Cheongsam

cherry_chripy

yeah ! hahahz will share mine when I receive my cheongsam !
hee

loving Jul > my cheongsam is Fuchsia Pink with lots of colourful flowers. It a full lace halter neck cheongsam .

lovingjul

Yingli, no prob! :D

Thanks. I'll take a look at her blog & contact her to check out on charges.

Chirpy, I love Fushia pink too. My CS also have flowers that are in this color.
When will yours be ready?

metro_18

Hehe, looks like the gals here are very excited abt their MTM CS

Me managed to get a CS from my bridal shop.
Thou not exactly the design but save $$.. Haiz, Wld love to get a CS tailor made.. Too bad.. Maybe next time when my Sis get married, then get one for myself.

lovingjul

Hi metro, me din get a chance to wear a tailor made CS for wedding. That time I wore a kwa instead. Thus, to make up for it, I have a CS made for my anniversary photo shoot.

whitetea

all these rave reviews on wilson makes me want to have a CS made by him too..
can i ask if btbs with cs made from wilson, do u have to buy the fabric urself & how many months before u can colelct ur cs?
any btbs interested to go together?

cherry_chripy

Hey White tea, Wilson will have the material cloth
U just need to tell him what design and material u will like and he will give you suggestion.

It normally takes bout 3 months from the time you confirm with him to you collect the cheongsam.

cherry_chripy

Wah very hard to tell you how much he charge leh . Cos it really depend on your requirement. It can range from few hundreds to thousands.

You can meet up with him to discuss more. You must know what you like , like short cheongsame or long cheongsam or long cheongsam with train ? You going for what type of material ? Do you like lace ? Full lace cheongsam ? or even like comes to fabric also plays a part like you like French lace or German lace etc .

It really depends on what you choose .

chinzilla

Cherry have u collected ur CS yet?

loving jul has ur PS been settled?

Im going to view my PS shots this weekend. haiz . hope all goes well

lovingjul

Chinzilla, my PS in june. Only left with MUA to confirm & also the bouquet.

Wow, you must be very excited mann. Keep us updated ok?

animelover

Hi ladies, would like to ask for your views.

I'm thinking of making a short CS (up to waist type) for my ROM in late Nov, but not too sure if I should go ahead 'cos I'm a little short (ard 155cm) with a heavy bottom. Or would it be better to do one that's longer, to knee-length instead or should I just go ahead and make one?

chinzilla

loving jul: oops forgot! You managed to get the venue u wanted? June is pretty fast. Sure will update ya. Maybe post the CS photos if its nice =p

AL: Congrats! Why not? Im considered pear shaped (heavy bottomed) but I got one made. It looks pretty alright on me. I guess the main thing is to consult ur tailor to get a CS that fits ur body type. =)

Alt have seen what u described! the CS as a top with a more gown like bottom? I think that works too.

Pers prefer a longer CS than one that is too short coz it looks more elegant. . Think ht wise if you pair with heels shld be fine!

guinguin

hi AL, I'm considered heavy bottom too but Wilson able to made 1 superb CS for me.. where fit my body very much!

Dun worry, go ahead with it!

lovingjul

Chinzilla, no prob! I'm very excited abt it. Haha.. my hubby laugh at me leh. Say as if we're having our wedding like dat. Women mah... :p

I have problem getting MUA. Hiaz.. seems like most of the them charging me for wedding charges, 2 sets of hair styles/hairdo even thou I'll only need 1 set.

Yap. Have confirmed the venue.

animelover

chinzilla & guinguin: Thanks
Dun think I'll be wearing heels (due to back problem) though HTB quite tall :p

Would it be better for me to rent one or MTM one? I think I'll only be wearing it once. Will need one Mandarin collar suit for my HTB as well. Any suggestions? I've read through this forum and papers. Seems there's Wilson, Kim, Dang and Zion Creation and Mazzario by Mimi for MTM pcs. Any places where I can rent?

guinguin

AL, if u dun intend to wear heels, what kind of shoes u intend to wear?

Hmm, not necessary to wear mandarin collar right? my HB din choose mandarin collar, he jus wear his jacket with tie.... hehe,

animelover

guinguin: Flats? Or maybe sth not too high, 1/2 inch tall.

We were thinking of wearing sth like in the 40s, 50s type
He's thinking of having a theme for the dinner (it's a Chinese rest). See how it goes.

guinguin

then maybe u wan to inform Wilson when u tailor made your CS, tat u will be wearing flat shoes

cool! hehe.. my 2nd march in for my CS, we used 'Teresa Tang' Tian Mi Mi songs :p

yitchieh

I am selling long red cheongsam at $130. Wore it once during tea ceremony for only 3-4 hours.Just bought it a month ago. I am M size with height 155cm. Please email me for photo if interested. [email protected].

animelover

guinguin: That's very sweet! We won't have any march-ins, the restaurant is too small for any walkways

Most likely we'll do our ROM in a suite and then head to the restaurant directly after the ceremony within the hotel. I'm just wondering if I should get one more dress for tea ceremony in the morning or just do everything in the suite.

chinzilla

AL if u wanan rent. can check with ur BS . they shld have some for rental. =) if not just see if u can get oTR? coz some BS the rental is killer.

lovingjul: hee ya la only women will be excited. guys so bo chup. my htb told me he lazy to see the PS shots. =(

guin: cool .. can imagine a v retro feel =)

guinguin

AL, thanks! so your CS intend to wear during tea ceremony or?

