Cheongsam

kiroro

Hi Julygal,

It's also a good idea to bun up the hair, only concern i have is that it may look aged, depending on the style. so maybe you might want to add a diamante clip somewhere on the hair if u bun it up.. there are several ways to bun .. french twist is nice, bee-hive may be a little overwhelming.

julietk

I'm thinking of making a MTM cheongsam for my wedding in Dec. Any recommendations for a good tailor at a reasonable price? What is the market rate for cheongsam workmanship charges? Thanks!

linda

HI Juliet

There is a tailor in my office building Concourse, Beach Road who has showcase several cheongsums that are REALLY nice. Let me check it out and I let you have the contacts.

sunshine

hi linda,

are you refering to kang's boutique? i think the workmanship is really not bad. my photographer strongly recommended them to me.

u have to call for appt. 2925873. they are off on thursday.

crystal

Hi try Chung Tailor at People's Park Centre #02-12. Tailoring costs $150 excluding material. U can match yr own Chinese knots but they say they can supply for u at no extra costs.

Check out their wkmanship. I find it not bad.

julietk

Thanks for your swift replies! I'm quite lost actually cos I've never worn a cheongsam b4 and don't know where to start looking for one. Very grateful for your feedback.

Linda and sunshine,
Any idea how much the boutique at the concourse charges?

Crystal,
Did u make your cheongsam at Chung's Tailor? Any tips how to look out for good workmanship?

sunshine

hi juliet,

i only heard from my photographer that it's around $300-$400. But I've not check it out personally.

when is your wedding gonna be?

I bought a off-the-rack cheongsam (knee-length) from ICON for my ROM and man, it costs me $179 after 50% off. The workmanship is not very good. so, custom-make will be a good choice.

Crystal, do they have samples there? And can we design our own cheongsam? The price is really attractive. :p

linda

Wow! Kang's boutique's price of $300-400 is kind of out of my budget.....I didn't know they are so ex but I always see different cheongsums on their models and they are always very nice.....

Chung's Tailor's price is more realistic, I mean I dun think we girls are going to wear that again! But I always feel a woman in cheongsum is very sexy.

Crystal, Julietk, Sunshine, when's all your weddings?

julietk

Hi sunshine,

wow, $300-$400 sounds rather expensive. My wedding's in Dec, so not much time left to hunt around as I think MTM takes at least 2 months, rite? I did consider getting OTR cheongsam, but heard that it's best to MTM cheongsam otherwise it might not fit very well. What abt u? When is your wedding? Do u intend to MTM a cheongsam too? Chung's Tailor's price sounds pretty reasonable.

julietk

Hi Linda,

I guess Kang's boutique is the high end type. But I agree their price isn't very realistic. Agree that the cutting of a cheongsam is very sexy. I was thinking of wearing a cheongsam for the tea ceremony, otherwise in future might not have the figure to wear one :p When's your wedding and how's preparations coming along?

sunshine

i do agree that the price is quite steep. so i don't mind looking at chung tailor.

my wedding is next may so i still have time.

Juliet,

I'm also planning to wear a cheongsam for my tea ceremony.

linda

Hi Julietk and Sunshine,

I also want to wear a cheongsum for the dinner, perhaps to send the guest off. And a kwa for the going back to mummy's place...Kekekekekke....

I am waiting to go to the bridal shop for the drawings of my gowns. I sign up with Thomson Broadway. Banquet have been booked already at Marina Mandarin. Wedding is June 2002.

What about the 2 of you?

gim

heard fr a fren dat there's a shanghai tailor in tiong bahru who does mtm choengsams. (her colleague went there to tailor one but hv not collected it yet.)
dunno abt the quality tho coz hv not been to the place. however, if u ladies r interested, i'll ask her for the add.

julietk

hi gim,

I'll be grateful for the contact for shaanghai tailor. If it's not too much trouble, can u find out from your fren how much the workmanship costs and how long it will take? Thanks!

julietk

hi sunshine & linda,

Your weddings r very close, sunshine's in may 2002 and linda's in june 2002. Well, u can still relax cos still got a lot of time to prepare.
My wedding's 4 mths away, and I haven't done anything else except book the dinner venue (Westin) and confirm the gown designs (Graceful Image). Going for the 1st fitting next month. Feel a bit stressed now cos got quite a lot of things not prepared yet eg. shoes, cheongsam, bedroom furniture, guest list, actual day itinerary etc.

