CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

ya, i think so too. 8am is too early n the $$ is not enough to justify for my suffering man. just feel sad that it is a co that i have always wanted to join.

wau.. lina, you bringing your mum n MIL to tour tog? wah! brave man.. i heard alot of horror stories on such trip, hope it will not happen to u. good luck.

pink, sometimes it is just forum error leh. u try to refresh the screen a while later and see how?

450026.jpg

so ur mind is made up liao, ant? dun b so sad lah, i'm sure the right job will come soon. persevere! jia you!

yup, i'm keeping my fingers crossed 4 the trip
(hope the 2 mums will LOVE each other, hehe). really looking fwd 2 it cos vietnam is a pl i always wanted 2 go. & hope i'll hv a chance 2 visit other parts of vietnam in future.

ah pink, ur email i print out also v blur leh, cannot c. u b a good bunny & type out later when u eng ok?

ant, i think you should hang in there la. no point jumping from frying pan into fire hor?

lina, the 2 mums get along ok right? i'm curious how you will split the rooms though. hmm. hey vietnam - better take your flu jab hor. and please be careful what you eat. i kena food poisoning there :S

btw coincidently i'm wearing a red viet t-shirt with a yellow star today haha.

sigh. ebcause i love you all:

steamed XO red snapper

serves 4.

1 whole red snapper
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp spring onions (more if you like)
6 dried shitake mushrooms, soaked and thinly sliced
2 tbsp light soy sauce
1/23 tsp xo or 1 tbsp chinese wine
1 tbsp ginger, thingly sliced
1 tbsp oil

method:
1. clean snapper and pat dry with paper towels. rub salt and sesame oil over fish
2. score fish diagonally
3. place fish on bed of spring onions. add mushrooms to soy sauce and XO/chinese wine mixture. stuff mushrooms inside fish and sprinkle top of fish with ginger
4. place fish in steamer over high heat for 15 mins or until cooked
5. use a small pan and heat oil till it bubbles. sprinkle some extra spring onions on the cokoed fish and pour the hot oil on top
6. JIAK!

ah pink, the two mums can get along la, no prob.
i'm thinking me & my aunt in one room, the 2 mums in another, c how lah. flu jab, probably not taking. i've spoke to a doc who said it's not necessary. my thinking is there r so many diff types of flu now, no way just one jab will make u immune 2 all of them lor. food wise shld b alright cos me taking tour, not F&E, so my ah Q thinking is it shld b safer

eh ah pink, u so casual today wear t-shirt ah, can meh?

i can wear t-shirt everyday if i want. only i don't cos still must maintain some professionalism mah keke. but most of my colleagues are in jeans and sneakers.

i usually dress up more but cos my ankle swollen so cannot wear heels and today woke up late so no time to choose what to wear and the t-shirt was folded nicely so grab and go lor

wow all babes super busy today huh?

i'm leaving soon liao. tata see you all tomorrow! (tomorrow on half day to go see specialist lo kun about my bak chew)

yo babes... been super duper busy today... now only got time to come in. still got to do work later.

anyway, b4 i forget, the recipes...

Apple & sun-dried tomato egg bites (serves 6)

½ tbsp olive oil
6 prawns, shelled and halved
salt and pepper
sun-dried tomato cheese spread
6 hard-boiled eggs, halved
3 tbsp applesauce
Chinese coriander, to garnish
½ capsicum, diced or cut into strips

1. Heat oil and sauté prawns with salt and pepper for 2 minutes.
2. Spread sun-dried tomato cheese on each egg half, top with 2 prawns half.
3. Top with applesauce, coriander and capsicum.

