CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

pinkbunny

eh skylar. walau i tok about virgin only you also follow. basket. virgin and massage in the same sentence. oi you are an ah pek that frequents bangkok is it? hahahaha (no offence, lina, we often tease other)

ok seriously, now that you mentioned, lina, i've also heard about following the pattern but i don't know where to cut and what grain to follow. sigh....

eh KA i also looking for deep fryer. but hor the simply her one kinda looks quite small leh.

fat

pinkbunny - har nor...abit small rite? Eat wat like tat?? so small. Anywhere selling bigger & cheaper wan hah?

Btw ah...abit kpo. Why call Lina "lina virgin" hah?

demio

to soften the pork just beat it.. just beat it beat it...

after you slice liao use the back of your knife to pound on them... that will damage the fibre n tendon so that the meat is soft....

ay hiao bo?

ckw1011

good morning pretties, god, the weather's crazy, isn't it? hot like hell...

no worries pink, skylar & i known each other 4 ages, so i noe her pattern, polluted polluted brain that charbo has, always thinking of "horny, kinky ... stuff", rt skylar? lol. btw, pink, u sound like a v good cook leh, i ask u huh, wat's the diff bet grill and pan fried? is use the same that type of non-stick pan tiobo?

KA, not "lina virgin" lah, shld b lina's virgin posting, cos tt ginger egg soup recipe was my 1st on tis thread. the choc cake one from women's weekly, so not counted.

pinkbunny

haha demio, i think beating the pork is a good idea. it's a great source of stress relief also! keke.

lina, no la, not a good cook. i try to experiment. i love herbs like thyme and basil. my MIL is a pretty good cook (but all fatty ang mo chia kind) and my mum doesn't cook. my granny cooked alot when i stayed with her in my younger years so i guess that all put together motivates me to try to learn. i want to be the kind of mum (next time la) to have dinner for kids at home every day. i think it's a very nice thing to do and to look forward to. many people take it for granted.

hello, don't test me with this kind of cheem thing leh. i dunno what's the diff between grill and pan friend la basket. i just use my trusty tefel pan for almost anything

pinkbunny

KA - maybe we should to go mustafa to check it out ya? (deep fryer).

ladies, i'm damn serious about buying deep fryer. but for that i think i need to psycho my husband big time sia!

ok another recipe. play cheat one. 1 piece cod fish, seasons with teriyaki sauce. then pan fry (note to lina: as in FRY IN THE PAN) with thin strips of green pepper. shiok leh. i learnt to like green pepper.

how about another: use foccacia bread as your base. spread tomato paste, add on ham, pineapple, green pepper, mushroom, and sprinkle mozarella cheese. put in oven. TOASTER OVEN ALSO CAN! until cheese melts. it looks damn hard to do but it's so so simple! just a bit tedius if you doing for big group la cos toaster oven isn't exactly the biggest thing in the world hor

pinkbunny

i'm on a roll! (where IS everybody this morning? never mind i talk to myself...)

SAMBAL UDON!
1. cook udon in boiling water(note: 1 pack of udon can feed about 2 normal appetite people)
2. fry sliced fish cake, crab stick, straw mushroom and a bit of chicken
3. mix sambal chilli (in a jar kind) with hot water in bowl
4. pour sambal mixture into wok where ingredients are frying, then add udon.

super easy. less than 10 minutes cooking time. my all time fav.

demio

PB not ask you to abuse the pork ok! u whack too hard wait the pork will get cut too.... then your neighbour will come and chop you...

you gals really think deep fryer useful? i just use my trusty $28 pot from prime.... deep fryer like quite waste oil n only has one purpose leh.. hmmm...

grill usu refer to exposing the meat directly to heat (think BK flame grilled chicken) while pan fry is.. well, using a pan...

Wahh lau eh.. come in late nia.. see u all tokking bad abt me liao.. how can liddat one?? bor ho lah u all.. haiz..

Wat receipe?? me still thinking of late nite makan thingy leh..

pinkbunny

demio, what $28 pot from prime!!! well it does use up alot of oil but after that can recycle mah. (auntie talk again)

skylar - you come in late or early, we still can tok bad about you!

eh i a bit busy now.... booking for honeymoon
later then engage in auntie talk with you all again. ta!

ckw1011

hahaha pink, OK OK, noted. so u're not a good cook, but juz our GOOD OLD recipes ma ma on tis thread (muz give credit to skylar 4 giving u such an apt nickname =) the fried cod fish sounds good, maybe i'll try cooking it tis weekend. yo, where u going for honeymoon, i also wan 2 tag along (wif skylar).

pinkbunny

steady la. book everything swee swee liao. 6 days 5 nights in hanoi

tabao? can. but sorry ah, must put you both in the plastic bag, flattened with all my clothes. steady bo?

walau eh lina, OLD must type so big meh?!
kao_frustrated.gif
hmpf don't friend you already.

eh skylar, now i not softened when i see you cry liao la! you can take it one
you like us suanning you la, right?

Wahahaha.. Lina,
u sure bor? u gg to try the cod fish ah? whahaha... so how? think we can go Malacca liao lah.. I missed the chendol there leh..

