Cheap lightings shop to recommend

roxyz

hi interrace

sorry I omited u...has sent u the pixs with pixs of my curtains...

went snorkelling at redang ...me scared to dive. Stayed at redang reef & DIY book, as in i call up the resort..whole package abt $190+ per pax including transport accomodation, food etc

hi slance
can see my curtains pix under the thread "curtains" has emailed u the contact
The lights are just normal flourscent tubes, one only $15 but my ID designed it such that the lights are "hidden" inside the feature wall..so got design...

yoz slance,

yeah yeah, i saw the similar design but with 3 lamps instead of 1 on one rod right? I like that too, wanted that as dining, but then when we renovate hse, we didnt think we wanted a dining light, so now that they have done the L box,cannot add dining light liao..haiz....

Zen style? erm, i duno leh, our house like rojak like that, coz we dont know what theme we want yet in fact. I like the lamp, very lomantic style one, and goes well with yellow light, but then har, hb lah, say he want to read newspaper in room, so have to change to white light, spoiler leh....

Hey roxyz, got your email. $190 only? so cheap??

roxyz

hi Ryes
Yes, cun rem whether $170-$190...definitely in this range...got the same quote from Lights Arcade & LightsZone

jimmyl

Anyone tried everlite at balestier? I bought all my designer lights there. Cracked glass cylinder 3 in a row hanging lights for dinning area for $100 only. Cracked glass cylinder 3 ceiling lights for living room also for $100 only. Is sold for $170 elsewhere. Also bought resort style hanging light (looks like a bird nest) for $58, while other shops selling for $85.

slance

Ryes,

eh did u check with ur ID cos my that 3 hanging light was oso last min decided one and they managed to find one location to put ir.

aiyo that light must use warm one den nice leh....use white not lomantic liao....y not u buy side lamp for reading or asking ur HB to read in living hall? kekekekek (just joking)

Hey slance,

My house think no place to hang the 3 lights, coz all the L box up already, cannot have additional lighting liao leh...

yday finally manged to buy all the lights at home, we really never expect to spend a bomb on lights leh. We got a very nice crystal light for our foyer, last minute thing also...

Yes lor...white not lomantic one..He lah, say i so selfish, so bo bian lor, give and take. then the 3 downlight in my MBR will be warm white...

My lights gonna be up next week, take pix then share share k

slance

ryes,

wow...seems like u have bought alot of lights....how much did u spend all in all?
yah all these accessories cost a bomb man...not cheap at all....sigh....

hey share pix when all up har...

queengal

Just to update everyone that Light Arcade has delivered all my lights, 1 day before the actual delivery day, since the delivery guy was around my area and called to check if he can come.

All goods in perfect condition !

Hey slance,

final set of lights arrived today, but one of the frosted glass got a scratch mark, need to exchange...Yet to snap photos...

gapse...we spent $1.4 on lights alone...

slance

Hi Wina,

what did u purchase from them and how much u spend?

yah the delivery uncle very funni one...rem to share pix when lights are up...

wow Ryes,
mi much lesser den u lar...kekeke 1k but mayb need to add more after mi go chk out my house at nite.....

waiting for ur pix.....

Hey slance,

i also cant wait to see my lights up, but have to wait till next week leh....painting this week..

scobido

rye n roxy

can i c yr lightings 2? me now sourcing for lightings lioa...reno finally startg liao...

went to balestier...got so many lighting shops leh..c till me blur :p

think someone mentioned crystal lightings ... how does it look like n where do we get those?

oh, what's hamburger light huh?

tequilaneat

Hi Rye & Roxy,

The lightings you mentioned seems to be interesting.

I went DIY Lighting today, bought all my downlight (salesman claim to modify it) screw bulbs and 1 italy made pendant lamp... cost me $1.2k... stresss....

I see the lighting both of you mentioned was cheap and good.. care to share?

Hi jennive,

wah, yours 1.2K...how mnay downlights u bought?
It the pendant lamp which costs the most for you?

spikey

u guys can try importing in your own lights. I did it and found that it was cheaper and likely to be very unique.

tequilaneat

Hi Ryes,

yes... its the pandant lamp which cost me $599. I bought the following:
1. 3 Large Downlight
2. 3 Medium Downlight
3. 4 Small Downlight
4. 1 Pendant Lamp
5. 3 Ceiling Holder

Is it too ex?? By the way how does the hamburger lamp look like? I see most of you mentioned the hamburger lamp... will like to take a look heehee...

