CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

good morning babes
pink, ur yu pian mi fan looks healthy, nid 2 take very long time 2 cook or not?? my bak chew is ok, but now & then a bit pain pain & itchy (i guess is becoz of the haze). me still hv the eye drops prescribed by the doc so np lah.

hey, forgot 2 tell u gals tt my dad likes 2 doll up the hse ceiling 2x a yr, during cny & mid autumn fest. nah, took some fotos 4 u gals 2 c:

414044.jpg

414045.jpg

the wanton & green mussels soup fotos as promised:

414046.jpg

414047.jpg

414048.jpg

lina... your father so cute! still deco the house for mid-autumn. my father only like to do the deco during CNY. he's the most ONZ one. anyway, your place's deco reminded me of my next block's neighbour. dunno which family also hung those colourful paper lanterns all the way along the 4th floor, even the lift lobby also got...

wah lina ...ur house decorate until so got mood..no need go park shang yue liao lah.

pink - u post the recipe for the giam chye ark b4 or not? last weekend i use fish bone to cook soup...dunno is water too much or wat..bo taste leh..normally u all add little water then when dryin then add more water or add lots of water then boil till let abit..big or small fire? my soup always fail leh ;(

ohaiyoooooooooo gers...

yest was very busy, so no time to come in and chat..

lina, your dad so cute, decorate the house for mid autumn festival! wow!! sibeh onz..

chicken herbal soup, it is same as black chicken soup lor, except i use white chicken lah. as for herbs, i'm still using those 1st batch of herbs tat MIL bought for me.. go n dig history for the herbs lah..

pink, your yu bian mi fen looks good!! n your recipe of the corn soup makes me tempted!!

sch, how come your fish bone soup boh taste? tell us step by step wat u do lah.. den we troubleshoot for u!

morning babes! so early all so yakky liao?!

hey lina i was just thinking of putting up some lanterns yesterday! high five with your dad!!

your pics... at first i saw the wantan then i thought eh why green mussels look like that one? haha. ya yu pian mi fen takes a long time to cook. like 3 hours. but mostly it's just watching that the fire doesn't go off. a bit tedious. tonight then i post the recipe ok?

now it's my turn to kena the bak chew pain. last night very red and now i'm forced to wear my kuku bak gia.

levynn, your neighbour so cute!!!!!!!!!!!

haha ant, so funny. 'troubleshoot'!!! and i'm going to make the corn soup tonight! except the receipe asks for sweet corn kernels but i couldn't find. i hope normal corn kernels will do.

sch, ya what are the steps you take, let's try to helpch you. basket you. i posted giam chye ark recipe a few times liao! wait, i go search again for you.... only for you ah!

babes, this morning got early morning adventure: i usually bring my empty wine bottles to work to use as props. today as i was leaving the house, a wine bottle slipped from my arm and fell to the floor. everything went in slow mo. i even remember thinking 'lucky never break' then it flipped a few more times and finally shattered. i just stared at it. my response was so slow that i didn't even try to pick it up. i dunno why....

you see sch, who love you:

duck soup recipe:
scald duck (we used 1/4 duck for 2 people) in boiling water.
then boil duck and giam chye and tamarind juice(add water to tamarind pulp then squeeze out the juice) on medium heat for 1 hour, then add ginger slices and boil a further 1/2 hour. if you are eating it on the same day, then add tomatoes at the same time as ginger slices. if you are intending to keep overnight and eat the next day then add tomatoes when you are heating up the soup. it's damn shiok, i tell you!

yup gals, my dad is hardworking only 2x a year =) & i think only he can b bothered lah, in the whole hsehold.

pink, bak chew red red pls go c a doc, get mc & rest at home. i'm serious. eye infection is highly contagious! dun worry abt tis morning, maybe u're just stoned cos juz woke up mah, it's probably one of those down times.

Wahahaa.. Lina..
tat is ur hse or ur in law hse ah? ur father steady leh.. hahah.... so cute.. ya lor.. ur hse so mood liao.. u still go park for fark? whahaha..

