CCK Crescent

meowie

Iceblue,
You jus stand down the unit and point lor. Try get those look not too bad compass lah. Then stand under the living room or bedroom region, see the evening sun will shine on it or not.

Amelia,
Yeah he know Sheryl looks more like him. Bascially its everything even skin colour. Only her temper like me.

Serene,
Thanks for your concern on little Sheryl. She's fine now. But very naughty.....drink milk like jus finish taking yao tao pills....turn her head left and right, so the bottle also have to turn.

apostles

Hi Wise, you are wise to read and find such meaningful articles.

Hi Meow,

What is yao tao pills?
Say hi to Sheryl.. wave....

apostles

Hi meow,
Not aunties lah.. call Jie Jie...

she is growing and changing by the day ya... her hair is so black and thick.

meowie

Blursotong,
When i'm 18yrs old, already got those 8yrs old kid call me aunty liao. K lah...i ask her to call everyone here Jie Jie

Wise,
You can come and hug her if you want....that time someone mention want to gather right?

Dodo,
Yeah everyone loves her hair. They find it a pity to shave her botak. Her hair is like highlighted like that. Got brown at certain areas.

waterbaby

Meow,

Yup that someone is me.I will love to meet everyone but sorry ah I am rather busy recently.Anyone here interested in arranging?Fridays should be quite fine with me unless my possible job requires OT.

Yah call us Jie Jie haha.Sheryl's eyes are huge..very kawaii.Don't take off all her hair...a nice haircut will do.

Wise,

Got any articles on How To Make Husbands Do Their 5% Share Of Housework Willingly?I need help in this area..

wiseharmony

A man joined a big Multi National Company as a trainee.

On his first day, he dialed the kitchen and shouted into the phone:
"Bring me a cup of coffee, quickly!"

The voice from the other side responded:
"You fool; you've dialed the wrong extension! Do you know who you're talking to?"

"No" replied the trainee.

"It's the Managing Director of the company, you idiot!"

The trainee shouted back: "And do you know who YOU are talking to,
you IDIOT?"

"No!" replied the Managing Director angrily.

"Thank God!" replied the trainee and put down the phone.

wiseharmony

Hi Amelia,
Since u gg/ or jus newly wedd dont "spoiled" yr hubby.... (hope mi hubby not reading tis!!! ke keee

In mi family, if he cooks mi will wash plates.

Wat i can suggest is to communicate wif him yr concerns.... do it when he is in good mood. & dont used nagging tone. tell him yr concerns & hope he can understand & share the load wif u since now u r a new couple.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Share workload
• Share housework to reduce the stress on any single family member.
• Make each member responsible for specific tasks, e.g. tidying up the room, cleaning the bathroom, setting up table for meals, etc. Allow your family members to choose chores and avoid being critical of their efforts.
• Involve all your children and assign them chores that are appropriate for their age. Giving your children responsibility at a young age can help to build their self-esteem

Plan time to be together with your spouse.
Make an effort to spend time with your spouse alone. This will allow you to concentrate on each other without distractions.

Define basic house rules
• Involve your family members in defining basic house rules.
• Ensure that everyone agrees and complies with the rules to prevent disagreements.

Some of these basic rules may include:
• Calling home to notify your family if you are coming back late.
• Being responsible for your own things.
• Having your older children take care of younger siblings when u and yr spouse r busy.
• Being around during family time, unless there are important things to do.
- Washing your own cup after drinking.
• Establishing certain routines, e.g. children to go to bed by a certain time, having meals at regular time etc.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
& when he helps/ do praise him.... it works 4 mi!! & no matter wat method he used/perform the hsework let him do & do not interrupt/ help.

had a friend married for 4yrs they even hv a schedule of who do wat & when. But i think "automatic" is still better... & most important is COMMUNICATION!!!

Wish u luck!

wiseharmony

Since every couple is made up of unique personalities, you and your spouse should discover your own style of communication and not compare yourselves with other couples.

