Cheongsam

nee

Hi Chimes,

may I know how much you paid for your cheongsam? Do u mind letting me take a peek at a pic of it?

Me planning to buy one, but dun have big budget. Thanks!!

doey

Hi Chimes and Storm,

Can i check how much Doreen charges for short and long cheongsam? i plan to make one as a tea dress.

pinkie

hiu, chimes and DD

can i have a look at your cheong sum? and how much did u pay for them? can inculde the price and the place u had them made in the e-mail? my e-mail add is [email protected]

thks a million!

mexx

Any idea where to get MTM cheongsam with embroidery ? I'm looking for those type of embroidery similar to what Ted wu has. However, he doesn't do MTM cheongsam for those who're not taking his bridal package.
Any suggestions on where else to go to look for this type of cheongsams ?

jus

Hi mexx,

You can also try Ted's Collection at Bugis Junction
about $480 per cheong sam
a little steep but good services

mexx

Hi jus,

A friend told me that the cheong sams at ted collection look quite "auntie"... do there make modern cheongsams too ? Does $480 include embroidery ?

jus

Hi mexx,

initially, i have that impression too
but after trying a few of their gowns, quite unique with bright colours
you can also opt for plain colours (champagne gold, silver etc)

they are quite flexible with the design
can have mandarin colour but bare-backed with mermaid style of dress

not so bad-lah
worth to go n see see
but i must say that not everybody is acceptable to their style
but, no harm in taking a look

nope, $480 is without embroidery

mexx

Thanks jus,

I'll pop by their shop to take a look. Yep, u're right... should review before cancelling them off my list !
;-P

sakurasan

Juz discovered this shop on the top floor of Arcade that tailor cheongsams, supposedly by a Shanghainese tailor...costs ard $480.

grace

If you are keen on cheongsams designer-made just for you - modern and sexy type
- with embroidery, beads, crystals, anything you want, try Amor Meus at the Esplanade Mall. Search the forum for "Amor Meus" and you will have all the info you need!

I myself had a kebaya made there for my wedding and a friend of mine a drop-dead-gorgeous cheongsam for hers. Service is great and dress designs are outta this world.

Good luck with your CS hunt everyone.

huakee

I have cheong sum SI FU to recommend too. She is a lady with more than twenty five years experience. I made my full lace beaded cheong sum for only $400 including materials. In fact, her price starts from $180 to $250 workmanship. I think the price is quite competative . Can try, my cheong sum is gorgeous. I recommended quite a few of my friends there. :> Will give you the contact if you are interested.

claris

has anyone made cheongsam like the red one Zhang Ziyi wore in the visa advertisement? u know, the one with pierce brosnan and shot in thailand? Tot that cheongsam looked lovely!! and not too traditional with the frog buttons...

huakee

you can just call this lady Mdm Chua at
I heard my friend that her shop is under reno. So sshe sew in her house temporarily at her own house now at Kallang. Check it up with her.:>

huakee

gngoh

i also have a cheongsam master to recommend. He is from shanghai. His workmanship costs aobut $300 but well worth it becoz it fits perfectly, without having to alter anything. And his cheongsams are modern - halter style, low back or with lace etc...Can call Mr Ho at Peony Shanghai Dressmaker - 67443324. You have to get your own material though.

have fun cheongsam hunting.

seiko

Francis Louis Ler fr Amor Meus is amazing! i juz went for my 1st fitting of my CS n it fitted perfectly. Except im doing away wif my spaggetti straps. He has even sewed on the crystals ( 1/2 done )for the 1st fitting. Ive heard that some brides had 2 had a few fittings b4 getting everything rite. Wow, Louis sure made my preparation worry-free *HEE*

huakee

Hi Chinadoll
She got it for me. At first I wanted to get myself at Arab street but in the end she let me see some sample which is what i wanted and she got it at a cheaper price. $5 per meter cheaper even though it's not a lot but i don't have to bargain until crazy lor. :>

andrea

Hi Huakee,

Does she has any sample dress for you to try? If not, how will I knw which design suits me, eg. sleeveless or with sleeve?

huakee

So sorry pinkie i dont have a scanner at home paiseh. Actually i get pictures from magazine and tell her i want that particular design lor. Hee me quite cheapo.

ling ling

My name is Ling Ling. I need a cheongsum by 14 July. May I know where can I rent or buy modern cheongsum?

