Cats Lovers??

Thanks for posting the pics here!! I'll be going to London next month end. Can buy for Snowball & Snowy!! Can help you to buy some more if you want.....

Hi Lollipop

I gave my very picky some SmartHeart and she loves it. So far, she rejected Whiskers Pockets and another brand. Only eat her Science Diet Furball contol. Now she doesn't even touch that!

can i interest anyone in a pretty jet-black female kitten? It's about a month old and v cute with a long tail.

i found her at the bottom of my block, dumped, i think. can't keep her because i'm going overseas for about a year and a half in two months time.

i'm afraid that she won't be able to survive if I release her again becuase she is so tiny! and i heard that shelters like SPCA would probably put her down because of that as well.

anyone can help??

Hi Hwey,

So Smartheart is being sold at retail outlets already? How much did you pay for it? Sally rejected Pockets?!! Nanook loves esp the pockets! He would pick out the pockets and leave the biscuits aside. That is one of the reasons why I switched to Smartheart.

Hi Eunice, Curly,

The Marks and Spencer here doesn't even sell cat food

Hi Caira,

I really would love to keep another cat but I think my mum would jump sky high. Furthermore, I am afraid I would shower more attention on the new addition than Nanook.

Hope you are able to find a suitable home for this kittie soon. Another alternative, take pictures of it, and get retail outlets to advertise for ya.

halo curly,

does either snowball or snowy like to run ard at night?
my orange is extremely docile n lovable in the day but when it comes to 2-3am, he's like a racing maniac!! he juz suddenly dashes everywhere in circles n it's drivin me nuts!! tis has been goin on for quite sometime liao. he would juz crash into things n he wouldnt stop. he would run on top of tables n under the bed n he's making one hell of a noise
me at my wits end liao. help!!!!

halo curly,

does either snowball or snowy like to run ard at night?
my orange is extremely docile n lovable in the day but when it comes to 2-3am, he's like a racing maniac!! he juz suddenly dashes everywhere in circles n it's drivin me nuts!! tis has been goin on for quite sometime liao. he would juz crash into things n he wouldnt stop. he would run on top of tables n under the bed n he's making one hell of a noise
me at my wits end liao. help!!!!

Hi eunice, I'm not too sure because I would be in bed by then..... But I doubt so. The only time they are rushing about is when they are chasing each other....

Hi Hwey,
I bought the 1.5kg which is selling for $6.20. The biscuits come in heart shapes, quite cute right?

Hi Eunice,
Nanook is very active during the night. Running about. But that depends. On some nights, he is very quiet and sleeps most of the time. When he is naughty, like running around, making a din, my mum would grab him and he wouldn't dare to move. Afterwhich my mum scolds him and let him go, he'd run away and sit in one corner, behaving

It's a normal behaviour, no worries. But mebbe u should discipline him, like lock him in the room if he's naughty. Then release him after awhile.

haiz.... ive resorted to tying him up with a leash in our bedroom at nite

Last night Nanook went berserk too

He was chasing his tail, something which he hasn't done in a long while. And then he rolled over the floor, kicked his hind legs together before jerking up and start chasing his tail all over again!

It was quite entertaining, seeing him at play. He was still up at 11:30pm.

these few days got full moon mah, thot maybe like wolves like tat lor

Hi Lollipop. Where did you buy the SmartHearts and which flavour? Sally is eating the seafood flavour and she loves those in heart-shapes.

Hi Eunice,

These few nights full moon ah? Didn't even realise tt leh!

Hi Hwey,

I bought the Smartheart from a pet shop near my old hse. It's at Hougang Ave 1, Blk 108. I bought 2 flavours. Seafood and erm, erm, shrimp & tuna? It's blue and green packaging. The one I am feeding Nanook with is green and red in colour.

I think it's quite refreshing, to feed our cats with Smartheart. It's different from Pockets. And sometimes it's nice to have a change

Nanook has been shedding fur

Mebbe he's getting old

Full moon has effect of cats?? I hope they won't turn evil like those werewolfs..... hahaha.....

Snowball is due for her sterilisation surgery this afternoon, hence I locked her in the study room since last night. She's been crying all the time.... Feel really sorry for her..... Hubby will be sending her to the vet at lunch time. Hope she'll be find. Can't wait for the day to end, so I can pick her up!

lollipop, Nanook's shedding fur? Is it excessive? Or is it normal?

Hi Curky,
Snowball will be fine, dun worry. Mebbe she will feel a little groggy after the operation, but she should be ok by next morning. Just make sure she dun do anything to tear her stitches, okie?

Yes, Nanook has been shedding. I think it has got nothing to do with the food he eats or even the shampoo we are using on him. It's old age, methinks. FH's cousin used to have 3 cats, and 1 of them had shedding problems too. Now there's one more patch on his body. Sad. He keeps licking. The more he licks, the more fur he sheds
If I am around, I can stop him from excessive licking, but I can't.

Any remedy? Anyone? Chin Leng?

Hi lollipop

I spoke with the vet before the surgery and seems like it might cost us $300 (?) as they need to do a few tests and scan to make sure she's alright.....

