Cheap lightings shop to recommend

simi si hamburger lights? can eat one or not? hehehe.

aiyah, my colleague very nice, he gave me a list of shops to go if i wanna buy lights or other furnishings. very touched leh, next time must treat him to big lunch already.

Actually hor, I more concerned about the quality of the lightings i buy. They should be good and more importantly, energy saving. Cost is a secondary considerations for me lah. But i want good ones. Seems like everyone got their favourite shops to go to already leh.

actually hor, i think hamburger lights very common lor... its the simplest thing that u can find ah!! hehehehe....

just fix up my Dining light, its those dropping 3 lights one lor... then supposed to be when u on the lights, u can either on 1 of it or all 3 of it mah.. then come, cannot adjust one, when on, all 3 will light up!! realized that the stupid shop did not fix in the IC control for me to adjust the lights!! ta ma de!

CAB,
me here again lah, report to u first ah!! heheheh... hamburger lights those super simple one lor... round round one no design one lah!! eat???? waa.... lau.. u so hungry man.... if u can eat hamburger lights hor, dun wait liao lor... go outside set up a space, "biao yan" ur eating light skills man!!! then i go ard collect money from people who see lah... hehehehe....

hey skylar, how come everywhere see u again ah? hehehe.
eh, i read somewhere that u going to marry already ah? congrats lah...at least got someone want u already...heng ah! must pray ancestors already...lol.

i went ikea yesterday to look at lightings at some of the furniture. my wife finally showed me wat is hamburger light already...so now i got greater understanding....she smart hor?

Hamburger lights like very very simple that kind leh..dun think it should cost that much rite? if u find it too expensive, I am sure u can go to other places to get cos it's so common. dunno why they called it hamburger lights tho...looks more like an inverted condom to me...keke.

oei skylar, dun shy leh. can show me how your house look like or not? attach some pictures lah can?

CAB,
oei... u dun make me 'na bei' u lor.... wat pray ancestors? kaoz.... plss lor.... my HB is a very lucky man to have me leh.... think he must pray suckling pig ah!! hahahha...

ya lor, me getting married next mth liao... why? u wanna pass me ang bao ah? no problem man! must bao big big ah! TOTO wu strike bor?

think u should also pray ur ancestor ah! at least ur wife is smarter than u leh.. hehehe.....

hamburger sounds better than condom rite? imagine u go into a shop & ask, "eh, u got condom light bor?" win already lor....

my house still in the midst of reno lah, u want me to attach pix of wat? dust & rubbish ah? hahha... when done liao then show u lor, ur house leh? let me see leh

skylar, where got pple pray to suckling pig one? u think some kind of cult ah? hehe. eh...i already told u the toto thing already. angbao dun had lah, but if u wanna makan den on lah! no need for me to say more already rite? <wink>

eh my house also doing reno now leh. these few days doing hacking. I was thinking of not having a housewarming party, but my mum wants leh...very funny hor? If i hold a housewarming, u wanna come or not?

I like your suggestion leh. next time i go to those light shops, i am going to ask, "got any condom lights or not?" and see how's the reaction..sure very funny one...lol

CAB,

Ok ah! onz u ah! me married u must treat makan ah! mai niao lor... heheheh.. go kopitiam also can ah! hehehee....

ohh ur hse also in the midst of reno ah? same like me lor... damn dusty hor!! how come u hack ah? wat u hack?? how much u do ah ur hse? oei, btw, where is ur hse?

good leh, ur mom still want housewarming ah? good leh, like dat many peole go &amp; celebrate &amp; zhong xi for u leh... ok ok, onz u again, must invite me to ur housewarming ah! sure come one ah!
139893.gif

u try &amp; ask hor, "oei, li wu condom hei bor?" in hokkien together with ur bengness lah! ka na, wait sekali u kena box, seow liao!!

hi skylar
yr dinner lights like same as mine lei...3 dropping one...ke ke ke...
hamburger lights more for kitchen and toilet....very cheap.... i think 1 cost abt $5- $8..... Cant remember how much I bought liao....
Ai ya should have know u earlier...my bro got kang tou on lightings.....

waa lau... ah... Cool,
ur hamburger lights so cheap ah!! waa lau... me bang wall again liao lah... haiz.... ok ok, next time, me got anything for lightings, look for u liao ah! Steady!

book,
all shop do installation for lights lor, some charge at $8 per point leh, get ur contractors do for u better mah..

