CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

ok.. shshsss..... kekeke... took this pix of my larling when she is doing the yummies for us..
387369.jpg

Eh Sky, its true leh...my granny used to say that the black black sauce good for hair...kekekeke...actually without the squid juz the sauce with rice i can eat liao...best! Somemore add some balachan largi best!

wah skylar - every dish got chilli padi man!!! ask your ah bu how to cook the veg.. i want!

on wed i went to carrefour then prawns got promo. big big one so i buy 6. wah biang eh. $9 leh!!!! but sibeh big la. eat 3, full already, that kind.

thanks ant & KA, so nw i noe where is Big C liao. if time permits then maybe go & look c, my ah lao is quite a sucker 4 big supermarts =)
i wld love 2 stay at pathuwan princess, but it's way off budget =( staying at asia hotel 4 tis trip

Wahahaha... Pink.. not behind ur back lah.. but in front of u lor.. waiting for ur little bunnies.. kekek..

Levynn..
yaya.. she always come my hse lor.. & when she come she will stay liao lor.. whahaha.. got food mah.. kekeke...

Pink..
recipe for the veggie i know!! coz i help her one..

1. cut the veg into cubes.. not too small.
2. devein the prawns.
3. slices of chicken (optional)
4. fry ginger till nice smell.
5. add prawns & chicken.
6. add vegg- stir fry
7. add salt, pepper & chilli padi to taste.

ya la... PB... talk in front of u... how u know behind your back? ur back got eyes ah?? keke...

btw, finally managed to see all your wedding photos liao... i like your gown at the yatch... swee swee leh...

PB... so looooomantic ah... go Krabi liao must come back n tell us how is it. take many many photos hor. i mean, not photos of u la.. but of the place. keke. so, when u going??

Whahaah..Levynn..
u broke her butter heart ah.. take photo not of her.. whaaha... ok ok lah.. can take some of u ya~! so which one u book ah? overall how much?

pls provide us that website again..

wahh.. if u go this time.. sure wack alot of BB come back one lah.. waahahha...

the hotel is: http://www.krabi-hotels.com/thecliff/

very happening right? but i'm er... biologically not able to have babies yet. apparently there are certain jabs i have to go for before can start to conceive. we want to double check with gynae first. so in the mean time, nature will not allow me to craete a baby
BUT it doesn't mean we stop practicing!

today partly why i so busy is cos it's also my boss' birthday. we sabo him big time. tie ribbons and balloons on his car (and put a sign above his licence plate that said 'HONK IF YOU'RE HORNY'), then made superman cape and big S for him, even roped our GM in to pretend to call him and say something happened, very urgent, need him to hurry. then he go to pantry then SURPRISE!!!!! he's 40, his daughter is 1 year old only. i don't want to be in that position leh.

but there are 2 schools of thought here. enjoy living '2 people world', which i absolutely love, and then 'pay' for it next time when you're in your late 30s and your kid/s are below 2. or have kids early now, sacrifice a little, and enjoy growing old and travelling when you have more money. my husband is in no hurry to have kids but i don't want to be lao mummy

oh btw i go 9-13 aug.

eh skylar, what's the veg your ah bu use la....

btw KA, this weekend i will use your lor neng recipe! steady bo?
we support each other's contribution hor? keke

alamak, cold storage don't only sell one type of veggie lor babe.

is it quite big and long one? (hmmmm hehe). at the bottom is light green, then the top is lighter green, many layers of leaves one?

ant,

candelnuts - buah-ka-lak
galangal - lam-kiu - blue ginger
tumeric - ng-kiu - yellow ginger (not the normal ginger)
lemon grass - chang mao

correct me if i am wrong.

/joniel

joniel, thanks for the translation.

here are the images of soya bean paste and miso paste.. they taste different and use for different purposes...

387488.jpg

387489.jpg

hello babes... here's something for weekend breakfast.

