CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

hey KA i also bought mine at $20. buy la, then we can have twin sets! hahahaha. mine is black colour one. this weekend it will produce virgin dish liao. prob calamari

Lipstar..
no ah.. correction lor.. actually its I tor water out man! kekeke...
liddat --->
370975.gif

Pink, OMG!! U mean u actually send that as in email out to ur boss ah! whahaha....

skylar - mai wait liao...i want the deep fryer!!!!! Chop for me ha...I will collect it when i come back next week. i any colour also can so long can fry ok liao...kekekee.... And also the Jumbo @ Sgoon no need member wan...

Pink - I RSVP liao...you mention 27/28, i believe is Sat or Sun rite...Hmmm....actually I prefer Sun leh...I onz!!!!!! And yap...both of us gonna have the same fryer!!!! Yeah!!!!!

horny bunny...
u making calamari?? how to get the coating?? hmmm... u try liao let me know how ok? i also got the Simply Her fryer... mine is the yellow one... keke...

KA, ok we can be deep fryer twins! haha.

eh levynn, your colour nicer. i jealous. mine is black. so boring. hahahah.

recipe for calamari. my first time trying so dunno if can or not. i found 2:

BUTTERED BATTERED CALAMARI
INGREDIENTS:
• 2 cups vegetable oil for frying
• 1 cup buttermilk
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1/2 tablespoon salt
• 1/2 tablespoon ground black pepper
• 1 teaspoon dried oregano
• 1 pound squid, cleaned and cut into 1/2 inch rings
3. Place the coated pieces in the hot oil, and fry in small batches, turning if necessary, for even cooking. When evenly browned, remove to paper towels to drain, and continue with the rest of the squid. Serve hot.

but i think i will do this one:
DEEP FRIED CALAMARI
INGREDIENTS:
• 2 pounds squid, cleaned and sliced into rounds
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1/2 cup vegetable oil
• black pepper, italian, chilli powder
3. Heat oil in a medium size frying pan over a high heat. Fry the calamari in the oil until golden brown and crispy. Drain the calamari on paper towels. Serve hot.

hey joniel,
kao_welcome2.gif
. no need to welcome yourself, we welcome you with open arms!!!!

ok KA rsvp on 28. i'm on for 28 also. anyone else? hopw about just copy and past the following and add in your name if you can join. steady bo? the buffet at teahouse is 3-5pm. boofay.

28 may dimsum outing
- KA
- pinkbunny

Wahahah... Horny Bunny! whahaha... nabz... again Make me tor my kopi out… haiz.. buay tahan man! Kekeke… okok.. wei.. u go try ur calamari liao then tell me hor.. whaha… hmm… wondering what can I fry ya..

KA, u want ah? Then I quick quick go tell her liao.. whahah.. I think her color is Yellow one.. same as mine.. whhaa… so we 3 can be deep fryer triplets liao.. so KA, u come back then tell me ah.. so meanwhile I go tell her that its taken lah.. tio bor? Oei.. u dun put me aeroplane hor.. mai tan hor yi gan wa man! Kekek..

Last nite my ah bu xin qing sibeh ho man.. she cooked chilli crab & sambal lala leh.. actually its my habit to take pixs of her cooking ah.. but last nite.. me too excited liao.. see crab then end up no time to take pix.. eating more impt… whaha.. will be asking her for recipe soon ya!

fine. yall two yellowees now ganging up against me the blackee is it? hmpf.

alamak skylar why you ptui your kopi out again. nowsaday everything expensive, don't waste the kopi leh.

wah your ah bu chilli crab?! steady leh. i remember i did it a few times with my ah bu also but recipe... hehe.... dunno go where liao keke.

kekeke.. u blackie also very classic amah.. whha.a.a

ya lor .. kopi very X hor.. basket u lah.. make me phui so much out.. must claim from u liao.. whahaha.....

hmmm... chilli crab... I LIKE!!!! only to eat, esp wif fried man tou... but dun ask me to cook... heh...

bunny... black stylo leh... mafia colour...

wah u ladies here happening leh. see the food u all cook (& eat) i hungry liao, and i juz fin lunch onli =) actually me v lum nua leh, always the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak, so say wan to cook wan to cook, end up only done so once or twice only, hehe.

Levynn..
wat mafia color?? orh lu lu lor.. "dirty" color ah.. whahaha.. *scram* not like ours.. Yellow = sunshine color.. whahha.a...

Lina..
u dun come in here tok cock sing song lah.. think wanna eat ur food ah.. in my next life ah! whahaha..............

oh skylar skylar
me no cock how 2 talk?? u teach me lah. sing song can ... lalalalalalala. chill woman, it's friday! no nid 2 wait till next life, next time i bring maggi mee to u hse & cock 4 u 2 eat =)

skylar... u dun say the horny bunny.. later she'll come back n say yellow yellow dirty fellow also... wahahahaha...

wah skylar you ai see ah? black is stylo. haha i dun need to say anything, levynn already help me chu kou qi! yellow yellow dirty fellow

eh. speaking of maggee mee. i bought this chilli flavoured sesame oil thing from japan (i think jap supermarket section here also got). put with chu qian yi ding, wah wah happening leh!

so, nobody want to go for dimsum outing si bo? ok only me and KA will go and eat everyone's share!

calamari: success!

