CHeapest Place for Electircal GOODS!!

clareding

Based on the recommendation from this forum, I called DAV yesterday to check out the price of Samsung 37" R81 price. The 1st question from the answerer was "what price did u see outstide?". From this question, I realised that actually price can be negotiated.

I told the person that I saw $2599 from Best Denki. She quoted me back at $2509. Before calling DAV, I have called Parisilk and the price quoted was $2390. So I told DAV that I have a lower quote elsewhere at $2390. She checked and called me back later to quote at $2380 nett.

I went to place an order shortly during the day. Wow, didn't know that price can be so much different for a LCD TV. Harvey quoted $3099. It will be good to do some homework to get quotes before calling DAV so as to get a better price.

Hopefully delivery from DAV has no problem....will know only in early Aug....

ekardo

Anyone know where got sell ceiling fan? not looking for the fanciful type but looking for the plain one..heard that KDK is good??

ekardo

Clare,

so coincidence, I am also looking for 37" R81...

did the price that DAV quote you includes the Free gift of Laser printer / HD setup box / HTS / $150 voucher (either one) AND AUTO wall bracket?

I am looking that they are able to deliver to my new house in Aug too.

glad12

Hi ekardo.

KDK is good.. my close friend uses that.. if my hubby allows a ceiling fan, i will definitely go for that..but as to where to buy, i hav no idea..sorry abt tt..

clare, i agree with you.. gotta do some homework first before commmiting.. we were eyein the model you ordered till the sales rep try to sell us LG... hmm hence hav nt commit to any yet.. the price you got fm DAV is payment via which mode?

clareding

Hi ekardo,

Yes, the price include the free gift + free wall mount + 3 yr warranty. This free gift promo is from Samsung which is ending on 30 May (tmr). Redemption of gift is by 15 Jun. U can make a deposit of $500 & claim your free gift first. Installation can be at a later date.

Hi glad, I paid by nets as DAV charges 3% for using credit card. No installment plan. I just pay the min deposit of $500. Subsequent payment upon delivery by cheque or cash. I went to Best Denki and the salesperson also tries to sell LG. Although better specs, I still prefer Samsung design. More classy looking...

ekardo

it's a good question, zenie..

ran thru the list in samsung.com.sg, can't even find any of the shop names mentioned here, only Courts, HN, Parissilk...

clare, do you think delivery in end July is possible if I buy now?? :p

saliva

read somewhere from the forum that is advisable to check the shop that u r buying from if is an authtorised dealer of the brand of electronics u r buying.

If u have bought fr an unauthorised dealer and if anything happen to the product, there will not be any warranty for the product.

NOT sure how true la... better chk b4 buying from cheap retailers

poogle

Anyone brought toshiba refrigerator (GR-M45SDV) recently?

cos i called up Everjoint and they said there is a free $50 voucher, and Hong Liang said there is no voucher? HL's price is cheaper the EJ.

clareding

Hi zenie, not too sure if DAV is an authorised dealer. But I was given the warranty card which is to be handed to Samsung (I will submit when I go down to collect my free gift). Warranty is given by Samsung. So if anything happens to the product, we can look for Samsung if it is covered under warranty....

ekardo, u may want to call & check. Think not a problem as my delivery is early Aug which is close to end Jul.

glad12

Hi Clare,

till now i still cant decide on which brand to go.. but my feel is very likely i will go for Samsung, cos when i compare the images of LG n Samsung, seems like Samsung hav a better quality..

clareding

Hi glad,

We got the Best Denki salesperson to show us the TV program on the LG & Samsung TV (I heard that to test the quality of the TV, should not use DVD images as the quality will be much better than from direct TV program). Although LG has better specs, somehow the images and colour not as good as Samsung. The salesperson said that the human images look fatter on Samsung TV. To me, can't tell the diff on that.

ekardo

went down to DAV on wed evening..and was shock to know that it's only a warehouse..no showroom..haha..

so please call, check price, place order and go there to pay...haha..

nastrix

where is this DAV located??
So far i understand that Hong Liang & DAV prices are very competitive...

Anyways just to check anyone here working at BOSE. Understand their stuff got good discounts for speakers..

clareding

Hi Myk,

The address of DAV has been posted previously in this forum. I have copied & pasted:

DAV located at 21, lorong kilat #01-02 Sun Court
(bt.timah) Tel: 64677767,63147445

ekardo, oh ya...forget to mention to u that it is a warehouse. I was also shocked when I went to DAV. Thought it is a shophouse/showroom but it is a warehouse and the goods are not arranged neatly. I somemore brought my 2 yr old son & 7 mth old daughter with me....

ekardo

I wanted to buy the 37" R81...but thinking that my house only ready in late July...and that the shop was closing when I reach, and that there's nothing to see in DAV...I left empty handed....

if someone were to talk to me..I would have bought it..haha..

comparing the price of around 2.4k, I am considering Hitachi 42" plasma now..same price...

ekardo

just called up DAV..
they dun carry Hitachi and Teka..

know of any shops that give good price for Teka ?

shmily07

hi try universal union for teka...pls bargain...theyc an go up to 15% d/c for non sale period. but i did buy a lot of stuff from them

keki

Can universal union accept credit card payment?