Chizilla, xie xie! haha, initially intend to cycle in by bicycle, haha, i think if so our guest so drop off from chair, :p

animelover

chinzilla: I did not sign up any package with a BS. No PS or even PG/VG. Dun feel like spending too much though (wedding bands already almost $10k and the dinner is quite expensive about $1.5k++/table w/o drinks), since my flat is ready by end of this year or early 2012

guinguin: Was thinking of wearing the CS for the ceremony and the dinner. It's considered my AD too.

whitetea

I just met with Wilson & he's really very very nice.. Din noe that he did wedding gowns too... Am thinking of asking him to do a WG for me too.. Any feedback on it?

Have arranged to meet him this sat nn to discuss on CS materials.. so excited..

But I'm kinda undecided on the color & if I should do a short CS for the tea ceremony..

chinzilla

AL: i see . can try wilson (coz his rates are comparable to renting from a BS) or you could go for a AD package with a BS to get the CS / Suit rental. alt delphi does have a few stand alone shop fronts with gowns. Not sure if they can do a rental for u = )

Shouldnt bee too ex! do you have a budget?

Whitetea: glad u had a gd experience with him! . I love his long CS =) tho shorter one is more flexible for tea ceremony. lol im trying to imagine kneeling and getting up and down in a long CS.

wedding gown as in the traditional types? i saw a few of his works. looks ok! .. so my mum is getting her Evening gown made there as with my Jiemeis. =)

whitetea

AL: previously i was doing some reaseched on affordable rental gowns or affordable purchase.. go and check out
1) vivian gown
2) blessed brides
3) flourish collection
4) jweamz gown
5) jv bridal gowns

Chinzilla: Ya, he does traditional wedding gowns too! I was surprised..
He said he will show me the sketches on sat.. cuz if possible maybe i will just do all 3 (CS, short CS & WG) with him.. lolz..
then i can start shortlisting MUA & flowers & photo&video.. -.-lll

animelover

chinzilla & whitetea: Thanks for your suggestions. Will discuss with my HTB after his reservist. Hopefully can settle everything latest by June.

As for budget wise, I have no idea how much is a lot, maybe $1k for both of us, is that a lot? Dunno if I shld get freelance MUA or those fm studios.

Any obligations if I make an appointment with Wilson, can I choose not to take up his services at the end of the day?

whitetea

AL: 1k quite tight le..
Unless u get otr rental from blessed brides, u tell them ur budget and they will share with u the avail range. As for suit, maybe can purchase from excelsior's tailor, should have mtm suit under 500.

animelover

whitetea: Wow... A suit cost so much??!! I better check with HTB and his buddy who is also getting married this September. So can I say $2k is better?

whitetea

AL: ya, 2k safer..
1 bridal shop owner shared with me earlier tat her clients' htb usually go excelsior cuz ard 500 can get a suit. Then u still gotta consider the material of the suit and need to get shirt too. At the men's tailor link think got 1 tailor can do all 3 for ard 500 but i yet to check it out.
Will u be getting evening gown too? Then make up and hair le?

animelover

whitetea: No evening gown. It's a short and simple affair
Sign and eat and byebye :p I might not be having alcoholic drinks too. Mostly are elderly relatives.

So when's your AD?

chinzilla

2k is more flexible for sure !
i think if u just make a long style CS. it wun cost more than 1k. so quite safe. my end i budgeted 1500 for both me and htb. and we got it under there.

chinzilla

whitetea: ur ad is close to mine! im on 11th feb =D

it would have a small train i think and full lace is possible if its not french lace. Wilson charges more for that. beadings wise not too sure. Can talk to him! he isnt that much of a stickler on the pricing.

whitetea

Chinzilla: ya! then how's ur planning till?
Okok, i will try to persuade him to push the prices down.. espy if i do a WG, CS & short CS.. a friend of mine maybe also wanna do short CS with him...

whitetea

i will be making my cs and wg with wilson!

Was at his shop last sat, from 12-2pm, and he was very very patient, nice & gave me lotsa feedback & suggestions... till i finally decided on the colours and the styles.. (was rather indecisive initially)
dunno how he tahan me, when my own friend was totally exasperated with me at the end of the selection.. hehe

instead of outright rejecting my "fancy" ideas, he provided suggestions & even share with me the cons if the gown is to be done my way...

cant wait for my 1st fitting end july.... *excited & nervous*

ps: my friend will also be making short cs from wilson..

chinzilla

heh happy and excited for u! .. sounds like a "big project" do share when its out = ) makes me itchy to get one

lovingjul ya lor all so bo chup! i went to see the photos but im defering the selection till aug

whitetea

hi jane22, my 1st fitting is 3months later, end jul.. and i'm doing both long & short cs.. haha.. short cs for tea-dress.. but he has the kuah to loan too..