CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

ya skylar, if u gg wif ur ah lao, then can bao RM268, also huat AHHHHHH!!! so u enjoy urself ok, it's next weekend, correct or not?? btw fren, how much did u pay for the coach ride 2-way?

so pink, hv u check the toto results? i did & was disappointed. nabz, tio 2 nos. nia.

today damn sianz in the opic, i go zzzzz liao
kao_sleep.gif

Morning Levynn....

Lina...
its this weekend lor... I did not buy 2 way leh... only buy 1 way.. coz ah lao say buy return from KL cheaper coz its in RM mah.. its true leh.. damn silly lor.. basket.. same amt but diff curr... nabz..

First Class - $58 + $2 ins
Premium - $45 + $2 ins
Executive - $38 + $2 ins

skylar, of course i cut and paste lah.. type it out????

oh.. so gg to kl this wkend huh? enjoy.. did i mention b4 about levi jeans cheaper in kl? go get some levi stuff when u r in kl.. n do check n lock ur hotel room door properly..

the coach sounds happening siahz.. u try n give us feedback.. i wonder how is the first class.. still got meal.. but bus sure jerky, how to eat huh???

Dinner lastnite..
my fav herbal wrapped chicken.. kekeke..Ah Bu put more gao ki & also a bottle of chicken essence while steaming... yummy man!!
Next is the Bok Cai with gao ki & prawn, the soup is fishball with melon soup..
414426.jpg

skylar, next time have such happening dishes for dinner dun b sell fish ok, invite us bk 4 dinner 2 share share the food mah, hor gals?? =)

$2 ins si simi? insurance si bo? nabz, $2 cover wat, ur nails ah?? hmmm, the coach fares not veri cheap leh, if it's only one-way ...

Ant...
ya lor.. i thot u type.. bor koh leng eh tai chi ah!! whahaha... okok.. will try it out & then give u all feedback ya!! nabz.. limpeh guinea pig ah? whahaa...

Lina..
ya lah.. $2 insurance lah.. cover my nails also not enuf lor.. whahah.. ya its kinda X lor.. so that is why we buy 1 way first.. whaha.. try out mah.. if not like shua ku leh.. neber take before. whaha..

come my hse eat.. no probs lah.. not like u dunno my ah bu lor.. kaoz..

ant - this kind of bus hor when they serve u food they also got give u a bib ..maciam like a baby so food don splash on ur clothes one ... *SCRAM*

sky - the herbal chicken only put gao ki and essence of chicken ah? look like restaurant food leh..yummy

Sch...
basket u scram for wat?? whahah.. got bib meh? sure bor u? whahaha..

yaya.. my ah bu put in extra liao lor.. whhaahaha..

thanks for the recipe, ant! wah ... jian one gueh nng got sibeh many steps sia!!!

sch, i usually cook about 2 bowls worth. we will scoop twice lor. btw, you're supposed to tell us how you cook your soup then we help you 'troubleshoot'

skylar, what 'brand' is the coach? i also heard the big chair is maciam like aeroplane kind. i want! and basket lor, you eat like huang hou niang niang like that last night, bo jio... herbal chicken recipe please! GAM XIA ZHUEH ZHUEH!

haha lina you're right. $2 not enough to cover all of skylar's nailes. only 20 cents per nail leh. where got enouogh!

kao later i got to go construction site again and wear helmet and boots. wasted i tie my tao mor so nice some more.

sch, sure or not they give u bib? wait they only give plastic bag... heheh..

sky, the herbal chicken looks good! i oso wan recipe!!

$2 insurance??? thot should cover face more important den nails???

pink, how come u gota to construction site so frequently? ikea moving ar????

pple - i anyhow sian one lah..u all also believe *heehee* think still baby ah..use bib

ok - my soup hor..i used this stock pot with is 28cm diameter by 28 cm high

i fill it abt half full...like tt think got 5 litre of water boh?

