understanding.

Seems like all of you had a great time without me.
But I am glad you all enjoy yourself.....

Hi angelia,

Ya lor...we bought 1.8litre cooker...actually i wanted the 1litre one...but hubby say difference of $10 onie, so get bigger one...haahaa...and also buy bigger one in case parents come over to stay occasionally then the rice cooker is big enuff lor :p

Hi Dora,

Yeah, next time will try to join u all...cos hubby working and we havent moved in to yew tee so quite difficult to make it there also...as i am staying at Serangoon currently....*faint*...and yeah bought a lot of tings at Philips...cos whole hse empty, so have to buy everything lor...but had fun shopping arnd...buying tings really fun...

celeste,
we bought 1L (or 1.3L) already quite difficult to cook for 2 pax leh... my parents place oso only using the same capacity to cook for 5pax leh

Haha ! dun be so particular la....i think Quek is cuter than Kwek leh....

Aiyo...Kwek where got old? he old than I how ? anyway Man-U won, and Arsenal lost .... i'm a happy man !!

Wah! U really the <font color="0000ff">taichi</font> master leh....ur hubby ask u to organise, but u <font color="119911">arrow</font> to me again .... tsk tsk....

Dun scare me leh...1.8L cooker has problem cooking for 2 pax meh ?? Tot just put less rice can alr ? what do u mean by 'difficulty' ? Else cook one time for 2 days amount...2nd day eat fried rice lor....my favorite anyway...hehe

<font color="ff0000">ChiaHui,</font>
Great! Finally collecting ur keys....so u gonna buy 3009 for 4D ?

Are u going down with Derrick this Sat afternoon ? May bump into both of u, as I'm meeting Johnson also at 4pm .

<font color="ff0000">Pris,</font>
Sorry to hear that, hope ur sis is ok now.
Look forward to meeting u in our next gathering...no idea when yet ...

So are u gonna have a baby boy or girl ?

<font color="ff0000">AhBlur,</font>
Ya lor...same thinking here .... difference only $10 mah...so take the bigger one la... better for family get-together meal , else must cook a few rounds ??

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
How is ur curtains/blinds installation ? at the end what have u chosen ? and may I know how much did it cost u ? i'm looking ard to decide what to install...thinking of day/nite curtains for living, roller blinds for rest of 4 rooms. U think 1K enuff ? mine are all half-ht windows, except living where I have the full-ht sliding door separating the balcony .

Celeste

I'm also staying in serangoon!!! What a coincidence!!! I'm staying near NYJC, you? You could have gotten a lift from me if you had come for the gathering, cos I kidnap my dad's car to go to work on weekdays

AhMel

Roller blind costs about $6.50 psf for the cheapest I've asked. Roman blind more expensive due to the mechanism, but the material can also make a big diff to the price. So you can go and measure the area of your window and see? Curtains really depends on the material you choose... can be anything from $4psf to $20psf.... so really depends on the material lor... Think $1K for you a bit tough. I already spend $900 on the roman blinds for my MBR (incl the aircon window), and the day and nite curtains for my living room. The rest we DIY curtains

wah...me only a few days never come in then gotta take such a long time to read thru everything ah....me staying in Blk 686D..me got contractor liao but then still pending which 1 to take cos about the price...we need cash to buy things rather than deco the house...anyway, we going to simplicity...heehee...

How i wish i can join in for the badminton game but then hurt my back a few years ago and yet to recover till now...sad...

then hor...go where find curtains huh?? roller blinds only got white colour or got darker colour? me dunno where to look for leh...

BTW, anybody smoke here?

AhMel,
Hee...me having a bb boy!
My sis is feeling better already, thanks for your concern....she hurt her tail bone, so doctor put her in the hospital overnite n inject some medication n some test on her and now she is at home resting.

Hi Shirley,
Me actually a smoker but after found out I am pregnant I quit it...also good lor cos the price rise until so scary.....
BTW, y you ask?

i don't mind to join u all for badminton session, just let me know the timing again

want to get my hubby to join tooo... he's getting fatfat liao!!!

Hi angelia

Aiyo...really 1litre difficult to cook ah....jiatlat liowz...haahaa...can cook 2 days of rice and keep as leftover anot?