I think okay lah, coz your most ex lamp is the $599, so in fact your other downlights etc, costs another $600 like that right?

The hamburger light is those round type of tube lor...

tequilaneat

Hi Ryes,

Thanks for the clarification...

Heng you say its ok... ah bo i need to go bang wall liao... buy so expensive lights... lol

kukimon

guys,

Went to Lights Arcad* last week,am really impressed by their service.We were puzzled by the light points layout of our house,after telling the salesgirl Jan* the prob we faced,she patiently offered us many good suggestions and nice lightings,we are really satisfied.In total we spent less than our budget,but most importantly we found the lights we want!

Would like to recommend Noble Lighting @ Jalan Besar . The lights selection are more up to trend and the price are also very reasonable.

roxyz

hi moo
the cryatl lightings dat i mentioned is the pix posted above..i bought that for my hanging light

hi jennive
wat information do u need from us?

roxyz

Hi tequilaneat

Lights Arcade is at 328, Balestier Road. Tel: 63584180 Look for Andrew, he's the boss

can tell him daphne recommended u...

gmh9908

Juz to share... found a few shops along Sims Avenue between Aljunied MRT and Paya Lebar MRT (on the right side of the main road heading towards paya lebar) selling downlights and those basic flourescent lights (e.g hamburger lights)at lower prices than lighting shops. Unfortunately they do not stock those designer lights though.

These shops sell lighting accessories to electricians like bulbs, trunking, wires and switches. Think it is worth checking out as recommended by my electrician.

ahmei

u may want to note when these shops claim that they sell Italian lights...cos if the price is not so italian, they are most likely China lights despite what they tell u..just sharing my experience after the lights were delivered...

ahmei

i tink it's still ok...just that i guess might be a different story if the shop assistant tells u it's italian lights, u dun bargain so much, then compared to when he or she tells u it's from china..but ultimately u realise that hey it's from china afterall..

jeremytan75

just like to share my experience with Lights Arcade, Baliestier.
I asked for Andrew as advised by the forumers here. You seem to be able to get good discounts if you mentioned u r from SB forum. Excellent service, very detail advise. My fiancee and myself are complete nuts to lightings and he managed to share a lot with us. No other lighting shops ever managed to leave such a good impression with us. In the end, i saved > $300 as compared to getting the down lights, halogen lights and flourescent tubes from my contractor suppliers.
u guys can send me a message if you need to see my quote.
By the way, Lights Arcades is at 321 Balestier Rd Singapore 329748 Telephone : 6358 4180. I think there is a post by Daphne saying is at 328. It should be 321. 328 is a duck shop..
haha.

dont only look for cheap lightings as some shop owners are not very honest. They might delivery the lights which look exactly the same but sold more expensive elsewhere but owners wont know what's inside the lights. It could be something very inferior so dont be con. Too cheap is questionable. Eg. some PLC lights are sold less than $20 whereas some above $30. There a great difference.

g_apple

Jus happen to chance upon this thread, u may wan to refer to my experience which I posted under Lightings.. here it goes

I think buying lights is a big headache for ppl like us doing reno.

I saw lots of good comment abt L. Arcade (LA). Unfortunately my experience was a terible one with them

I saw this light which I like a lot so I wanted to buy for my kitchen cos the design was quite similar to my dining light. But LA boss say tt is 38watt too bright for kitchen as kitchen is small and got 2 lights, and suggest I put in my bed room instead.
I had actually order my 3 bedroom lights fm another shop so I called to cancel one. The shop agreed and we went dn to re select cos the original design was not suitable for kitchen and actually hand carry the light back cos I feel so pai say to ask them dlvy 2 lights.

Then when LA delivered my lights, I realise the round tube become 32 watt!! I call and the boss told me becos the original 38watt roung tube is fm Taiwan, not avail in Singapore so he change it to 32 watt super bright for me... I was so mad cos when I wanted for kitchen, he say too bright cos is 38 watt.. which I presume is the 2D energy saving tube.. then when I go thru all the hassle.. then he told me tt. Felt so cheated leh!!!

