CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

hey girls i just saw this in women's weekly - we can marinate meats before popping them into the freezer leh. so no need to add seasoning during cooking. wah. like that also can. but dunno can keep how long

babes, any special plans for valentine's day?

ya lor, 1st day.. the hardworking self is fighting with the lazy self if i should take mc and go home and rest.

lina, the portion in pepper lunch too small for u?? i usually can't finish leh! wow!

pink, you are now planning everything around your bb even thou not preggie yet? wow!

Pink..
wat is ur special plans ah? me also duno leh.. haiz..

Ant..
u dunno that Lina here can eat alot one meh.. whahah.. PIG ah she.. whahaha...

tink u better go home rest lah.. now already 1pm+ liao...

haha ant, difficult choice! but hor, already half the day gone, might as well go doc tonight then MC full day tomorrow :D

haha ant, shifting house and baby both very big thing mah. since my husband cannot help with the baby then by default he has to do the house things la! kekeke

wah... lina is SUPERwoman leh. pepper lunch's portion still too little?? for my hubby who usually eats quite a lot, he also feels the portion there juz nice.

pink... all the best leh!!! heh... we will pray hard hard for u...

ant... take care ah.

btw, no plans for v-day yet... any suggestions?

V-day ... my hubby has a date wif the navy. he has 2 go 4 reservist. ah pink, u & ur hubby taking leave on V-day si bo?

helo, not lina SUPERwoman. u babes r all small eaters. my sis also says the portion small leh, so there, i'm not the only one

wah biang, i everyday hear my col scold her son over the fone. honestly, i pity her son =)

Lina,
ur hb got date with navy ah? then u go there swim naked lor.. lol.. whahaha..

how come always hear ur colleague scolding her son one? so poor thing leh.. keekeke..

me no special plans yet.. Levynn. u leh?

check emails.. all

skylar, u siao charbor

ya lor, everyday she'll scold, tis cannot that cannot, if not she'll go home & whack, she has 2 sons. she told me lor, it's difficult 2 discipline the 2 little fellas, esp when it comes 2 getting them 2 do homework. & the younger son is always bullying the elder one

i cannot check emails lah. something wrong wif the email system in the opic today, can only rec internal emails. hope it'll b ok later.

eeek what if i become that kind of ah bu, everyday scold the kids while in office
i had one colleague very sweet. he's a nice guy la, and he's very loving to the kids. whenever his kids call, no matter how stressful the office situation is, he will talk to them very nicely and fatherly.

no la lina, where got so much leave to take? we'll prob go over the weekend la. we've been planning to go camping for a long time liao, but haven't done so. prob the 10-11 weekend la
don't come east coast park and zi xiao me ah! keke

ok ok babes. tonight i will test pepper lunch and see how big the portions are! keke.

Lina..
u AVOID me ah!! Ok lor.... since u treat me liddat!!! HNG!! Thot we frds soooo long liao.. u chut this kinda pattern to me!! FINE!!!!
I DUN FRD U liao!!

siao charbor skylar, basket, u anyhow scold me for fark. check my post at 2.20 pm plssssssss:

i cannot check emails lah. something wrong wif the email system in the opic today, can only rec internal emails. hope it'll b ok later.

anyway, i've seen the email and replied liao. HNG!!

Wahahah.. Lina.. wahh.. still got post timing one ah..
then u see the one at 3.37pm by Pinkbunny!
hahahaha...

Siao char bor!!

one more hour can go home liao
448975.gif

wah tell you girls ah. lao niang married almost 1 year liao, but still got leftover cans of tee kar leh! keke. last weekend just used 2 cans to cook beehoon. now still got 3 leftover.

good morning babes!!!

lina... your bird-day yesterday ah?? 22nd?? how come never say... aiyah... anyway, hope u had a great day! your ah lao got lomatic wif u??

morning ladies..

me on course yesterday and today so wll only be coming in tomoro. yesterdae had food tasting...kaoz...i felt like a whale after the 10 course dinner somemore i tried out another 2 types of dessert..make tt 12 course meal...i need to detox....yummy but sinful

after tt went to satay club to join some frens visitin spore..u kow a malay man sell us a place of fried carrot cake for $8??? and it is damn pai jia!

ok gotta rush for course ttul

good morning babes
thx 4 the well wishes levynn & ant

damn, my opic email system still has problems.
i may not b able 2 access 2 emails 4 the whole of today, really dunno wat the f the it team is doing ... problem started since yesterday morning lor

good morning babes!

happy birthday lina!!! no wonder when levynn ask for our birthdays you diam diam hehe. and no wonder yesterday go velocity for tian mi mi!

yesterday also my parents wedding anniversary. 29 years. ah lao said by the time WE celebrate our 29 year anniversary, it will be 2035. wah. haha.