Now everyone really in full force liao ah.. hahah..

ant, yes please, re-find the names of herbs for chicken soup!

lina, the last time i put up christmas decorations, i only took it down in feb/mar haha. my mother came to the house and said 'wah. you very kiasu hor, prepare for christmas so early'

Pink..
whaahaha.. kiasu.. whahah..
ya lor.. quite a hassle to take down leh..

today feel like zzzing ah.. haha.. heard my ofc mgr finally talking to my HR that we shd look for another recep liao.. coz of the way my recep is behaving.. whaha..

my parents' hse lah skylar. early in the morning u kuku liao, duh. i said my dad mah, u think he so good will go doll up my in-laws hse ah ...

pink, my herbs boxes got no names of the herbs lah.. it only indicates how many pieces i should add in. tat time i upload for all of you was after asking MIL and she was next to me leh. now, i see the herbs i won;t know the names too.

try google for the different herbs.. coz different combi give different effects leh. wat mil buys for me is to replenish blood and to minimize cramps.. not good for everyone to drink if body dun need wor.

me oso very sleepy now.. i want my bed!

skylar, finally your ofc mgr buay tahan anymore huh? ur recep on urgent leave or mc today huh???

permission to kao peh please.... thanks:

my company gave away something to about 400 people to thank them for their help. then my finance want to ngiao, ask me to get all 400 of them to sign to acknowledge. they all from the same company, so she insist i cannot ask their boss to sign on their behalf, must get freakin 400 signatures. then when i finally got them, i give to her, and she never came to me to say that she receive. so just now when i passed her at the corridor, i asked if she got it, she said (while walking away), YA, YA, GOT.

that's freakin it! no 'thank you' or anything leh. 400 freakin signatures la dammit!

(*&@&#^!)(^$((^(@%%!$$@#&#

Lina.. how i know..
thot u go shang yue with ur ah lao mah.. didn't think u will go back ur parents hse for mid autumn lor..

Ant / Pink..
ya lor.. actually I think my ofc mgr really too good to her liao lor.. on the fact that she is a single parent also cannot liddat mah hor..

even my HR also say.. she really too much liao.. ah.. whaha..

she come in now.. then act like maciam freaking sick lor.. CBCBCB.. so i told her off.. since u sooo sick, u shd go see a Dr, take leave for fark? then now she say.. ltr at 12pm she wanna go see Dr liao.. whahah.. really geng ka liao man!! no words to discribe her lah..

Pink..
too much leh.. ur that finance, u know her well bor? if so ah.. when she say YA YA GOT.. u shd reply her .. WAH.. LIDDAT ONLY AH? NO THANK YOU??
whaha...

u next time dun do for her liao lor.. know her pattern one time liao..

that's too much man pink. did u point ur middle finger at her? next time u c her ask her to go f spider ...

wah lau skylar, i didn't go bk my parents' place on mid autumn fest lah. the fotos were taken abt a week b4 mid autumn fest, juz that i haven't post them.

wahh pink love me best! okie i will go n try soon!!!

btw ur pic beri nice..u took pic with one swedish ger u say is ur counterpart..is it the one u complain nv do coordination for u tt one? y u still write abt her till so nice ah?

sky - ur recep shld be fired long ago..think i read from ur post...every monday she not in opic leh...maciam work 4 days rest 3 days liddat

ant - u still look tired or not?

pink, ur colleague too much siahz.. show her ur middle finger.. :p

sky, u nxt time can suan ur recep.. ask her if she from middle east countries. coz middle east work 4 days and rest 3 days. but now, the government is try to change it to work 5 days, rest 2 days lor...

sch, i duno if i look tired still but i sure feel tired.. :p

sch you very clever! it's that girl. at first i thought she was helpful, then i realise she push the work back to me, but in the end she also did alot of work and explanations for the trip so friend back liao hehe

ant - u can slowly recover but no flyin ard like sq girl liao hor?

pink - heehee i so smart..the place looks beri nice leh but shoppin is super exp right? u got buy things ah? ikea stuff not included!

pink... the place u went to look like one of the square i went to in Belgium. i like those places wif the old cottages... very nice n comfy feeling...

skylar... can f**k spider meh?

levynn, i know i ask before and you post before, but can re-post your muah yew gueh recipe please?? *siam before evil twin re-appears to kill me!*

alamak levynn, which place you talking about? i went to so many places! hehe.

sch, ya man. shopping was very ex. but of course i shop like sia. until i got no money to eat. you never see my pic? everyday eat hot dog and hamburger and kebab cos cannot afford anything else.

one of the street buskers (the handsome spanish one) ask me to buy a CD from him. i told him i no money to eat but he still insist so i opened my wallet to show him haha. then he very pai say. haha

skylar, pls kindly explain to levynn what is f*** spider

the places in ur pix r all nice lah pink. hey, maybe can consider gg Sweden 4 retirement, hehe. the busker has $$ 2 do CD, then u shld ask him 2 give u some 4 makan mah, after u show him tt u hv none.

i'm so sleepy nowwwwwwww.. zzzzzzzzzzzzz

sch, me flying off to tokyo on sun.. den suppose to be after tokyo, can rest for at least a mth.. but now, boss pushing us to go shanghai again!!! aiiiiiiii.. now still planning lor.. but alr planned to go facial tis wkend to be mei mei.. can't tahan anymore..

pink, the pics r nice.. it gives a very relaxed feel.. but i tink if u retire there, u will be bored to death!

