CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

u all keep guessing the story of the missing beehoon, then compare next weekend how different it is from the original version, hahaha

Wahahaha... Lina...
coz i remember i was the 1st one to respond when u ask me guess who took the same life as the beehoon mah & lim bu is also the one who laft the loudest mah! whahaha...

still got another one lor.. the "ba wan" story i haben tell the rest hor!! nabz.. that one left me & Serene lafting for a whole good at least chow chow 2 min lor!! can see remember Serene was wiping off her tears on that one man!

Pink..
u & ur la sap calendar lah.. playboy? siao bor.. playboy show cha bor one leh.. nan dao. .. ni shi gao les one ah.. get the Playgal one lah.. no standard!!

playgirl one i have already. every issue lor. and every colour
keke.

eh speaking of calendar. that time i went to visit ah lao in canada. W-H-O-A all the sex shop give out free booklet one leh. lao niang at first thought W-H-O-A cheong ah!!!!! but in the end shy la. keke.

Wahh.. so now Serene.. u busy liao ah.. keekeke..
if for my boss ah.. he die die also won't come in one lor.. kekekee...

anyway u gg to knock off soon le mah...

woo hoo lao ban say i can go home at 530 instead of the original 615! nabz don't laugh at my happiness over 45 mins hor. 45 min is ALOT when you reach office at 6am hor.

and can cook dinner in 45 min :D

i luff mee pok da! with alot of hei chu!!

pB - y ur workin hr so long??

tell u ah..must be her naked lego make our mak jiu ta stamp tts y miss out the DATE!

my dinner tonight is : CHILLI CRAB (DA BAO one lah..not wen nuan pai)

Serene...
wat time she knock off one?? i mean officially? me also.. nv had the chance to leave on the dot one... always sure got something to do one.. sianz.. haiz..

ur that 50% gone liao ah.. kekek

Hey Pink - i saw that cookbook you bot liao..its a small booklet that kind rite? Me end up didnt but tat one coz since you oredi have it mah...kekekeke
I bot another 2 which state Asian Cooking wan...so we can share share....ok? Maybe i bring along next Sun to let you gals view lah....

yo yo yo girls! i'm laughing as i'm posting this...

if there is a prize for the mostest cutest/the most boliao dinner photos, i think no fight la, hor? i win hands down for this:

389194.jpg

wu lang ai challenge bo? oi very gao nan du ok. first have to find the alphabets (sorry ah, not blinking one) then have to make them pose, and have to eat, then have to hold spoon in one hand and take camera in other hand.... and very hard to be steady when you're laughing ok.

so anyway. chicken stock + celery + carrots + onions. add basil and italian herbs. then 10-15 mins before eating, add alphabet marcaroni

389195.jpg

while the soup was on the stove, this was in the oven. fish was marinated with salt and pepper only. then dipped in egg, and coated with breadcrumbs. the smilies buy from cold storage one

err when i meet you girls then tell you where i work la. then you will understand why periodically i got to work this kind of crazy hours

Aiyoh Pink....you sibeh cute leh.....i think by the time you found the "yo babes"...your soup turn cold liao loh....hahahaha.....but nowadays hardly can find alphabets marcaroni liao hor...i seldom see tat leh....
The smileys are hashbrown rite?

btw...can you post the pics of your basil and italian herds here hah...im clueless leh????

good morning babes! ok, admit i was thinking of u all as i woke up this morning... i dunno how many of us r going to PB's place on sunday leh... how many eclairs shld i buy ah??

good morning babes

KA - no hor. i quite skilled. by the time i find the alphabets, still quite hot the soup hehe. alphabet marcaroni i think NTUC should sell. or provision shop. my ah bu say last time when i was a kid i loved alphabet marcaroni but i would only eat certain letters hahaha

er ok i can post the basil and italian but they just look the same leh. it's dried herbs. and my MIL brought from canada. cos it's much cheaper there. like 99 cents one packet. here it's $3 for one small bottle.

haha the smiley face is potato. not really like hash brown, but just mashed potato kind. if you want, can try when you come over la hehe

sch - breadcrumbs is packet kind, can buy from provision shop. ok la will post next time. actually can make your own - use the square biscuit. but very messy and time consuming.

ok today work again. 10am-10pm. sigh.... but can claim back hours so can take time off another day. yay!

da jia zaoooooooooooo

Pink Bunny buay tahan u leh! lolll looking at ur pix always make mi hungry siaaaaa but i really take my hat off u..reach home still can cook pei fu pei fu!

skylar we all start n knock off all same time lahh but duno y she can get away wif coming at 10 n leaving at 530...mayb she there so long liao so ppl close 1 eye...but she nice 2 me lah so i dun care oso keke

colleague taught me how to make steamed egg:

marinate a bit of minced meat with salt/soya sauce, pepper and a bit of minced garlic

beat 3 eggs and add a bit of water (agar agar la)

mix everything and steam on itsy bitsy micro mini fire for about 15 mins.

i think i'll try tomorrow. enjoy!