gim

hi juiletk,

she dont hv address ... but it is very easy to find. as long as u know how
to get to tiong bahru mkt, u shld be able to locate the shop. it is called "Nelson Tailor", located opp the tiong bahru mkt, juz a few shops away fm the 7-eleven (same row as 7-eleven). she said the duration is very much dependent on her workload. she's not sure how much her colleague pd for it. maybe u can give them a call?
hope i was of some help.

julietk

hi gim, thanks very much for your suggestions!
Will give them a call to enquire.

sunshine

my photographer did mentioned the tiong bahru shop to me. he said he'll check out for me and let me know but till now, no news yet.

juliet,

dun be too stress. maybe u can let us know what else u need. we may be able to help. r u gonna buy or custom make your shoes? i know that to custom make, u need about 1 mth. have u taken your pics yet?

julietk

hi sunshine,

I'm not taking studio photos b4 the wedding, so at least that's one worry off my mind. I think I might have to custom make the shoes, cos I can't find any suitable ones, plus my feet are rather big (size 8). But my fitting's only a month away and dunno whether have time to prepare or not. I thought it's important to get the shoes ready at the 1st fitting so that the hemline can be altered if necessary. Now, I'm also at a lost what to do.

capricorn

hi julietk

Dont worry so much about not having the shoes ready before the 1st fitting. Unless you are looking at 4" shoe (in my case), the bridal shop should have some shoes around (though may not be your exact feet size) for you to try on with your gowns. In my case, my bridal shop altered the gowns taking into consideration of my heel height, and it turned out to be ok (after trying on with my WG shoes during 2nd fitting.)

I hv managed to get my WG shoes from this shop in Lucky Plaza - Meow Lee Shoe Boutique, which is recommended by my bridal shop as they carry quite a wide range of wedding shoes in different heel heights and types. Maybe you wanna take a look there - BUT remember to bargain hard 'cos the actual selling price is so much lower than the listed price (for eg my WG shoes cost me only $49 thou e listed price is $199.90, and $79.90 after 'further discount'!)

As for custom-made shoes, you may like to check it out at Leaping Lizards (@ Intl Plaza or OUB Centre), or Riccino @ Orchard Plaza (look for Hazel - she is a very friendly designer).

Hope the above helps!

julietk

hi Capricorn,

Thanks so much for your advice!
I'll be sure to check out Meow Lee this weekend. Unfortunately, I've always been shy to bargain. Guess got to be more brave this time, heehee. Actually I've been to Riccino but they didn't have a wide range of ready made shoes. Guess I'll have to enquire abt their MTM shoes.

crystal

Hi WOW! Replies r so swift that I m lost. Well, didnt tailor my cheongsam fm Chung tailor but did tailor a kebaya fm them. Will update u gals on the wkmanship & fit later next wk.

No tip leh. To me, the cheongsam on the rack looks fine to me. Check it out, anyway when u go Chinatown, can visit Ocean at People's Pk Market to buy cheap shampoo, pads, blah blah.... It is a place where u can source for cheap stuffs for yr wedding.

julietk

hi Crystal,

I'm sure your kebaya will turn out great! Any special occasion or do u often wear kebayas? Looking forward to your update on Chung's workmanship.

Yeah, I've often been to Ocean to buy toiletries and some makeup too. Their prices are really low. Eg, maybelline or loreal mascara are about $3 or $4 cheaper than Watsons or Guardian. I usually buy a lot of stuff to stock up when I go there. And u could try Poy Kee's (Pei2 Ji4) yong tau foo at the hawker centre on the ground flr, it's really good! I know Koo Kee (Gao Ji) is more famous, but Poy Kee's is much better! Yum!

sunshine

hi juliet,

i think the shoe is really not a big prob for the first fitting as long as u know roughly how high you wanna wear...

hey, u know one of my friend's who is getting married this oct got her shoes at those HDB shops. Surprisingly, it's not bad and it's real CHEAP! They have size 8 too. In case, u're interested, chk out Toa Payoh Central.

Crystal,

Plsss let us know how ur kebaya turn out to be. Are u wearing it for your tea ceremony or what?

julietk

hi sunshine,

I'll try to buy the shoes by this weekend, or if not have them custom made. If i can't have them ready, then I'll just tell the bridal boutique what height my heels will be. Thanks for your advise!

sunshine

hey, juliet!

all the best for your shoes search this wkend. do share if u find anything a real bargain, ok?

i think i'll check out the tailor at tiong bahru this sat. will let u gals know abt it... if i go there.