Wahahaha... Sch..u say lah..
Pink looks kor lian meh? whahha..

Ant..
u very the poor thing leh.. haiz.. must take care ah!!

Lina..
that one cannot explain one.. must demo.. see when u free we 2 go find spider lah.. then ask Levynn to demo lor.. whahaha..

ant, if retire liao then muz hv a relaxed life.

i remember in melbourne, there were long Qs forming outside a very big dept store. i kpo went 2 ask an old lady in the Q & she told me they were Q-ing 2 c the x'mas window display. c, liddat also can pass time. so i guess as we age, the things we go after r probably very different compared 2 now. perhaps really simple joys in life r the best.

gd tt u're gg 4 facial tis weekend, ant, enjoy. muz pamper urself =)

basket you skylar....

but then hor, i say no money but my hands full of shopping bags muahahahha

lina... next time when we old, we queue up to buy 4D together la ok? speaking of which, i haven't check toto result yet. maybe you're right, and i'm a billionaire now and i still dunno?

oh yes ant, i will def be bored to death. the first place i went only got 8000 inhabitants. pengsan. stockholm must be millionare then can live there. toto, here i come!

stockolm standard of living so high the pple need ikea for wat?

pink - u shld offer to barter one of ur shopping purchase for the cd mah..at least act act abit mah.

ant - wahhh tokyo!!! can buy fancl!! heard the tense up ex there beri cheap cheap leh..u got go??

skylar and levv - u all v x-rated..but i like! when levv demo, can i watch? i promise not to make too much noise *SCRAM*

oh ya - went to a fren's house for pot luck party on sat. ah lao and i made thai fish cake!took damn long *shacked*
414201.jpg

hmmm standard of livnig high then all the more the need for affordable furniture, no?

EXCHANGE MY PRECIOUS SHOPPING FOR A CD? no way man!

thai fish cake recipe! looks good :D

need alot of work and ingredient..learnt it from my cc cokking class..lemme go home and find

btw ur giam chye ark...the market uncle got sell 1/4 duck ah?

ur giam chye got pre-soak b4 hand or not?

how much tamarind juice?

uncle sold me half a duck. don't remember how much, i think it's $6.

i never soak giam chye but mine is not very giam. usually it's recommended.

tamarind juice maybe about 2 tbsp ba?

Sch..
wahhh.. the fishcake looks yummy!!!!kekeke.. keep that in our next potluck gathering list ah! keke.. u also notti hor.. wanna see Levynn demo ah.. whahaha...

Pink..
neh.. i knew it.. u sure gonna say ur hands full of shopping bags one lor. whaha.. no wonder that yan dao kia dun believe u broke lah.. whaah..

btw.. any of u here have any idea ah.. go KL wedding dinner ang bao must give how much ah? its in a restaurant & ok so so frd nia.. how?

sch, you ask me tamarind how much MONEY or QUANTITY.

yeah 128 sounds like a good deal. wah sky, you talk about this dinner for damn long liao. still haven't yet ah? you found hotel liao bo?

btw, CSI fans, tonight miami new season!!!!!!! huat ah!

ta da, tonight's dinner:

the corn + crab meat soup is quite nice leh! and what's trying-to-be-but-cannot-make-it foo yong dan. and minced meat with tao hu (coated with orh tiap hoon as the expert advised!). i think i saw skylar's ah bu cook that before
actually it's cos i defrost wrongly. i thought i was defrosting meat. so when i ask ah lao to cut it, he said 'minced meat how to cut?' hehe. so improvise lor

414259.jpg

skylar, lina... how abt u two demo for me to see 1st?? me slow learner leh... maybe need each of u to demo once then can learn... keke...

ah pink, juz for u only...

- marinate the chicken wif a little cornflour n dark soy sauce
- fry ginger slices n garlic in sesame oil until fragrant
- add in the chicken pieces
- stir-fry till the chicken is cooked, then add in some water to let it boil.
- then add in light soy sauce to taste

mornin ladies!
ah pink - i see ur soup always a small bowl..is tt all the water required or u got a big pot somewhere with 10litres more of soup?

ohaiyoooooooooo..

pink, your soup looks very yummy...

i got the foo yong dan recipe via email from some website. maybe you can try the next time?