I went to Kong Tai @jurong west, offers competitive pricing but they only takes cash and nets payment.

ekardo

I can get 15% discount from Asia Excel too...if paying by cash..can get a few more % discount..

but, I think I better wait for the offical 20% discount..

oxygen_bar

after doing much reading on this forum, I called up several stores given by the forummers like DAV, Min Sheng, Sweetson, Kong Tai, Hong Liang and Asia Excel for quotations. I find that Hong Liang and Kong Tai offers the cheapest but I ended up buying from Harvey Norman because the salesman was able to match the lowest price given by these shops and I get to pay by credit card without surcharge, buy their extended warranty and use the installment plan! Bought a Mit V45s fridge for $690, a novita steamer SS19 for $320, a philips handheld vacuum FC6092 for $80 and a samsung DVD player for $90. For me, that's already a good deal. I belive for people who wants to buy TVs and aircons the savings would be even more because my fridge on promo at HN is already $899 and I got it for $690.

But doing my research, I realise that not all salesman are willing to match the price. I think maybe it depends how eager the salesman is in closing the deal. I went to the HN at millenium walk and told one of the salesman if he's willing to match my price and when he heard my price, he told me "oh, like that ah, you can go buy from them lor". But when I went to the HN in Central Mall, this salesman was willing to match my price!

Just to share some pointers from my experience, for those who would like to buy from big stores like HN or courts,
1. Do your research. Write down the list of items you want and call up the neighbourhood stores for quotation (do a comparison table. Do remember to check with them if prices includes GST and delivery charges.
2. Take the quote down, and ask if the salesman willing to match your price if you are getting these items. Be confident! If the salesman question you things like, "oh maybe they havent include gst... " so that they can raise the quote a little higher (you've done your homework!) Just tell them tat's the nett price quoted.
3. If you go to one store and they r not willing to match your price, go to another one. Or, you can email me [email protected] for the contact of the salesman who matched my price!Just contact him direct.

I hope that helps. Good luck in appliance hunting.

glad12

hi all, i agree with Breathe but im reali surprise tat HN can match leh.. hmm.. tink i shd go talk to them liao man.. cos i've been talkin to Gain City and apparently they are cheaper than others and able to match the price which i got from Parisilk stall..

thanks for your info.. i've also drop you a mail.. thanks

ekardo

I intend to get electrolux frpnt load washing machine...is the price controlled??

have anyone tried calling the HN guy ?

darry

Hi breathe (oxygen_bar),

I have always heard of DAV and HL and Kong Tai selling cheap electrical goods. Do you mind to email me their address and tel? My email address is [email protected]. Thanks.

ekardo

thanks to breathe..I give big stores a chance to earn my $$..

was at HL on Sat night..was quoted $X for a washing machine..

and I went to Hougang HN...and manage to get $x-1 and pay by CC, and 12 months instalsment..and confirm better service...

now, I only need to test HN's delivery...

ekardo

woohoo...

bought most of my stuff..so happy with all the electronis stuff..but very sian about my furniture..

Sharp Aircon - Allbest
Hob and hood - teka
Hitachi Plasma TV, Joven Water Heater, KDK ceiling fan - Everjoint
Electrolux Washing machine - HN
Omazz bed - Robinson
Sofa and dining - Red apple (rather worried about this)

nastrix

Hi Folks, will like to share with you my experience.

Few of the threads here mention abt HN in central Mall. I have a done a lot of homeworks, getting prices from different places and start to compare. So I went to HN central mall, meet one of the guy there who i was referred to by one of our forumers here. The price he quote me for my items that i want was very high. So when i told them abt the price that i can get at other place, u know what he told me..."you can go there and buy loh"....never give up i went to HN millenia walk to meet up with the salesman whom i met before fews mth back where he have explain to me very detail on washing machine. I ask him if he can match my price quoted for all the items that i want to purchase. To my surprise he said YES he can match the prices and even surprise when he told me i can do an installment payment with 0% interest I was very shock coz the prices that i get from small shops wants me to pay cash else they can't give me the price. The price difference @ HN central Mall quoted me was abt $400 and its a cash mode payment there.

