CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

PB... ur lao ba so onz ah... my lao peh dun even wan to eat fast food, ok, maybe only the fries. else he hates burgers. wah... they give u such a big packet of soggy fries??

haha it's soft soft one. when i opened, i actually screamed cos it's soooooooooooo cute! keke. KA, you want ah? go book your birthday party at mac's also la! haha.

my lao ba was so cute, he even participated in the Q&A sessions! after that i disturb him and he say 'before the party, i surf macdonald's website to do research ok!'. so cute

Something to share...dunno if you gals like it anot lah...I myself also tried once only

Pad Thai Recipe

Uncooked wide rice noodles
Less than half a cup of lime juice
Less than half a cup of water
3 tablespoons fish sauce
1 tablespoon rice vinegar
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons peanut oil
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 shallot, finely minced
1 boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into small pieces
1 cup peeled shrimp ( hae bee ), cut into small pieces
1/2 cup beaten egg
1 cup unsalted peanuts, roughly chopped
Bean sprouts
1 sliced onion
Corianda leaves

Cover noodles with boiling water. Soak 20 minutes or until soft but not fully "cooked". Drain and put them aside. Combine lime juice, water, fish sauce, rice vinegar, sugar in a bowl.

Heat your pan ( medium fire ) with oil, garlic, shallots and chicken and cook until chicken is almost done for about 3 to 4 minutes. Add shrimp and continue cooking another 3 or 4 minutes until shrimp is mostly pink. Add beaten egg, stir and scramble until just moist.

Add noodles, fish sauce mixture, peanuts, sprouts and onions and toss until evenly coated. Add the corianda leaves and cook until noodles are tender and chicken and shrimp are done, about 3 to 4 minutes more. Ready to eat!

Great for after your Pad Thai

Blended Iced _Mocha Recipe

2 teaspoons instant coffee
2 & half tablespoons cocoa mix
2 tablespoons hot water
2 cups ice
Less than half a cup of evaporated skim milk
1 teaspoon sugar ( can try tasting if its sweet enuff for your tastebud )

Stir instant coffee, cocoa and hot water and mix until dissolved. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and process until blended.

Enjoy!

Pink - too bad my Bday over liao leh...maybe instead of celebrating mine....hmmm...i can consider giving my ah lau a surprise for his bday then...hahahaha

Wahh KA...
ur Mocha for after Phad Thai is a cool choice man! kekeke... but hor.. i super lazy to cook leh how? ekeekekk..

Pink..
so cute!! that french fries!! I also want!!!!!!!!!! its nice also.. to think that this is indeed a surprise b'day celebration lor.. nice thot of ur ah lao..

haha skylar, i know you sure say you want one. wah KA, pad thai recipe is great!! where got sell the noodles ah? i always cannot find at supermarket one leh.

another thing, what is tanghoon called ah? vermicelli is beehoon right? :S

anyway, my office pantry lady taught me this tanghoon recipe that looks quite easy:

- soak chinese mushrooms for 3-4 hours
- soak tanghoon in water for a few minutes
- fry chinese mushrooms and small pieces of chicken in oyster sauce
- add in tanghoon and water (apparently it will soak up the water very fast)
- add oyster sauce, dark sauce, light sauce and if you want, a dash of sesame oil and hua diao jiu and sliced chilli

she says must fry with chopsticks, dunno why. try and tell me la

pink - Tanghoon is known as vermiceilli. actually the Pad Thai can replace to tanghoon also can...as for rice noodle...some supermkt got sell too. Looks like kuay tiow but slimmer about 1cm in width and abit transparent wan.

As for why must fry with chopsticks is bcoz the fragrance will be nicer (dunno also - but heard from my mum b4 as well ) but the chopsticks must be those wooden wan...

Sky - try out the Mocha..very good & shiok wan...Mocha no need to cook mah...if you lazy. You juz need a blender nia....

sorry babes, the tanghoon i forgot to mention heh bee. it's the most important ingredient wor! if tanghoon is vermiceilli then what is beehoon?

yeah padthai, i always cannot find in cold storage. maybe next time i try carrefour.

Pink..

kekeke.. ya hor u know ah.. keke..

well i think tanghoon is called rice vermicelli si bor ah? not very sure also..

but i know the reason to use chopsticks.. coz tanghoon stick together one.. so when u fry it, u gotta keep using the chopstick to fry to prevent them from sticking together....

i got try to help my ah bu cook once.. wha.. the kungfu of that not easy ah.. i try for 5 mins nia.. my arms muscle pain liao.. whaha...

KA,
i know lah.. kekeke. .. but my hse the blender keep & wrap nice nice dunno put where liao.. too lazy to find also man! kekeke...

PB, u look much younger than 28 leh =)
yo, u got lobang buy the BIG soggy fries or not (w/o having bday party at mc), very very the cute, WE WANT WE WANT p

ladies, the "jiang fen" that i mentioned the other day (used to marinate the chok one remember?) is called tapioca starch (flour-like) in english. happy chok cooking!

oh, got peeper kua jiang me leh! thank you ah, lina!
my big boss ask 'so how old are you now?' i said "18" and he said 'minus public holiday is it?' haha.

walau i got no lobang for the fries la. maybe if your simply her deep fryer were bigger, you can make them that big also haha.

tapioca starch... i think my cupboard have SOMEWHERE!!!!

have a nice day, ladies

PB, i no hv simply her deep fryer

dun hv also gd lah, trying to cut down on deep fried stuff, not very young already ...

indeed Pink.. u dun look 28 lor.. not like us.. so lao kok kok liao.. keeke..

