Cheap lightings shop to recommend

yah si si it is a good buy some more atco ballast try lite vault at balestier point. Maybe they are new shop that why service and price very good.

May i know when we buy PLC downlight does it come with ballast and the PLC bulb? What is the normal price for a PLC downlight? Also where is a gd shop where i can buy a round-shaped light?

Thks in advance.

I bought my PLC lights from "The Light Shop". atco ballast and akira bulb, 13W for only $10 each. But minimum quantity to commit is 20pc. By the way anyone has experience with this shop? Jus opp palace of lights.. Think price wise quite ok cos I spent total of $900 for whole house lightings including balcony area and 20 downlights. Initially turned off by their high retail price tag. But only get to know that the price tag is for contractor's customers due to commision for the contractors. So we got quite a huge discount off the retail price tag. If you just want to compare price by taking into their price tags, they are considered high end. So remember to ask for the real consumer discounted price. Will only get to install my lights in June so will update you guys when I got all my lights.

i have brought my lights, instant heaters, mirrors, bathroom accessories, doorbell, ceiling fan from Litehouse in balestier. anyone also brought any item from them before?

Cyruslll,
As for me, I din ask cos dunno how to ask also. When I saw the high price tag, I did not even bother to ask if there will be a discount cos think that even if there is, there wont be much lah. But it happened that I like one piece of light in that shop very much, so I ask the boss (Raymond) who happen to serve me if he can give me a cheaper price for that piece cos think is quite expensive.

Then he told me not to look at the price tag. Just ask him the price direct. I will suggest you to ask him "how much does this light cost" even tho the price tag is there..Surprisingly, alot of the lights are considered quite cheap when I ask him to rename the prices for a few pieces which I like also.

Eventually I got all my kitchen, toilets, dining, bedrooms etc lights from them. By the way I did my homework in Jalan besar already before coming to balestier. Their Price is about there, very reasonable, but service is definitely better than what I have encountered maybe becos I deal directly with the boss.

From what I know, the company has no other branch..In any case, I have yet to know their after sales service as in whether they will deliver the right goods or any defects etc.. Will update when the deal is complete. Till now, I am still a satisfied customer, keep my fingers crossed

rachel,
the price tag is for the customer recommended by the ID. MOstly the price is 10%-20% more than the usual consumer price. (The 10%-20% will be the commission for the ID)

i finally bought my plc lights fr elite illumination. they nvr display their prices on their price tags but so far after scouting a few lighting shops i find that their price are most reasonable coz they offer die cast plc fitting with atco ballast which is best recomended by many other shops ive been to but elite price are so far the best by the way it cost me $12 for atco ballast and laniber tube

Hi si si,

The plc downlight u bought is the single tube type or double? I just bought a double tube from Light Arcade at $14 which i think is very cheap too.

Hi all, it seems that all of u got the plc light at a very cheap price. May I know does the price include the fitting, ballast and bulb? As far as I know, the cost of ballast and bulb already adds up to abt $10. Thus to have the PLC fitting included at such a cheap price seems incredible. Pls advice.

I bought all my lights at
CROWN Lighting
600 Geylang Road
Sunny : 91876969

I find that he is able to give better discounts. Probably because their shop has less frontage and less superior location therefore less rent. Being the owner Sunny can make decisions for better discounts.
I find that sales from other unable to give real discounts, i guess they are constrained by boss and need to earn commissions.

I totally agree with Volare about Sunny giving better discount.
In fact as I have mentioned last year, I bought most of my lights from Crown Lighting. I only regretted trying to get my dining light from the stupid Palace of Lights and ended up having to endure all the s**t as mentioned in my previous postings here.
Anyway I will be getting my dining light from Crown this week.

Hi all, need advice. juz bought my living room light. its with 4 pcs of G5 halogen light bulbs. these few days the light 'tremors' (suddenly dim and bright ) than went off or can't light up when switch on at times. but when switch on the next day will be oki than start the problems again. anyone know wats the problem?

hi jes, may i know what was the problem with your lights and how it was repaired?

I am a hopeless case when it comes to light repairs

I've just bought all my lightings from Light Arcade. Look for the boss, Andrew. He should be there most of the time and he's able to recommend the type of lightings for your house. I've bought 16 square downlights (2x13W), 1 hanging light, 10 ceiling lights, 4 round halogen lights all for $850. They come with 1 year warranty for the PLC and 1/2 year for the rest. I think it's very worth it.

Hi tsukushi

I bought some lightings at Etoile Lumiere last week.
Initially we saw a crystal flower hanging light which they quoted us $380. Then we ask them what is their best price and guessed what? We bargained and they quoted $220. Then we bargain again, and they willing to let go at $200.
We are stunned as they can slash it down to as high as $180!
I find the salesmen are not very honest when we ask them where are the lights from? I got a different answer another light shop in Jln Besar.
You have to really spent whole day in Balestier to get the BEST price.
My advice to you is to do more window shopping and you will be surprised you can save big bucks at the end of the day.

