Catholic Brides

Hi I'mSerious,

I have the same confusion as u. But i understand it is a taboo to unveil the veil twice. So, ur husband can only unveil once.

So, I was thinking in the morning gatecrashing, fetch me but dun unveil, go to church first, then tea ceremony.

But not confirm yet..

hey edwin and fifteenmay, i've got the same church too! but in Sept09. We've asked Fr John Bosco to celebrate our wedding mass

so many sep09 brides here.. me also

mine at St Josephs (Victoria St)

yea Fr Bosco has a nice voice n is good lookin too! hahaa.. too bad he's not my priest.. lol

Are there any Christ The King BTB or any couples that had theirs there before? Any experience to share?

Also, can someone please kindly send me a copy of the mass booklet to [email protected]

Lastly, any wedding invites that I could refer to as we're having church ceremony followed by dinner banquet.

hey fifteenmay, ours is on 12 Sept! quite close eh? heheh. and yeahhh his voice is so soothing
we were so happy when he said he was free on that day.

Lalaa, oooh St Joseph's church is nice! has a very traditional feel, doesnt it? you're gonna have lovely photos

Hi Jaclyn.. u can refer to this website.. 1 of the brides posted it here last time.. it has samples for mass booklet for download..
http://www.risenchrist.org.sg/pastoralsvcs/matrimony.htm

Leidy.. yup i really love old churches! im glad i managed to get dis church.. went thru quite a bit of stress to get a church.. cos originally was supp to do at Our Lady of Lourdes.. but sudd they said they're goin for renovation for a yr.. such a relief managed to get dis church

any of u goin for CEE? mine is on may 8-10..

actually i chose father anthony ho, cos he is chinese...cos most of our guests are chinese. but since he retired, we decided to choose father bosco cos his sermons are quite interesting and somemore he is our parish priest.
i rem one sermon that he told us about how he became a priest. super funny la!
lalaa, st joseph is an old church. you should take your photos on the long stairs!good background

hi fifteenmay, did u choose fr ho while he was still at sfx? because he's still celebrating my wedding mass even though he's gone over to st anne's =)

hey fifteenmay, yeah i think you can still ask Fr Ho even though he's not at SFX. In fact, I think you can ask almost any priest to come to SFX.

sobe, yeah i love the traditional church feel too! It's like you're getting married in a castle or something heheh. But I was baptised in my church and grew up attending mass there, so it's special to me too

Hi Andrea and Leidy, Havent you heard? Father Ho retired on medical leave though he would honour all his committments he made prior to retirement. we thought of changing to father bosco cos its more convenient and better to let father ho rest more.

Hi sobe , have you found a choir yet? if you dun have i can help you source. I am from st mary's but have to hold my wedding near my gf's place coz st mary's is not available on our wedding date.

fifteenmay, both are good, but have been to sfx and noted week in week out fr ho is saying wedding masses which probably had been committed before fr bosco came.

HI Edwin,
Ya, Father Ho is honouring his committments he made before he went into retirement.
we just thought that since we have a while before we get married, we might as well change to father bosco(he s quite funny!) and let father ho rest

He is funny ah right... just attended mass last sunday at SFX pretty funny homily that got the church laughing about his confession experience you should drop by to attend his mass.

Hi Edwin, i am from sfx. i heard that homily too.. funny right? you should hear the one of how he became a priest! my goodness, super funny man

Hi all, am new to this thread
glad to know there's a thread especially for us catholic brides!
My church wedding wil be in Jan 2010. Am thinking to do it at St.Joseph (victoria st). may i know how's the procedure like? hv to call the church and book first or personally see the father? i called the parish secretary and she asked me to contact Fr Michael wor..

Hi. I am new here, not sure if I should even be here as I am not a catholic but my FH is.Thought I will do some 'research' by reading thru the thread. 2010 BTB.

Lalaa> I am going for CEE on the same dates.

shin.. oh ur goin for CEE may 8-10 too? yayy! wonder if we'll be room mates.. haha

Greentea.. yea better to call Fr Michael directly.. by the way which parish u belong to? they would wanna noe y u dun wanna do in ur own parish.. cos dis St Joseph is not a parish church.. n they do weddings only on special request.. I manged to get dis church for my wedding cos my parish church goin under renovation..

Hi Lalaa, i live in jurong west and the nearest church is St. Francis of Assisi. but i seldom go there le, and usually move around between Blessed sacrament @ commonwealth and st. joseph lor. met with Fr Michael last sunday and he wil consider my request as i'm not local..

