Catholic Brides

forever81

Hi Andrea

Thanks, think you answered most of my qns.
My FH is studying on Sat so its abit hard to attend,have to wait till he graduate in Sept. Thats why i was wondering if we can attend in Sept.

Do you know roughly abt how much it cost for the florist and choir?i have a tight buget to keep to also. Sorry so much qns.

krystal80

hi forever81, i emailed u liao so hope u received it...what u can do is book a slot for the Sept EEs (that way U can secure a place earlier coz the slots fill up quite fast) I also personally went for EE n loved it! N my hubby and I saw one or 2 tt we thought may not have gone thru with the marriage after EE but will hope all the best for u guys...

as for choir, it really depends on what the church choir charges coz there's no fixed rate. Phillip I know charges $120.

Florist-wise, I can't remember how much I'm being charged by Mia but personally I chose her mainly coz she's had experience doing decor at SFX where I am getting married and she didn't charge me extra for a special request tt I made that other florists have.

noknok

I don't really know if wat I went through is a pre nup. But I think so.

For mine, the preist has a form to fill up, and he'll asked and explain all the questions. The answers given is suppose under oath.

noknok

ha.. i told you wat.. my priest all upside down one.. he old old one.. dun really care.. he can say like.. hmmm.. I need ur baptism cert, then right away before I can say anything, he say.. no no, you're baptise here right, I should have record.. Dun need. then he go dig out his record.

lalaa_27

hahaha.. good luck Noknok! u better stand very close to ur HTB on ur weddin day.. if not he mite marry both of u to other ppl.. lol!

chinook

Hi, can anyone advise if it's okay for Catholics to have the solemnisation (as in ROM) first then the church wedding at a later date? Coz my fiance and I plan to hold our ROM in May and then the church wedding and AD banquet next year. I think I read in another thread that Catholics must solemnise in church, please advice.

raine24

Hi Stephanie, I think its permissible to have the ROM first and a church wedding later, though the marriage would only be recognised as valid under the eyes of the church after a church wedding. Also, if a couple has ROM-ed, in church they would be signing another piece of paper or a picture or something, not their marriage cert. Just thought I'd share that with you.

lalaa_27

hi Stephanie.. its ok to haf ur ROM bfore church weddin.. im living proof of dat.. haha
had my ROM in Dec'07.. church weddin in sept dis yr.. wen doin ur pre-nup, have to submit ur Marriage cert to ur priest..
but for me, i treat church weddin as the real weddin.. so will start livin together wif HTB only after sept

we ROM mainly for the house only..

lalaa_27

Stephanie.. my solemnizer was Rev Stephen Cheng (64249400).. not a catholic priest but a very nice, gentle smiling & patient person.. would definitely recommend him!

by the way catholic priests wouldnt wanna conduct ROM without a church wedding.. we did approach our parish priest at first but he said no.. he will be doin our church wedding in sept though

u can also refer to dis webby for the licensed solemnizers list.. http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_interpreters.asp

noknok

Can I ask, how many of you doing lunch buffet in church then at night banquet again. For the lunch buffet, got recommendations?? I saw a lot min order is 100pax leh.. a bit too many already. Is it alright not to get the wedding packages?? will it be weird if it's without wedding decorations?? lunch + dinner = budget constraint. sigh.. and hor, how long does the lunch usually lasts??

forever81

Hi Noknok

Me too having the same problems.Also having lunch+dinner.My church start at 11am so if don't provide lunch dun think it will be nice.

I am targetting for 1.5hrs for lunch.still thinking cos the schedule is really very packed.Hope to get advise too

raine24

hey I'm looking for caterers too! Too hard to find peranakan caterers with good food. We've tried the usual and I think we're just too fussy with the quality and taste sigh.. Think if we can't please our family, think we'd just do away with peranakan catering and order the usual international/fusion food.

Any recommendations? Think my church wedding might be quite large.. ard 400 pax.

noknok

Ha.. Forever81, my timing exactly like urs.. mass at 11am. Thinking of having Tea ceremony for brides side in the hotel, but then.. sigh.. idea put down.. so it'll still be SUPER pack.. chem.. ur tea ceremony for groom side in the morning or afternoon?? mind planning afternoon. dunno if have enough time or not.

forever81

hi noknok

My FH say his side can do tea ceremony in the hotel.But my mum say according to tradition i must go bk to my mum's hse.sigh...so planning after church to go bk to my hse for tea ceremony for my side.

will have time but will be super tired at nite loh

imserious

Nok nok & forever81,

my case worst. I got church in the morning follow by tea ceremony at FH place, then my new house, then tea ceremony at my mom's house. Don't know how to squeeze in also.

raine24

same.. my wedding mass at 10am, buffet lunch till 12.30 or 1pm. tea ceremony for guy's side at in-law's place, then tea ceremony on gal's side at my parents' place. We aim to reach hotel ard 4pm or so... rest a while then its make up time and prepare for wedding dinner.. standard schedule for most pple la.

imserious

raine, so your fetch the bride time will be late lor since your mass starts at 10am?

Mine starts at 930am. Not full mass. So catering food to both side separately. Think its an idea to do it at church. Early lunch maybe??

raine24

haha no, I'm not having any groom fetching the bride stuff.. doing away with the whole 'tekan' the groom nonsense. