CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

wah, my dear mama... i also salute u. after work stil can go jogging, then after that stil can go home n cook. pei fu, pei fu!!

actually i dun mind doing marketing, but my place nowhere near any wet market n i dun like to buy pork fr supermarket, so a bit difficult. most of the times we eat out, n then try to arrange to go back to our parents' places to eat. sometimes also really sick of outside food, but very lazy to cook leh...

=) haha pink, yup, mi is one big lazy pig, tt's y now getting fatter & fatter ma =( last time b4 married, mum & aunt did the cooking. nw stay wif ILs, MIL does the cooking. unless weekends feel like it, if not no chance 2 cook at all 1. anyway, my place a lot of makan so frankly, i rather eat out, more convenient ma p

levynn, lazy 2 cook then is tong yi xiang cong na li lai or chu qian yi ding liao lor, fast 2 cook, good 2 eat, yeah yeah

i think it's much more cost effective to eat out if it's only 2 people. but i very sian of my house downstairs the kopi tiams liao. and i'm very sensitive to msg. i will feel aches in my bones. so funny right?
i like the satisfaction of seeing my own food on the dining table, and ah lao appreciates so i'm happy la

i also don't know when it started. when i was in my teens or early 20s i think. i cooked at home on weekends but nobody appreciated. then before married, i went out of SG and stayed with my ah lao and his mum for 3 months so i started picking up alot from MIL, and needed to learn chinese cooking FAST to impress his family so it carried on from there lor.

about my jogging - got mood one! hehe. maybe i will get sick of cooking soon? i dunno. then you gers got to find another mama liao! keke.

bbq - i tried this once. very shiok: pork chops marinated with garlic, black pepper, a bit of olive oil and basil. then put fresh majoram (available at cold storage) on top and leave in fridge for 2 hours. then bbq it. shiok.

Wah Piang Pink! Off work 6.45pm still got time to go jogging! Pei fu Pei fu.....Like tat you its about almost 9pm++ than you finish everything lor?
So you go market with the anuty look..after buying those veggies...got ask uncle or aunty to give you a bunch of spring onions or lime anot...wahahahaha.....

I also like cooking too but like your style...i think I cant tahan too long man! Over the weekends maybe lah.....

For me, I prefer fresher food..so when I know I wan to cook the next day than i will go marketing the day b4 nia.

finish work at 6.45, raech home at 7 (take taxi mah) season food, leave home for jogging at 7.15, reach home again about 8 latest. then cook and eat lor. dunno why but usually finish eating and washing up by 8.30 or 8.45. cos like i say, choose quick dishes mah. but still quite late la that's why today i try to finish earlier so can eat at 7.30

over the weekends then i choose to do more elaborate stuff.

i also like fresh food but i prefer market to supermarket. cheaper. so i'd rather stock up on weekends. cos i scared wait suddenly kena attacked by cooking mode then nothing in freezer then must buy from cold storage. wah biang. 3 onions $1.80 leh. sorry ah, i cheapo :D

oh ya hor, KA, i should start asking them for onions and lime hor? kekekeke.

Pink - you see! Lucky I remind you to get those freebies..if not you are not qualified to be one of those wet market aunties liao...hahahaha

skylar - it's a herb, cold storage got sell at veg section. (the bigger ones. i know holland village one got). they also sell other fresh herbs like dill and thyme. i like! anyway it's sold in a pack, about $2 i think. also got the dried one but fresh is always better la

380374.jpg

see la, becos i lup you so much, i go search for majoram for you. you think my lao ban pay me to search for herbs online si bo?

KA - ya man. thanks for reminding me. but hor, i always very shy when i go market one leh. but they always call me 'xiao mei' that's why i like hahahahahahha

when boss is not around i not so kanchiong spider mah

claypot chicken, anybody wants? don't remember where it's from but anyway:

serves 2-3

ingredients
1 tsp peanut oil
1 tsp sesame oil
50g ginger, sliced
1 tsp garlic, chopped
10g shallots, sliced
400g chicken, chunks
2 pcs dried mushroom, soaked

seasoning
1/2 tsp salt and pepper
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp tomato sauce
1/2 tsp chilli sauce
2 tsp chinese white wine
1/2 tsp dark soy sauce

