Cheap lightings shop to recommend

any experience with Singapore Lighting Mart? Most likely will be getting from them? Appreciate any comments you can share.

Hi rooller, the first light costs $115 (2 tubes 40w + 32w + a starter).

Yah,the trimming is aluminium but the glass is plain frosted glass.

Last sat, I saw some other hanging lights in the form of train and aeroplane one, quite cute and suitable for boy's room. But I dunno the price, shld not be cheap considering the shop quite good at "chopping"

hi fallen,

thanks for ur feedback.
i was quoted $160, n this is their offer price.
ya saw those aeroplane type, but not bright for room. if just for decorative ok.

Hi postpet2 & roller,

I think dreamer got mixed up, I bought all my lightings from Chelsea at Jurong East not Elites. Though price not attractive but it reduce our headache as there are too many varities in Balestier.

what's the general price for a PLC light? say a 5.5" one?
was quoted $21 at a shop called Balestier Lighting shop...Think the case was made in Taiwan but ballast in Aussie.

hi postpet2, i would suggest u to look ard to chk on pricing if the number of PLC lights u r going for is a lot. i think it can be less than 20 bucks. normally lighting shop will tell u their is diff from others, theirs dun know from where & where but then how we know cos we r not in this area. u tend to hear diff stories from diff shops.

dreamer, can i know the PLC that you got from elites, is it single tube or double tube?
i just called them up, they say $15 got to be a single tube type. not double tube..
but this shop is indeed cheap for PLC made in italy....

Hi Tulip,

If you go Singapore Lighting Mart, do your research first! We were brought there by our designer and we thought the salesperson gave us lots of discount (on paper) and we made the purchases (after rigourous bargain somemore). After that we walked around other shops to look for other designs for a few outstanding lights, then we realised we kena 'tiok'! Think they overcharge us close to $150. their after discount prices are higher than what other shops quote us (b4 bargain). Argh... best thing I bought a light from Balestier Lighting House for $57 (with GST) but Singapore Lighting Mart quoted me $125 (b4 GST, after discount). SO angry!!

oh dear,

i noe singapore lightings by my id.
i was quoted $280 for the tamco hugger ceiling fan.
after reading ur post, i will look for other source.

But ochgal, the item you got from lighting house is it of the same quality as what you got earlier?
When i was at Balestier lighting house. they've got some cheap ones which are made in taiwan lor..

From what I see, the light is the same, except that Balestier Lighting House gave me tungsten lamps whereas Singapore Lighting Mart will give PLC lamps, if I buy from them. But 3 PLC lamps, less than $20... And that particular lamp don't need ballast. Alot of difference lor! Anyway, when I checked with other shops, they quoted me $120 b4 discount which is still lower than SIngapore Lighting Mart.

hi ochgal

thanks for sharinhg your experience...now i feel so skeptical about Singapore Lighting Mart. Actually the saleman gave us quite good quotes.. (his namecard and prices that he wrote on a pcs of paper are with my FH)..he just slashed the price by ard $20 for each item...and told me that the designs that i chose are quite common so he also wont dare to quote too high..erm..after visiting other shops, my FH and i feel that their quotes are quite reasonable..but after hearing from u, i am so scared that we will be chopped leh..still deciding whether to get from them or nt, maybe will compare ard first..

May i know who was the salesperson who served u?

Can we hv someone here to sum up the good and bad stores?
Actually this sum up can help newbies like me and other ppl passing by this topics. Tks.

Hi tulip

The saleperson who served us told us the same things.. And becos we didn't do our research that's why kena chopped. I think if you did your research first should be alright. After walking down Balestier Road, I realised the shops actually get stock from each other (like Queensway), and there is a price range for each light. So as long as you don't look 'blur blur' the prices they quote are quite reasonable. But once, they see that you never check out prices before, they will chop you, with no mercy!

Hi Skylar,
glad u like my lights *smile*.
I will upload more pictures of other lights in my house as soon as I get back home.

