CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

wah what's happening here? or rather what's not happening. so quiet today? anyway i'm going out to deliver invitations for our event liao. bye!

394200.gif
Wah!!! Unbelievable man! Today really really damn quiet leh....i tot i come back sure very long archive wan...but end up boh lang?

I know Sch not in town but where's the rest hah?

Sky - you on leave or on MC today?

wah me too. thought i come back then sure alot of postings one. everybody's dian nao spoil si bo? today after delivering my stuff then went to meet ah lao
that was nice

and i must report! (esp to sch i think) i bought dried scallop! walau i didn't know it was so ex. so i make damn poor thing face and say 'got cheaper one or not...' then the guy said ok la, you want to buy 100g also can... in the end i buy 50g only keke.

so now my next question is: COOK WITH WHAT? just pei with any stock si bo? ha? ha? ge wei gao shou, please share idea.. gam xia!

ps wed leaving for krabi liao! besides you gers, you know what i will miss? COOKING!!! hahahaha

yoo hoo. recipe mama back with a vengence again. bought some cookbooks for MIL and of course i had to flip through to make sure the recipes are good, right? keke. found a few cool ones guess i'll only try these when i get back. but if you gals have time, check out these two:

shredded chicken and dao gay
1. chicken neh neh, sliced thinly and marinated with soy sauce, sugar and cornflour for 20 mins

2. stir fry spring onions (white part) in oil and then push to one side of pan

3. add chicken, then add 1 tablespoon dry sherry (or other wine i guess?)

4. add dao gay and stir. then add in 1/2 cup chicken stock, 1 tsp cornflour then cook till thicken.

veg and tao hu soup
1. soak 8-12 chinese mushrooms in hot water, drain then cut and discard tough stems from mushrooms then cut the caps

2. boil 6 cups (1.5 litres) of water over high head then add 2 tsp salt

3. wash and rinse veg (fresh spinach, watercress, boy choy or any other creen veg)

4. add mushrooms to boiling water then let water return to boil then add tauhu and 5 thin slices of ginger

5. return to boil over medium heat, cover and simmer for 20 mins

5. add veg and stir. return to boil then simmer 2 mins

6. serve with chinese parsley

gooooooooooooooooooood morning babes!!! arrived in office early early today. can't wait for the break for the next 2 days!!

PB... have a safe journey! enjoy your hornyday... oops... holiday, i mean...

good morning babes
pink, dried scallop can cook wif porridge (that was what i did) or wif most soups. at my hse, my MIL used it 2 cook lotus root, winter melon, black chicken, & sometimes even cabbage soups =) boil it a bit longer, then the taste wld b stronger. & i guess if u use dried scallop, dun hv to put chk stock, if not the chk stock taste so strong will cover the dried scallop taste.

lina - that's mean dried scallop is a base by itself is it? i had the impression it's an accompanying item. think tonight i will cook a simple soup with jagong, dried scallop and whatever veg i can find in the fridge
thanks lina!

ohaiyooooooooo..

MIA yesterday coz was on leave. got miss me boh? :p

pink, the dried scallops can be used as part of soup stock or stir fry with vegetables.

ok i'm confused now - should i use the dried scallops as the main tasting base for soup, or accompanying item (i.e. with chicken/ikan bilis/pork bones etc)? or both ways also can?

accompanying item yes, u r right pink. it's not exactly a base by itself but since it's so expensive, the chefs i noe (my mum, aunts & MIL lah) normally use it wif v selective items tt taste would not overpower the dried scallop taste.

dried scallop, jagong + veg sounds good, put a few more dried scallops and i'm sure ur soup would taste great =)

ant, so now u feel re-charged? =) have a great day

skylar, u ok bo? so quiet?

lina, my body is aching all over. my wkend was a disaster! been irritated for the whole weekend.

went with hubby's friends. a fren's gf is damn irritating!! she can whine on anything n everything. and she is the super teh kind of ger.. teh every man lor n so fake! it is not her first visit to that place n yet, she can still find so many things to whine about from food, to heater to everything! the bf oso very inconsiderate! can't stand them. there were 6 of us n some asshole brought majhong set along knowing well that me n hubby don't play lor. n the so called resort don't even have TV, guess how bored we are!

ant, relac lah. juz take it as a break from work. hey it's the eve of our country's birthday man, it's time to CELEBRATE!!

walau eh... so busy having to rush everything before i leave for my holiday then HR keep asking me why you never clock in, what time you clock out? why you forget to bring your card? were you on leave? wah biang eh........ this is the one thing that make me damn pekchek. i got to clock in and out everyday.

ya boy.. so glad tml is holiday! yeah..

pink, me too! i gota clock in and clock out as well!! n it is used to track our punctuality. if you are late by 1 mere second, system will generate a mail to u n ur boss n have to fill out online form as to why you are late!

lev, yup, now better lor.. at least away from whiny n teh ppl gives my ears and mind some peace. :p

levynn - i fly off tomorrow afternoon la. you also want to send me off? really la, don't need. i pai say.