Apple champagne freeze (serves 4)

400ml apple juice
400ml champagne
200g apple sorbet
1 green apple, sliced

1. Pour 100ml apple juice and 100ml champagne into a glass.
2. Add 1 scoop of apple sorbet.
3. Garnish with apple slice.

wah levynn. 8.23pm still got work after? so gut lat!!!!!

beehoon from last weekend:

450211.jpg

as usual, the liao is more than the beehoon...

and tonight's dinner:
450212.jpg

wantan soup (i finally cooked the wantan separately from the soup. much nicer!)
cauliflower with fishcake (just fry with mirin sauce and soy sauce and simmer for about 10 mins)
and i bought the packet thing ant was talking about so i tried making oyaku. i seasoned meat with teriyaki, sesame oil and soy sauce and pepper. actually no need to season also can i think.

tonight's dinner very yum
but ah lao noted that all the food seemed very yellow hehe

good morning!

pink... ya lor... 1st 2 mths usually quite busy. anyway, your beehoon looks good leh. but is it fried or soup one? wat is mirin sauce?

good morning babes

wah, early morning got yummy beehoon from ah pink!! yr ah lao was right abt the colour of the dishes, hmmm

so, wat time did u fin work levynn? it's fri, babe, relac relac

ohaiyoooooooo..

pink's dishes look yummy.. but the oyako thingy, i initially thot it was toufu.. ahah.. btw, the oyako thingy, suppose to put on rice to eat so tat it will not be tat saltish leh..

poor lev, work so late.. nvm, weekend is here! yeah..

good morning babes! half day today! :D

levynn, it's dry. i cooked it with the cans of tee karr from my wedding hehe. mirin sauce is a jap sauce. hard to describe leh. quite clear pale yellow colour. nice nice

ant, in the end i use the sauce to lam on the rice. very nice :D

haha about the colour. bad planning! keke. tonight i'm going to make the fish recipe that i gave you gers yesterday

babes, unrelated question: what material are your kitchen countertops? the portion where the sink is. i'm looking for a material that won't get mouldy if kena water for long time. i like wooden tops but scared will rot leh. advice please! gam xia!

Morning babes!!!

Wahh.. super busy man.. coz tmr my boss 2 gals having drawing party at their hse, so gotta get ready all the stuff..

Ant..
bear with me for a while, will do the transfer to u soon ok?
The Dubai visa yes, needed lor.. u Singaporean mah.. so shd be done upon arrival lah.... no probs for that but my side gg got wat British, Italian & Indian leh.. ma fan!!

Pink,
ur dinner yummy leh!!
pls!! nv use wooden top for kitchen top!! cfm will seh gor one!! I use solid top for mine..
how was ur hse hunting yesterday?

skylar, no worries.. it is not millions of $$.. so take your time lah.. dont kiam after cny can alr. whaha..

pink, mu kitchen top is wooden top leh.. previous owner used it for about 7 yrs alr n still in tip top condition. they used something called formica (duno the spelling) wood which is suppose to be very good. how i maintain is, wipe dry the area after I'm done with my cooking/ washing.. i'm staying on top floor which means high level of humidity but still, the wooden tops and cabinets are okie. think it is a matter of the material and maintenance.

oh i've heard of formica wood too! okie, will take note. wah didn't have to reno your kitchen also? so lucky!

sky, i never go house hunting la. if go, how to cook dinner right?

Ant...
no way lor.. just go do the transfer when I got more time on my hands.. ekke.. latest by next week ok? kekeke...

Pink..
coz u nv cook for me mah... so i dunno lor.. whahahaha....

yawnz...

now in a stupid dunno wat presentation mtg.. my eyes closing liao.. yawns....

i go over then u & ur hb no tian mi mi liao leh.. ekeekk...remember the plants which I told u I wanna do? I finish liao.. kekeke.. done up my hse CNY decor too.. kekek..

skylar, i'm oso stuck in a very boring presentation. *yawns* long time past due my lunch time..

pink, the only things i did to my place is just re-paint, change of lights, tons of cleaning and purchase of furniture and electronic products. bedroom wardrobes were already built in so we saved that as well.

today on 1/2 day leave too.. bring my mum to see doc.. anything beats staying in office.. this is how much i 'love' my work now..

good morning babes!!

sorry.. been real busy last fri... so no time to come in at all. by right, shld finish work at 4:30pm. but these days work til quite late. then weekend stil got to rush work... now dun feel too good... xian...