371889.jpg

season squid rings with salt and pepper. then mix
plain flour (dunno if needed to sift or not but i did anyhow) + oregano + chilli powder + salt. heat oil in your YELLOW simply her deepfryer. coat sotong with flour mixture and fry for about 2-3 minutes (until browned). if not will be rubbery. sprinkle with parsley before serving.

went to teahouse at chinasquare. nice place but the siew mai not very nice

two mins enough for it to cook a not huh? i trying to cook next tuesday... move in ceremony... so got to cook something... wa lao sian... i better not burn down the whole house... pink bunny my sinply her fryer also black colour keke

Wahahaha..... Pink!! Steady lah!!!
Ur calamari sure looks good!! kekek... Yummy ya!!

Where is KA ah btw? she still want the deep fryer bor? my frd asking liao.. kekek...

skylar - KA is in hong kong right?

cecilia - welcome back! you abandon us for so long
wah steady, now i got blackie twin! keke. calamari 2-3 minutes enough liao or else will become jun-jun (rubbery). until it's browned. when you slice, slice thin thin, nicer.

what's move in ceremony? like officially moving into your house? i didn't cook anything then, i made tea. longan tea i think. in the middle of the house, me squatted over a small charcoal burner keke

no la... i never cook and don't have recipe can't share share ma... kekekeke

move in ceremony lor... er.. ya something like a ceremony to signify we move in... but you not offically staying there yet... cos not yet traditional ceremony... huh!! got to squat over burner!!!! no way man, my MIL better don't make me do that!

ok sorry. it prob came out the wrong way. i didn't squat OVER the burner. i squatted next to it and then fan fan fan (ala satay man style).

ok how many people will be there, and what time? recipe mama help you plan! haha

eh skylar, don't disturb KA la. she's busy learning HK recipes to share with us! kekeke.

wah i think i slept sala last night. now my am koon so pain
cannot turn to the right

PB, must do that ah???!!! i don't wan my house to smell of charcoal leh! argh... wonder whats going to happen... i don't know who will be there la... nothing much what.. just cook a meal have dinner than go to bed early morning leave for work lor...

hmm ladies, is there any special significance for cooking 4 the move-in ceremony? can u all enlighten mi?

pink what happened? so poor thing ... sayang

aiya.. those traditional chinese customs lor... must 'signify' the moving in by cooking.. (light the stove) and stuff la... got to bring some clothes in to signify that we are staying there, occupied by us... to increase the 'yang qi'...

PB, wat u do? until ur am kon pain pain ah.. kekeke...

Cecilia..
wat do u mean by moving in ceremony? meaning after that day u all officially stay in liao or wat?

I dun remember me have to do that leh.. just do "dong tu" for the contractors to start renovation then next is choose ausipcious date to move in "Open Door" ceremony where we boil water in kettle with small charcoal those thingy, walk over the charcoal. Throw rice+salt at all corners of the hse, then bai bai in the middle of the living room, put kettle back on kitchen stove, then cold liao.. drink the water, some is use the water to cook etc.. then stay in liao mah..

why must bring clothes to signify? unless u are still not shifting in as yet. then that day is more of the Open Door day lah..

here's what i had to do:

before moving in:
first clean the whole house. then throw glutinious rice and green beans in all corners of the house, including toilet. after a few weeks, use a NEW BROOM to sweep it away. better sweep all or else daogays will grow haha.

i also had to make sure the house had sugar, salt, rice, soya sauce... all the necessities. this is to ensure that you will always have enough to eat (or something)

on the day i officially opened the door:
i had to roll an ong lai into the house. something like for the luck and prosperity to "goon goon lai". then have to leave the pineapple there until got juice come out. i even have a video of it. it's so funny.

on the day i officially "moved in" (and that night was my first night):
boil water in the middle of the house, just use a small charcoal pot, no smell one la. open all the windows lor. had to drink something sweet and all drink to share the sweetness (i invited my family over)

i'm very superstitious. couldn't you tell?

oh about my neck. i think just koon bo ho say la. then i just went for thyphoid and flu jab for my hornymoon, so now am koon pain, and arms kena poked.... boohoohoo!

so cecilia, is it only you and your hubby is it? simple dinner ah? come come i plan for you (choose 2 or 3 out the following, ala multiple choice style):
- steam meat (seasoned with sesame oil and pepper, can also add an egg if you want)

- sliced fish with ginger and onion (season fish slices with sesame oil and pepper, then fry with ginger, onions and spring onions)

- stir fried broccoli and carrots (just stir and fry and then add oyster sauce. cover until you can cut thru carrot with your frying slice)

- carrot and potato soup (scald pork bones. then put in boiling water with potato cubes, carrot slices, onions, then boil for about 1 hr on low heat. or you can scald the pork bones then throw everything into the slow cooker in the morning so when you get home, you'll have yummy soup awaiting)

serve with rice
simple, nice, and healthy (no msg!)