Then when water boil i put in the mackerel fish carcass (meat scrap off to cook other stuff) - so abt 500gm of bones and dump in old cucumber and brew over low fire

1hr later - no taste ;(

pink - u also not do construction y need go site so much?

levv - quickly hide the evidence skalli they ask u to pay for a new machine

my stock pot
414517.jpg

i got to go take photo and interview people and fix up interviews with media bla bla. never ending noe.

levynn! what happen? you laminating which pop star's photo for your wallet? keke

sch, i think not enough bones, too much water. i think my pot is diameter 20cm, and i usually put less than half the height of water. about less than 10cm. when water boil already then you put in the bones, salt and pepper. maybe you could also throw in some dried scallops? then keep on high heat for maybe about 15-20 min. then turn to low fire and simmer for about 45 mins. when almost want to eat already then you throw in the other things like the old cucumber.

if it's pork/chicken/duck then you must scald first.

think must be the problem of the water..my ah lao still tell me his mother's pot is full of water

yup..i am goin to buy dry scallop liao..quite exp but last a long time lah

if hor its pork or chicken bone need to scald or not?

i also dunno wat happen la... now waiting for my colleague to come n help me take apart the machine to take out the paper. last time we also fix it ourselves. heh.

A first-grade teacher, Ms. Brooks, was having trouble with one of her students. The teacher asked, "Harry, what's your problem?" Harry answered, "I'm too smart for the 1st grade. My sister is in the 3rd grade and I'm smarter than she is! I think I should be in the 3rd grade too!" Ms. Brooks had had enough so she took Harry to the principal's office.

While Harry waited in the outer office, the teacher explained to the principal what the situation was. The principal told Ms. Brooks he would give the boy a test. If he failed to answer any of his questions he was to go back to the 1st grade and behave. She agreed. Harry was brought in and the conditions were explained to him and he agreed to take the test.

Principal: "What is 3 x 3 ?" Harry: "9" Principal: "What is 6 x 6?" Harry: "36".

And so it went with every question the principal thought a 3rd grader should know. The principal looks at Ms. Brooks and tells her, "I think Harry can go to the 3rd grade." Ms. Brooks says to the principal, "Let me ask him some questions." The principal and Harry both agreed.

Ms. Brooks asks, "What does a cow have four of that I have only two of?" Harry, after a moment: "Legs."

Ms. Brooks: "What is in your pants that you have but I do not have?" The principal wondered, why would she ask such a question! Harry replied: "Pockets!"

Ms. Brooks: "What does a dog do that a man steps into?" Harry: "Pants".

Ms. Brooks: What's starts with a C and ends with a T, is hairy, oval, delicious and contains thin, whitish liquid?" Harry: "Coconut."

The principal sat forward with his mouth hanging open. Ms. Brooks: "What goes in hard and pink then comes out soft and sticky?" The principal's eyes opened really wide and before he could stop the answer. Harry: "Bubble gum"

Ms. Brooks: "What does a man do standing up, a woman does sitting down and a dog does on three legs?" Harry: "Shake hands." The principal was trembling.

Ms. Brooks: "What word starts with an 'F' and ends in 'UCK' that means a lot of heat and excitement?" Harry: "Fire Truck".

The principal breathed a sigh of relief and told the teacher, "Put Harry in the fifth-grade, I got the last seven questions wrong.

sch, ehhhhh..... my last line is

"if it's pork/chicken/duck then you must scald first."

walau...

yes must scald or else will chao chao

dried scallops i only bought 100g i think. i scared will go spoil so i buy bit by bit

BAck!! Weii.. did u all got the news that Micheal Jackson is dead like 20 yrs ago? the MJ now is actually a FAKE!!

Pink,
the name of the coach is called Transtar lor..
www.transtar.com.sg
u can check it out.. whahah... i go try then tell u lor ya.. kekek..

as for the recipe ah.. my ah bu say one lah.. must buy kampong chicken, dun buy those fresh kind.
1. Wash kampong chicken clean clean.
2. Insert Dang Gui, Gao Ki, Du Zhong, Dong Cong Chao, Ginseng .... etc... into chicken then use toothpick to close it up.
3. Slowly steam in those layer pot.
4. When the chicken is about half cooked, pour the chicken essence over it, continue to steam.

tell u all ah.. the gravy ah.. solid man!

pink - okie..i tot bone no meat buey chao chao mah

sky - u zhun or not..sounds scary leh..imitation michael jackson??

how to tell difference between fresh chicken n kampong chicken? normal steam can or not? simi si layer pot?

go check ur emails...