Egg Foo Yung - Family Style

Serves: 3 to 4, or 5 to 6 as part of a multicourse meal

Ingredients:

5 large eggs
1 teaspoon salt (if using canned crabmeat, reduce to 1/2 teaspoon)
1 teaspoon dry sherry
Dash black pepper
1/2 cup fresh or canned lump crabmeat or shredded cooked
pork, chicken, ham, beef, or shrimp
1/2 cup shredded celery, no leaves
1/2 cup dried black mushrooms, softened in hot water for 15
minutes, squeezed dry, stems removed, and shredded (NB: You
can substitute fresh mushrooms - wash, drain well, and shred)

1 cup fresh bean sprouts or drained and shredded bamboo shoots
1/4 cup thinly sliced onion
3 tablespoons canola, corn, or peanut oil

Directions:

Gently beat the eggs with the salt, sherry, and pepper. Add
the crabmeat, celery, black mushrooms, bean sprouts, and
onion and mix well.

Heat the oil in a nonstick work or stir-fry pan over
medium-high heat until the oil is not smoking. Test by dipping
the end of a spatula into the egg mixture and then into the
oil; it should sizzle. Add the egg mixture to the hot oil.
Let the eggs sit without stirring until the bottom is slightly
set but the top is still runny. With a spatula, turn sections
of the eggs over. Continue turning the eggs until the mixture
is set on both sides. Remove to a serving platter. Serve
immediately.

Variation:

Serve the Egg Foo Yung with a restaurant-style brown sauce.
Make the sauce before cooking the eggs.

Mix together 1 cup homemade Chinese Chicken broth, plus 1/2
teaspoon salt or 1 cup of canned chicken broth, 1/2 teaspoon
ketchup, 1 1/2 teaspoons soy sauce, and 2 tablespoons flour,
mixed with 2 tablespoons cold water into a smooth paste, in
a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with
a wire whisk. Bring to a boil and stir until the sauce is
thickened. Simmer 2 minutes to eliminate the raw taste of
the flour. Pour the sauce freely over the cooked eggs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Recipe #2:

Egg Foo Yung - Restaurant Style

(This Egg Fu Yung is very different because it is deep-fried
and therefore has a very light, delicate texture. Shredded
roast pork, beef, chicken or turkey can be substituted for
shrimp.)

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

1/2 pound fresh shrimp, shelled, deveined, cut into small pieces
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons sherry
5 eggs
1 teaspoon light soy sauce
4 tablespoons oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 scallion, chopped
4 water chestnuts, chopped
1/4 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 cup bean sprouts
2 to 4 cups oil for deep-frying

Sauce:
1 cup chicken stock or broth
2 tablespoons light soy sauce
1 tablespoon cornstarch, dissolved in 1 tablespoon water
Pepper to taste

Directions:

Dry shrimp. Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt, cornstarch, and 1
teaspoon of sherry. Mix well.

Beat eggs in large bowl. Add soy sauce, 1/2 teaspoon salt,
and 1 teaspoon sherry. Set aside.

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in wok. Stir-fry onion, scallion,
and water chestnuts 1 minute.

Add mushrooms. Stir-fry 30 seconds. Remove.

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in wok. Stir-fry shrimp and bean
sprouts 1 minute, or until shrimp turn pink. Let cool.

Add all ingredients to egg mixture.

To make Sauce: Bring stock to boil. Add soy sauce. Thicken
with dissolved cornstarch. Season with pepper to taste. Set
aside.

Heat oil to 400 degrees in wok. Test by adding a piece of
scallion (it should turn brown quickly). Gentle ladle 1/4 of
egg mixture into wok. Deep-fry 1 minute until golden brown.
Fold over with spatula and fry the other side 1 minute.
Remove to platter and keep warm. Continue to deep-fry egg
mixture, 1/4 at a time. Serve with sauce.

Wahhh.. Antt...
u copy & paste one izzit? whahaha.. I really dun think u will be typing all these out hor? wah.. but still hard work lah.. good good..

Pink..
ya lor... coz my frd invite me like maciam 1 yr ago lor.. basket.. think i wat! Hotel booked liao.. at Allson lor.. good & cheap then sekali last nite was reading on dunno wat website say that Allson is in red district area!! Pengz...
Check with my frd again.. she say NO LAH!!!! its near their town maciam Orchard area lah.. hwhaha..

at times ah.. these stupid posts on the net sibeh misleading man!! my ah lao booked the massage chair coach leh.. whah.. then he come back with the coach ticket.. stylo man! maciam like air tkts lor.. Boarding pass, must check in 30mins before departure into their Lounge.. whahaha..
they even asked my ah lao got meal preference bor? whaha..me keen on their trip now..

Lina.. ya lor.. I was thinking at the range of RM128 - 168. thx!!