CAB,
hahaha... ya man! woa si hokkien lang ah! u too? hehehehe.....

oei, u go ask ur "condom hei" liao then tell me ah! hahahah....

bbokworm, u got ur lightings from chan huat alrdy? i got mine from them, abt 7 diff ones... but when my electrican tried to install them, 3 were not in proper wkg order. i was very pissed... am bringing the goods back to them, waste my time and energy... and we had to suffer the darkness the last few nites since we shifted in.

hi starz, serious? oh man, the thread is full of praises for chan huat, anyway u have any idea if they do installation for us?

I got my lights from Chan Huat too
Working till now... its been one year plus liao.

My mum ones too... not yet have change any downlight aft 3 years. But do remember that there was 1 'balas' not working when we install the light at my mum pl previously.

Starz...maybe at times, some defect does happen... but there are worst ones we heard here at SB... give n take la
Their service in shop good rite?

actually i do agree they hv a good selection of variety and i muz say their svc is gd either... my guess is their QA din perform a thorough check on their items lor... almost 50% of the items i bought din make it... i dunno izzit coz its my bad luck. anyway i will b bringing them back 2mrw, will b gettg replacement lor. hopefully everything will b resolved after this.

i believe they will do installation, juz not sure whether they charge u anot. if this replacement lighting cannot make it, i am gog to demand they come and fix it 4 us FOC liao!

rabbitwsk,
yah their svc is gd, i wun deny. its not the salesperson's fault but the QA, i wld think. i will feedback to them when i bring thoselightings back. they shld upkeep their gd reputation.

actually we din even bother to go a lot of shops to recce... only abt 4 shops? then we settled on chan huat coz they got gd variety. many of my frens commented tt we actually paid more 4 our lightings but we dun mind as long as the lights r functioning properly, then this had to happen!

Hi *starz*,
agreed with what reabbitwsk, some defect did happen not only to light.
I myself bought all my 11 lights cum 2 dispaly cabinet light at Chan Hup. All are ok.
Their staff are friendly and approachable. Delivery wise is on time and said that if there is any problem just bring the lights back.

Yup, all shops did installation for lights. some charges delivery fees of $30 followed by $10 for first lights and for subq lights charges at $8. some contractor charges betw $8-$10.
Chan Hup did have a lot variety of lights that's why I choose to buy fr them.

could it be the electrican spoilt the light accidentally when he install? usually, light will be tested b4 they are delivered out mah.

hi afcai, one of the lighting cant b fix at all, as the base and the "stem" of the lighting to b attached to this base is simply not compatible, thus tt explained why my electrician cant even fix it. this i believed is their fault.

the other one is a dual lighting type, the electrician tried to on both sides, but only the faulty side cannot b lit up while the other one is perfectly ok.

as 4 the blown fuse, it lit well on the 1st day and was blown out on the 2nd nite we switched it on.... sigh...
wat can i say?

but of coz i am not slamming them totally. i do agree they give gd variety and svc.

Hi "starz"",

I think they will change the faulty lights for you. maybe u can test on the spot to ensure the lights function well.

Hi pple,
recommend this shop called Crown Lighting at 600 Geylang Road.
The shopowner is called Sunny, quite friendly.
My advice is for you to see what kins of lighting design you like at other shop and then go to him and tell him. He knows got lots of "lobang", so he will be able to get you a good price for them.
Best of all, he personally delivers of the lights most of the time. Last weekend, I ordered some downlights from him and told him they needed to be delivered by MONDAY cos my electricians would be at my place. He took the effort to get his friend to deliver 2 downlights first in the early afternoon and he came down with the rest in the evening (cos warehouse delayed the delivery to Sunny), so that the electricians would have something to do. He even apologised to my contractor's electricians for being late and offered to buy them drinks.
Here is what I orered:
Kitchen - 2 round glass lights 32W/ Toshiba tube (R.O.C.)
=> $30 each
Living Room - 8 4ft Toshiba flourescent tube (day-light) c/w 2 clips each and starter
=> $6.50 each
- 8 PLC round downlights (glass flush wif surface) c/w Philips 13w (Holland) and ERC (italy) ballast
=> $16 each
2 bedrooms - 2 40W round glass lights, with glass outer-rim c/w 32W tube (4got brand) and ERC (italy) starter.
=> $60 each
walk-in-wardrobe - same design as bedroom ones except 22W c/w 22W tube instead.
=> $45

He will try to give you good parts (eg PLC, ballast, starter) from Italy, Holland, Japan.
Will try to post pictures of my some of my lights next time.

hi smurf, would like to see pics of your lights once they r done. can send them or post here for us to see? my email is [email protected]

by the way, wat r ballast? I am also in the process of selecting lights..but must get aircon first.