Sch..
fresh chicken is cheaper compared to kampong kway.. they are packed differently one.. normal one also can steam lah.. but the meat will be more dry lor.. kampong kway is more tender..

neh.. those layer pot where pple like use to "chuwei kueh" one lor.. the bottom layer is filled with water, then the top is the food..

the herbal chicken thingy, can't use the normal wok to steam arhg???? me got no layer pot..

sch, your water too much and your ingredients too little for soup lah.. ur pot is very very huge leh! you going to cook for an army? :p

usually, if i cook soup, i will use 1.5 big bowls of water if i use slow cooker to cook. but if use normal fire, i will use about 2-2.5 big bowls of water. for your huge pot, i think fill it up with about 1/4 full or less should be sufficient.. or go and invest in a smaller pot, easier to cook and wash.

Ant..
if use normal wok can lah.. but must be big lor..then u must put a like divider to seperate the water & the chicken mah..

got it?

Sch.. u feed army!! ohhh... so zai ah!

hey skylar, sounds easy leh the chicken! sounds easy! only... i dunno what is Gao Ki, Du Zhong, Dong Cong Chao.... and GINSENG?! wah...

1/2 cook is agar how long? and chicken essence is normal kind?

layer pot, i bought from robinsons last time. $23 for 2 layers. very good leh, can steam food while cooking soup. kill 2 birds with one stone

good morning babes

skylar, did ur ah bu buy the kampong chk from wet mart or supermart? cos dun think i ever c anywhere sell raw kampong chk, help ask her can? thx.

pink, gao ki is wolf berry, the red red small one u always use when cooking soup. dong cong chao is the zit tiao zit tiao herb that looks like worm, hence the name mah. du zhong i'm not sure liao. & can juz buy ginseng liddat meh, not exp??

dried scallops i saw fr 4 roads the other day. so many diff types, px range from $3.80 to $18 per 100g, WAH!! finally i bgt the $5 per 100g type, not too small and not too big, hehe. can keep in the fridge lah, i dun think will spoil so easily. u gals can go there and buy herbs, ikan bilis, liangteh stuff & all, alot of shops selling. after tt can go guan yin miao bai bai.

lina - i saw got this herbal shop located at fu lu shou basement..business seems very good leh. u all keep the herb in the fridge is it?

yup my mum keep the dried scallop in chiller can keep v long.

qns 4 skylar's ah bu regarding wrapped herbal guay:

1 muz wrap the guay in foil then steam, correct or not?
2 other than the herbs, any other seasoning needed?
3 if we r using a 1.5kg chicken, roughly hv 2 steam how long??

kam sia

ya sch, herbs keep in the fridge
dried scallops we keep in the fridge too, in the lower deck and not the chiller (you mean the freezer upper deck, m i correct?)

ohaiyooooooo...

i saw this website which show images of the herbs for herbal chicken.. but some are different from skylar's ah bu's recipe..

tok about herbal chicken den i gian, so i will go n eat at kopi tiam tonite for herbal chicken.. ahahah.. i have become lazy and no desire to cook..

http://mybabybay.com/blog/?p=117

i keep all my herbs in fridge too.. but mainly is to prevents ants.. red dates and wolfberry attract ants..

morning chios,

i guess i will also go have it outside. it seems like alot of work. hehe. bin dua gia!!

my herbs are in drawer/shelf cos my fridge no space! but i will check on my wolfberries and red dates later... hehe.

i just realised: wolfberries should be a bit 'bouncy' before cooked. cos if they are dry and 'sticky' then likely that they are a bit old liao, and not nice when you cook them

414856.gif

Oppss.. paiseh.. forgot abt the wrapping part.. whahah...

Anss..