1. heat oil and sesame oil in pre heated wok
2. stir fry ginger, garlic and shallots
3. add in chicken, mushrooms and seasonings
4. stir fry till chicken is cooked
5. pour chicken into claypot
6. skim off excess amount of fat/oil on top of gravy
7. garnish with corriander and serve

sounds easy
tomorrow can try

Pink - Choy!!! Dun anyhow say lah....*touch wood*

Btw gals, can any kind soul tell me wat time does Mango shop open hah? Coz tomoro is their sales. I wan to be the "kiasu aunty" tomoro...kekeekek

no la, not anyhow say. i already did my will up anyway (in case what. it will save everybody the trouble of fighting over my millions), might as well add in my recipe book keke

Wahahaha...
steady lah.. got pixs for the leaves somemore ah... how to BBQ ah? my hse no BBQ leh.. whahaha..

u say u lup me ah.. then u BBQ, i got eat lah.. whahaha...

wei.. pls give us the copyrite to ur recipe book in ur will hor! whaahaha...

KA,
MANGO DIAM OPEN at 8:00AM tmr!! ekeekee...

we bbq-ed it that time cos we wanted to go camping so we bought the portable bbq pit (cold storage, $5 plus nia). scarley, carry everything out of the house, go downstairs, RAIN! so bbq at the corridor lor hehe. very fun leh

Sky - WHAT!!!!!! Siao boh?????? So early ah? im still in my dreamland leh....confirm boh? scully I really go at 8pm..no open, I mah jiat lat!
But still...thank you hah!

Pink - so cheap nia meh? $5?

Pink...
ya ya.. i know.. that time also my frds come my hse BBQ... at the garden near my hse... very fun... we thot of buying those BBQ pit (ard $10+) leh.. so end up we do ourselves portable ones... kekeke.... hor LINA???

KA...
YES AH!!! 8:00AM! not PM!!! coz my frd going mah.. so she ask me to join but sorry.. me to lum nua liao.. whahaha...

sky - really damn early man...dun think I will be so on lor...

Btw, how come you gals can get portable BBQ pit so cheap wan hah? Or is it very long time ago liao?

KA,
I bought mine last mth in Carrefour - smaller one ard $7+ then the bigger ones ard $10+ or $15 if i not wrong...

but that Pink $5 one.. i dunno she get from where leh.. maybe inside no charcoal one.. but newpapers nia... ekekeke.....

hahahah...yah sky, maybe Pink's wan got to chop some woods to start the fire...

Really ah...but must get license from ah lau first..coz you know lah...the deep fryer oredi keep nagging liao...now BBQ pit somemore..think abit more difficult coz firstly he dun like BBQ stuffs and secondly...my flat downstairs also got BBQ pit too...nowadays HDB flat got alot of those BBQ pit...than everyone weekend sure fully book wan....hiaz....

skylar, newspapers in BBQ pit, wah lan, ur brain really grow grass inside 1 hor lol
ya, tt time bbq veri fun. cos hor, u all did most of the work ma, i juz wait 2 b served food nia hahaha

going home now, bye girls

KNS i said it's $5plus from cold storage. nobody pay attention to what i say. basket. and it comes with charcoal and starter some more. BUT now since i quit smoking liao hor, no lighter liao

but it's disposible type and last about half an hour only. so much faster cook. that time we didn't know then still slowly slowly shake backside and then suddenly huh why no more fire? haha

KA, go mango la.... and buy stuff for us :D thank you! KA wan sui! KA is the best!!!!

and before i get scolding from skylar, here are pics of tonight's dinner and dessert (btw my rice is not dirty hor. it's a mix of white and brown rice hor)

380431.jpg
380432.jpg

Pink - i try to wake up early if I can lah...coz sometimes my prince in my dream dun wan me to wake up than i boh bian lah...whahahaah

Honestly speaking hor...your dessert really look abit like...ermmmm....ermmmmm..."sai"....hahahahaah
Wat soup you cook hah?

PINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I LUP YOU!!!!!! Thanks for the herbs picture. But hor..too small leh...if u email me, do u think i can see it better? (**run b4 recipe mama hantam me**)

side track ah...how u gals store ur wrapping papers? i have a few rolls but can't think of a good way to store them. help help.