Pink,
that one not Big enough lah..
<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">O.L.D</font></font>
Whahaha...
suanning?? i like?? li wu siao bor? I only like Tao Suan nia leh.. how? u wanna cook for me bor?

ckw1011

pink, dun get angri, å°å§å°å§åˆ«ç”Ÿæ°”, 明天带你去看æˆ. OLD = tis thread's 大å§å¤§, liddat can =) u go hanoi, try the food there, then cum back &amp; teach us ok. good choice, interesting place (though me nvr visit that place b4). so wen u gg?

SKYLAR, u dun look me no up ok. ur fren here steady 1 hor. basket, malacca malacca, i still waiting 4 u 2 send mi the email leh (that simi consortium itinerary).

pinkbunny

keke no la, i not affected. cos i know i only 17 years old. i mean 17 years young
kao_embarrassed.gif

i going hanoi 30 may. yall don't hao siao and come to airport and find me ah. slurp.... vietnam can eat pho... sibeh happening...

what malacca? oh YESSSSSSSS the chendol is good! is it jonker street one? eh if yall go, stay at this hotel, called hotel puri. very nice. at least the lobby la. the rooms are normal. but the hotel itself is very peranakan.

demio

oh PB, i bought a $28 pot from prime... v good.. use it from anything from deep fryin to cooking soup and instant noodles...

fat

pinkbunny - Onz!! We go buy the deep fryer together ok! Btw, i need to physco my ah lau too...kekekeke

have you gals tried Ba Zhen soup before? Its good for women especially! but honestly i myself dun like lah..hahaha

Recipe
1. Ba Zhen ingredients. ( juz go to those chinese medical shop &amp; tell them ba zhen and they will pack everything for you. )
2. Chicken meat
3. Hard boiled eggs
4. Red dates ( optional )
5. Salt or Soy Sauce

Instructions
1. Add chicken, red dates and ba zhen
2. Pour about 3 litres of water and boil it on high fire
3. Once water boiled, add hard boiled eggs
4. Turn fire to low and simmer the soup for approx 2 hrs.
5. Add salt or soy sauce to taste.

The End.

* Above amount is for about 3 to 4 person. Its especially good for ladies after their "big aunty" visits. kekeke......

pinkbunny

eh eh seesters. sorry la. busy day dreaming about my hornymoon can? 6 blissful days away from all you aunties! oops, i was thinking aloud si bo? kekekeke

eh i dunno what is ba zhen leh. nice or not. is it bitter kind? i scared bitter. wo bu chi ku de

fat

Pinkbunny - its not bitter lah...juz strong herbal smell &amp; taste lor
hey...you juz got married ah? must update me leh...coz me newbie mah

you going Hanoi for your "hornymoon"?

btw, are the gals here all newly married hah?

ckw1011

KA steady, tis kinda of bu tang also u noe. btw, me not "newly married" hor, feel veri "lao fu lao qi" already, hehe

Pink, if u r the type who can take liangteh, then the taste of ba zhen soup is chickenfeed. though personally i find the taste quite yucks. my auntie used to make that 4 mi, but i always find excuses not to drink it p seriously, i think b4 drinking ba zhen soup, u cannot eat or drink certain stuff, so for ladies who want 2 try. check with the fellas at the chinese medicine shops ya. me suaku leh pink, simi si pho ...

pinkbunny

hey KA, lao niang is 1 month and 9 days old as a MRS. keke. you leh? off the market liao?

herbal smell can. i love yao cai chicken. but the really bitter kinds, really la, i will puke leh. brands essence of chicken also. cannot take it...

okie today i will go buy ingredients for ba zhen

lina - pho means 'soup' i think. pho hoa is a good viet restaurant in sg. i think holland v got one. it's very very tasty soup :D

fat

Bo bian leh...my ah lau love this soup man! Surprise rite? But cannot drink too often coz later kenna nose bleeding...hahaha

im considered Lau Fu Lau Qi too even though I held my traditional wedding last year May but I got ROM in 1998....long enuff boh???

I like Pho also...damn shiok man the soup! Think boat quey got one too...but dunno close down oredi anot lah....

pinkbunny

KA! i thought the soup is for the time of the month! why your ah lao go and drink? walau eh!

wah 1998!!!! you ROM when you were 13 years old ah?! (siam!)

yes man, pho is happening. i will show you many many pho photos (haha so funny. pho photos) when i come back and make you lao nua!

fat

please lah...13 years old!!! kekekeke...but anyway i think im the oldest in this thread man!

actually ba zhen...guy also can take but not too much and ah lau juz simply love it lah...dunno why also.

wat? juz show pics nia? bring some back lah...kakakaka....kidding!

ckw1011

what does the "pho" taste like? anything like tom yam soup? haha, now i really feel like a mountain tortise?

fat

lina - pho taste sweeter. not like tomyum spicy and sour. there's a cup noodle selling in supermarket, the brand is KOKA. They have the flavour of Pho...you can try it out coz the taste quite similar but of course not as good as the original wan lah....quite good...ive tried it before

small_one

Can I join in here?