ant - i even have to clock in and out for lunch. can you beat that? cos where i work, there are floor staff as well so to be fair, back office (where i work) also have to clock in and out. sibeh sian. my boss is cool with us being late cos he knows we stay back but HR is king of the world, know what i mean?

i dunno which is worse - having to fill up a form to tell your boss why you're late, or to receive an email from HR at the end of the month asking you to explain every single time why you never clock in and out. who will remember?! sometimes i got morning meetings that are away from the clocking machine, then how?

damn frustrating sia...

it's a great company to work for but some HR rules and regulations just get to me. you know when you stay back to finish work, usually you don't hang around for dinner right? just finish up then go home right? so if officially i finish work at 6.30 for instance, then i stay till 8.30, i would claim 2 hours, right? but HR says it is compulsory for me to take one hour break for dinner because MOM says every X number of hours, must take break. so in the end i claim only 1 hour.

sometimes we work through lunch.... but still got to walk down to the machine, clock out, then clock back in. even if we're at our desk all the time.

see la. can get frustrated or not. i love everything about my job. except this.

Hello Everyone!!! Juz wanna wish everyone Happy Holidays!!!

Pink - Enjoy your trip to Krabi and hope that you come back with 3 person instead of 2 ya!!! kekeekek.......

See you gals on Thurs again!

hi all swee aunties,

heres pic of last night dinner:

watercress soup with jagong and dried scallops. geh kiang added some prawn heads too. sweet! but maybe a bit overkill la haha

five spice chicken. that's damn nice. marinate chicken with 5 spice powder, sesame oil, soy sauce and chilli powder, 1 tsp cornstarch + 1 tbsp water, hua diao jio. then fry with garlic

red braised fish. marinate fish with salt and pepper then fry. then pour over soy sauce+sesame oil+ vinegar (a bit!!), rice wine and chilli oil if you have. shiok!

394477.jpg

okie going for friend's son's muah gueh party then off i go loh! hello, krabi!!!!

SKYLAR!! wah biang, looks like only the 2 of us r working today man, sob sob.
wei, u on leave mon & tue, is it? go where?
basket, actually i called u on ur hp 2 disturb u, but u didn't pick up, HNG!

Lina..
me on leave ya.. on Mon & Tues.. thot i got tell Pink liao when she sms me? whaha..
me no go where lah.. stay home to pray for 7th mth lor... tell u liao.. my praying for 7th mth is those dua zhong kind liao..

u leh?

where is everyone? all on leave ah? shiok!!

me work ah, babe, i no hv so much leave like u all lah. looking fwd 2 my bkk trip next week, dun miss me too much hor.

muz take 2 days' leave huh? then really quite dua zhong, haha. my place tis kinda pai pai is the er gu do wan (FIL's sis), so got chk & duck 2 eat on tue lor.

then yesterday, went mkt early early 2 get the sweet & sour pork ingredients cos my aunties & mum wan 2 eat, so went bk 2 cook 4 them (only one dish lah p). phew, heng turned out ok. nabz, cooked there damn stressed lah cos there got alot of gao shous & they always disturb disturb wan =)

actually, thks 2 u gals tt i now sorta grow 2 like cooking =) will learn more dishes quick cos gena teased already, cannot always sweet & sour pork mah, tiobo.

u got watch NDP bo? the fireworks happening man!!

at least u r gg BBK soon lor.. pls... me now thinking wanna take a short break also very tough ah..

me bai bai 1 day is go back to my mom's place lor.. then the other day is pray at my own place mah so at least not so rush lor.. kekee..

u got go see fireworks ah.. me watch from home..

Hello!!!!

hah????? Only Sky & Lina nia ah?

Sky - you on leave ah? I tot why you missing....kekekeeke.....

this week ma chaim very quiet ya!

Lina - your "good afternoon" is suan me or real wan hah? Hahahaha.....coz i woke up quite early today but went out to change $$$.

hahaha clever KA. a little bit of both lah .... but i also noe these days u wake up early cos u say already b4 mah.

tea tree, hua tiao jiu is commonly used in small qty in some chinese dishes to make the dishes more fragrant. it's contained in glass bottles (well, i haven't seen it sold in plastic bottles b4). can b found in provision shops/supermarts, juz tell the uncle 2 show u lor.

I just to chance upon this site... what a market! very re nao and i like it!! haha! i tried to look through to get all the recipes here leh, but aiyo so long archives... can any kind soul send me the consolidated files? think earlier levynn ws sending...

thks gals!

keke

Levynn....

wu lang kio li chou kang ah!!! where are you? whahahaa..
*Scram*

KAAAAAAAAAAAAAa...
u call me for fun ah?? basket...

Sky - hng! Now than hiu me lor....!!! Guess this time you go back liao lah....

Anyway, wont be in here till next Wed. Im leaving tomoro morning oredi....you gals happy chatting & cooking hah.....see ya!! Bye Bye!

hello to all babes...very quiet these 2 days hor.

teatree

in english it is call "chinese cooking wine"..haha....the one i am using is call "shao xing hua tiao jiu" (ç»å…´èŠ±é›•é…’ï¼‰ã€‚

I ever saw it in NTUC, but if u go chinese provision shop sure have.

enjoy cooking.

/joniel