Chevrons @ Boon Lay Way

meowie

Bonjon, wedding this weekend can rush for all these or not?? Busy is busy, but must bare till after wedding than fall sick hor. Me too was very tired. Told my body system to hold on till after the big day then break down. These few days try not to eat any spicy food and drinks lots of water hor. Must be good girl hor, rest also very important. Wait your hubby marry a panda back. Extinct and cute.
Jus joking.

I dun kinda get it. Give angbao? You mean during tea ceremony or jus for the ah yees and ah gus?? If so, yes. You jus give the amount to your mum and ask her to give on your behalf. You'll be very busy that day. So relax a little. Pass these little issue to your mum. She can handle that. For me, i pass to my mum and ask if she has small change, i forgot to change small notes. I give $8 for all if i didn't remember wrongly. In the end she ask me to keep the money, she give for me. So reminder!!...........go to bank early and change small notes. Or else start keeping small notes now. Anyway your hubby will need to change from bank too. Ask him to count your share in too.

bonjon

Meow,

Thanks for your advise. My mum & hb will handle the ang bow thing.

Me already sick lor, cough and flu.
Yesterday, we rush to collect gowns, wine, necklace. Bought our guest book and markers yesterday. Very tired. Noticeboard done, a simple one.

Outstanding - our 2nd and 3rd albums and his suits not ready, to collect on 02/01.

Oh yes, our photo montage. Me still rushing it.

voice_0229

Hi Meow

My wedding is Feb 29. Went down to chevrons yesterday to finalise the details of the invitation card, next monday...they'll faxed me a copy of the sample.

We bought our wines already, since it's on sales at cold storage, awaiting delivery in next couple of days. We bought 24 bottles, hopefully it's enuff or better still got left over. hee..hee...

Bon, u didn't ask for any help from friends to do your photo montage meh? Like that very stressed leh....

greenie

hi gals, need ur advice here... i am keen on chevrons... but when i search 4 the website, it says the plc is in boon lay way... is this one nxt to IMM?

abit confusing 4 me... i din noe chevrons hv dinners until a fren mentioned to me... so now i am oso lookg at their plc... anyone got their contact number to share wif me pls? thks alot...

voice_0229

hi starz

Yes, THE CHEVRONS is a SAF club, which is located near IMM, opp. International Business Park.

you can call brilliant garden restaurant @ Chevrons to enquire on their package, Tel: 67959339.
You can opt to have your dinner at the restaurant or Chevrons Ballroom. They have quite attractive package.

greenie

hi just a tiny voice! very cute name!

thks 4 providing the contacts.. btw hv u any idea how is the food there?

meowie

Hi starz, welcome aboard. The road is call boon lay way, so dun get confuse ok?
If you like their ballroom, book it fast before its booked by others. Can try look for Kenny for help too.
Food wise not that bad. Me like their pipa duck.
Their website is www.chevrons.org.sg can see a little of the ballroom there. Else look at previous posting of either mine or bonjon, we posted photos here.

Congrats Bonjon, sorry for posting so late. Jus came back home. Turn on PC till now haven't stop. Hubby finish dinner and me still typing.haha.
Hope you'll get well soon.

Tiny, that time i also didn't ask friend for help. Jus have to prepare everything early lor. But sometimes will still miss somethings one. You got book chalet? If need help can ask me hor.

bonjon

Hi Meow & Voice,

I'm back. Yesterday was chaotic, PIL screwed up everything. We had four person at the reception but PIL's relatives and friends kept looking for them and didn't register. And worse, they can't find/ remember the table no and anyhow ask this and that to sit here and there. Friends and relatives were very unhappy. Some of them even gave me and ah yees that black face. His cousin said so chaotic in front of me and my ah yees. So bad. I kept my cool didn't tell them off if not, ha ha.

My hb was so nervous that he walked so fast that the photographer had to keep signalling him to slow down but... I had to push him back.