schnauzie... u ok?? take care, ya?? now seems like the flu bug is here again...

good morning babes, today the early bird is levynn ...

aiyo sch, hope u're feeling much beta now, muz b a good girl & watch ur diet 4 the next few days. stomach flu ... stick 2 soap stuff & porridge

ah pink, so wat did the doc say abt ur bak chew?

ladies, i think starting from these few days can go to banks 2 change new notes & take red packets liao.

morning all babes! sch, hope you feelnig better. got go see lo kun or not?

thanks for asking, lina. lo kun said it's good that it's going away so lay off the contacts, put eye drops, cold compress, and in a month, it may completely disappear :D which is good!

lina, err i think you asked sch to eat SOAP leh hahahahah

hey babes, wanna share some updates with you. i don't know if i told you girls i'm quite keen on a flat? we saw it last week and ah lao and i were both very impressed.

around bugis area (near sim lim) - 8th floor corner, 3 room flat (very nice layout). it was renovated 2 years ago but it's not really our style so we're going to have to re-do some things.

it's really fantastic location (10 mins from bugis mrt, and so near town).

here's the but:

when we went to see it, the agent said it was valued at 240 but the report had recently expired. we saw that valuation report but both ah lao and i looked at the report but somehow skipped the amount (didn't see la). so because of the price, we thought aiyah too expensive la. cos asking amount above valuation is about 25k

but when the agent called us again over the weekend to ask if we were keen, he said that the valuation was 210. i checked and re-checked with him and he insisted it was 210.

how can it be that the valuation dropped by 30k after re-valuation? (presuming that re-valuation was done) or if it's the agent's mistake, and it's still 240 but he told us 210, then how? we make him pay the diff ah? haha

i mean, we would love to have the 210 valuation, but quite suspicious right? anyone knows how to go about getting another valuation report? through our agent can?

anyone has encountered similar? please help!

yo ah pink, tt's good 2 noe =) eh basket, lay off contacts? thot the last time i saw u, u were wearing contacts leh, notti gal!

SOAP? oh no, sorry sch, it's soup lah, tang. no kidding, the last time i had stomach flu, i took porridge, beehoon soup, kuay tiao soup for 10 days straight. cos alot of pple i noe said once gena stomach flu, very easy 2 get it again if dun watch diet, so i was scared lah.

ohaiyoooooo...

deadbeat.. super tiring weekend coz spring clean my parents' place.

sch, hope u r feeling better. Better take light stuff like porridge which is easy to digest.

pink, good thing your eyes will completely heal soon. so did the doc ask u to avoid water activities?

lina, wah, y u ask a sick person to eat SOAP???

but i went to see the specialist AFTER i met you mah... hehe

and besides, optician said it was ok. but anyway, i'm laying off la ok? don't worry.... except on days when i have gym

ah pink, 4 valuation report, yup thru agent is probably the best way. the other alternative is buyer & seller can apply 2 HDB, not sure how so maybe u can call up HDB or check the HDB website. but the buyer must give consent & co-operate, if not the valuer can't get into the flat

Good morning babes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wahh.. another monday man..

Sch..
how u feeling now? much better i hope.. keke..

Lina u very bad leh, ask Sch to eat sap boon ah! whaha.. wait she tok got bubbles come out ah... kekeke..

Pink..
hmm.. based on wat u wrote ah.. its pretty impossible to have a 30K drop after valuation man! too vast a diff, its good that u can get ur own agent to do up a report. Saw somewhere on TV once that agent did some "shou jiao" in the report to take their more commission from there leh.. so u really better check..

btw how old was the flat already? u can take all these into consideration lor.. then flip more papers see got any nearby location like urs bor then see their valuation.

i'm hoping MAYBE both ah lao and i heard wrongly the first time. maybe it was 210 to begin with. but i scared wait i ask for another valuation, then it turns out it's MORE then i lan lan, got to pay more?????