I will be calling again later to check on her. Hope they won't find me too "lor soh" as I had already made a few phone calls before lunch. hahaha.....

We sent her to Animal Recovery Centre at Pet Safari. The surgery for female cats is $165. Male cats is $60 or $65. The vet said she had to do some pre-tests to check blood, liver, etc ($76) and if necessary tests for AIDS and leukemia ($120). I just called and they didn't do the AIDS and leukemia tests, so it's $120 less.... The clinic assistant told me that Snowball is doing fine. I can't wait to pick her up and give her some comfort.

lollipop, when I went to pick her, I think she didn't recognise me.... She's been very quiet since she came home and has been sleeping. Snowy is too active for her now, so I let Snowball sleep in my room. Hope she'll be her normal self tomorrow.

Not too sure about the fur. I think it should.....

I think that was the after-effect thingy. Nanook was just as groggy after the op, and very quiet. When I brought him home, it took him awhile to "relax" but soon after he was climbing onto the window grilles. I was so afraid his stitch would tear.

Dun worrie, Snowball will be back to her usual self. Afterall, she's just had her op. Give her some time ok? Meanwhile, mebbe it is better to separate the two friends first.

I didn't have good experience with that clinic. They rejected treating my Sally twice when Sally is sick.

First time, it was in the morning and they insisted the clinic is close when there are people streaming in. After lunch, we went again, still they said the clinic is close. The sign already indicated opening hours!!!

A few weeks ago, I called them, wanting to make appointment for Sally's diarreah. They picked up and slammed down the phone. Twice! Third time they didn't even bother.

My husband said next time we don't send Sally there since they think Sally is not good enough for them.

lollipop, Snowball is already jumping everywhere!! I'm really scared that the stiches would tear too.... But the vet did mention that as long as it's not too high, it's alright.

Hwey, the staff in that clinic were really unprofessional! So far, we are very lucky - the clinic is like 5 - 7 mins walk from our place and staff are very friendly. When we first adopted Snowy, we sent her immediately to the vet and they were closing but the vet was very kind to see her even though it was nothing serious but we just wanted her to be checked out.

My colleague who has 4 dogs and 14 cats visit this clinic at other location and she said they are very good. It's Animal Recovery Centre, you might like to try them.

See Curly, I told you Snowball will be her usual self within hours?

Hi Hwey,
Dun get upset over this incident. Just dun patronise them anymore. And Sally has already recovered from her diarrhoea. Treat it as a lesson learnt, and warn others not to bring their pets there anymore.

Have a great weekend.

Hi lollipop, Snowball has been very quiet the whole weekend! The good thing is that she started eating once she got home. I'm gonna monitor another day and see how.....

You know, Snowy is so loving and affectionate, totally different from Snowball (she's much less). She was so funny - my hubby was having his nap on the sofa, Snowy just jumped onto him and started giving him a hair wash, and after a while she got tired, she snoozed next to my hubby's face. Wanted to take a pic but ran out of film......

Snowy just love the human touch. I was watching a programme yesterday, she climbed onto me and slept. Each time I had to moved her away, she would climb back and continue her beauty sleep....

Hi Curly,

I guess kittens are very affectionate. Probably she looks upon you as her mother

Cats when neutered or spayed, tend to become lazier, which could very well explain Snowball's behaviour. Nothing to worry about, dear.

I brought Nanook to the vet yesterday and was told he had a bad case of rashes. I thought those spots were mosquito bites. The vet gave him an injection and some medicine, as well as a "funnel" to stop him from licking and shedding more fur. It's very sad to see Nanook so disoriented because he lost his sense of directions. He was walking backwards yesterday, and kept knocking onto things

The vet told us to keep that funnel on him for 2 weeks. We will only remove it when he is eating his dinner. The fur, according to her, will grow in 3 month's time.

Nanook has been rather cooperative. He didn't struggle when I put the funnel back on him after his meal. I hug him now and then to reassure him.

Yah, maybe she looks upon me like her mum.... When I talk to them, I always say mummy and daddy... hahaha....

Poor Nanook, I hope he gets well soon.

Thanks Curly,
I hope he recovers soon too.

You know, there were 2 cats owned by the vet. A female, whose name is Tiger, she's about 4 years old. The tomcat, his name is Michael, is 8 years old. When Nanook was in his cage, Michael wanted to "befriend" him, kept rubbing his scent on his cage. Know what Nanook did? That bozo hissed at Michael! Both cats are not wary of strangers. In fact, they are very disciplined, they sat at the reception table.
And Michael followed us when it was Nanook's turn.

I think not. Nanook has always been so sheltered to the extent he would not make new friends.
He's very wary of strangers, and will usually hide once he detects unfamiliar scents.

I see..... Snowball was like that too with humans. After I had her for a month or so, I invited my girlfriends to my place and she became very defensive and hissed at them.... But I think she's ok now. She was ok with Bobby (the siamese) and she's got used to Snowy..... Can't wait to get home to see them.