The joke of the day, he had led me to the wrong table, my parent's VIP table. ha ha He said he was so nervous and there's happen to have two empty seats so.. I were laughing cos when I walked towards the table the faces looked so familiar. His mother was very unhappy about it so I told him that hb didn't wore spectular so can't see properly that why went to the wrong table then his mother smile. aiyah so embrassing

The host was good, she's Qiong Fang. She said lot of auspicious sentence and help us out when the laugh of the day happen. Very reflexable.

She had asked hb a few questions:- how long did we get to know each other? - How do we meet? - Which parts of me he like most. I knew that he will be nervous so I whispered the first and second ans to him and last left it to him. She had made us kissed on the stage for 9 mins. Qiong Fang made him sang - Xia Wei (hb changed the name to my name & - ye lang dai biao wo de xin. He sang well. I'm so proud of him and very happy.

We had started the dinner very late around 8.30pm. Very rush, change gowns and photo shoot. Everything end at 11pm ++. His gang of good friends wanted to sabtoage him, want him to finish a cup of red wine. He refused. As one of them is driving my parents back so I drank 3/4 cup and left the balance to him. I should had bottom up as hb's a poor drinker. His whole body was burning hot and very red. Sleep immediately after he dried his hair.

Now he's helping his parents sorting out the ang pow, his mother can't find some. She's not very happy as my good friend is taking care of that. I had asked hb about it earlier, he didn't assigned anyone to handle it so I helped myself. My parents kept their and I kept my friends one (those whom had given to us directly). I told his father that there're some with me, I will use them to pay out my parent's extra.

Voice,

We had 55 tables in total (not all full) and had ordered 72 red wine, left with about 25. So tried not to order too much as you can't return to cold storage after that. But it is always to have more and not less, not nice.

I'm so upset. I had sent Chin Leng my photo. Not up.

meowie

Bonjon, welcome back. So finish calculating the angbaos yet? We spent one whole day to finish it leh. Got loose? Dun get so upset lah with the relatives. Mine also like that. Very messy, since its already over...be Happy

Thought i've told you before, only members get to place the photos there. If you want, can check with her lor. When you fly and where?

greenie

hi tiny & meowie, thks 4 the informing me abt chevrons. i will call them up 2mrw. the other day after i took down the number & wanted to call but i din coz it was dinner time & i was afraid they r busy wif dinner crowd.

anyway this is extra work i am doing coz my MIL already hv a plc in mind on where to hold the dinner. but i din hv a gd impression when i called up to make the booking, and i was hoping tt in the end we dun need to hv it there. but chances r slim.

bonjon, u alrite? u sounded really upset but can tell u r happy wif the things ur hb did 4 u at ur dinner. cheer up ok?

bonjon

Meow,

Yet to finish, I still got two missing. Should be with MIL. PIL still calculating, the rest done (my parents and hb).

I know but just want to let my anger off. They are too much.

Yet to plan. Need to rush year end closing. Thinking of CNY period, Maldives maybe.

bonjon

Meow & Voice,

My album was torn. Not sure whether is the poor workmanship or the guests are too "unkind" with it. Had sent it back to the bridal shop, will be getting back it two weeks' times.

meowie

bonjon, wow at least you know you have two missing. I had many gone missing. I didn't even know they got give or not thou i know they did turn up. So we jus presume those without names will be theirs lor. Simply jus fill in the empty slotes.

Huh? then the bridal shop got charge you for mishandling or not? That's why i didn't bring my album there.

huggiez

Hi I was wondering how many tables can one room accomodate. I was planning to go for the ballroom. But I think I have only about 20 tables. Not too sure if I can only get the restaurant

voice_0229

Hi Bon,

Glad the dinner is over for you, aiyaa..it's very normal for some slight hiccups especially mostly attendance are relatives. I hope mine will be ok as I got an uncle and an aunty who can't see eye to eye with each other and they fight during one of my cousin's wedding and another uncle tried to interfere and landed up in hospital. Can't imagine that happening to my wedding. We have ordered 24 bottles of wines, should be sufficient. Anyway, if no more....asked the guests to drink beer or stout lor!