CAB,
dun blame me for kpo inside here again hor... kaoz... ur email also one kind leh... buay tahan ....

u dunno wat is ballast?? pengz..... guess ur intelligent wife will show u soon ... kekeke...

Smurf,
me also wanna see ur light too ya! thanks! i think that ur bedroom lights very smiliar to mine leh, my also with lass outer &amp; inter rim one, its a funny shape tube rite? izzit?

ur LR is usng flourescent tube ah?

Hi CAB,
if I am not wrong, ballast acts like a "fuel" for the PLC lights. They quite similar to the starters we see in the circular lgihts we see in many houses. They usually have a life span of 5 years.

Hi skylar,
my round lights got glass outer rim. But this rim has 3 screws that will secure another bowl-shaped glass. I Think is different from yours. Your "funny shaped tube" is like a "W" shaped one and is VERY bright one issit? Mine is the normal round tube leh.
You r rite! My LR using flourescent tubes in false ceiling.

smurf,
ooh i see, maybe different, ya my glass got 2 layer of glass, inner &amp; outer lor... with 4 screws one... the W shaped one is not very bright lor, i know of another one which is super bright man... aiyoh.. think i will go blind with that one... perhaps me free free, go take pix of my light &amp; share share with u all here ya! hehehehe....

but i seldom see flourescent tubes in false ceiling leh, i thot its always downlights? curious of ur lights now....

skylar,
very the sorrry..too tired to take photos of the lights today, but not too tired to reply to you
. maybe this weekend.
think I better clarify wif you. The fluorescent tubes are not built INTO the false ceiling. Got 2 false ceiling with L-shaped ledges at the ends. These ledges are where the tubes are placed to create an indirect lighting effect.
paiseh, my england not very the good

afcai, yah, i hv no doubt tt they will change the faulty ones 4 me lah. and yes, will test out on the spot so that i wun hv to make a wasted trip again.

btw wats these "hamburger" lights u guys r talkg abt? i cant comprehend wat kind of lighting is tt.

starz, according to skylar hor....u can call the hamburger lights condom lights also.....hahahahaha.

just kidding lah, at first i also dunno simi si condom..eh, hamburger lights, but now i know already. it's those sort of very plain light bulbs like that..that sort u see on bathroom last time....u know?

smurf, wat is PLC lights? so ballast is a kind of fuel...u mean like kerosene or something? okok, i dun ask so much first, I go check out from my contractor...wait "somebody" say I damn one kind....hmmmp. lol....

skylar, u always come stalk and suan me ah....of cos my wife intelligent lah...or else how come she choose me...kekeke
Aiyah, i very blur cos i haven't done my research on lights mah. If u ask me things about aircon, water heater, staircase railings, and window casing, I sure sound damn knowledgeable one....put place put time...sure beat u with one finger while digging "gold" with other finger one....kekekeke.

smurf,
ok, kinda still blur with ur amazing lights... nvm, during the weekend take pix liao then share share with us here ya! to increase our knowledge! hehehee,,,,,

CAB, oei, the condom light is invented by u hor, wat inverted condom.... how come now kena me liao?? hehehehe,.....

no lah, CAB, dun like dat say leh... dun get offended hor, pai seh pai seh.... i punch myself ok?!? just like talking to u lor, coz u nv fail to add a smile on my face mah!

wahhh... dig gold?? where? inside ur nose ah! that kinda gold, me alot ah! share with u next time lah, dun say i niao lor... hehehehe.,,..

alamak skylar,
my indirect lighting not fantastic at all! You will surely see this effect in yr fren's houses. Just tt my england not good euff to explain to you leh..
how about you share pics of yr lightings? Mebbe I will then have an idea of what kind of light to get for my MBR.

paiseh CAB, I dunno what PLC stands for. Think you better ask yr contractor.

alamak, ah beng! u freak me out when u say hamburger lights r like condom lights!
but why call them "hamburger"?

yah if u r sayg those typical bathroom lights, i do get it.

u very funnie lah!

starz, i also confused like u. wonder why they call them hamburger lights in the first place. dun u think they look like inverted condoms? "tiobo"?

skylar, u think i will be so easily offended or not? please lah....relak leh...hehe.