Hi Wendy,

May I know which guy did you talk to at Etoile Lumiere? Can you pls PM me?

How did you manage to bargain so much with them, can share your tips?? We tried to bargain but only pushed down like $10 (might as well don't bargain).

When the guy says the lighting is made in Italy, how do you verify?

Hi Tsukushi

The salesmen who served me is Andy (single eye-lid guy).
He spoke to his boss (a fair plump bespectabled men) and then we paid for $200.
One of my friend said that the carton will normally show "made in Italy"..if not... it won't have any markings at all. Another salesmen whom I spoke to told me frankly that Italy lights don't come cheap... most lighting stores only carries 20% Italy lightings as the price is steep. So he told me the one I bought is definitely not from there. Found out that it is from Hong Kong...

I also bought all my lightings in Light Arcade. Never really compare prices. Light Arcade was the very first shop I visited. Andrew very friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of ideas! Even advised us what not to buy cos he feel that it's not neccessary. Did help us to save some money. 6 ceiling and 3 foyer lights @ $550.

nutty

do u know where the designer lightning shop is? is it opposite the famous 933 xxx? any website?

they hv no wide range of lightnings?

tnx

Hmm... not sure of the exact location, but it's on the opp side of 933. Not exactly opp 933 but somewhere *quite* near. I guess you can just walk along that stretch and keep a lookout.

tnx tsukushi

do u know whether it has a wide range of lightnings and is it cheap?

tryg 2 source for lightnings...which is gd?

tnx

hey moo,

went to balestier today. designer lighting shop is opp boon kee chicken rice stall. it is next to fragrance hotel, and next to the hotel is balestier shaw.

not sure what you mean by special lightings. what we do is to walk around and compare. :P

Hi all, we bought our lightings from Pan Tech Light Trading House opp Chinese Gdn MRT. I believe they are husband and wife team only. Very good service. Price is reasonable. Delivery is punctual.

hi tsukushi

u renovated your whole hse already? do u noe how much wiring cost? it is excluded frm my contract

i hv false ceiling and l box. v upset tat we forggot to add into our contract.

Hi roxyz

is the cost included in yr reno contract?did u get yr id to do the wiring or u engage a 3rd party?

thx

so gd, tsu, no need to get headache over this...

went 2 lumiere n chan huat yest...love their swaroski lighting but so ex...one downlight, min is 158...

anyone knows where u can get a similar one w cheaper price?

both services r good

no time to venture to other shops..we went there pretty late...anyone bought from thomson lighting? e one in shaw plaza?

yeah we bought from Ben of Thomson Lighting in Shaw Plaza. we both liked his service and thought he was pretty good. we bought downlights and a dining light about half a year back.

pst

moo,

hi sorry can't help u there. can't recall the price already. also dunno which country's better. think the one we bought was dunno australian or european ballast. but seriously can't recall anymore. only remember we had a very good experience buying from him.

pst

I just bought my lights from Light Arcade also...Andrew's a very friendly person and will advise us wat we need and dun need.

Got the below for $1,080 ( with installation )
- 14 double tubed Australian Atco ballast and Spain holder & Osram bulb downlite
- 6 4feet flourescent tube
- 6 halogen spotlights
- 1 hamburger light
- 2 kitchen lights & 2 bedroom lights
- 1 crystal light for foyer
- 1 crystal hanging lights for dining ( consist of 6 crystal with coloured bulbs )

Very worth it...we went to a few shops to compare prices before coming to Andrew. We like his service and his prices are very reasonable esp as it includes installation

hi brambles

Lights Arcade is at 328, Balestier Road. Tel: 63584180 Look for Andrew, he's the boss

Warning: Dun go there or any lightings shop with ur ID, they will confirm ask for commission. Go to the shop and decide the model & price first, then once price is fixed, just ask your ID to come and see the design ok or not. In this case, ur ID wun be able to earn commission since u approached the shop yourself first

hi interrace
this is the lights we bought...but the poto doesnt do much justice to the real ting....it's not the chandelier type..normal simple crystal design

the bulb is multi coloured which is more obvious in the real ting

291592.jpg

Hi roxy,
tks for the pic.
i saw alot of this lights too, will like to buy for my MBR

is warm light rite ? not those white kind.
However was told that the glass will be very hot to touch after leaving the light on for long period?

i tink this type of lights wun be suitable for ur MBR coz this are halogen lights....mainly switch on for a while for deco purposes only. After a while, the lights will become very warm.
If u wish to get this type of hanging lights, u shld get the energy saving ones but it wun be as nice as the halogen ones....

I took dis light coz i have alot of downlights in my dining area, so dis light is more for deco purposes..wun really switch on

there are mainly 3 types of light : white, cool white & warm white. U can also choose warm white for ur energy saving lights, then it wun be as hot as the halogen ones. It's halogen bulbs dat will be very hot after use

i see, tks roxy for the tips!
Will make my trip down to lights arcade in few wks time.
U get ur lightings when reno is near to the end rite ?