CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

pink - must boil for how long? if boil too long will the soup dry up? u use gas stove to boil or slow cooker? my sore throat also started last night ;(

KA - u take good care of yourself yah? sorrie i did not stay longer last night coz my ah lao got midnight work shift and gotta run

ya sch, TCM shop shld hv. my throat also feels dry & think my poor lungs r also suffering cos i'm getting a dry cough ... sigh. i'll buy liangteh tt contains almond 2 drink in the evening

ladies, the pantry auntie in my opic recommend 2 types of cooling drinks 4 hazy days:

a) dong1 gua1 wif rock sugar
juz deskin the the dong gua, shave the flesh into thin strips, add rock sugar/normal sugar & water & boil for 3 hrs or more, nice & cooling

b) fuji apples, nan2 xing4 bei3 xing4 + mi4 zao3
no nid 2 remove apple skin, juz remove the seeds & cut into a few pcs per apple. add in nan xing bei xing & mi zao, some thing, boil for 3 hrs or more

u can try since u hv slow cookers at home

KA babe, why are you back to work today! you should be resting at home! hope everything is ok with you... don't be sad about your granny ok? at least she's not suffering anymore. you can jio us out any time you need a peng you's err duo or jian bang

sch, i usually boil for about 15-20 min on high heat then put to low for another half hour or so. if on low, it won't dry. i don't remember my pot is how big, i think diameter is about 20cm, then i put slightly less than half of water inside. in the end, will usually come up to 2 bowls of soup (medium size... you all remember what you saw at my house?) for the two of us to share. hope that helps! oh btw i use normal stove.

ps lately i've taken to boiling in the morning when i'm preparing for work, then turn off the fire before i leave. then the whole day it will just absorb the flavour. mmm mm. shiok!

pink - okie thanks. think i will do so too..easier to boil in morning. haha we ask same questions haha.

btw ladies aSK u all something..my mum told me i must pour boiling water into the slow cooker if not how day also wont cook ah ? is it true? so if i cook sparerib soup cannot just pour tap water inside?

sch, i usually blanch the spareribs first then pour clean boiling water in the slow cooker with the ingredients. it makes more sense to me la.

ello gers,

greeting from tokyo... weather is not as cold as expected.. quite sunny in the day.. only abit chilly at night.. but my days are packed with non stop meetings since i arrived yest.. damn zombie coz not enuf of zzzzzzzzz...

ka, sorry to hear about your granny news.. take it easy n hope you can cheer up soon. remb to take lots of water and rest n dun overwork yourself!

for liang teh, i have the lazy person's way.. pour boiling water with chrysanthemum and sugar n let it soak for awhile.. simple and easy.. whahah...

when using slow cooker, i usually use normal tap water leh.. maybe use boiling water can cook faster?

ant - i see the wat u fly ard i also feel tired for u ;p take good care of yourself. Tokyo shld be a cool place to be in, just let urself soak up all those nihonjin culture

hmm so u mean u put non boilin water ur food also gets cooked?

Sch - dun say tat....im sorry that our 1st meeting have to be at a wake.

Gals - dun worry...but its better tat i come back to day to recharge myself rather than at the wake the whole day feeling extremely down. I have to go thru the hardest part tomoro still.....

yoz sch & pink, me is here lah.
nan xing bei xing & mi zao (plonounce in chin pessss) i dunno hw 2 explain. mi zao is like red dates but a beta version i think, so usually use 4 chin sweet soup & dessert. NXBX r herbs. all the items can b found in TCM & chinese herb shops, ask the uncle auntie there pesssss. then when u're there, ask 4 more liangteh recipes & cum bk & share the info =)

yoohoo!!! babes!!!

KA... take good care, ya? i know it's a difficult time now... tell me abt it... i gotta go thru both my grandma's n grandpa's funerals in less than 2 yrs.

i also thot that the cremation is the hardest part, esp when it was wif my grandma... coz for abt 2 yrs, it was juz the 2 of us at home most of the times. so i spent the most time wif her n could see sometimes she really suffer when she had difficulty catching her breath. her lungs had kind of fail to work properly n she cannot walk too long without needing a long rest.

but my hubby told me to think it in another way. at least my grandma has stopped suffering.n she dun need to take tons of medication everyday. it actually helps in a way. i didn't cry as much as i did for the wake on the day of the cremation.

then guess wat... i dreamt of her abt a week or 2 later. she was juz as i remembered when we were very little... still very active n healthy-looking. i could still remember i asked her in the dream how she was doing... n she said very good...

ok ok... sorry... didn't mean to sadden the mood. juz like to share my experience wif KA.

levynn, i also would dream about my granny occasionally, and mostly i see her as i last remember her. healthy and walking around, not sick and lying in bed.

KA, you'll be sad, but that's just natural. just be happy for your granny, and in time to come, you will feel better slowly.

i guess we all hv our share of sad experiences. whether it is the demise of grandparents, relative, friend ..., but yes, eventually we'll feel better.

i dun dream of my granny as often now, she used 2 appear quite regularly when i juz moved to my in-laws' pl. perhaps she's worried tt i might not settle in the new pl well, so now tt she c tt i'm comfy enuf, she dun appear so often.

the happy memories stay wif us, & bring a smile 2 our face whenever we think about them. KA, b strong and pls, do eat.

hey babes! Thanks for the concern. hm...i still have appetite...infact juz came back from lunch with my collgs thou I didnt finished up everything.

i understand that its actually better for my ah mah tis way and eventually i will get over it but its juz tat at this moment simply cant bear that she's actually gone.

thanks gals!