So i do agree with u guys here no all places and salesman can give you the price you want. You need to do lots of homework before you start purchasing. If any of you guys wants the contact of this saleman @ HN millenia walk PM me. Nice things are meant to be shared. Happy shopping folks!!

ekardo

as I have mentioned earlier..

I quoted:

"actually I doubt going to the same salesman help..which have experience...unless you are going to buy the exact things..

each of the salesman have a territory..like getting a Washing machine cheap from Guy A, doesn't mean he can match you the price for TV...

go to any HN and try your luck..."

nastrix

ekardo
mine was the same salesman who was able to match the whole items in my list. (some items may be slighly more & some are way lesser. in total they are of the same amt)but shops like D*V, H**g Li**g and some other places u got to pay cash for the price that i purchase it can be made in instalment @ HN MW. Like i have mention earlier NOT all HN can give you the price you want. I had a bad experience at Central Mall ones

as for me i've decided on the items & models which i need to purchase. so its just abt getting the right prices that fits in my pocket. I myself was quite surprise that HN @ MW can giv me the price. With the extra cash that i have, i even bought the extended warranty which small players can't offer. This is even optional.

Folks, I am just sharing with you my experience. Personal thoughts is decide on what you want and call for quotations and start comparing. Some salesman may change your mind on the models you selected with their criticism. Dun get influence & to hack with them.Stick to your principles & move on. With a little luck at your side you may experience just what I've experience.

glad12

Myk, ya man.. i agree wif you on that cos the salesperson will kind of influence your decision one lo.. so hav to stick to wat you wanted... happy for you that you got good deals for yourself.. i've PM you for the contact cos i reali need to order my stuff already lo.. stress man.. thanks in advance..

babybluez

Hi. I'm looking to buy the Mitsubish V45s too. can I have the contact for the salesmen? Also I thinking of the stainless steel one. Is it true I have to pay $100 more everywhere? Thanks in advance.

doraeoink

Hi Myk,

Can email me the salesman contact @ Millenia? Email: [email protected].

Just went to HN @ Central today. One of the salesman asked me whether would I confirm the purchase for TV and Washing Machine if he were to give me a special price! Told him to let me know how much he can offer and I would decide but he just simply said I must confirm purchase first. Then he would tell me what is the special price. So fed up and I left!

glad12

Myk, thanks for your contacts..

babyblues, sama sama ya..im aso gettin the one tt you are keen.. but im lookin at gettin stainless one.. yes, at least 80 more ex then the normal one..

nastrix

HN @ Central used to be well known for their ability of match pricing but lately the people there is not friendly and in fact some were rude.

Oink u've got mail.
Try your luck with this sales guy. Hopefully u can have a good experience there. Cheers!!

babybluez

I just called Sweetson for the price of the stainless steel Mitsubish MR-V45s. She quoted me $840. which I don't think is low enough. Anyone else got lower?

I'm also buying a Dyson vacuum cleaner. The cheapest place is at Courts where I have a discount with a credit card. Not sure if I can bargain very much for the fridge there.

Can I have the contact for the nice Harvey Norman salesman? my email is [email protected]

glad12

Hi Babyblues,

i bought all my stuff liao.. got them all from harvey... gotten a samsung 37" R81, MR-V45-ST and a philips rice cooker which i can bake cake in it.. pretty good deal as i got quote from the others.. im also lookin for a Dyson vacuum cleaner.. i din noe it was so ex till i went courts juz now man.. ai yo.. the other ting tt i need will b the standing fan for my livin room...

clareding

Hi glad, can I know how much you pay for your Samsung 37" R81? I think the price has dropped since I bought 1 month ago.

glad12

hi clare,

i got it at $2260, which i still can pay by credit.. i dunno if it is the lowest but then as i compare wif the rest, this is the best i got apparently..

zacey

i finally got my fridge at HN... went millenia walk... this salesman is very nice... i asked whether can get a cheaper price.. he said he will try... asked his supervisor and gave me 10% off the list price and give me the vouchers promised by agent somemore... i have compared with the neighbourhood shop... pricing is better... somemore can use credit card... hee...

you guys can go HN Millenia Walk and check out the pricings..

nastrix

its nice to hear that u guys got the stuff there (HN @ MW) i think they really have a good deal there.

got some feedback from all of you guys whom i reffered to and manage to get good deals from him. and some of you even got lesser than what i get arrrggggghhhhh..... but its okie. I'm still happy with my purchase there

glad12

Myk,
i got it from Parkway cos HN@MW cant match my price.. hehe.. but im waitin to ask him for quote for dyson vacuum n also kdk fan lo.. hehe