HAHAHAHAHHAAHAAA, ah beng, u really very the "gao xiao"!!!!

i can imagine the puzzled expression on ur face now!

U SEE!!! CAB, u also "gao xiao" one leh....
me not the only 1 who say lor hor...
inverted condom lights... kaoz... ur "manhood" got so big bor? to fit into the hamburger light?? hehehehe.....

Smurf,
ok ok, me try take &amp; show u ok?

ah beng, exactly mah! we r talking abt lights but u referred them as inverted condoms? i am the one tt is scratching my head leh!

hahahaha... starz,
ya lor... haiz... maybe Ah Beng is hinting that he long time neber use condom liao lah....
waahahahhhhaa...
pai seh hor, I know Ah Beng is gonna kill me for this!

heeee, u both very funnie, i always see u both "bickering"!

he go and made himself confused abt all these lightings stuff! heeee...

aiyah... starz....
dun like dat say leh... u say bickering hor, that Ah Beng will say i suaning him leh....

hehhhe... he always confused one lah... but neber mind, he very lucky! his wife very smart...

Just want to share with u guys one place that sells reasonable-priced lighting. I happen to see their ad on Straits Time. The shop's name is Silic, located at Jalan Pemimpin, #03-08. Hope I get the unit no. right. So far, I'm happy with their pricing and service. Their lights are cheaper than Chan Huat at Balestier. In the end, I saved around 300+ for my lightings, as compared to buying from Chan Huat or other lightings shop at Balestier. One thing to note though, they accept cash (not nets). If pay by visa, got extra 3% charges. So bring your cash if need be.

starz...
ya lor, CAB must pray his ancestors to be able to get his wife ah!!! this kinda luck where to find sia....

Smurf,
me take pixs of my lights liao.. share share with u all ya! hehehehe...
Common Bedroom lights
156018.jpg

Master Bedroom lights
156019.jpg

Dining Cylinder Lights
156020.jpg

Living Room Fan Cum Lights
156021.jpg

Lastly..... CAB favourite "Condom" lights (Toilet Hamburger lights)
156022.jpg

hi skylar,

mind asking how much did you pay for your
- Living Room Fan Cum Lights?
- mbr lights, and
- dining lights?

hi kizmat,
me got my lightings for whole house including all downlights for $1K so roughly is like...

~ fan cum lights - $300
~ MBR lights - $50
~ Dinning lights - $250
can't really remember the prices liaoo...

skylar, wah u MIA 4 a while huh!

ohhhh so tt is the hamburger lights ah??? does it look like condom????? *scratch head* why ah beng classified it as one??

Hi skylar

thanks foe sharing,u bought from chan huat too.might be down to purchse light either this weekend or next one.
i went to chan huat near the jackson hawker last week, hmm..not many selection a lot of those crystal lights though...
which is the biggest chan huat, at balestier?
really don't know what to buy?

Hi skylar
Paisay long time never login to this thread....
You dinner lightings almost same as mine
but yrs nicer...hee hee....mine is plain one.....
Cos my bro got kan tou mah.... I got rebrate somemore...hee hee

Hi skylar,

yr common bedrm quite nice, transparent type. haa..seems look like pizza light.(cos flat type) wow, you spent quite a lot of the lightings.

Hi Bookworm,

the biggest Chan Huat showrm consists of two storey located at balestier. there's got a lot of variety to choose from. you can see a very biggest sign outside the 'showrm'.

bookworm,
ohh no lah, i did not buy my lightings from Chan Huat coz very expensive lor, when i go in to inquire about the price... hehehee... no $$ must budget budget mah... i bought it along Balestier Road....

Starz,
kekekeke... me MIA to take pixs show u all lor.. hehehehe.... ya lor, that is hamburger lights lor... looks very common &amp; plain rite? but dunno lor, CAB classified that as "Condom" light lor....

Cool,
ya lor, hehehe... we taste same same lor... heheh.. its better to have rebate leh.. i also want !! heheh...

Afcai,
wahh.. u very hungry ah? pizza? hehehe... my master bedroom &amp; common bedroom lights about the same lor, just that master one got double layers of glass lor.. hehehehe,.,...
no lah, i did not spend quite a bit lor,...