Roti John

Ingredients (serves 8) :
- 1 French loaf, sliced thickly
- 400g minced beef, chicken or sardines
- 2 eggs, beaten
- 1 large onion
- 2 green chillies, seeded and minced
- 2 tsp meat curry powder
- 1 tsp garlic, minced
- 1/2 tsp ginger, minced
- salt and sugar to taste
- 2 fresh green chillies, chopped
- sweet chilli sauce & ketchup
- cucumber, sliced

Directions :
1) Mix beaten egg, minced onion and meat together.
2) Add curry powder, garlic, ginger, salt and sugar. Mix in the chillies.
3) Spread the mixture onto thick slices of French loaf.
4) Heat a pan and coat thinly with oil. Shallow-fry the bread slices until the egg mixture becomes brown and sizzling and the bread is crispy.
5) Serve with cucumber slices, sweet chilli sauce and ketchup.

hey joniel - i think i saw "candlenuts" today at giant today. don't remember it to be known as buah ke luak. i think the latter is the very dark brown thingie with hard shell. candlenuts are 'waxy straw-coloured nuts'

that's what my new recipe book said. it's called singapore favourites. small thin book, about $5 from MPH. highly recommended). that's where i learnt how to many tonight's dinner - CHILLI CRAB!!!

if y'all will cook then i post la. sibeh long, the recipe. and sibeh long, the cooking time. about 2 hours, inclusive of crab killing time :S

387583.jpg

soy bean paste and miso paste vary slightly in taste. miso paste is sweeter. but very much more expensive. for normal everyday cooking, esp chinese dishes, soy bean paste is more cost effective

pink: i copy and paste from kuali.com
ant: u can do a google image search for the picture.

Candlenuts (buah keras in Bahasa Malaysia) are cream-coloured waxy nuts. They are often ground into a paste with other spices to thicken and flavour curry dishes.

/joniel

thanks for clearing my doubt on soya bean paste and miso paste. my hubby bought a bottle of soya bean paste (not those YHS salted soy bean) and say can use to cook soup. haha.

pink: u can scan the recipe from the book and post it here mah...

/joniel

yo,

buah keras and buah ke luak different things hor. don't buy wrong one! keke.

alamak if i scan it then i have to bring the recipe book to work, scan there, then bring back!

387688.gif
Yeoh Pink, staying at home on Sun?

Not bad leh...still can cook chilli crab and it looks good man! Somemore with white wine....cool!
I think next gathering go your hse and you cook this dish for us lor...kekekekee....
Btw, your recipe book can get it any bookstore is it? Wats the title? I go get it myself than dun have to trouble you mah....

Yesterday I went Far East PLaza and tried the Mango Lingo that Lina mentioned..took a pic for you gals....oh yah! Taste yummy & refreshing too...

387696.jpg

hi all~

fri i went to remove my wisdom tooth...so PAIN~!!!! now my face is so swollen then got 6 day MC!!! sob sob stop enticing me with all these yummy food!!!! ;(((

yo KA, the book is called "singapore favourites". small thin book, i bought it about $5 from MPH. this is the one i was supposed to give my MIL then i flip flip and i decided to keep it for myself haha. but next time buy another one for her la. want to come my house next time for chilli crab ah? can... but lao niang's house is sibeh small lor. if you gers don't mind squeezing! keke.

sch - eh you also kena wisdom tooth? skylar also leh.

today's lunch: i used KA's recipe for the lor neng (with chicken). and the veg is nice but... but... instead of tanghoon, i so kuku, go and put BEEHOON instead!!! but still nice :D veg: cabbage, black fungus, lilybuds, tao kee, button mushroom and of course, my infamous crab stick

387773.jpg

btw, i got the recipe of lor chicken wing from my dad.. here's the recipe

ingredients:
chicken wings
tau pok
tau kwa
hard boiled egg
chinese mushrooms
dark soya sauce (the type not very saltish)
5 spices powder
ginger (1 chunk)
pepper powder
salt
oyster sauce

1. boil water with tak pok. at the same time, blanched chicken wings.
2.add dark soya sauce, 5 spices powder, ginger, pepper powder, salt.
3. then add chicken wings, egg, tau kwa, tau pok and mushrooms.
4. use small fire to cook. when almost done, add some oyster sauce.

hey pink

i think u confuse candlenut and chestnut la. chestnut or hokkien known as "gao luck" is the dark brown thingy with hardshell. ppl use to put in ba-chang one leh. as for candlenut is call buah-ka-luck...where ppl use to cook curry one. i think skylar's mum used to cook her curry chicken.

hiya...do a google image search for chestnut and candlenut and u will see the difference. haha.

cheers.