Shin & Lalaa, i've attended CEE 2 weeks ago! it was really a good experience, though very tiring lor... very intensive! you'll be really surprised by many facts that we catholics dun even know..
Enjoy your weekend ya!

Greentea> tiring.. oh then I better take leave on the following Monday then.. =)

Lalaa> Hah, maybe we will be roommates, shall get your name when the date draws nearer..

Lalaa, my AD wil be in Jan next yr

Shin, yup it wil be tiring, lack of sleep lor. as the course will end on sunday evening..
many ppl say they cant sleep on the first nite. and the first session on friday nite only ended at about 11pm -_-||

my FH does shift work and it's pretty hard to accommodate 6 half day sessions (for MPC) as he has to work on weekends when his shift falls over the weekends. So we opted for CEE instead.

Hi greentea...

I was at the same EE session as you

Yes..its really tiring.. but i couldnt take leave on monday.. so was like a walking zombie. haha

sobe - I chose MPC cos it's longer. For me, I feel the need to learn about each other more and have a presenting couple guiding us through. I wanna make sure I get the right person.. hee...

I must say, technically MPC is 6 half day sessions, but effectively, it's really 5 week thing cos there are 'homework' to be taken home and do and discuss. I found those very useful.

yea my situation same as shin.. my FH works on shifts so weekends r hard to commit.. thus we opted for CEE..
I oredi planned to take leave the following mon.. haha

ohh....well, my fh was adamant on MPC rather than CEE so he's registering us for the Q2 session..

*waves* purinne, guess that means i'll be seeing you on the 19th april!

hiya sobe
... i tink mayb ur FH felt its not as intense ba

yeah yeah~~~ must look out for u hehehe
... heard fr mi frenz who attended the earlier sessions that it is really very gd and useful
... in fact one of the couples will b goin bac to help out this time as they enjoyed the course so much

im so lookin fwd to it

btw whens ur AD, sobe?

*grin* actually, I agree with what Noknok says. Just wondering what's the difference between CEE and MPC 'cos I did ask my fh if he wanted to go for CEE instead. Initially, I was mis-informed that MPC falls over 6 mths and not 6 weeks. hahaha...

my AD is in Feb 2010...what bout you?

hehe mi too ...

the main difference btw mpc and cee is that duration. mpc covers more topics ... and more details ... thou duration is longer, it's spread out so that the pace is still reasonably comfy ... while cee is an intense wkend course which requires stay in
... thats wat the priest told mi

mi AD is in Oct 09

I chose CEE purely because it's shorter lor. haha.. oh i thought that MPC wil last 6mths? it's 6 weeks only huh?? :S
Cher, were u in Room 308 in the previous CEE? i think i know u... hehe..

Hmmm... I wonder where does the 6 months come from.. haha.. 6 months course really very scary leh...

Going through the MPC hor.. I feel that it's not really 6 weeks long leh.. like very fast going to be over soon..

hahahaha...Greentea, you heard it's 6mths too?

purinne, for all we know, we might be in the same grouping for the house sessions! *grinZ* Oh, yours in Oct? makes me sound so kiasu since mine is only next yr. :P

Noknok, you're attending the Q1 MPC? how has it been so far?

oh yes, need to ask advice from all here, is anyone having your church/solemnisation in the afternoon? if so, when will you be having the customary tea ceremony - before or after? *sigh* headache cos mum says it should be after church but it'll be quite late by then! :s

hehehe yeah
... we mite just be in the same group
... they will call us nearer to the date to inform us which group we are in

i actually signed up for Q1's session ... but gotta postponed coz many of the dates clash with my baptism events ... so postponed to Q2

yah.. in the MPC course now..So far so good.. quite fun.. have a presenting couple that shows signs of "a little spark can cause fire" type.. so very funny.. when see them control... haha.. my HTB going to be baptised this year too.. but all the days fits perfectly fine leh... hee..

My plan for AD goes like this..

Morning gate crash
10am reach church
11am Mass
12.30pm lunch
2pm reach groom's house for tea ceremony
3.30pm go brides house
4.30pm go hotel

roughly like that lah.. not fully ironed out on the timing yet.

purinne> ooo...you will be having your baptism during easter?

noknok> 11am is perfect but despite trying to book this slot with my parish in Jan, the slot for feb 2010 was already taken up! Now i'm left with 9am and 2pm. tentatively booked the 2pm slot but now i'm worried bout the tea ceremony cos it's prefered to be after church. *sigh* wondering if I should change it to 9am. either way, it's either too early or late for my lunch buffet/reception.