Lina,
u can find kampong chicken in the wet market, you will hv to tell them u want kampong chicken, they are already cut & wash like regular chicken but the seller will take the rite one for u..
Regular chicken cost ard $4-5
Kampong chicken range from $9-13
Even in supermkt there are kampong chicken like my hse the cold storage but very limited lor...

yes yes.. must wrap then steam, wrap with foil but at the same time lay it down one a plastic sheet first incase the foil tear then all your "ho liao" gravy will be gone!!

My ah bu no use seasoning coz it is supposed to be as pure as ever.. whaha.. with all the herbal ingredients enuf liao lor.. gao bor liao.. whahah..

cook for how long depends on ur water & ur fire leh.. wei.. agar agar lah... u see lor.. but dun always open the cover ah... my ah bu cook the other day.. she start at 5pm, steam for ard 2 hrs leh..

Pink,
ur rite abt the wolfberries lor.. must be red red bouncy kind..those tat u can just take & eat raw one ..

oh i never knew got diff in guay one... ok next time i try... when i not lazy hehe.

sch, last time you were asking about chicken bones i think.... i buy mine from the uncle at market, i think $1 for the bones, and i can split into 2 times to cook stock. 3 if i mix with pork bones
and pork bones i usually buy $2 of ribs. same thing, can split into 2 times for stock, or 3 if mix with chicken bones

good afternoon, babes!

talking abt herbal chicken ah. hmmm... reminded me once when i was giving tuition to this sec 4 china boy... he made me herbal chicken soup. heh. though it's those package herbs but still taste very good.

juz back from the airport. went 2 soup restaurant 4 lunch. the double boiled soup (pork ribs + 3 types of carrot, red, white & greeeeeeeen) mmmmmmmmmm very happening ah!

wah... ho liao leh lina!

sch, you boil water, then when it's boiling, you put the bones inside for maybe 2-3 mins (scalding). then take out. then boil water again, then put the bones in to cook your stock. so far i only used scallops with 1 kind of bone. so if pork+chicken+scallops, dunno if will over power or not?

back!! had a yucky Lor Mee! keke..

Lina.. whah.. shiok ah u.. do agree the soup restaurant soup very nice !! keke..
me now updating my blog.. whah.. then realized that ah bu actually had done alot of nice yummy food man! kekeke...

girls, if any of you is in the media, please try not to call PR people and give them like FIFTEEN MINUTES to meet your material deadline ok? (something you prob would have known for at least a month)

@)#(**%^*&!(&*)#(%&($^%

wah skylar, li wu kaki eh blog ah? cum cum send us the link, then we can all go in look c ...

hehe sch, not everytime lah, now & then only mah

schnauzie... crush, u mean?? crash ah?? haha. no la... we sister/brother only. he always cooks his own meals mah.

skylar... u got blog ah? i wan to see!!

Pink!!
Wassup man! someone in the PR step on ur tail again ah.. kekeke... cool it cool it...

Lina..
no lah.... last time i got personal blog one.. coz i everytime go in there to vent my utmost frustration mah.. kekek..

now i am looking at a place to store my pixs with some liners lor.. kekeke...

skylar u blur, pink is a PR person lah. some asshole in media juz gave her n impossible deadline ...

so now u no longer update ur personal blog ah?? lazy liao si mmm si

poor pink.. but hor, tat's wat media is famous for lor..

lev, u charm your tuition kid to cook for u huh??? so shiok, teenager n willing to cook for u to eat leh.. must be super strong crush!! ahah..

skylar, blog url plssssss.. we wana c!!!

juz now went to giant n bought this seaweed from some funny thai brand. it taste super yucky!! so gers, if u see some thai brand of seaweed, don't bother giving it a chance.. now, i feel like puking coz of the taste!

Lina..
whahaha.. blur blur liao.. keekek..
no time to update liao lor... last time my blog is maciam essay writing one... now maciam poem, 1 or 2 liner only.. kkkekeke...

Ant..
not done lah.. me uploading the pixs.. when done will invite u all ok? coz my blog is not meant for public one.. kekeke..