Anyway, Skylar and fallen,
I also understand how u feel regarding PALACE OF LIGHTS! Disgusting place!
I bought an alabaster light for my dining area in AUGUST 2004! They told me as it was being manufactured in Spain it will take about a month to arrive here, about 9th September 2004. Called them up a few days before 9th Spetember, they told me shipment was delayed. Now it is almost NOVEMBER and still my light has not arrived yet! Whenever I called them they would say the delivery was delayed by 1 week. So pissed off! Luckily I bought only 1 light from them and the rest from Crown Lighting.

For the newcomers here, some tips:
1) Places to go for lights - Balestier, Geylang, Jln Besar. Other places may be worh a try also but they do not have as many shops.

2) Make at least 2 trips to any one of these places- first trip to check out what designs you like; second trip to compare the prices between shop and buy the lights. However I recommend buying the lights only on a 3rd trip.

3) Some of the shops are actually related to one another. Do not be surprised if you see the same designs and service. Eg Palace of Lights, Strass Lighting and The Best Light Shop are actually under the same boss!

4) DO NOT GO TO the shops with your ID!!!
Nothing in life is free. We were "advised" by quite a few of the shops when we went to Balestier on our very first trip (Thank goodness I listened to my wife!). According to them, they have to give commission to the IDs as a "reward" for referring or bringing you pple to the shop. The markup can be as high as 40% more for each light! This is the "cost" of getting you ID to go wif u to choose the lights. Instead, get your ID to advise you only when you meet up.
Ochgal and fallen, I believe this is the main reason why you have been charged so much.

5) Ask where the lights are made in. Taiwanese and Italian made lights have a great difference in price.

6) Ask about exchange policy. Eg If my downlights burn out during installation and testing, can I exchange for a new one?

7) Check the country of origin for the bulbs. Eg Most OSRAM bulbs are made in China now but some are still made in Spain. Get those not made in China even if they are slightly more ex.

These are what I can think of offhand. Hope this helps!

Hi Dreamer n Obeasom,

its the jln beasr elite,
[E Lite Illumination Address : 1 Jln Berseh #01-17 Singapore 209037 Telephone : 6299 5368]?

i checked their prices, indeed cheaper then alot of place, but is their quality good? i think their downlights from Malaysia and they r giving AEC bulbs. but i read someone mentioned their PLC is from italy? i m abit confused.

Hi benny smurf, can tell me how much you are charged of the first downlight you have posted and it's Watt? Is it with white round aluminium trimming with glass? any differenct if we chose silver trimming instead? btw, what is a ballast har? My ID bringing to chose lighting, I oso worry kanna chop. I quite like the retangular type of casing for room passage way, any idea how much it will cost?

any experience or comments with Simply Lightings and Euro Lights? my id says he has discount for these 2 shops. asked me to check out the price as a customer myself first then he will help me to negotiate better rates. please share with me if u have any experiences..thanks..

btw, i am also keen to get hamburger lights for my bathrooms and kitchen. what is the appropriate size and how much did u guys spend? thanks loads..

Like to know if anyone has any experience from Thomson Lighting at IMM? They claimed that some of the lights I saw were made and imported from Hong Kong. Wonder how's the reputation, price and services? Any advice?

Hi KeRo,
from the prices which I compared with other lighting shops along balestier, the lights at Thomsom lighting are quite cosy. that's my view.

Hi tulips,
I got my 3 small hamburger lights(20w for bathrm and bomb shelter) for $20 each.