Silence is NOT Golden

Resolving conflicts in marriage
Conflict is part of every marriage. Even in the most ideal marriage, periods of discord are inevitable. The most important thing about marital conflicts is not how to avoid them, but how to manage them.

Couples are encouraged to learn and practise conflict resolution skills. At first it may seem awkward and unnatural, but once the couple becomes efficient at it, they often find the process rewarding.

10 Steps to Resolve Conflicts

1. Set a time and place for discussion
- Schedule a time suitable for both of you.
- Arrange a place that both of you will feel comfortable and will not be interrupted

2. Notice the symptoms
- Look out for signals that "something is wrong" ~ Is there tension between you? Are you distancing from each other? Is one of you feeling hurt or more irritable than the usual? If so, there is probably a conflict taht needs to be resolved.

3. Clarify the problem or issue of disagreement
- Select and discuss only one issue at a time. Trying to resolve more than one conflict at a time can be overwhelming and will create feelings of frustration.

4. Acknowledge your role in having created and maintained the problem.
- Accept responsiblity for your own contribution to the conflict. This helps to decrease defensiveness. Problems between two people usually involve both partners in some way.

5. List past attempts that failed to resolve the issue.
- This will allow you to realise that you have made efforts to resolve the conflict in the past, and to avoid potential solutions that have proven unsuccessful.

6. Brainstorm possible solutions
- Use your creativity to come up with as many solution as possible without being either judgemental or critical.

7. Discuss the pros and cons of proposed solutions
- For each proposed solution, list the appropriateness, your ability to implement it as well as the constraints.
- Discuss all the solutions, even though some may seem to be better than others.

8. Agree on one solution to try out
- Between both of you, arrive at a consensus as to which solution will work the best.
- Remember that the solution agreed upon is not always the first choice of either partner. Compromise is crucial to arrive at a workable solution.
- Both partners need to identify specifically what wach of them will do in carrying out the solution.
- Be specific and focus on observable behaviours. For example, "I will give you a call when I can't be home by 7 o'clock".

9. Evaluate progress and feasibility of solution adopted
- The next meeting should be reasonably soon (e.g. one week later). Use the meeting to discuss how successful the solution is. Ask yourself questions like "Is it working?". If it is not working, go back to reclarigy the issue or brainstorm solutions.

10. Celebrate and reward each other for the efforts put in to resolve the issue
- Share your observation of how your partner has positively contributed to resolving the conflict.
- Praise your partner for his/her effort.
Rules for Disagreements
1. No Criticism
2. No name-calling or labelling
3. Stick to the subject
- Don't raise other issues to prove a point
4. Avoid absolutes like "you always", "you never" or "everytime"
5. Agree to disgree
- Differences are not an obstacle to being intimate, but how you handle the differences can be.
6. Remember to love
- The person you are having conflicts with is not your enemy. He/she is the person whom you love and chose to marry.
7. Know when to stop
- When all you want to do is hurt your partner, or when one or both of you are out of control, it is time to stop the argument. Arrange for another time to resolve the issue.
8. When you find yourselves stuck in repetitive negative cycles of interactions, it is better to seek professional help
- Don't wait till the problem gets too big to handle.
9. Settle any argument before going to bed
- If it is impossible to do so, schedule another time and place to resolve the issue.

One of the hallmarks of a successful relationship is the ability to resolve conflicts effectively and in a way that is satisfactory to both partners. Many couples report that working successfully together in resolving conflicts brings them closer and create warm loving feelings. Try to practice all the steps and rules mentioned, and let conflicts bring the two of you closer, not further apart.

wiseharmony

Tips for effective communication between couples:

- It is normal for you and your spouse not to spend many hours talking to each other. But when you do talk, listen attentively to what is being said.
- Spend time together, even if there isn’t much talking. “Being with” and “doing with” are also forms of communication.
- Acknowledge the presence of each other after time apart. Small ways of validating one another can go a long way.
- Involve friends in conversations with your spouse. This broadens the scope of the conversation.
- Be creative and flexible in exploring different ways of communicating both verbally and non-verbally. For e.g., you can develop your own little signals and cues that mean certain things.
- If you have nothing nice or constructive to say, do not say anything. It takes at least five positive statements to undo a negative one.
- Own your messages by making “I” statements instead of “You” statements. For instance, “I would like to help with the dishes” instead of “ You never help with the dishes, why?”