Levynn - total is 7 of us including yourself...as for Lipstar...still not confirm yet...dunno our bunny got call her anot leh....
btw...so touch leh...wake up oredi missed us..ok ok..give you a kiss! MUACK!!!!!!

Pink - i think its ok lah...regards to the herbs...i can go your place next Sun & you show me also can...kekekekekek

weiwei..

pink, u so cute argh.. still wana use your food as greeting to us before eating.. but the smiley things looks very cute..

today tried baking egg tarts.. n i also tried pink's recipe for calamari.. hehe..

389451.jpg
389452.jpg

hey ant, the calamari steady bo? i also have that muffin tray!!! egg tarts? post recipe hor

my diner tonight:
389493.jpg

steamed egg - 3 eggs, a bit of minced meat (marinated with choppped garlic, salt and pepper) and all mixed with water. didn't put giam nng though

curry chicken - it's a simply her recipe. will post another time la. but a bit watery. i used yoghurt. maybe that's why.

veg hotpot - cabbage (can also use wong bok - the one that skylar posted last time), chinese mushroom (soaked), button mushroom, carrots, snow peas. fry all, add some water/chicken stock, then oyster sauce, a bit of soy sauce, and leave on low heat until soft (about half hour). then when want to eat, add in mixture of cornstarch+water to thicken sauce. yum yum!

oink oink!
hey babes, u r not gg 2 believe tis, lina aka THE PIG cooked dinner tonite. i say 1st huh, nothing as happening as all ur dishes but didn't do too badly considering tt it's my 1st attempt.
how, proud of me bo?? hehe. & i used one of the recipes here ya, sweet & sour pork

dinner for 5 pple:
sweet & sour pork =)
french (long) beans wif red chilli
chicken breast wif kiam chye
ikan bilis caixin soup (healthy)

389498.jpg

gooooood morning babes!!!

wah... LINA COOKED DINNER LEH!!!!!!! eh, saturday who got see pigs fly?? wahahaha... ok la, ok la... i admit i also haven't been cooking for a long time. only that day not well, then ah lao cooked porridge.

PB... actually for the steamed egg, my ah mah told me the proportion of the egg to the water is abt 1:2. so when it's cooked, it'll b soft n smooth, not too hard...

oink oink, gd morning babes.
pink, not bad hor. the pork recipe i got from this book, think title is "easy cooking at home", i was sort of referring 2 the book's recipe + the recipe tt either urself or ant/sch posted. i'll post the recipe here tmr

serene, u bet they were man, haha. i was cooking till big sweat small sweat. overall all dishes tasted not bad except the pork a bit blend, but eat wif the pineapple then ok liao.

levynn, the pigs flew on sun nite lah, not sat =)

da jia zaooooooooooooooooooooo

Lina i respect u lor! hahaha coz i will NEVER cook 4 my in laws lollll both of them r good cooks themselves n my pride is 2 fragile 2 let them hiam wahhahahaha

ohaiyoooo...

WOW!!! LINA COOKED! aiyah, should have tell us earlier den we can go n buy lottery!! hehe..

but honestly, the picture looks good and delicious.. must cook more often mah!!!

pink, the calamari not bad except that hubby say not very crispy.. i used cajun seasoning plus flour.. or maybe coz after deep frying that, then i cooked the soup so become soft after a while..

Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts

INGREDIENTS:
• 60 g confectioners' sugar
• 185 g all-purpose flour
• 115 g butter
• 1/2 egg, beaten
• 1/2 dash vanilla extract
• 65 g white sugar
• 175 ml water
• 4-1/2 eggs, beaten
• 1/2 dash vanilla extract
• 120 ml canned evaporated milk

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a medium bowl, mix together the confectioners' sugar and flour. Mix in butter with a fork until it is in small crumbs. Stir in the ½ beaten egg and vanilla until the mixture forms a dough. The texture should be slightly moist. Add more butter if it is too dry, or more flour, if the dough seems greasy. Shape dough into 1 1/2 inch balls, and press the balls into tart molds so that it covers the bottom, and goes up higher than the sides. Use 2 fingers to shape the edge into an A shape.
2. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Combine the white sugar and water in a medium saucepan, and bring to a boil. Cook until the sugar is dissolved, remove from heat and cool to room temperature. Strain the 4-1/2 eggs through a sieve, and whisk into the sugar mixture. Stir in the evaporated milk and vanilla. Strain the filling through a sieve, and fill the tart shells.
3. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown, and the filling is puffed up a little bit.

sch, calamari is the one on the yellow plate lor.. metal plate is roasted chicken wings and orange bowl is fish soup with caixin..

Good morning babes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AM I SEEING THINGS???? <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Lina Cooked????</font></font>

Wahhh..... can pay 4D liao man! whahaha...

Since Lina can cooked liao.. okok.. so no more buying of drinks to Pink's hse.. Lina must cooked something there hor!?!?!?!

Pink..
nabz.. ur dinner that one is for kids how old ah? pengz man!! I very tired ah.. how..

good morning babes. i got another advisor to my project. it's like there are 10 steps to complete, and i'm already at level 8 and he come and give me stuff for level 3, and cc the big boss, like 'wah i'm such a big contributor...'. basket.

levynn - thanks for the tip for the egg. i'll try next time. the thing is my plate was too small, and i added too much meat, so cannot add any more liao. keke.

eh you say never been cooking for a while, then when you sick, your ah lao cook porridge... but that's mean you still haven't cooked for a while what!

ant - calamari got to the be last dish to cook. or else it will become soggy.

pink, what r the names of the italian herbs that u add to the soup of the marcaroni? basket, since they look all the same on pix, then give us the names so tt we can go supermart &amp; find mah.

good morning skylar, nabz i say tis one last time, dun ask me seven morning eight morning on sun 2 cook hor, lim bu here slow hand slow leg wan (&amp; i nid my beauty sleep ......)

lina - just look for 'italian herbs'. serious. it's a mixture of herbs, all found in one bottle. can also add basil.

for new chefs, i learnt this thru trial and error, thrills and spills, and i hope it will help you too:

- if you intend to cook after returning home from work, defrost your meats overnight. put in the fridge (not in the open)

- when you defrost fish, if a layer of ice has formed over it, try to wash off that layer first, then start defrosting

- when preparing your food, cook the one that needs the longest time to cook first - so usually soup goes on the stove first

- then you can prepare the rest while that is cooking, starting with those that need to be marinated

- check to see what ingredients you need and if more than 1 dish needs garlic for instance, chop all at the same time for all the dishes that need

- once you've decided what you're going to cook, read through your recipes so you won't kalang kabut at the last minute and realise you don't have certain ingredients and have to pull your husband from his computer game and ask him to go to the provision shop to buy

- when cooking/preparing, stick the recipes on your fridge or somewhere easy to refer to (and won't be in the way of your preparation)

Lina ...
nabz.. u !! so u think only u need beauty slp lah. .. so whilst u r being ur pig.. we hv to wake up early to work in the kitchen lah.. HNG!!! Come lah.. cook something leh.. dying to eat ur food man! whahaha....

Pink hor???

sigh ............, i knew something like tt would cum out, si skylar. ok ok, IF i wake up early enuf, i'll try 2 cook something, no promise huh

btw levynn, there r 8 pple tis sun, so u agar agar see hw many choc eclairs 2 buy. no nid too much, cos also got prata &amp; cheesecake

lina - cook your famous sweet sour pork lor, look so steady :D

girls, now it's my turn to have sore throat. i'll go buy strepsils later. maybe it was made worse by curry chicken last night hehe

Lina.. whaha.a. steady!! okok!!! waiting for u ah!! keke.. think all of us are waiting to taste ur cooking too.. kekee...

Levynn..
ya lor.. not too much lor.. agar agar lah. keke.. but I loveeeeeeeeeee eclairs!! kekeke..

Pink.. ya hor..
waiting for lina's famous sweet sour pork.. keke.. me orh bak kak from my frd's wedding last weekend ah.. but had fun with the dog.. wahaha... so cute!!

sidetrack: pink, u didn't reply my email?? i was asking u where 2 find ms paint leh, cos my opic pc like only hv wordpad ... =(

dun worry la... i got 1 whole big box of eclairs fr my aunt. if i bring whole box, 8 of us, each one can eat at least 20... wahahahaha....