Pink Bunny

another way to soften pork or any kind of meat is to add flour when you are marinating it.

levynn

hi ladies...

i've juz sent those recipes for 13 of u. pls go n check your emails. sorry that it didn't get to u sooner... me was on MC for these 2 days... stupid flu n fever... but no worries... will b back tmr!!

pinkbunny

hi ivy, of course you can join. in fact, i think with your pork tip, we should all get on our knees and worship you and call you SHI FU!!!! keke. (you got to tahan our craziness hor!)

levynn, come here...

..........come closer....

closer a bit la.....

.... just a leeeetle bit closer...

COS I WANT TO KISS YOU AND SAY THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! muak!

flu and fever must drink many many water ok? and sleep many many much. take medicine and just zonk out

pinkbunny

happening recipes up for grabs!!! both really very happening. tried them and everyone was impressed.

mee goreng:
2 eggs, beaten
1 tbsp chopped garlic
3 tbsp sambal chilli paste
1 onion (cut)
500g hokkien mee
100g taogay
cai xin
200g prawns
200g sotong
2 tomatoes
2 red chillies (shredded)
3 limes

seasoning
3 tbsp water
4 tbsp tomato ketchup
1 tbsp dark soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
2 tsp sugar
pinch of pepper

1. fry garlic in oil till fragrant. add sambal paste and beaten eggs. stir well. add onion, mee, cai-xin and bean sprouts. stir wel
2. stir in prawns, sotong and seasoning. add tomatoes and red chillies. stir well. squeeze some lime juice on top and serve

pinkbunny

and this one is my absolute favouritest. serves 4 (the hokkien mee also serves 4)

BAK KUT TEH
2.5 litres water
800g pork ribs

herbal ingredients
2 star anise
3g dangshen*
200g garlic (i like to put more!!!)
3g cassia bark*
30g yu zhu*
2 tbsp peppercorn

seasoning
2 tsp salt
20g rock sugar
1 tbsp dark soy sauce
1 tbsp light soy sauce
1 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tsp pepper

1. blanch pork ribs in hot water. rinse well. set aside
2. bring water (the 2.5 litres) to boil. put in herbal ingredients. simmer 30 minutes. add pork ribs and seasoning. simmer 45 minutes then can serve liao!!!!!

this one is very good to impress MIL

* i don't know what they are so i've not put them in any of my tries but still taste very nice

levynn

pink bunny...
dun b like that la... me shy leh... so many pple here... tao yan!

anyway... i already ate too much medicine until i think i'm slightly stoned liao...wahahahahah...

pinkbunny

skylar - aiyoh just kidding only la. cos cecilia just disappeared mah so curious where she go mah.

KA - it's really cool, the recipe. very yummy!!!

and later, i will go buy BA ZHEN ingredients during lunch time!!!

Pink..
kekeke.. but ur Bak Kut Teh recipe like not very easy hor? for me this gong gong one.. sure will cock up one.. kekeke...

Ka,
looking fwd to ur updates!

pinkbunny

skylar - eh it's really very easy leh. 2 step only. boil, and boil! if even gong tai tai like me can do it, anyone can!

fat

Pinkbunny - good! If you face any problem with the ba zhen soup..let me know ya!

Skylar - okie! but will only cook it on Sun nia...and I will be adding chicken instead of bak kut coz ah lau dun take pork...oh yah...he's not muslim juz in case...kekekek....he's half halah wan

levynn

KA... u try wif chicken already n let me know how it went?? heh.

anyway, i thot those chinese medicine hall got sell all these packet bak kut teh ingredients... can juz buy the meat n add in...

KA,
okok... let me know then.. kekee.. coz i also sama sama like ur hb leh.. dun really fancy pork lor.. kekeke..

fat

Hmmm...those pre-pack wan ive never tried tat before but heard from my SIL that the taste abit mild nia...maybe put 2 pkt will be stronger? Tat's my suggestion lah...or maybe Sun I try the packet form wan 1st than let you gals noe how is it.

skylar - yah lor...nowadays not many pple like pork leh.....

pinkbunny

levynn - i don't really like the packet BKTs. like no kick. this one i was really surprised. it looks tough but seriously, it's just boil and boil. i tell you, the sense of achievement when you drink it is indescribable :D

i'm not a big fan of pork either but this one and wantan and soft soft jiang cong pork i like :D

not sure if the taste will be diff if you substitute pork with chicken though. hmmm.

KA - i bought ingredients for ba zhen today! $5 for 2 persons' portion. if i don't want to put hard boil egg can? i'm not a big fan. the medicine shop auntie said boil 4 bowls of water to make 2 bowls. walau i think it will be super KOR leh. i better put more water. tonight/tomorrow i will make then let you girls know okie?

hey where is ivy.... ivy... i scared you away is it? ok la, don't bai ni wei shi la, come back ok?

PS last night i had PHO!!!! keke. the shop is called pho hoa, at holland village. next to thai express. about $10 for one bowl. the beef steak one is nice :D