Hi AhMel

So ur rice cooker also big one ah? How big u bought?

Hi Dora

U stay near NYJC? Tat means we stay very near liowz...mi moving into Serangoon Central officially next Friday....heehee....the hse is directly opposite Serangoon Central facing the turn and the Serangoon Road main road :D

Wow....u spending so much on ur curtains all these ah....mi intending to spend bout $600 on curtains only....not going to do roller blinds or roman blinds...juz doing normal cafe curtains

Hi Celeste

Oh i know where you stay...near the serangoon mrt right? Good location...

big ricecooker really difficult to cook for 2 cos the rice will kind of stick to the bottom, even if its non-stick pot... somehow the rice don't have the fluffy effect lor...

Me also didn't intend to spend so much.... but that is the market price unfortunately. Actually wanted to DIY all the curtains to keep the cost down, but the living room is curve so cannot DIY. The mbr is worse... some funny pillar and roman blinds are the only ones that can fit in... Angelia would know what i'm talking about. sigh no choice lor....

<font color="ff0000">Dora,</font>
Thanks for the info. I will take measurement of all my windows and get some quotations. So how's the workmanship of that guy doing ur house ?
Recently been to my fren's housewarming, and her roman blinds do look very nice. But I think roller blinds are slightly neater as it can roll all the way up when not in use, and easier to maintain.

<font color="ff0000">Shirley,</font>
If you visit those home expo, usually there will be a few booths specialising in curtains/blinds, or u could visit other threads on this topic, you may find some recommendations.
From what I know, roller blinds have different colors and shades, materials as well. One type is the 'blackout' type where 100% of sunlight will be blocked .

And curious leh....why u ask the smoking question ? I dun smoke cigarettes....but I do smoke alot during presentations....

<font color="ff0000">Pris,</font>
A bb boy !

Is this ur first bb ?
Glad to know ur sis is getting better .

<font color="ff0000">Celeste,</font>
This name better than AhBlur leh....will use this in future

My cooker should be same as urs , 1.8L . Only two sizes available in the sale leh...1 or 1.8 . Now I also worry liao ....

ooi....quite a no. of pple interested in badminton session, u arranging for one ?

Priscillia....congrats....

wah...cooker got so many sizes 1 ah??? didn't know leh...

About the smoking question..heehee..no lah..some people doesn't like to befriend people who smoke mah...so I like to be honest...so if u guys all no smoke then I'll not smoke if i get to meet u all..

I went to 1 home expo recently but then only 2 booths selling curtains leh...so dunno where else to check out liao...cos me want to find 1 blackout type for my room..so i can sleep until nobody business on weekends..heehee

Hi Dora,

Ur living room is curve one ah? Mi asking the curtain ppl to come site and measure our curtains liowz.....but prob i will onie do nite curtain and forgo day curtain, cos lazee to wash so mani curtains at one go...haahaa

Yeah, big ricecooker cook 2 person rice will stick, becos sometimes if onie mi and mom at home then the rice cook 2 person one then the rice not as nice lor....but bo pianz....cos i scared 1litre really bery small...if that time they got 1.3 or 1.4litres then it would be best.

Hi AhMel,

Heehee, this name better than AhBlur mehz? I like AhBlur cos i am blur mah...so that name suitable for mi. Ohhzz...so u also bought ur rice cooker during the Philips sale ah? Heehee....Nmind lor...if u cook rice, cook more than next day cook fried rice...cos overnite rice is gd for fried rice...:p

Pris

Forgot to congratulate you just now, rushing to type out the msg before I'm discovered

AhMel

Actually I also don't quite like roman blinds, but bo bian bcos of the stupid pillar
.You may want to check out if you have funny pillars also.

Celeste,
Yah lor, like Shirley said, Ahblur sounds cuter and more qin1 qie4
Yah, my living room has the curve full length windows, so very ex lor...

Hi Shirley

Welcome!! rice cooker comes in different sizes, depending on the brand. You can know how many cups of rice it can take by looking at the inner wall of the pot. It is engraved there. If I remember correctly, 1L can take abt 5 cups, which translates into about 7.5 bowls of rice, depending if your rice is the new rice or old rice.