/joniel

after looking thru all the posts of dear recipe mama, n the pictures of her dinner last nite (though some dun look that good), i have only one question for mama... WHERE DO U STAY???!!!!!!

sigh early morning only make me so gek sim. kena ask to post photo, after xin xin ku ku rush home from work to cook, still must cook, still must take photo, then kena say my photo don't look good. sigh... sibeh gek sim ah. wa eh mia jin kor ah....

joniel - what's your email address? then i can re-scan and send a bigger file to you.

nez - stReam meat:

buy minced meat. usually $2 at market, or 1 small pack at supermarket is enough for 2 people. season with sesame oil, soya sauce, pepper. leave for a while. before steaming, add 1 egg in, mix around and then put your plate in steamer when water is boiling. if you have the tiered steamer, you can also put it on the upper layer when your soup is cooking at the bottom. some people like to add the yolk of a salted egg when the meat is half done.

if you have no steamer, you can also boil water in a big wok, then invert a small bowl inside, then put your plate of meat on top of the bowl. when steaming, always cover the pot/steamer. i hope this helps!

brown rice, our recipe mama sibeh healthy man.
but hor pink, ur choc chip cookie really got no å–相 leh lol ya, where do u stay, do u provide delivery svs?

KA - last night was fish soup. but last night i play cheat. my ah lao likes the fish soup near my office and it only opens during lunch time so i went to ta-pao during lunch to bring back for dinner's soup haha.

but here is fish soup recipe if anyone wants:

fish:
buy batang fish from the market. it's not cheap but it tastes good. ask the uncle to qi gu for you and then keep the bones so you can use it for soup stock later.

anyway. season fish slices (uncle at market can also slice for you if you smile at him nicely) with sesame oil, soya sauce, pepper and a leeeeetle bit of hua diao jiu. cover and set aside for an hour.

soup stock:
ikan bilis + soya beans (not the salted ones hor, the dry ones) + fish bones (optional, but it's very good). peppercorn is also nice if you like peppery.

boil for maybe half an hour. if you want to put in slow cooker, you must first boil all the ingredients then after got smell then put in slow cooker

then throw in fish slices. when you're going to eat already, then throw in tao hu (the egg kind also can. up to you). if you throw in tao hu too early then it will soak up all the soup taste and your soup will be bland. i don't know what the veg is called but it's not too dark, not too light green, and the sides of the leaves are a bit wavy one. add some in the soup if you want.

serve with rice, and red chilli + soy sauce on the side.

this one i learn from my first boyfriend's ah bu one. she cooks really really brilliantly. not bad, i remember the recipe from more than 10 years ago.

aiyah i brought the double chocolate chip cookies to work then wanted to take another pic to prove to you guys that they do not look like lumps of sai but .... the photos still do not do justice to the cookies so i'm not posting haha.

anyhow i stay at ghim moh. and i don't do delivery services haha. (maybe next time.... i was toying with the idea) but if you girls want to organise one day come to my house for makan, i also don't mind. but weekend la ok?

dou miao:
plenty of garlic. fry till fragrant. then throw in dou miao (throw in alot. when uncooked it will look like sibeh alot but when cooked it's a miserable amount only) and stir stir a bit. add soy sauce and a bit of chicken stock. that's it lor.

lately the thing that's permanent in my fridge is knorr chicken soup stock. no msg and it's tasty

actually, another way to steam the minced meat is to mix it wif Dong Cai... the brownish salty preserved veg. i love that dish. my grandma used to cook it. very simple n dun need too much soy sauce coz the Dong Cai itself is already saltish...

PB, when i did marketing at my old place, i always asked for free spring onions fr the veg seller coz we always buy a lot of veg at one go, then the auntie very nice will give us free spring onions, or chili...

Wahh.. yummy!! kekeke..

Pink!!!
I love those veggies that u cooked leh... but hor.. the peeling part before cooking is a pain lor... very lay chey rite??

whahaha.... Pink u cook for me!!!

Lina.. nabz.. u still dare say lor.. u & ur lao sit there maciam dua pek gong liddat hor!! kekeke

Pink...
ur that one is dou miao ah... I tok i looks like those "heng cai" leh... I love to eat heng cai but peeling it wah... tiring man... then peel the entire bunch like sibeh alot then cook liao.. shrink until so little.. kekeke...

Lina..
wa kuah li si siao liao si bor? dua ma bu????
need me to check u into hougang chalet bor?

oh i don't know what is heng cai. eat already very heng is it? then i go buy before mahjong session haha.

dua ma bu is dua pek kong's wife is it ah? sorry leh i don't know...

skylar... if u lazy to peel the heng cai, can buy those kind wif not so much stem, esp those wif the more rounded leaves. then juz pluck out the leaves to cook can liao. u tried those reddish one??

PB... heng cai is the veg wif the soft n weak stems...

Good "late" Morning!!!