sch, food tasting so fun! i enjoyed mine also. i really like wedding dinner food leh keke. it's like the only time we get to eat that kind of dishes. cos even if we go restaurant, we won't order like cold dish or the prawn with the yam that dish. yum yum

today brought leftover beehoon for lunch. seng lui! then can shop more in bangkok! hehe

oh btw i tried pepper lunch express at IMM yesterday. i think it's quite expensive leh. and like lina, i also jiak bo gao. ah lao also. but after drink water then suddenly very bao liao keke. alright only la. i took the chicken and salmon one

you're welcome, lina!

wah lau, pink... 29th anniversary ah... we all half way to being wrinkled up... almost 58 yrs old... gross!!!!

my food tasting was ok. my SIL very on... got a piece of paper n wrote down wat is wrong wif each dish then we later discuss wif the restaurant manager... haha...

i just enjoyed my food tasting hehe. i planned it on the day of rehearsal (cos my aisle is the jetty and i don't want my flowergirls to start jumping into the sea and start swimming!) and invited the families of the flowergirls to join us

sigh... so long ago....

ant, how did you do the una-don? i can never get my egg to look like that. and fermented beancurd = dao jio is it?

there's a veg that looks like kangkong but the stem is lighter green and fatter. what's that ah? spinach ah? usually fried with garlic one. or is it HENG CAI? keke.

i know you are all going to kill me but... anyone still has skylar's ah bu's herbal chicken recipe? the one with the brand's essense of chicken one.

and in exchange, i give another recipe:

Garlic Chicken, Fried Chicken
INGREDIENTS:
• 2 teaspoons garlic powder (or garlic chopped into small pieces)
• 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon paprika
• 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1/2 cup milk
• 1 egg
• 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves - pounded thin
• Oil as needed
3. Fry chicken in the hot oil for about 5 minutes per side, or until the chicken is cooked through and juices run clear. Remove from the oil with a slotted spatula, and serve.

note from pinkbunny: i've done this in oven before and it's worked fine. lesser oil. i've also tried added parmesan cheese in the 'dry' mixture. not bad also. have fun experimenting!

29th anniversary, wow, amazing.

ahem, now i feel verrrrryyy old already, hehe

ah pink, u owe me one:

Herbal Chicken
my ah bu say one lah.. must buy kampong chicken, dun buy those fresh kind.
1. Wash kampong chicken clean clean.
2. Insert Dang Gui, Gao Ki, Du Zhong, Dong Cong Chao, Ginseng .... etc... into chicken then use toothpick to close it up.
3. Slowly steam in those layer pot.
4. When the chicken is about half cooked, pour the chicken essence over it, continue to steam.

i think still got the step of wrapping the chicken in plastic sheet first, then aluminium foil tt is not in the recipe, skylar hor??

Morning all..

Happy Birthday Lina!!!

Levynn,
wahhh... half way wrinkled up... very er xin leh.. whahahaa...

Who ask for Herbal Chicken recipe ah? haiz.. thot i give before liao.. tsk tsk... all brain really wrinkled up liao ah..

Yes, after doing all the chicken steps then wrap the chicken with aluminium foil, I skip the plastic sheet coz if too hot the sheet will be wrinkled up, scared got toxin lor.. must wrap the chicken so that all the sauces will ooze out.. yummy!!

wah biang. why the wrinkled talk now! keke.

lao niang asked for the herbal recipe la. why, want to fight ah?!

eh btw. how long is 'half-cooked' ah? and also, please help me with the following herbs!:
Dang Gui: is it the white colour flat flat one?
Gao Ki: gou qi zi is it?
Du Zhong:???
Dong Cong Chao: ???
Ginseng : must pu ah.... expensive leh

ohaiyoooo...

been bombarded with tons of stuff the moment i came into office.

pink, the egg is mixed with some gravy mix i bought from taka. it is just powder mixed with water and cooked with onions. den add unagi/ chicken and den add the beaten eggs in. i suspect tat powder is miso coz it smells like it. quite nice thou.

herbal chicken.. yum yum..

pink, your recipe tat u post, how u do in oven? will taste weird?

lao niang... wat is paprika?? when u said u did the chicken in oven, do u mean that everything in front is the same, except u bake n not deep-fry? abt how long ah? 10 mins?

also, where u usually buy the chicken meat fr??

eh so many questions but bo lang answer my chinese herb questions basket.

ant, what gravy mix is it? it will say 'unagi mix' si bo?

i think i posted the actual chicken in the oven recipe before. no ah doesn't taste weird. just bake at 170 for about 15-20 min, depending on how big the chicken chunks are. i did neh neh strips so about 15 min. nice. must put a bit of olive oil in the baking pan to prevent the chicken from sticking. or put baking paper

levynn, paprika is like hiam jio hoon, ang moh style. ya everything the same except not deep fry. more healthy mah.

i usually buy chicken meat from uncle at market. occasionally from NTUC but that one quite lehchey cos must cook all at one shot cos cannot freeze and must consume within 3 days. cold storage one also, and worse, it comes in bigger packets

pink, bo lang reply your herbs questions mean bo lang zai lah! alamak!

it is not unagi mix. it is mixture for the egg thingy. can be used to cooked as oyako don, katsu don, etc. i go home n snap pic of the box. coz packaging is in japanese. bo ang moh translation.

have you tried ha cheong kai baked in oven instead huh? wonder will it be weird?? heheh.. i hate to do deep fry thing nowadays coz coz must do massive cleanup after tat. floor oso will be oily. yucks.