<font color="0000ff">wah, very bz here
good.. good...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">pris,</font>
congrats!! hmm.. hv u thot of a name for u bb yet?

<font color="aa00aa">Ah Mel,</font>
u organise lah.. i not into badminton, it's for hubby

<font color="aa00aa">Shirley,</font>
can u drop me a mail wif ur mobile no &amp; email so that i can update the CCK list &amp; send to u?

hmm.. i dun mind pple smoking as long as they dun "blow" into my face

guess i dun hv to reply u on the rice cooker qn liao
next time u &amp; <font color="ff6000">Dora</font> can "xiang yue" to go back "niang jia"

<font color="aa00aa">koalabear,</font>
quick, ask <font color="ff6000">AhMel</font> to organise a badminton session

<font color="0000ff">we oso headache the curtains... we dun like roman/roller blinds but guess really no choice lor. however, will still try to ask around
maybe tmr gotta start going around for curtains quotations!!!</font>

angelia...

me tmr after work also want to go search for curtains too..hahaha..maybe will go to the home expo too..cos I dunno where to search for curtains... my email is [email protected] feel free to drop me any mails...heehee

will you guys recommend to buy bed or get the contractor to custom make? cos me thinking if custom make then i can get the contractor to do drawers beside the bed bottom so I can have more storage space

then hor...any 1 of you guys' hubby name is Derric? cos i got a colleague name Derric &amp; he recommend me in here and told me his wife is chatting in 1 of the forum here and had some gatherings from some people in Yew Tee leh..i wonder is it here... :p

hi wizard...

which block have u gotten?? i think u left a post in the other thread where u ask around for renovation contractors..have u found any??

Anybody here happened to go CCK Cres on Sat with their parents and went into one of the units at 683A to view flats? Haahaa...cos when i was there with hubby for the air-con installation, a couple with the parents came in...so i kpo juz ask

Hi Shirley,

Heehee...thank u...i like the nickname ahblur also...
...as for rice cooker actually i also donno got how mani types of sizes lehz...neber bought b4....that day at the philips warehse was the first time i bought rice cooker....haahaa

Hi Dora,

Yeah....i tink curve one their railings have to be curves thats y its kinda more exp lor....last Sat i juz called the curtain ppl to measure my curtains...they quoting me bout $850 for living (full length), bedrooms all half length and only night curtains.....seems kinda exp, i see how i can bargain with them

Hi wizard,

Welcome to Yew Tee here...so which block of flats have u got?

Oh ya, i need to ask those ppl that have moved in....did u all have to ask the scv ppl to enable the tv pts in the flats? Becos when me and hubby tested last Sat hor....we cant receive any signal thru the tv pts....and we tested rooms and living room all cannot....donno wats wrong

Our tv is definitely working fine, becos without the cable we can receive msia signals lor.

<font color="aa00aa">wizard,</font>
welcome to Yew Tee
which block R u at? can u drop me a mail @ [email][email protected][/email] with ur real name, mobile &amp; block no? want to keep the CCK list updated

<font color="aa00aa">shirley, celeste,</font>
so how's ur search for curtains? we went Expo Living Exhibition &amp; got a couple of quotations.. but only 1 is very detailed. quoted us $999 for living room (full length day &amp; nite curtains), 2 bedrms (half length nite only curtains) &amp; MBR roman blinds, based on the $18 range of fabric.

However, we dropped into 1 of the curtains shop @ Marina Sq &amp; they quoted us $700+ only (<font color="119911"><font color="ff6000">AhMel,</font> maybe u wanna go check it out</font>), with blackout. but, we din show our floorplan to this shop so if need a more accurate quotation, might need to go down a 2nd time &amp; show our floorplan.

Think the cost will depends on the type of fabric u choose as well, if u'r comparing the same items to do by different companies.

oh, we were told that those blackout fabric are non-washable, i.e. can only vacuum or dry clean

<font color="aa00aa">Dora,</font>
what material u used for ur curtains &amp; roman blinds? what's the price range?

what roman blind mechanism (brand) R u using? is it Torso?

u mean to say the SCV channels or local free channels (e.g ch 8, ch i)?

if SCV, then need to ask the guys down to activate the point