Lina..
kns lah u!! eh.. chok not easy to cook leh.. those normal porridge at home one ok lah.. but i like those chok at Crystal Jade kind.. thick thick one.. kkeke..

not young & cannot eat oily stuff got link meh?

skylar... got la... if old liao, cannot accumulate too much fats n cholesterol leh...

talking abt chok, i like the one at the Bedok hawker centre sold by a group of ah bengs...

skylar, chok actually not difficult 2 cook, u wan thicker then juz put less water lor. keep stirring every couple of min then it'll b smooth liao. remember not to cover the pot completely, if not the chok will stick to the bottom of the pot, then difficult to clean & chok dun taste so nice.

wan lan, u sibeh bor knowledge leh. deep fried stuff higher content in oil, cholestrol, trans fats, blah blah. then u'll get simi simi disease tiobo, esp now not so young, immunity system weaker i feel.

haha thanks gers. the secret is acting young haha. i still stomp my feet with my hubby when he don't want to buy things for me. geh geh kind la. and when my ah bu scold me cos my house messy, i say 'i don't friend you ah!'

skylar - i love crystal jade chok also!!!!!!!! shhhhhiok!

levynn, bedok block 85, near the police post that one is it? chai chee porrige! sibeh happening. and ya, run by ah bengs keke. why ah, ah bengs cook good chok is it? keke

PB... u dun say. some ah bengs can really cook leh. i'm very impressed lor. if u go to Hougang Plaza's kopitiam, there is a mixed veg stall, also run by ah bengs. every nite dinner time, sure long Q...

Wahhah Levynn..
how come u only patronize all the stalls run by ah bengs ah? whahaha.. got any yan dao one anot? kekeke..

next time must go try liao.. keke..

Lina..
ya lah.. i know but can still eat abit mah.. keke..

Pink,
u also like Crystal Jade one ah.. wonder how they cook it hor?

Lina - dun hav deep fryer also can? Dun like that say leh...I juz got mine nia leh.....kekekeke

Talking about Ah bengs...they really can cook man! My chap chai stall near my hse also run by Ah bengs too...very good also.

Sky - look for them for food ok...but not for anything else hor....hahahaha.....

Hiaz...me so sian leh....

KA - while you're still looking for a job, why donch you apply for internship at crystal jade then learn how to make their CHOK? hehe

haha this ah beng talk is damn funny. new upper changi road, near the HDB area office got one western food stall, also run by ah bengs, also good food!

oh, ya... Hougang there also got a coffee shop selling western food very nice... yes, u guessed it.. run by ah bengs!!! hahahaha... it's juz next to the Hougang Plaza kopitiam i mentioned earlier. they always like to play songs loud loud...

KA...
whahaha.. of coz look for them for food lah... then wat? actually can also look for their hair stylists leh.. coz they also go do their hair blond...
whaha..

u sit at home how long liao ah? slowly find lor..

Pink.. very good idea hor..whahaha...

Pink - no need liao..i oredi know how to cook "chok" liao mah...kekeke....
Me cooking "lor chicken" today

Levynn - seems Hougang alot of Bengs operating F&B ya!!!! kekekeek

Whaaahahaa... KA..
then u better go find job lor.. unless u want the Hollywood director to gif u the lead actress for Spiderwoman lah.. whaha...

last time i also sit ard for more than half a yr... really si beh slack mood one man!

Sky - yah lor...very lazy wan leh... If this time I get a job rite, starting sure zombie wan...even not not working I also dare not take afternoon nap too...afraid if i start work, after lunch for sure feel sleepy wan

KA... ya... u'll b surprised how many ah bengs can cook well. dun need to go find work la... b housewife also a job...

Lina..
whahaa.. ya man.. i was abt to say that too.. kekeke...

if stop work too long of coz will be nua lah.. kekee. its norm lor..

but KA how come u stop wk without a job ah?

hello hello, i heard me name! er ya, all stay within topic please or else gang of ah bengs will attack you with their orange combs

whahaa.. or leng combs with sharp pointed ends hor.. then sekali the ends got stuck with pi sai one.. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaa..............
*Scram*

KA...
ohh okok.. so its one of those "buay lunz" opi si bor? I can understand.. no worriess..

so now u looking for a job ah.. shd have quite a few vacancies rite? u can find one lah.. slowly lor...

sky - yah you bet! alot of "xiao ren" there....buay tahan!

Dun worry, will slowly look out for 1 that im happy wan...kekeke

ya ya, all scared of or-leng comb and run away but still continue with going off track haha.

KA, register yourself with job agencies la, and buy recruit every saturday

ya lor.. KA.. like wat Pink say.. job agencies alot of lobangs one leh.. u go try lor..

my ex co also alot of chi ko pek one.. buay tahan!!

Gee...Thanks gals for the encouragement...i will jia you de!

Orrh!!! Now than I realise Sky, Pink & Levynn from the "Clubbers" thread wan....Wow...like that you gals mah very busy lor...have to chat at both thread??

KA..
whaaha.. no lah.. not busy mah.. multi-tasking wa very kang one lor.. whahaha....

Pink..
u sure bor??? ekkeke....