Lao niang.. u very Lao Lian leh.. wanna pick up a fight ah? aiyoh... u better dun do any massive actions now ah.. whahha.a..

Dang Gui (also called Chinese Angelica) must lah.. coz good for pu shen.
449163.jpg

Du Zhong (Hokkien - Dor Tiong) Good also for body immune system

Dong Cong Chao - u dun want also can coz this is better for those smokers for their lungs one..

Ginseng - got those cheaper one lor.. like those american ginseng etc.. maybe cost like $30-40 etc.. no one ask u to go buy those "Qian Nian Ren Shen" leh... kaoz....

Levynn,
Paprika to me kinda spicy leh.. the last time I used too much to marinate my chicken.. whahh.. fiery man! whahah...

oh... so the package is for the egg! wah. interesting! then add onions too?
unagi you buy the already cooked kind from supermarket ya? cool cool, can try making katsu don liao!

no la. ha cheong gai is almost the only thing i deep fry. must give my simply her fryer a reason to live right? haha.

ok later lunch time then i go buy herbs and take photo to show you girls ok?

wah lucky you got all the explanations hor skylar. or else i fly one jian dao jiao at you ah kekeke. simi lao lian? siao lian lian can?

HAR? american ginseng also got 30-40$ ah? wah biang. one herbal chicken dish, damn ex sia!

Pink..
lunch time go buy herbs... wahh.. u not only auntie leh.. u very ah poh leh.. whahahaha...
okok.. show us ur herbs....

just now was talknig to my office auntie about kitchen cabinets cos i was wondering with leg or without leg better. with leg then have to mop and sweep, but without leg easier to mop and sweep, but cannot wash the floor cos the bottom of the cabinet will be damaged over time. so she suggested asking the contractor to build a 'step' about 5 inches high for the cabinet to sit on, and on top of that, put a cabinet without legs. so can mop/wash the floor without worrying about damaging the cabinet, and don't need to clean under the cabinet.

so nonsense right, haven't buy house already thinking of all this haha

Pink!!
u ah.. or u can just add those american ginseng slices lah.. like those pple go add boil water to drink one.. I know 1 of my ex boss used to chew on it leh.. maciam eating sweets liddat.. whahh... but he say very Ti Shen.. (alert)

see i so good.. got sooo many explanations for u!! hng!! still wanna give me scissors legs??

ok lor then i save my scissors leg for someone else next time. can buy ginseng slices one ah? don't wait i ask the medical hall auntie then kena scolding ah

eh mai ah neh kuan la. near my office got medical shop mah, so buy lor. tao yan. say i ah por
449193.gif

if not, don't add ginseng lor.. think with all the herbs n chicken essence, very pu alr lor..

or get those ginseng powder! i have tat at home, MIL prepared for us. eat tat oso quite ti shen.

ya, unagi bought from supermarket. giant was selling 3 packs for $9.90. i'm a huge fan of unagi. quite some time back, there was a shortage of unagi in SG coz of supply problem from china. i got huge craving that when i went tokyo for biz trip, almost all my meals were unagi. unagi bento, unagi sushi, etc. all my colls including those in japan love to tease me about my obessession with unagi. ahaha

pink, when u engaged a contractor, he will guide u in such stuff lah.. they will also do those steps up for your fridge and washing machine. or else i offer u my house to view to get inspiration when u found a flat k. all my guests are impressed by my kitchen n alot of frens tried to use my kitchen as model for their new places. u now concentrate on getting a new pl n get preggie lah!!!

GIANT SELLING 3 PACKS FOR $9.90?! walau sibeh pi leh! i also lurrrrrve unagi :D

hehe gam xia ant for offering house viewing!
449215.gif

yes yes we are trying very hard to produce a little bunny. mai stress wa!
449216.gif

ant - wah so cheap..but cheap unagi always got alot of bones...so u got buy or not?

keke i also can show u my kitchen but the wet kitchen area is beri small

the unagi tat i had last nite has NO BONES and taste very good! yum yum.

sch, of course i bought the 3 packs of unagi. unagi fan leh, where will pass such chance! heheh..