Hi erkerk,
real sorry i have not been following this thread for some time.
The round downlight details:
- 8 PLC round downlights (glass flush wif surface) c/w Philips 13w (Holland) and ERC (italy) ballast
=> $16 each
(Refer to my posting on Aug 16 2004)
Yes the downlights came with white round aluminium trimming. If I remember correcly, silver trimming more ex.
One thing you need to consider is whether silver trimming will fit the colour theme of your CEILING. Our ceiling was lily white, thus we chose white trimming.
Simply put, ballast act like a "fuel" for PLC lights.
I strongly urge you to find out which shops you ID will be bringing you to, then go there first and check out the price. Then when u go there with your ID, u will know if u kena chop or not.

hi bennysmurf,

thks for the info
, was quoted $45 for the same round PLC downlight you posted but it is 18W instead of 13W, they obviously want to kotok me hor!

Erkerk,
$45 for essentially the same downlight?!! Wah seh...what a rip off!
which shop is the "they" u are referring to? did u go with the ID? If u did this may be why u were quoted so high.

Thanks afcai!

Would you know if the lights from HOng Kong are ok? The person at Thomson Lights recommended this yo-yo ice cube lights for dining area which I liked very much. However, it cost $300 plus. Do you know how much does a dining lights, those dangling lights cost?

Hi keRo,
not sure if lights from HongKong are ok. but maybe you can do more market survey by checking out with other lightnings shops. it seems that the yo-yo ice cube lights is quite unique that you like it very much but to me, it's seems xpensive.

not sure how much does dangling lights cost? maybe better check it out and compare the prices with other shops.it's worth of effort to buy lights which not only suits yr likings/needs but worth yr $$.

Anyone bought light from thomson lighting? Was quoted 22 dollars for 2 x 13W die cast square downlight & 24 for the 2 x 18W one. Wonder if the price is reasonable? Thanks.

I've recently installed some lights and here's my comments on these shops:

1. The Best Lighting at Balestier: The person named Danny is helpful and resourceful. He sells 2x18w square (5.5") PLC downlight for $22. 1x18w rectangular PCL downlight for $25. He uses non-Osram/Philips tube though. It's the cheapest I could fine so far.

2. Light Arcade at Balestier: The owner Andrew is experienced and have managed to solved all my lighting (technical) problem. He's willing to change for me when I brought all my lights back due to our change of idea. Cost wise min to average. If anyone looking for tilted PLC downlight, they're selling at $68.

3. E'lite in Jalan Besar: Managed by a group of young professionals. They have new designs, but are not willing to cut prices and said it's the best price in the market, which is not true compared to the above 2 shops.

Hope you all benefits from this.

I bought my lights from Light Arcade too. Price wise, I find them cheaper than most shops that I went to. I like their round light design for my bedrooms and kitchen. However, they delievered the wrong watts for my PLC downlight and my electrician mounted all the downlight into the false ceiling. End up, my electrician need to remove from the false ceiling again. Hence, please ask your electrian to check your goods before fixing.
Andrew is also willing to change the light for me when I change my mind about some lights.

Hi blessed, there should be only 1 Elite shop at Jln Besar. It's just next to Mcdonald (or was it BK?).

Hi Kent, this is Light Arcade address: 321 Balestier Rd Singapore 329748. If you come from Thomson Rd, make the 2nd U-turn when you're at Balestier Rd. Soon after U-turn, it's the 2nd shop on the left.

Thanks tenvy!

Hi KeRo, did you purchase your light from thomson lighting? How is their price and services(in term of delivery, correctness of goods being delivered)? Thanks!

Lighting Shops at IMM r never cheap. Ever asked a simple type of rectangular lighting. At Balestier, the prices range from $80 - $120. One 'ah beng' shop quoted as $80 & can give further discount.

When I got my ID's recommended shop at IMM (shld be thomson lighting; anyway, 2 shops side-by-side), they quoted as $195!!

You can try A Lighting Enterprise at 463, Geylang Road. I bought my lights there and is very satisfied with them. My Mid size, silver, Square downlights cost me $20, inclusive of 2 18W(i think) bulbs and ballast. I spent ard $900+ for the lightings for my whole 5-room flat. Bought 12 DLs in total, 1 big and 1 small rectangular lights for my kitchen, hanging lights for dining, rectangular and square glass lights for my living and bedrooms and foyer. common square lights for my toilets and bomb shelter. total 24 lights.