Dear Antonia, Can I ask for the chicken wing recipe, how much 5 spice powder to add? 1 teaspoon can or the whole packet? Thanks for the recipe!

good morning, all the chio charbors
went to tiong bahru market yesterday, very happening fish ball noodles at unit #02-13 Teochew Fishball noodles, the fishballs and fishcakes handmade wan, sedap.

ant, cheese cake no nid to bake wan rt? i heard from pple say dunno wat mix wif wat, then put inside the fridge can liao? ur cheesecake makes me lao nua, recipe plsssssss

wah lau pink, u sibeh hardworking. weekend also cook huh? the chilli crab nice nice, & so r the lor nengs

ohaiyo...

penelope, i'm not sure coz my dad say must agar agar yourself. i think 1 teaspoon shld b enuf if u r cooking for 2... if cooking for many ppl, den put more bah...

lina, i tried the non-baked cheesecake version n it was a total FAILURE!

recipe for baked cheesecake

INGREDIENTS:
- 1/3 cup butter (75g)
- 1 1/4 cup cracker crumbs (280g)
- 1/4 cup sugar (55g)
- 2 (8 oz each) packages cream cheese - softened (480g)
- 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk (420g)
- 3 eggs
- 1/4 cup lemon juice (55g)
- 1 (8 oz) container sour cream (240g)

METHOD:
1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees. Combine butter, crumbs and sugar. Press firmly on bottom of 9 inch springform pan.

2. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy. Gradually beat in sour cream followed by sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Add eggs and lemon juice; mixing well. Pour into prepared pan. Bake 50 to 55 minutes or until set. Cool on wire rack. Chill thoroughly (preferably overnight). You may garnish with a can of cherry pie filling.

i had 2 main comments received for my cheesecake. one group commented it was too sweet and another group said too much sour cream. so if you wana use this recipe, you may wana cut down abit on the sweetened condensed milk and the sour cream. must remb not to overbeat the cream cheese or baked it too long. Never open the oven door when it is baking or else it will be a GONER! And don't attempt to eat it fresh from oven. coz you need to chill it to 'set' it!

it is damn tiring coz i manually beat the cream cheese. if you got food processor, should be easier and faster..

Good morning!!!!
Wahh.... u all very hard working during the weekends ah.. kekeke... me no do cooking over the weekend ah.. damn lazy man...

then yesterday mop the floor until strain my poor back... now very pain ah.. tian ah!!!!

morning, babes!

KA - your recipe ah, i seasoned the chicken with five-spice powder before cooking. next time you can try also
very pang!

penelope - not sure if this will apply to you but when i bought five-spice powder from the shop, the lady said just put a bit enough. i guess it works for most recipes

joniel - err i'm quite confused with the whole gao lak / buah ke luak conversaion. i think i only said they were different things...

lina - hardworking? haha no. lazy that's why stay at home! on saturday i woke up at 1.30pm. champion bo? keke. then go giant and buy crab. wah 3 crabs for $7.90 leh! so cheap! but small small one la. but i realised that killing crabs make me feel very evil

hahaha pink, lim bu woke up at 12 pm yesterday thot already champion, u more champion than me. wait skylar will cum & scold us PIG. u wan 2 eat of course hv 2 kill lah. next time u charm the seller 2 kill the crabs 4 u, then u wun feel evil ...

sigh. buy from giant, those kind choose yourself from the big tub kind, where got seller? i put them in freezer then every time i take out they like still moving a bit leh. so i put back again. then we decided it was getting too late liao, no choice, even if only 90% dead, we had to kill them
i killed one and i think i was almost crying liao. so i begged ah lao to kill the other two
i scared... wait i sabo my own karma how?

Whahhaa.. Lina.. me woke up ard 1pm+ whahaha... tired mah.. wahh.. last nite i cannot even bend my waist leh... maciam worst than preggie ah... think i really overstrain my back during mopping liao.. haiz...

Pink..
liddat hor.. u be veggie eater lor..then not evil liao.. whahaha....

KNS skylar, ask me to be vegetarian... i will die leh i tell you. last time i tried. wahbiang eh. really can die - i love meat too much! keke. but speaking of which, there are people who don't eat veg that's been 'killed'. ie they only eat fruit that has fallen from the tree etc.

wau.. all of u so lucky.. sun i had to wake up damn early coz gota go to in laws place.. MIL said she will cook chicken curry and i went in high hopes of nice food.. turns out so.... aiiiii.. now i gian for good chicken curry!!!

skylar, u machiam lao ah um.. mop floor til back strain! get ur ah lao to mop lor.. i make my hubby mop the floor.. coz i cook/ bake! heheh.. if not, i wun be so hardworking to cook!! hiak hiak!!

pink, nxt time, make ur ah lao kill all the crabs n u don't watch lor.. my dad going to train hubby to know how to kill crabs k.. he said i shld not do it.. wait i gana bitten by the crab claws den jia lat! whahahah..