PB..

yaya...i forgot abt the ong lai man! ekkee.. ya ya.. drink red dates tea too.. eeekekek. forgot..
think i lao ren chi dai liao.. kekeke....

Wahaha.. PB so nice thots u have.. sekali Cecilia ask u to cook & then bring over to her hse ah...

oh yes. red dates and longan! oh you also had to do the onglai? haha. mine rolle dlike 1 metre. the video shows the disappointment in my face.

you know, now that you mention it, i've actually been thinking of setting up like a small operate-from-home unit of catering to those in the neighbourhood and deliver meals to them. can work from home and do what i like

Wahahaha... urs still got roll 1 meter ah.. mine lagi best ah! both my hb & I roll with such great strength then the onglai roll until side way ah! wahaha...

eh.. tok abt those home cooked food thingy ah.. saw on TV, this guy damn good leh.. his wife preggie then no one cook confinement food, end up he set up his own confinement food delivery service leh.. steady hor!!

actually come to think of it, i think it rolled less than one metre... only 2.5 squares of my floor tile haha. pineapple ain't the easiest thing to roll!

wah this guy quite happening leh. mr confinement. you happen to have more details? i'm so looking forward to eating all the ginger chickens during confinement

i told hubby if no ginger chicken i refuse to be preggie!

Wahaha... ya man Pinky,

got lah.. on the preggie TV show lor... think he now set up his own catering biz lor... I love those ginger with the liquor food! whahaa... let me get drank on those man!

btw.. ur on the cover r u?
372049.gif

PB... definitely will have ginger chicken one. must eat a lot of ginger also. that time my mum confinement for my sister... we always share share the ginger chicken wif her... all the confinement aunties cook very nice food... lucky i got 2 younger sisters... ahahhaha...

ya man, confinement food is so happening. last time my friend's baby's muah gueh, we went to visit then she said she's sick of the ginger chicken so i did a good deed and helpch her finish kekeke.

skylar, ya la it's me. how come you so crever? i don't know about the ginger with liqour... the one i ate was chicken slice (or pork) fried with ginger then got gravy one. shiok leh...

pink bunny.. ya ya.. those are the thigns i thin kwe gonna do... cos MIL just went to buy those stuff with hb....

but hor.. the pineapple i did it when 'dong tu' liao... aiya... everything she say must do then do lor.. i don't care one... i boil water dunno how many times liao... kekeke

PB, i don't know how to cook la... you wan me go back all this stuff i also will take half a day liao.. just now hb say we eat steamboat haha!!! my MIL lagi funny... she ask my hb got buy instant noodles a not.. haha! cos she knows i can't cook ma.. then she tell FIL buy meat and prawns but separate into one servings each so that when we cook, only need to defrost one small packet each time so that the rest won't spoil haha!!! i want to luff leh! now i know i so lousy at cooking... even buy also FIL have to buy haha! (FIL does the marketing and cooking in the house and i LOVE his cooking ichiban!)

i tot confinement food is the pig trotters vinegar and rice wine chicken with lots of ginger?? my FIL can cook all these and very nice! i love all these confinement food kekeke. but i don't think i will get pregnant for that reason... even now he always cook as normal dishes.. so i can just eat my fill

cecilia: your FIL can cook all the confinement stuff? steady leh!

hey the stuff i proposed is really very simple stuff. try la. nice that you and hubby can start your new life in the new house with new cooking experience
anyway you're supposed to be planning a dinner for him also rite? keke. hey i do that too, separate everything before i freeze. so no wastage mah.

steamboat also good idea. soup stock very easy to make! pork bones and jagong/ fish bones and ikan bilis and soya bean beans. don't use chicken or fish cubes la, all msg only.

soup also must cook ah? i very chin chai one... i go buy the chicken stock haha! add water then i have superior stock liao!

ya he can cook lor... but his is not the healthy confinement food... he cooks with tons of oil man! haha! he is a good cook... and good cooks love oil...

oh one good chicken soup stock with no MSG is knorr! not bad. it comes in a carton box kind. that stock, add celery, carrots and onion, boil on low fire until carrots are soft, also very nice!

i used to be a big fan of the stock cubes but of late realise better not cos high MSG content, and also i react to MSG very quickly. i will get sore knees. so crazy hor?

your FIL is it the kind wear white tee shirt and have a big heavy wok with big fire kind? keke

how you know he cooks in white tee shirt? hahaha!!! ya lor ya lor.. big wok big fire.. after he cooks must clean kitchen one.. cos everywhere becomes oily... so he maid got to mop the kitchen fllor everyday after he cooks...