Anybody knows how to do bake rice like those from Swenson's... Loved the salmon and mushroom bake rice...

halo all,

im seriously tinkin of lettin orange go
he's taken to goin into neighbours houses n they dun like it. it's sad to see them barricading their gates with things to prevent orange from goin in

tell me how?

Hi Curly,
Guess you must be home with your precious now

Nanook isn't that wary of female strangers, it depends on his mood actually. On some days he would sniff at my friend, on other days he would run away and hide. Cats, they are so temperamental.
Which makes them sooo irresistable!

Erm Maggie,
The baked rice you were mentioning? It's for human consumption right? I know nothing about baked rice. Mebbe you should post ure msg to the "Cooking Recipes as Promised" there are a couple of girls who are really good cooks.

Hi Eunice,
Why did Orange wander into ure neighbour's hse? Isn't it being kept indoors? Are you going to stay with ure MIL in the future? If you are looking at owning ure own flat someday, mebbe you should really leash Orange in ure room. Cruel it may sound, but letting him go is worse. Leashing him is a form of punishment. Let Orange know he has been naughty and make sure he doesn't repeat his mistake again.

There there... pat pat pat

lollipop, I don't know what happened to Snowy - she didn't do her business in her litter tray! I wonder if it's bec she finds the tray dirty?

eunice, don't let Orange go!! Maybe can try out lollipop's suggestion?

Hi Curly,
You mean, suddenly she's not using her litter tray anymore? Observe her behaviour for the next few days. At the same time, you might want to change her litter. If Snowy is still doing her business outside her tray, you may consider getting a type of spray available in the mkt. It's pleasant in scent, and you just spray on the sand and let her smell. I think it might encourage her to use the litter tray.

Good luck

Yah lor, very funny you know, last night she did her poo in the tray then peed outside and this morning, peed in the tray and did her poo poo outside. Will change the trays tonight and see how.....

Mebbe she's just trying to get ure attention, and I think she had succeeded

Nanook's been a dear. Once I reach home, I would prepare his food and mash his pills. He would finish everything. I give him neckrubs before I put the collar on him again. He doesn't even attempt to struggle! I guess he knew it is for his own good

Hahahah....... then she definitely got my attention!! Last night when I got home, she again peed outside..... Thankfully she has been good this morning.

Nanook is so "guai". I always have hard time when I come to this.....

Hi Curly,
I think he has gotten use of his collar already. (that funnel thingy)

He has been a dear, really.

Mebbe you should grab Snowy and force her to smell the litter tray and at the same time, tell her to use the tray or she'd not get any food from you again. :P I think they can understand whatever we are saying. Show her you mean business and see if she continues to pee outside her tray. Mebbe she doesn't like the litter.. um, is it the crystal beads? I remember you told us Snowball had this problem too.

Yes lollipop, I'm using the crystal beads ones. Snowball has already got used to it. Actually Snowy has been good - she immediately used the tray when we got her until recently.... I don't like the real sand leh; I find the crystal ones cleaner.

tigger, Butter has grown so much! How old is she now? I like the one with her tongue sticking out and the last one.

I dun come to this thread often, but would like to appeal to you cat-lovers for some help in a petition.

My friend is the director of the Cat Welfare Soceity in Singapore; she has written a reply (published in the Forum in Straits Times today) in response to minister Vivien Balakirshnan's appeal to stop HDB dwellers from keeping cats as pets.

Participation is really simple ... send me an email at [email protected] and i shall forward the petition letter to you (the same that was published in the newspapers today). You only need to sign it with your name & IC number, and fax it to the number provided.

Please help with this good cause.

Hi Tigger,
Buttercup has grown so much! And she looks so cute! I like the last picture too. Looks fluffy too
Must continue to send more pictures of her ok?

Snowy, erm, oops, Curly, if this problem persists, mebbe you should consider changing the litter? There's one brand sold in NTUC, 5kg at $6, Alkats or something like that. Clumps real good! No smell either.

hi Curly and Lolli

Thanks.;) She is a very "chor Lor" kitty. haha. Butter has really grown alot this fw mths.
She is 7 mths old already. Have to spay her soon.

ABout the crystal beads. Is it better to use them instead of the granulated ones?

Hmm do they really wanna stop HDB residents from keeping cats?

Hi Tigger,
Cats grow very fast. That's why I always regretted not taking enough pictures of Nanook when he was much younger.

The crystal beads, brand Litter Star, is quite good actually, albeit a little expensive. It's odourless, and you dun have to change the litter. They were saying you could use the same litter for a month? When the cat urinates, instead of clumps, the beads turn yellow, at the same time, absorbing the unpleasant smell and moisture. You just have to remove the poo. I tried it out on Nanook once, but he was more interested in the beads. He spilled them everywhere, so I'm stuck to using granulated ones.

Yes, they want to stop owners from keeping cats in flats. Sigh, I am glad I dun stay in a flat anymore. But anyways, if you keep the cats indoors always, they won't create trouble, and since you have already spayed or neutered them, they won't, I quote them, caterwaul. Have you girls emailed Cody already? Perhaps I should rope in my friends' help.