Pink - so the steam egg hor...must steam the meat 1st than can add egg ah? cannot mix the egg with the meat than steam it together meh? than hor..the dong chai is add to the meat or add to the egg? Than hor.....(haahahah)....egg is normal egg or salted egg?

one thing hor...your pics from last nite dinner (but minus the dessert lah ) looks very "home sweet home"....

Yesterday heard you mentioned herbal Chicken so Ive decided to cook for tonite liao....and also fried Tao Gay......

KNS. enough about my shit looking dessert!

hey KA i never talked about steamed egg. mine is steam meat. add the NORMAL CHICKEN EGG before steaming, then when halfway done then add the salted egg YOLK. and i'm not the one who mentioned dong chai so i don't know when to add it.

i think i've been bitten by the cooking bug. ah lao ask me out for a date to go eat carl's jr tonight but i feel like i'd rather go home to cook leh. how?! jialat.

heng chai.... i THINK i know... i eat before at mixed rice stall but never seen it raw before. don't understand why it would be hard to peel leh. normal veggie right?

oh have fun with herbal chicken! i love it. oh yay fried tao day i also like! i cook with salted beans. it's usually with salted fish right? but i don't know how to buy...

my questions: (somebody help me please!)
- how to buy salted fish? and is it only one kind of fish or must specify? must buy the whole thing? can keep how long?
- duck: can buy in parts or not? (basket, this one was since yesterday leh)
- who is dua ma bu? haha

Wahaha...

as for Dua ma bu.. i also dunno wat is it leh.. gotta ask that deity Lina lor.. whahaha..

Levynn..
i nv tried those reddish one.. i like heng cai coz very soft lor.. kekee..

Pink..
basket!! dunno how to tell u ah.. but heng cai not easy to peel ah.. unlike those normal veggie lor.. u go mkt ask for $3 heng cai go home peel lah... then when u cook liao maciam look like only those cost 50cents nia.. coz they shrink alot!!!

i also aim for heng cai when i go eat those mixed rice stall man!!

my ans to ur qns..
- salted fish got many kind, some very pang one not so salty, <-- more X, then some is not very pang &amp; very salty <-- cheaper more common. Can buy in parts one.. the stalls will cut liao.. u can keep for 1 week or 2 perhaps?? in the fridge lor.. dun tell me u wanna keep for 5 yrs in ur shoe cabinet meh??

- duck - can buy in parts, also cut already one, usually in cold storage kind, wet mkt sell either whole or half.

KA..
wahh.. now ur turn to show us herbal chicken pix ... drooling liao...

Oh pai sey...dong chai is by Levynn...sorry...morning still very blur blur...hahahaha

My Tao Gay dun have salted fish coz ah lau like it plain so I juz fry with your Knorr Chicken stock and abit of those chicken stock ( water form ) and add button mushroom and beancurd as well.

As for salted fish...can keep very long wan...dun have to buy the whole big piece...you juz buy those cube size wan and strip them can liao....

Pink - your ah lau maybe juz wanna bring you out to pak tor mah...wan you to rest a day...than go out with him and enjoy your outing lor....

KA... i haven't tried to steam minced meat wif the salted egg yolk. i was the one who mentioned the Dong Cai.

anyway, when u have the minced meat, add in a little soy sauce n a little (juz a little) corn flour, mixed together. then add in the Dong Cai. after that, put on a plate to steam. usually, i flatten the whole thing to spread out the whole of the round plate.

pink, dun listen to skylar lah. think salted fish can keep 4 more than 2 weeks. last time i ever ate salted fish kept for more than 6 mths, today mi still alive yakking here, tiobo. &amp; nope, dun remember having any stomach upset 2.
as 4 choosing, aiyo, u do like wat i did lah, go 2 some seller who "look" more trustworthy one, then ask him/her 2 choose 4 u lah ...

basket skylar, pink, u 2 really you2 yan3 bu4 shi2 oryiorr, dua ma bu is of course the wifey of dua peh gong lahhhhhhhh, ah beh then!

haha now that we've settled the great salted egg and dong cai mix up...

btw dong chai is the brown colour, usually put in CHOK and fish ball soup one is it?

i told ah lao i've been bitten by the cooking bug and i feel like cooking tonight, some more KA sia me with her herbal chicken so i think that's what i'll do tonight! hehe. saturday then we go pak tor. when i told him, he said 'actually hor i also not in the mood to shop'. KNS. i say then he say. make me be the bad guy to suggest.

KA! what strip? lunch time nia, get me so excited liao!