LISTEN

Learn to check/ reflect on feelings expressed by your partner

Indulge in regular routine conversation

Spend time to communicate

Talk about topics that are mutually satisfying

Explore flexible and creative ways of communication

Nurture a wider scope of conversation and the places where it can take place

(^_^)

apostles

Morning everyone :)

Hi Wise * wink wink*.

That day an old uncle came to install the racks for store room he call my hubby uncle when he is so much older. Kinda of funny and I teased him all day.

For me i refuse to grow up, i still like to be call Jie Jie. :)

hi Amelia, husband not doing housework ah. I think the best wway is to leave the whole house into a big mess until he himself cannot take it and he will clean up but you must tahan tahan the untidiness.

Quite a no of us have yet to shift in, a gathering may be tough. I am ok as i live pretty near CCK. After most of us have shifted in or we can arrange sometime in July on a Friday evenign.

wiseharmony

Hi blursotong,

no idea leh. but he got that china tone & the MTV is soooo sweet. he may be a tough guy but wif a gentle heart!!!

doraemon16

thanks for sharing the meaningful articles...

i'm ON with the idea of meeting up wi u all!
me also staying at CCK now.. we can always arrange a gathering here..

apostles

Hi wise... i let my husband hear the song, he is very intrigued by it and kept on singing the song in the very very china way.

Dodo, u shifted into your new home or with your parents at CCK?

waterbaby

Wise,

Thanks for the articles

Automatic doesn't work for my hub leh..I kinda like the timetable idea hiak hiak!I think most wives have to do >80% excluding cleaning up after the husbands.That's life haha

Blursotong,

Cannot lah.I will throw in the towel b4 he throws in his.

kao_babydust.gif
ANYONE BEEN TO GSS SALES?Any shops worth checking out?

wiseharmony

When things in your life seem almost too much to handle, when 24 hours
In a day are not enough, remember the mayonnaise jar and the 2 cups of coffee.

A professor stood before his philosophy class and had some items in Front of him.
When the class began, he wordlessly picked up a very large and empty mayonnaise jar
and proceeded to fill it with golf balls. He then asked the students if the jar was full.
They agreed that it was.

The professor then picked up a box of pebbles and poured them into the
jar. He shook the jar lightly. The pebbles rolled into the open areas
between the golf balls. He then asked the students again if the jar was
full. They agreed that it was.

The professor next picked up a box of sand and poured it into the jar.
Of course, the sand filled up everything else. He asked once more if the jar was full.
The students responded with a unanimous "yes."

The professor then produced two cups of coffee from under the table
And poured the entire contents into the jar effectively filling the empty space between the sand. The students laughed. "Now," said the
Professor as the laughter subsided, "I want you to recognize that this jar represents your life.

The golf balls are the important things --God, your family, your children, your health, your friends and your favorite
passions—and if everything else was lost and only they remained, your life would still be full.
The pebbles are the other things that matter like your job, your house and your car. The
Sand is everything else--the small stuff."

"If you put the sand into the jar first," he continued, "there is no
Room for the pebbles or the golf balls. The same goes for life. If you
Spend all your time and energy on the small stuff you will never have room for the things that are important to you.
"Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness. Play with your children. Take time to get medical checkups.
Take your spouse out to dinner.. There will always be time to clean the house and fix the disposal.
Take care of the golf balls first--the things that really matter. Set your priorities. The rest is just sand."

One of the students raised her hand and inquired what the coffee represented. The professor smiled. "I'm glad you asked. It just goes
To show you that no matter how full your life may seem, there's always
Room for a couple of cups of coffee with a friend."

meowie

Amelia,
Try being pregnant. More or less he'll need to help you with housework.