Also for my loose fittings lights, they forgot to include the starters and sent the wrong blub which cannot fit into my toilet lights!!

He did say if I dun want, he will ask his man to pick it up and refund me... I scolded him cos that will leave me in a lurch as my electrician need the light on the nx day to install (which is Sunday!!)

We even went dn the shop (LA) the nx day to see if we can change but can't find any we like. So we decided to keep it..And after we install, we realise is too dim! Call him to chk if can install additional tube then he say cannot cos the design too small. But we cannot change liao as we had drill hole to install alrdy. He offer to change the frosted glass panel to semi-transparent arylic. Okie for this I must gv him credit.

As my MBR is longish. the light was really too dim, so we decided to spent some $ to do a false ceiling last minute.

Then we went to LA again jus to chk if he can tk back the MBR light and offer us a better price for dn lite... but he not ard. His gal ask him to return call the nx day, he din bother, jus ask his gal to tell me cannot return since I drill hole. That is fine with me cos I can get dn lites at at much cheaper price from another shop.

When I went to pick up my MBR light the nx day evening(which I left there for him to chk if possible to tk back and offer better price for dn lite), I bought 1 loose fitting tube from him as the other shop dun hv 1 ft tube.... it turn out tt the ballast he gv me and the tube was faulty... it caused a short circuit 2 my spot light and my living room false ceiling light!!

Called him and tell him abt the faultly parts, he want me to produce receipt which I dun hv as the nite I was rushing and I thot only $10 no big deal! Explained to him his gal din gv me so he ask me to bring the things for him to test.

Luckily my electrician had offer to change the faulty ballast and tube for me FOC. If not, he had to come dn to tk out the faulty parts for me to return to LA for a good one then electrician come again to install... this is wasting too much of our time and $$$.

They still hv the cheek to say their ballast from Australia!! According tomany source, ballast are now all fm PRC, pls dun be taken in by ppl whose say theirs are fm Spain , australia etc... they are just out to earn our $$.

Jus my luck la... to think tt I still recommend friend to buy from him cos when I went the first time he was very nice to explain everything to us (we din buy fm him as we were still sourcing ard then).

solonavi

Not sure if anyone recommended Lights Zone at Balestier already cos din go through all the post.

I've got all my mine lights from Light Zones (beside the shopping center) and is pretty pleased with the choice. Their selections are decent and and price is reasonable. After sales service is superb. My dining lights has some problem and they had to make 3 trips to help resolve the problem without any qualms. Moreover, the service guy is very pro and friendly. Gave us some advise and help to adjust those lights that are not installed properly by my electrician.

JC

andytan

Hi green apple,

I'm surprised on your comments on L.Arcade attitude towards your unfortunate incident however, as recommended by several of my close friends, I have bought and installed my whole house lights from them whereupon I personally find them very helpful guiding us through during selections and follow up after sales services.

To my understanding, most light shops will not take back goods that are being delivered however, as I recalled especially when buying downlights from L.Arcade, they are willing to take back any excess downlight that I don’t need and even offer to let me change the color of the tubes if found not suitable to match my ID decor theme.

I for certain will not buy lights that had been used and return by previous customers.

There are lots of retail shops that promises but never deliver and as a consumer, I think we had decide what we want before buying as it will be too late to change any purchases especially after having used it.

Rgds,
Andy

joyousonline

hey i'e bought my lights for $1350..you think is reasonable??

1 unit of Hanging Pendant Light for dining area (24W)
2 units of Glass type Lights for Kitchen (2x24W)
3 units of Lights for 3 bedrooms (also glass type)- 32W
1 unit of bulb for household shelter - 25W
2 units of lights for toilets (a bit textured)(21W)
1 unit of crystal cube light for foyer -12V20W
10 units of square downlights (18Wx2 type)-butterfly tube

they also gave me FOC doorbell, and about 8 pcs of extra light tubes

but anyway i've oredi bought it..no point thinking about the cost..

andytan

Just because I said something good about the shop doesn't mean I'm from the shop. I've actually been viewing the thread for some time. Just wanted to give my two cents worth.