pink, first, you should find out when was the last valuation report done. if it was done more than 6 months ago and the current valuation report that the owner has has expired, you can ask them to re-do the valuation report. if the house has been in the market more than 6 months, it is VERY GOOD NEWS FOR YOU. you can bargain for lower price coz it is not good for a house to remain unsold when valuation report has expired. the market value of the house will most prob drop after 2nd valuation.

valuation report is mainly for buyer. a seller has to do a valuation report to know the market price of the flat. the report will later be sold to buyer coz buyer needs that to proceed the purchase with HDB and hdb loan. you can't use expired valuation report to proceed with the transaction anyway.

hi ant, thanks for the advice. yup, when we went to see the house, the agent said that the valuation report is expiring soon. but i believe it was the first one.

my friend says that with every valuation report, the price drops 10-15k. which is fantastic news! but we're also a bit concerned - why has the price been on the market for so long? hmmmm

but it's really perfect for us!!!

hmmmm, if it's based on wat Ant has said, then it is possible for the diff of $30k in the new valuation report lor. ah pink, go check go check.

skylar, check ur email pls

morning ladies!

thanks for concerns..better now but over wkend kenna tonsilitis too..now tonsils still swollen but i am still eatin rubbish whenever my tummy can take it ;p

sch! alamak! one after another? you better take care ah. still eating nonsense? oi.....

yeah lina, i will check. i'm a bit worried... why nobody want to buy. hmmm

pink, i think you should try to go around the estate incognito and try to talk to the neighbours. find out from them tat family who are selling. if tat family has drunkards or gamblers, best to avoid. coz you will never know if will gana pig head at your doorstep.

Sch, still eat junk?? wah, u wana kill your stomach is it????

ant, yesterday we were around the neighbourhood. it seemed clean, like quiet neighbours, no scribblings on the walls and no paints to cover up.

talk to neighbours? huh? like just go knock on people's doors and talk to them? can meh? pai say leh!

i feel like eating kfc for lunch ;(

pink - better to go and toktok to the neighbour better...lagi better is those who seem like they stayed there for a real long time

pink, when it comes to house hunting, must be v thick skinned lah.. huge investment leh.. u don't knock on ppl's doors lah. but if u see any auntie walking along the corridor or something, just ask discreetly lor. put on a super innocent xiao mei mei look, aunties will be more than willing to help.

you should always view the place in morning/ afternoon and once at night. you need to check out the 'sunlight' in different times of the day. some got morning sun or afternoon sun and dun have sunlight at all. sunlight is not just good for drying clothes, but also make your place brighter and less gloomy. but not good if afternoon sun in bedroom coz it will be v hot to zzzz at nite n your air con must work doubly hard. you should also check out if your neighbours are very rowdy in afternoon/ nite and how it will affect your unit. best is those neighbours who are actively in the day, as in their doors are opened and got activities. in that way, no thieves or burglars for house break-in. if neighbours r rowdy at nite, may disturb ur sleep at nite which is not good.

check out the void decks if got alot of ah bengs hanging around. or are the void decks super duber quiet at nites.

i had a fren, before his WIS date, he went to check out the block he wants, check out the layout of the different units, check out sunlight, tok to his future neighbours before selecting his unit at hdb. imagine, his is new flat n he also ks enough to find out from his neighbours on alot of stuff lor. resale, all the more you must talk to the neighbours.

thanks ant, yup believe i should make another trip down.

there are 4 units along the corridor (2 are corner), the one opposite has kept its door open both times we visited (once late afternoon, once at night). got no void deck, it's all hardware shops.

between the blocks like got playground and shelter, got couples there la. but i think cos it's an old neighbourhood (1980s), very few young kids. no ah bengs, no gangsters, no drug addicts

oh..... so it means just talk to people living around, and not my direct neighbours la, dio bo? so to find out about the general neighbourhood, not that particular unit that i want to buy si bo?

yup i don't want afternoon sun in the bedrooms cos the heat will get trapped in the walls then sibeh hot.

thanks for all the tips!