CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

ohaiyoooooo... just went for late breakfast and back into office..

today got no meeting coz it is meeting for another pdt group. so tempted to sneak out to do some shopping..

sch, i found an esprit factory outlet (by luck) in Mongkok but didn;t buy anything.. can't find my sizes..

sch/ ka, no time to try the rests tat u guys recommend leh.. tis evening flying to taipei already.. unless u got recommendations for taipei?

just now went watsons n bought a very auntie thing.. mini massenger.. cost less than SGD20!

398728.jpg

hey skylar, tt cyst on ur elbow muz wait 4 hw long then can go op? so nw u still on antibiotics right? muz drink more water, i heard antibiotics very heaty, dunno true or not ...

oh dear, so what was the diagnosis? ur FIL ok bo?

no prob abt the recipe babe, take ur time

ant, u bz woman, fly here fly there, hehe. take care ya

Lina........................Welcome back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sky - thanks in advance hah!

Ant - that's a good buy!

skylar, ur FIL okie? u must be busy fighting with the zzzzzz bug.. quickly remove your cyst lor.. if not it will be there keep reminding u damn irritating oso..

lina, how's ur bkk trip? got buy at least 1/2 of bkk back? :p

sch, i use such massenger for my lower back aches lah.. n hor, i gained some weight from all the biz trip food.. not sure if it works for slimming thou.. i got smth similar at home too but bgt from shenzhen n is more exp in shenzhen lor.. so when i see it so cheap in watson, die die must buy.. as my backup if the shenzhen one decides to kong ka kiao..

eh, tdy never see the jwee tiao bu bunny?

LINA!!!!! welcome back!!! juz realised your name if change the letters a bit, become LIAN leh... wahahahaha... no wonder....

everybody go holiday lor... good lor. me so envy... xian la. dunno when can go again.

ant... control control!!! dun buy back the whole watson leh...

ant, i wish 2 buy 1/2 of bkk back =) but not enuf time & $$ lah. i post some pix within the next 1-2 days 2 let u gals c. the mini massager nice 2 use meh?? i had something similar in the past, but didn't like the feeling, felt more like being electricuted rather than msg ...

hahaha levynn, now u noe huh, tt's y i hv 2 live up 2 my name. u also can go mah, those short weekend gateaways can b quite shiok as well. btw, can u recall roughly hw much u spend in Redang? hubby thot of gg, but by cruise instead, maybe the angmoh new year period.

heehee.. lev, i got no more HKD to spare to buy hk watson back.. ahaha.. i reserving my $$ to buy taipei's watson back.. taipei's has very interesting products.. they even have heat pads just for menses cramps n alot of funny slimming products..

lev, u can go holidays during sch vacations right? plan something lor.. holiday getaways are very good!

lina, when i first try those massager, i also have tat feeling.. den slowly get used to it.. really good when my back aches esp nearing menses timing..

n hor, if go redang or tioman during ang moh new yr period, it is their monsoon season leh.. alot of water activities can't do, boat ride to the resorts is damn choppy.. i tried tat once to bintan, nearly puke lor although it is only 45mins boat ride..

now wairing for my colls to end mtg in order to go for lunch.. grrrrrr... stomach growling already..

lian lina... that time we went to Redang... we only spent on food, which can b quite a lot. coz we can only eat at the restaurant in the hotel. food not cheap leh... convert to sing$, almost like we go eat at swensen's here. n they even ran out of water, so no choice, we had to take fr the mini bar. all in all, according to my ah lao, we spent ard $600 betw the 2 of us.

ant... this sch holiday only 1 week. think not enuf time. guess have to wait til nov lor...

My cyst will be removed tis Sat lor.. gg for my Op this sat.. as for my FIL suspected cancer so still waiting for the result lor.. not too sure yet..

KA!!
Shucks!! I forgot to go to the shop.. kekek.. another day ya!!

Ant..
that was a good buy man!!

Sky - no prob!