Greetings babes!!!

Woke up with many many tiny bumps on the top of my throat,went to see the doc.. She say that my throat is very badly affected as there are many tiny ulcers inside.. pengz... now sallowing saliva is a challenge for me man!!

Running nose & worst still she say she can see my mucus dripping backwards when she see my throat go aahhh... whahaha... so yucky!

Worst still she ask me to really get well soon in order for my op otherwise I will have to postphone the op liao.. was given 2 days rest.. haiz...

KA...........
sure hope everything is fine for u.. take care ya!!

Ant,
u travel half the globe also must take care ah!!

everyone must take care ah!

skylar... how come got tiny ulcers in throat? becoz of the haze? aiyoh... must take good care!

schnauzie... my stoooopid yahoo email sooo slooooow... so cannot check your reply. if u can wait for a while more... sorry abt it...

aiyo Skylar, u muz take care babe.
muz muz fin the antibiotics, & if dun get well, get a jab. drink tons of h2o. eh, beta also tell the doc tt u juz came bk from overseas.

KA..
ya ya.. u too ya! *hugz*

Levynn...
think ur comp also kena blocked by the haze liao lah.. keke..

Lina..
yap, told the doc liao.. she gave me all the med necessary for me to get well man! coz this fri me gg for pre-op test.. so must recover by then..

wow guess everyone is feelin under the heat now. me jus now listen to lina, bought a cup of luo han guo with chrysanthemun drink..feels quite good..soothin for the throat too

sky - have to take care, drink more liang teh!

levv - ur account choked by the haze already ah

fruits also can lah skylar, but not fruit juice hor, too much sugar. ribena, or water wif a bit of honey's good too. i had that last nite =)
yo fren, if dun feel well, u beta postpone the pre-op test cos it might affect the findings ...

& nope, i didn't rec ur pix.

aha sch, that's a good gal!

hey girls, ah lao cooked this for me yesterday! fusilli with sausage. yum!

416615.jpg

and as promised, tonight's wan tan mee.

416616.jpg

thanks for the tip, lina. using egg white to 'seal' the wan tan is a good idea. i used to use water but the puay always peeled off.

ohaiyooooooooo..

skylar, must take care.. your tiny ulcers sounds terrible! drink lots of water although it may be very painful.

i drink lots of water and coffee coz my day starts damn early everyday and end super late.. imagine i gota wake up at 5am every morning now to go to work n have very late lunches and dinner.. can't wait for weekend to come so that i can go for hotspring...

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

good morning babes
ant, 5am sounds like an inhumane time 2 wake up! take care.
congrats pink, 2 the success of ur wanton making process
look and I'm sure taste goooood 2

mornin everyone, wah everyone v early

today i woke up super early to.....go market!! haha become HDB auntie liao..bought minced pork for wantun soup tonight too.,..just left it sit at home.marinated with huatiao, sesame oil, pepper, soy sauce and i also put in 1 mati! watelse did i leave out? need egg ah?

wow sch, you'll have a shiok dinner tonight! congtrats on becoming HDB auntie! what time you woke up sia?! i also put chopped onions in my minced meat. lina suggested cong (spring onion) before. egg is the left over from the white you use to seal your wan tan, but you can do it later tonight. have fun!

bunny - i read from the internet that u shld have a separate pot of water to boil the wantun first then when ur soup is ready then just transfer the wantun to the soup n then serve. tts y u see those hawker their soup is not yellow coz their wantun is precooked.

i woke up at 6.30..chopchop ah..market v quiet so i can slowly see. fish v fresh and cheap too..=) u mean big onion or xiao cong? oooh ya! spring onion..after brewing soup n stuff lucky managed to get to office by 8.30 ;)

ant - u shld go to those jap shop n buy their collagen drink..heard they got alot of brand so price is realli good..drink it like water so skin will be 'q' 'q'. enjoy urself at the hotspring!! *ENVIOUS* u goin to hakone or stay in tokyo? heard odaiba got hotspring?

ya hor. come to think of it, the hawker stalls all have their wantans precooked. i thought it was just to save time. ok next time i do that
yesterday we eat wan tan until scared hehe.

what is xiao cong? shallot is it? anyway i put yang cong. the normal onion. or what they call 'yellow onion'

wah happening leh. wake up 630, still can go market and be at office 830. you champion!!!!!

sch & pink, i precooked the wanton and the soup still turn a bit yellowish. my guess is the col is either due to the wanton skin or the mee (even though i precooked the mee separately as well). & ya sch, can add some spring onion to the wanton liao.

good morning!!

wah.. 6:30 am. that is the time i wake up to go to work liao... haha.

btw, today no work... keke... going to cut hair later, then go shopping!!

i also dunno y the yahoo mail so slow. they r changing their email interface, maybe that's the problem. i'll try again tonite... sorry, schnauzie...

levv - y so good no school today? lucky gal!

ya lah actualli 6.30 not realli v early but it is 1hr earlier than my normal wake up time..so..

lina - ok tonight i go back add spring onion.

pink - bo yellow onion at home..nvm lah the chestnut also same.

just now i go n buy 2 mati..go home then found tt the uncle throw in like 5, 6 more..can use to cook water to drink or not ah?