As for the gathering we can do it later lor. Maybe end of the year. no problem.

apostles

Hi Amelia,

That is why must tahan. hehehe :) Meow's suggestion is good!Have a bb!

Hi Wise.. ya boy.. very funny...especially the chorus.." lao po lao po wo ai ni"

Hi meow, yep when more pple shift in by then.

waterbaby

Don't think I can come in often from now on( got a high commitment job).Any gatherings etc. , you can get me at 91383498.I only have blursotong, dodo and meow's numbers at this point..the rest of the girls can sms me yours if you want.

coolman

i also keen to meet up wif u all. but as i m now busy preparing my wedding, think will meet u gals after i officially move in. probably can meet u gals early Oct. When i bk from my honeymoon.

apostles

HI Amelia,

Sure no problem. Any outings we will sms you but like the looks of it, it is going to be near year end.

Hi Serene, your wedding is nearing ya. Excitement must be in the air now. Where u going for honeymoon?

wiseharmony

NKF News

Here's what the web page say.......

NKF CEO's $600,000 pay revealed in court
By Bertha Henson
July 12, 2005
The Straits Times

A CLOSELY guarded secret of the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) was finally made public yesterday: the salary of its chief executive T.T. Durai.

Gasps could be heard in the courtroom when it was revealed that on top of his $25,000 a month salary, he also received 10 to 12 months in yearly bonuses. That makes his annual salary between $550,000 and $600,000, or $1.8 million in total over the past three years.

This fact, and the disclosure that he had flown first class on NKF's funds, emerged on Day 1 of NKF's defamation suit against Singapore Press Holdings (SPH).

The NKF, which is entirely dependent on public funds, offers dialysis treatment to kidney patients. Two out of every three Singaporeans contribute to it.

It is taking issue with a Straits Times article by senior correspondent Susan Long published on April 19 last year, which stated that a gold-plated tap had been installed and later replaced in the private bathroom in Mr Durai's office suite.

The NKF and Mr Durai contend that this was not the case and that the words in the article, 'The NKF: Controversially ahead of its time?', had damaged their reputation by implying that donors' funds were being misused. The hearing yesterday was delayed by the NKF's application for special damages of $3.24 million, which it claimed was what it lost in donations following the publication of the article. Justice Tan Lee Meng threw out the application and ordered the NKF to pay SPH's legal cost for its last-minute move.

At the hearing, Senior Counsel Davinder Singh, acting for SPH, noted that the tap in question cost $990, expensive by his standards although Mr Durai did not agree. The lawyer sought to show that the NKF was neither honest nor transparent about the way it uses donors' funds.

He told the court he had to ask the NKF three times, twice through the courts, to have the salary of its CEO made public.

Mr Durai, represented by Senior Counsel Michael Khoo, was the only witness who took the stand yesterday. Among those in the gallery was NKF patron, Mrs Goh Chok Tong, wife of the Senior Minister, who left midway through the hearing.

Mr Durai argued that he was not required by law to tell the public what he earned, even though he conceded that they paid his salary. Also, he wanted to protect his personal privacy.

Mr Singh asked: 'The man who earns $1,000 a month who donates $50... every month thinking that it is going to save lives, should they not know that that is the kind of money you earn?' Replied Mr Durai: 'I don't see the need for him to know.' He denied Mr Singh's charge that he refused to disclose his salary as he knew he would lose moral authority with donors.

Mr Durai's travel perks also came under scrutiny.

Not only had the NKF maintained consistently - as recently as in the April 19 article - that none of its executives flew first class, it had threatened to sue people who said Mr Durai did so.

At least two people have had to apologise publicly and pay damages and costs for saying they had seen Mr Durai travel first class, as the NKF said this implied he was wasting donors' funds.

Under questioning, he admitted he had flown first class on some airlines. His explanation: The NKF board allowed this as long as he did not bust the Singapore Airlines business-class rate.

Mr Singh countered: 'Isn't it your duty as a trustee of people's monies to make sure that you get best value on a business-class seat instead of deploying this clever tactic... using it for first class on another plane?'