They had quite a bit of variety of designs there, though can't compare to Chan Huat but it's definitely cheaper. They have new designs coming in almost every other week, which we found out when me and my husband went down to the shop a few times to change our order and re-confirm our lights.

Look for Alex, his service is good, quite a friendly chap. Gave quite good reccommendations to us... saving us from quite a bit of neck pain...=p But the think i like most is that they dun hard sell.

I agree with BB... Lighting shops in IMM are never cheap. The bathroom accessories shops there aren't cheap either...

Another very important thing is that, dun go to the shop that your ID recommend cos the shop will have to charge you a higher price or rather, give you a smaller discount, as they have to pay commission to your ID. Might as well dun ask your ID to recommend. Just be hardworking and make a trip down to Geylang and Balastier. Sure can save!

hey guys,

any of you seen any of those cool looking lights that look like vehicles? like aeroplane, helicopter, train, truck etc... and roughly how much do they cost?

pst

Hi pst,
not sure how much does that cool looking lights you have mentioned cost but l have seen the aeroplane one when I bought my lightning at CHan Hup. maybe you just go balestier and do some market survey.

does anyone have any problems with lighting delivery from Palace of Lights?
some of you might know that I ordered a set of 3 round alabaster dining lights from them LAST AUGUST 2004. Until now I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT
. Whenever I called them up, they kept said that the the goods would be coming in the next shipment, or that the shipment was delayed due to some reason. Yesterday when I called them up they told me they got "played out by the factory". Turned out that the shipment that they promised my lights would be, did not have them. In fact, they claimed that alabaster lights for other customers were not inside, so I was not the only one affected.
They promised to refund me my money. I was slightly appeased as at least I could get me $$$ back.
However I would like to ask other forum users some questions:
1) Are there any Palace of Light customer who have been similarly affected and given the same excuse as me?
2) I am not sure if the story given by Palace is really true or just an excuse to sell off my alabaster light to someone else cos I got it at a much lower price than a similar one at Lightology. Can I get CASE to get them to honour my order and sell me the alabaster light?

Any help is really appreciated!

l bought my lightings fromone of the shop opp Chinese Garden Mrt.
Price very reasonable and the boss is very friendly.

Can pop by if you r interested...

l bought my lightings from one of the shop opp Chinese Garden Mrt.
Price very reasonable and the boss is very friendly.

Can pop by if you r interested...

I bought my lights from Designer Lighting shop at Balestier. Their range is definitely not the best..but they got some nice ones there. Also most importantly..able to negotiate for cheaper prices and of course the aftersales service!

I was most impressed by their aftersales service. IF the wrong item is delivered, just give them a call and they will be down asap with the correct items. We are talking about those small electrical items like ballast or transformer here. Also, if your lightings got problem, they will send their electrician down to rectify it asap. That's good service!

i just bought some downlights from this shop at balestier point. i think it is very worth it. 12 piece of PLC energy saving downlight with ballast for $72. One piece only $6.
The shop name is call LITE VAULT at balestier rd. The salesman claimed that they are having a opening sales that why so cheap.
252399.jpg

I would like to check out the pricing of lights and see if I have been short changed.
Flurescent fittings (entire set) $9.
Halogen light (adjustable round type) with transformer $11.

Also, how much did u all pay for your bedroom, dinning, toilet and kitchen lights? Perhaps, you could provide me with a description and price of the lights. Thanks!

any1 bought lights fr. elite illumination b4? went to them last week but didnt buy yet nid to verify with u guys b4 i do tat. please share your experience with me i like alot of their lights they haf very wide range but after seeing all ur msg about lousy lighting shops got scared nid to think twice and ask for your opinion

hi cindy
wat type of ballast and tubes do they gif i heard atco fr australia is good by the way haf compared quite a few shop 6 bucks for that is a real steal