Meow, the crispy duck in herbs taste awful, so tough. we had it changed to Pipa duck - since you so highly recommended.
Then we had the 'da gui herbal chicken' changed to roasted chicken too, as the one we tried taste awful as well. The fried prawns with oats and the yam paste are nice.

I'll be booking 2 chalets, hubby going to ask a friend of ours who is a regular to help us to book...would be cheaper, but haven't done.

Hi Connie,

should be no problem using the ballroom as the tables will not be so cramped and more privacy and grand too. We initially booked it with 20 tables confirmation too, but after drawing up the guest list, we foresee will have 25 tables at least and thus confirm 25 + 2 Reserves last week.

huggiez

Hi Voice, thanx for the fb. By the way is it possible for u to email me ur package as reference? My email is [email protected]
I tried contacting Chevron to ask for wedding packages, but it seems like they are no longer offering any packages as they refer me to contact Brilliant Garden. Thanx again

voice_0229

Hi Connie

Yes, Chevrons no longer in charge of wedding banquet, they have given BG to organise. Will email you the wedding packages offer by BG.

bonjon

Meow,

I managed to find one. Another assume she didn't write her name. Had already settled the bill. So happy. They had given us a few red packets and MIL gave me two. She said I need it.

FIL asked me to touch the laughing god at the cashier. I did and asked why. He said the boss must touch when you go there. MIL told me that the staffs there touch it, and one by one got pregant.

They didn't but I will be collecting it two weeks later.

bonjon

Voice,

In this case, try to arrange them to sit separate table. A distance from each other, so that they can't see each other. We are so horrible, should give face to the host mah.

meowie

hi connie, believe your answer has already been answered.

Tiny, i'm a regular myself.
So the rates are cheaper.

Bonjon, red packets with $$ in or jus the packet only? So good ah, must ask Pam to give me when i visit her in her new place.

bonjon

Meow,

ha ha. You very funny. of cos with la. I think cos FIL know the boss.

You're a regular, so got VIP card la.

voice_0229

Meow,

thanks for offering your help. Our friend said will be able to help us. If really got unforseen circumstances that he can't go down book for us, then I'll let you know.

Bon,

From what i know, with chevrons membership card, GB don't recognise, no discount given. That's what they told me. So are you still on leave? I would suggest you quickly book your Maldive honeymoon package, wait can't get the flights/dates you want. I heard Maldive becoming very hot spot for honeymoon.

bonjon

Voice,

I'm back to work. Very sian la. Thanks for your advise. I had yet to talk to hb about it. Maybe later. He had a big hole in his pocket at the moment.

Alot of our friends and relatives said that the food was very nice. I'm so happy to hear that.

Hope your will be as well.

Did you order any rose petal? Peng Tze had placed all six plates in front. He should have one at the back, middle and front. Look better.

Do you need to top up for the decoration? I doubt I see you that day. You went alone? My ah yee said she saw some people walking in and out around 6pm++. She thought is my guest, so early.

voice_0229

heh, your guest can't be in 3/4 jean rite. hahahhaa.. i was alone that day. I will need to top up for the deco but i will opt for the fake flowers, not real one. If we are not having church wedding as well, may splurge more on dining venue decor. Anyway, not too particular.
I'll be opting for the same flower arche as you, looks real though. Initially paiseh to go in, but peng tse said it's ok, then he brought me in to see your decor.
My hubby said he doesn't want to have rose petals being thrown over all....so not for it. haaaa... mebbie i sabo him, arrange for it w/o him knowing.

bonjon

Voice,

Yes. The arch is nice. Hb like the idea of having rose petals, something like people pouring blessings to us.

Should try. But you must tell Peng Tze earlier.

I wanted to sabo hb by asking him to sing Xia wei in hokkien and teochew but was afraid he'll be too nervous to do so. That's why I didn't. Surprisingly, he's so calm when he sang the song.