Lina - my new job so far so good lor.....hmmm....maybe if ive got the time tonite, I post my opi pic for you gals

Ant - Taiwan stuffs also not cheap too....alot of things to mum mum too....dun forget to try their
authentic "Ru Ro Fan" and Oyster mee sua!!!!

Guess wat gals!!! My ah lau bo liao wan lor...juz sms me telling me he misses HK!!!! Siao rite??? He's planning to go again end of the year & basket, wan me to sponsor him airfare as his Bday gift!But expenses on him lah. Im happy at the same time worried too. Happy coz I can go shopping again, worried is bcoz juz start work not long...going to take leave liao....

sch, i stay at regal hongkong hotel in causeway bay...

lev, one wk break go somewhere nearby lor.. or juz nua at home oso shiok.. heheh..

ka, yup, taiwan stuff not v cheap but i'm gg to this place which is the wholeseller mkt.. so should be cheaper mah.. i love oyster mee sua.. alr plan to go for ah zong mee sua.. but i dun like ru rou fan, so will skip tat.. den also will go to monster inc for manago dessert althou i had hui lao shan yest..

Ant - i think i know which wholesale mkt you talking about. They called it " Wu Fen Pu". Alot of clothes, shoes, bags etc. There's this section there, their stuffs all from Korea...very nice & dirt cheap! But must remember to bring more cash coz they only accept that!

KA.. since ur ah lao like HK so much.. so did u all compile up a list for shopping bor? email lah.. so next time can go visit mah.. kekee...

Hey babes..

remember i was tellin u all i feel like cooking mee siam last nite..
taaaaaaaaaa...taaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
398802.jpg

very easy, cook liao. set aside when ah lao come bak late, just heat up the gravy & pour over the beehoon can eat liao.. fast & easy!!

KA...
kekeke... usually i will fried the white beehoon with the layer of oil from the top of the soup lor.. so liddat after frying the beehoon will be red color liao.. but.. i did this cooking like close to 1am last nite leh.. so spare me lor.. kekek.. so no fry the beehoon just poach it with hot water nia..

mee siam paste must buy the Nonya one...then more sour.. more shiok!! local one very sweet.. i dun like.. kekek..

Sky - ok ok...spare you this time! Actually if it taste juz as good...than white or red also neber mind....kekekeke
Do you need to add anything elseas in the ingredients? How long does it take to make this dish? I wan to try also.

only ant got liang xin and ask about me.

on course tues-thurs la. then every 5-10 min toilet break rush back to my desk to do some work.

KA..
dun nid to add anything else...
so far i got try alot of diff prepacked brands liao but i still love this nonya one.. i will buy like 5 pkts in 1 go.. keekeke.. i go hm take pix show u ok??

takes about 10 mins to bring the gravy to a boil but then u still need to fried the tau kua lah.. for me, I add tau kua & tau pok lor.. kekeke...

Pink!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wooooooooooooo Aaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiii Nnnnnnnniii

Sch..
no choice that is when my ah lao work nite lor... so i very 24 xiao lao poh mah! whahaha... tor...

Lina..
thxs for ur lufff... but its ok lah.. i will go myself ya..

Pink - I MiSSSS........SSSSSSSSS You!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sky - ok. wait for your pic than i go buy. If i dun want to put tau kua can hor? i juz wan to put tau pok & tao gey only. Tau pok no need to fry rite? But hor...1 pkt too much for 2 person boh hah?

sky - ya lah u very good wife leh, ur hubby very lucky. keke

bunny - we all miss our recipe mama lah, don be sad *sayang* keke u been so biz lately ah? beri long nv see ur SQ sarong table cloth liao leh

KA!!!
CAN lah.. u wanna put tau kua or tau pok all up to u... so long as u dun put ur "neh neh pok" in can liao!! kekekeke....

tau pok no nid to fry.. tau kua then fry.. u wanna put tao gey ..jiak liao ang gey ang gey also can!! kekeke..

1 pkt just nice for 2 lor...

Sch..
kekeke.. gam xia gam xia.. kekeke.. at times nia lor.. wahaha...

Pinkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk......
398903.gif

Sky - wahahaha....scully Ah lau request to put chicken in. Than will have chicken neh neh pok liao....hahahahaha
Siao liao lah....making me hungry liao

aiyah, pink... we all miss u la... juz "ai zai xin li kou nan kai". keke...

KA.. ur ah lao very funny leh. he misses the food there, or he shops more than u??

wah, skylar... if know u earlier, then that time we'll buy the fernvale flat... can b your neighbour, n got late nite snacks also... hahahaha....

pink/ant
i bought a pack of long grain brown rice, and i use 1 cup: 1.5 cup (water), but the rice turns out to be very hard leh...why ah? i also presoak the rice for half hr...normally how u girls cook brown rice? thanks.

pink: thanks for the salmon recipe. i just marinate with olive oil and pepper and grill it as your recipe a bit too difficult for me...haha..

enjoy! and take care.

good morning babes
darn, i couldn't log on yesterday after lunch ...
dunno what's wrong??

pink, miss u miss u miss u

show u all some BKK pix:

399003.jpg

terrible traffic conditions on one of the nites. thank god 4 the BTS and MRT, if not will b damn sian 2 keep stucking in traffic jams when u wan 2 go out. heng i only gena 1 traffic jam, on day of arrival, took >1 hr 2 get 2 Asia from airport

399019.jpg

our "snack" at Fuji Restaurant at MBK. damn happening, all the ingredients very fresh, cheap & good. & i bought abt 8 kg worth of local food products (pork floss, dried mango, etc) 2 feed the army at home. the lady at chinatown very nice, helped us packed swee swee in a carton ...

wah lina - u bought sooooo much..make me feel like goin bkk again!

joniel - my fren who eat the red rice say her parent soak them overnight leh..if overnight sounds too long, y don u soak the brown rice in he mornin b4 u go to work?

lina... u really bought a lot of things leh! how long were u at Chatuchak? i dun think i bought as much as u when i went there last yr. n 8kg worth of food pdts??!!! *faintz*

quite alot hor. CTC's one of my favourite shopping area cos the pple r warm & friendly, the one place where i feel tt bargaining can b fun (though i'm nt good at it p). my hubby was so sweet 2 follow me ard, w/o complaints, + he had 2 help me lug all my purchases =)

Levynn, i was there on sat, 8.30 am to 4 pm. i bgt the food pdts at chinatown on fri noon, the best part is i only kept 1 pack of pork floss + 1 pack of dried mango 4 myself + hubby, & gave the rest away.

Good Morning!!!

WOW LINA!!! Happening sia!!!! Oh yah....i love their Fuji Jap Restn....nice, shiok & cheap! I also love their Coca steamboat too, their tom yum nicer.

Levynn - indeed my ah lau shop more than me. That's true!!!!!

KA... really ah, ur ah alo shop more than u?? then not bad leh... at least he won't complain if u shop for too long, or juz go window shopping. my ah lao already warned me long ago... if shopping dun ask him along.

lina... pei fu leh! u can stay so long there? when we were there, we reached CTC ard 9am, then by 1 pm plus, already cannot tahan... esp we had to squeeze thru the crowd who is trying to set up some more stalls in betw those other shops. that time was really very bad... we were so squashed up that we had no choice but to really push our way thru, if not others will push u along another direction...

i was surprised tt i could stay there so long. heng the crowd tt day was ok, not too overly crowded. after we left CTC, we went back hotel to shower and rest (abt 1 hr), then went 2 MBK shop abit more, then went 2 Patpong 2 get cufflinks. round off the day wif foot msg at midnite! really engergetic then, now tt i'm back, i feel lethargic, hehe

Normally I will reach CTC as early as 7am. Lesser crowd & not that hot too. By 1pm, I almost cover those that i wanted to shop than back to hotel to pong pong!

Levynn - true also. if my ah lau is those who dun like shopping at all...than i rather go with my galfrens than asking or forcing him to join me. Coz end up you wont enjoy yrself at all.

wa dng lai liao. nah, sch, your fav SQ table cloth lai liao!