Also, where can I custom-make my cheongsum and get it done before 14 July?

jus

Hi Ling Ling,

You can try Ted’s Collection (at Bugis Junction) for their OTR CS.
They are having 50% sale

14th July – that’s a little tight, but you can try to talk to the designer and see if they are able to work with the time frame…
For further info, you can read about the shop at Ted’s Collection @ Bugis Junction thread

dan&betty

I just got my cheongsam tailored in a shop called Bjorn in Marina Square level 1.
It is a boutique but does tailoring.
Only paid $280 for mine. workmanship is good.
Thought of sharing with everyone here.

dan&betty

Sorry,

Should be $248 instead of $280.
btw: Bjorn also sell Wedding Dinner clothes for Mum.

dan&betty

hi girlfriend,
Think it is about that price. Maybe due to our enthusiasm...they charge us $10 more..hee..hee.
how is the shop? did you choose the modern type or the comtemporary ones?

calia

I highly recommend Ted's collection at Bugis junction. They're brilliant. I didn't want to get a cheongsam initially cos I thought it was pretty chinese restaurant waitress like... but my mom went to them to get a taolor made one -- and I was totally in love with their woekmanship and design. I ended up getting something off the rack, which was on sale.

Try them out. the're great.

girlfriend

Dan&Betty,

The sales persons are nice. I bought my ROM gown there.

I juz went to try their CS last week. It looks oki. Will consider.

I will choose modern type with halter net and back netting.

misty

hi bride-to-be,
Really? Thanks.

Saw their cheongsam before but a bit too expensive. Even a kneelength cheongsam w/o beading can cost $300-$400 right?
Will go take a look..

jus

Hi misty,

Yeap, yeap…
The sale is still on, but with limited pieces…
After the discount, a gown would cost about 300-450

ino

Hi misty,

A short cheongsum MTM cost $400 at Ted Collection.
if you take OTR, it's slightly more ex at $450. If you want beading, it will cost you $100-$200 extra.

It's more worthwhile to take their long CS. I juz bought my CS from them. Their CS is sooooo lovely!

misty

hi ino,
how come OTR more ex? I thought it is usually the MTM that is more ex. How much would one Ted collection MTM long cheongsam cost?

heehe... u are definitely not the first one who said that their CS is lovely...

hanyan

Just to share some info...

I am looking around for a dress for my mil. I chanced upon a shop call Mignon at chijmes that sells dresses made fr silk and organza, and there were some short cheongsams. Their design is simple and nice. Some of them quite sweet too. They can also do tailor-made. I asked abt the price and they charge abt $200 for a simple dress and more if you want embroidery or more complicated designs.
I still have not decide yet and this shop cld be one option for me.. but need to bring my mil to take a look

kite~

just wondering is there any recommendations on where to buy or tailor made cheongsum for mum n MIL? usually how much does a cheongsum cost? usually is tailor made or OTR? thanks.

littlegirl

I hv done my dresses frm 2 diff tailor before.

1) Chung Liu Trading, L2 @ Tg Pagar Plaza (Tel 62277866, Sharon). She did for my ROM dress - gd workmanship & best of all, VALUE FOR $$. Workmanship ranges frm $80 onwards. U hv to get the fabric urself, bt b4 u buy, best to show her the dress u would like so tat she can tell u exactly wat material; sometimes she may even hv sample of tat particular fabric, then she can cut abit & let u bring along to source for fabric.

My sis did her CS (those w/ cap slv type, more traditional/ oriental look) & mum did her evening wear during sis's wedding.

Fabric is nt very expensive only, depending on wat kind. I got mine frm Arab Street, although u may alternatively search @ Chinatown also.

2) Mimsy Trading - 63398276, dunno her name though, only rem she's an old lady. It's @ City Hall, I can't rem the exact bldg name; only rem it's beside the back entrance of Funan Centre, facing the old fire station. Her pricing is also abt the same as the abv. Wkmanship also nt bad.

Tis shop is actually the tailor for Espirit, British India & Mango. So you can trust her workmanship too.

littlegirl

it's my sis who did CS, mum did something like CS style bt it's slightly diff frm wat my sis did. my mum & sis each paid $100 for workmanship, then fabric they got themselves lor.

Mum's is those outer layer is a pc of embroidery lace then inner pc is satin. 2 pc joined as one.

Think overall, incl fabric they paid abt $150+/-.???