My coll said both of us look very calm. ok la.

meowie

Bonjon, yeah i have the members card lor. Produce at GT got 18% disc if i'm not wrong.
No wonder you have angbao lah. Me dun know boss, so they never give us any lah. Well they should anyway since i talk so many good things about them here.

Tiny, will have disc if walk in. But not for wedding dinner. I'm paying the same price as all of you.
You want chalet must book early. Usually members got privilege, i can book 6mths in advance. That's why i've already booked a chalet on good friday.

bonjon

Meow,

They also gave us VIP card when we settles the bill. 10% for cash/ net payment and 5% for credit card applies for not more than 4 tables.
They gave to MIL not me la.

Voice,

Must book early. There's only six chalet. And their changing room, very bad. Easy access, dun leave valuable there.

meowie

Bonjon, you very lucky leh. Transferable? Else can lend Tiny.
Then you got pay less lah for your tables. So envy leh.

huggiez

Hi Voice can i check with you how much did you top up to use the ballroom? How many rooms did you book? Thanx

bonjon

Meow,

You meant the VIP card? Yes, transferable but it's not appliable for functions with more than 4 tables. That's to say nobody will get any VIP discount on AD.

voice_0229

hey meow,

good try....no discounts lah, got VIP card or not.

Bon,
forgot other than credit cards, GB accept personal cheque anot?

connie,
i top up additional $300 , all 3 rooms we booked if not they will seal the centre room and march in will be so weird. i rather pay than to go thru' the inconvenience.

meowie

Tiny, me got their members card. Not VIP card. Which means i can use this card anywhere in Chevrons, be it the bowling, the gym and the restaurant. I'm not sure about the VIP card Bonjon's mum have.That card can be only use in their restaurants and branches if i'm not wrong.

bonjon

Connie,

Bride and groom will sit at guy's side VIP table with PIL and family/ relatives. There'll be another VIP table for the girl's side

huggiez

Oh that means i do not sit together with my parents? I had thought i will be sitting wif both our parents at one tb and the rest of the sibilings at the other. Thanx bon

bonjon

Connie,

If you want, you can ask your parents and PIL. But normally there're two VIP tables. And bride will be seated with PIL as she is considered "belong to the guy's side".

meowie

tiny, i'm working as a technician there.
Did you try to call to check if they're chalet are still available??

bonjon

Meow & Voice,

My slideshow is about 62K. Not sure if I can send it to you all but will try my luck my monday.

bonjon

Meow,

Is there any thread that is about married life?I'm looking at thread that I can read and share about life after wedding. I found some but inactive one.

voice_0229

Wow, Meow...a technician! not many women are willing to take up such challenges cos' it's normally associated with a man's job!
Thanks, my friend booked 2 chalets for us already,$100 per night/chalet. Think there's a slight price increased.

voice_0229

Hi Bon,

Thanks for the link, very nice photos. Wow, you are really bold to wear so red gown, you would caught me dead wearing that type of red gown. I'm not that adventurous. heeee....

Tonight going BG to collect my invitation cards, they called me last night saying it's ready!
Pretty fast....

bonjon

Voice,

Red, my fav. Did you managed to see the others?

Great. Try to get the invitation cards done soon.

Yours Feb, rite? How's thing going on?

CNY coming, got to prepare ang pows

voice_0229

Bon, there were only 19 pictures in the link you sent me. No other albums leh. Pictures in white & red gowns only leh.

Will starting writing invitation cards this week for my relatives so I can distribute on 1st & 2nd day of CNY. People gives red packets, I give 'red bomb'...hahhahahaa

I finally settle for the fake flowers package with Peng Tse at $250, w/o reception centre piece. He said will throw in for me likely as two days before, there would be some events, so will have left over fresh flowers to do one for me.

Going to finalise my church reception invitation cards these 2 days so that in time for delivery next Monday.

Don't forget my ang pow eh.... I still eligible to collect leh, not yet customary!! Meow...you too eh, don't forget mine eh!