Have a great wkend.

julietk

hi sunshine,

Thanks, I really hope to my shoe shopping trip will be fruitful too! I'm also thinking of checking out Chung's Tailor, if I have time. Looking forward to your posting regarding the tiong bahru tailor, all ze best!

julietk

Sorry but I didn't have time to check out Chung's Tailor. Sunshine, how was your experience with the tailor at tiong bahru? Crystal, how's your kebaya? For details of my shoe shopping trip, please go to my posting at Bridal Boutiques & services: Some personal experience.

sunshine

sorry, haven't been logging on... i've checked out on the tiong bahru tailor. price is $200up depending on the type of material. For a long one (ankle-length), it is $280 up.

Today, I tried my luck at Chinatown but I couldn't find Chung Tailor. Whereabout is it exactly?

Anyhow, I had new luck. Found a Shanghaiese Tailor at the People's park complex. It is a textile shop so they have their own materials there. If you take their material, it's $280up. If you have your own material, they have to see the material before quoting you.

Crystal, how's your kebaya? Waiting to hear some feedback from you.

Juliet, how? I'm in quite a dilemma. Actually, I'm not willing to pay more than $300 for the cheong sam.

linda

My friend actually suggested to me about renting one at those costumes shops....cos rent cheap cheap mah...but I think they might not fit as well.....

sunshine

i managed to chung's tailor no. but have yet to go down. anyway, worth checking out... the lady whom i spoke to is quite friendly. ankle-length cheong sam starts from $180 and knee-length, $150 up.

linda

You all think we should get the cheongsum done before our photoshoot so that we can bring it along?
And how long does it take to MTM one? My photoshoot is in Jan and I am planning to make one for mummy too and see if I can make a better bargain...kekekekkeke.....

sunshine

hi interested,

the no. to chung's tailor is 5355106.

Linda,

The 3 tailors that i have asked gave a timeframe of 2 - 4 wks. so, if ur photoshoot is in Jan, should have enuff time.

hmmm... i think it'll be good to bring the cheong sam along for photoshoot. so that u'll have more styles in your album.

Are u getting your photos done by Thomson D'sign as well?

sunshine

Hi Linda,

I'm not quite sure yet. I've got a friend who knows Andrew Choi. So, see if he could help me get a great deal.

june tan

I'd like to wear a cheongsum for my tea ceremony. I've already chosen my cheongsum fabric from Chinatown. It's the traditional red Chinese silk. Print is quite subtle. But I'd like to have a more modern design for my cheongsum. Don't want to look too 'or biang'. Any suggestions? I'll be very grateful if you have photos to share with me... Thks...

lotus4

June,

Have u ever thinking of going to Clark Quay and take a look at those shops selling Cheongsum??

U may look at the design there if u want.

I found that it's quite cheap to buy too....
I also buy one for myself for the Tea Ceremony.

june tan

lotus4

Thanks for your recommendation...

I've already combed thru' all the stores that I know which sells cheongsum, including all the websites on the internet. However the design is still quite traditional. Actually I'm looking for a similar to halterneck style but I've yet to see a cheongsum tailored in this style.

Anybody have any reference pls advise...

eunicetan

hmm... with all the attention on cheongsams nowadays, i wonder if i should wear one for my tea ceremony as well

halo june,
here r some pics which i found on the net.
4783.jpg
4784.jpg
4780.jpg
4781.jpg
4782.jpg

eunicetan

here's another one which i thot looked comfy n interesting
might consider having this for my tea ceremony but in another colour n material.

4785.jpg

june tan

Hi eunice

Wow, I really like those sexy halternecks you have attached... I think my husband is going to nose bleed to death... hahahaha what a nice thot.

Thks for your help... I'll see if I can find some more design to share with all you cheongsum fanatics. Cheers....

eunicetan

hey june,

if ur slim eno' to carry it off, u should try a midriff cheongsam
tat should look modern eno' without being over-revealing

star

hi Eunice

Can I know which wesite did u get those pix from. I would like to get more ideas for my MTM EG... wanna someting in mandarin collar.... not much choices in the knot

star

hi eunice

can i know which website u find those pix?? I am getting ideas for my MTM EG.... wan something like cheong sum but there aren;t much choice at theknot

eunicetan

halo star,

well, there isnt one particular website tat i go to. i simply type "cheongsam" in yahoo search engine n surfed thru' all of them. if u wan, i can try surfin thru' n paste any relevant pics tat i see

star

hi Eunice

Thanks a millon for the info and pix!

Really appreciate our kind gesture to post the pix here. I think I can surf around the web ideas, incase posting pix here will slow down the forum.