Mr Durai replied: 'This is a decision made by the board. I used the entitlement.' The entitlement, he added, kicked in only in the past two years. Previously, when he flew first class, he had paid the difference out of his own pocket, he maintained.

Mr Singh noted that although he now flew first class, Mr Durai did not correct his chairman Richard Yong's assertion in the April 19 article that 'there is no such thing as first-class travel'.

'The reason you hide the truth is because you know that that is the wrong thing to do, using people's money, and you know that is mismanagement of donations.'

Mr Durai was asked if he should now 'do the right thing' by the two individuals who had paid him damages and costs for saying what he had now admitted in court. He said no, sticking to his claim that at that time, he did not travel first class using NKF funds and when he did so, he paid the difference himself.

apostles

Hi Wise,

alot of pple sending the petition url around. His staffs gave him a standing ovation to show support.

Hi koala, welcome welcome. of course u can join us. Which blk do you stay? how long have you been there?

wiseharmony

Hi Cute_kola,
Welcome. Where r u staying?

Hi blursotong,
Leting him Resign fm his job is just a easy way out.... he shld "cough" back the $$$ too.

doraemon16

Hihi cute_koala, welcome!

Hihi ladies, i had my convation yesterday, took some photos
anybody interested to view the photos, pls give me ur email add

apostles

Hi wise, he has quit from his job. Did u sign the petition?

HI dodo, you've got my email, pls send it to me. btw saw your hubby last sunday at 7 eleven but i guess he could not recognise me in my ah sor clothings. ehhehe.

Hi koala, is your blk near the 68X series or the 69X blks? Will check out where ur house when i next visit my flat.

doraemon16

hi ladies!

just had my convocation this wednesday! so happy, finally graduated! ^-^ i have some photos to share, for those who interested to view, pls give me ur email add...

hi blursotong!
haa!! he mentioned to me that he saw someone like you!! but cannot confirm that it's u loh.. so, a bit paisei to approach u if he get the wrong person.. hee :p

apostles

HI wise..

I did not sign the petition either...

Hi dodo... so funny ya...we both saw each other but dare not approach. can u imagine that kind of 'awkard' scene. ehehe. next time i see him. shall say hi.... ** wave...

apostles

Hi everyone...
the thread is getting inactive. Guess everyone is busy with work and getting the house ready.

Hi koala.. if u do not mind me asking, how is it staying with in laws. Not easy ya.

cute_koala_123

Hi blursotong, well staying with in laws is not as bad as I thought. My in laws are good to me. They are friendly....so not much problems with them. The most important thing is I should know what is my responsibilities. During weekend, I will do housework. That's all. My in law do the cooking. My husband is also very supportive. He provides me details of dealing with his family. The do's & don't. With his help, I can adjust myself better.

apostles

HI serene and dodo. Congrats for your graduation!

Hi koala.. yep staying with inlaws is one skill. most imptly you got to have your hubby's support. Without him, very hard to survive.

Hi iceblue, your patience will pay off soon...are you looking at other areas as well?

cute_koala_123

Hi gals, I have a question. Today my boss told me he's going give me confirmation next Mon however no pay increase. He said government law salary review is in July. Our salary is before in 3rd week of each month. Now I have to wait another 1 more year to have salary increase. I felt so disheartened that only less than a week difference btwn my confirmation & pay day. Now I have to wait another 356 days for pay increase. Is it true that government law that salary review is every July. Can anyone tell me? Or is it that I was being taken advantage by this excuse? My probation periods ends in the same month too........So sad.......Any suggestions???

iceblue27

hi blursotong...hee finally next wk arriving hee excited. only lokg at cck. wel hp dun end up disapoint due to lac of satisfactory units blah blah...prayg hard loh.... ..hehe god bless me pls

hi cute koala, if u dun mind u can drop me ur email addr.. i shld b able to share info wif u. but anyw most prob u r not being taken advantag dun wry..but of cos i nd to know ur cmpny(type) b4 can realy say u r not bullied