399315.jpg

sweet and sour chicken
chilli prawn
wong bok and hir yee (thanks, skylar)

sweet sour chicken:
marinate chicken with salt, pepper, sesame oil, rice wine
soak mixed veg in hot water
in a bowl, mix tomato ketchup, chilli sauce, rice wine, vinegar, sugar, cornflour, water
fry chicken till brown then add the sauce and then the mix veg

KA - CTC open as early as 7am? wah.... i want....

lina - next time when you want to go BKK, can i tag along? :D

joniel - we just put about 10% brown rice to 90% white, then more water than usual. we don't soak btw

elloooooo.. greetings from taipei..

deadbeat siahz.. juz reached hotel from 1 full day of market visit.. had very nice lunch and dinner.. lunch was typical taiwanese cuisine but it has an interesting concept.. upload pics n show u gers another day.. dinner was hubei dishes which is very spicy.. very shiok..

wanted to go night market tonight but too tired from work.. hopefully tml will not be too tired..

lev, u asked about brown rice right? mine is short brown grain, not sure if it is any different from yours. but i realised when i mixed with white rice and cook, brown rice damn tough. so what i do is add alot of water to the brown rice to cook. abit like cooking porridge. then when the brown rice is 'boiling' like porridge, i will add white rice grain and cook. den this combi will be just nice.

my mil say got some types of brown grain rice that do not need such longer cooking time, so i'm not sure too.

sch/pink: thanks for the advice on brown rice.

ant: is i ask not levynn ask abt brown rice..haha..u fly until blur liao. i dun quite get the part u say abt adding the white rice grain. does it mean u cook the brown rice in a separate pot and then when it boils, u scope up and add into the rice cooker together with the white rice grain, tio bo??

/joniel

morning all! i will be on disappearing act again today cos on course again. that's why came in early to clear some work so that can leave on time to go SHOPPING!!!!
399363.gif

btw ant, i'm planning to go taiwan too! but maybe next year. heard it's very beautiful
was talking to colleague yesterday and she recommended this place: www.jogoya.com.tw sorry can't type the address for you cos i only have a photocopied namecard. check out the website ok? ;)

have a nice day, girls!

good morning babes
KA, 7 am not too early meh? tt sat i went at 8.30 am got some shops still setting up, asked me 2 go back later ... duh, like i can remember where they were =)

yo pink, 9.50 pm then u had dinner? wah biang!!
the sweet & sour chicken looks delicious
kao_sleep.gif

morning chio bus!

ant - have u tried the red wine mask that da S swears by? think u can find it in taiwan! arghh i also want to go taiwan..nv been there b4 but sounds very interesting. one of my fren go there every yr...think she will migrate there if given the chance i tell u.

Bunny - ur sweet n sour chicken looks nice leh..seems quite easy too...can try it some day

tell u all something funny - have u all been to song cho b4? the shop sellin stainless steel product? ok now they sell this buffalo brand rice cooker bowl tt is supposed to be very healthy..then my ah lao see until very gian..every time bug me to buy it..i tell him aiya this is all gimmick lah..not cheap k...one small one is abt 69..then he not happie say he don want to die of cancer eating the teflon from our rice cooker >( he super Kia See leh...every ask me cook dish got use olive oil or not..must cook brown rice...my detergent got use non-toxic version or not, must use organic sea salt...wah kaoz..i transfer some of my 'yang2 shou4' to him lah..

Lina - if those shop tat i normally go is still closed(dun wan to waste time), than i go shop others 1st than later go back again. usually by 8 - 8.30 am...they shld be open liao.

Pink - I missed your SQ table cloth!!!! Hiaz...me now jiatlat leh....wanna cook but after work i very lazy liao. Really " you xing wu li "

Ant - dun forget to take pics of the wholesale mkt!!!

Gooooddddd morninggggggggggggg.........

Wahh... Pink!!

I see ur bok cai liao ah.. kekeke... good good..
me super busy today ah!!!! kekeke..

anyone got miss me?? kekeke....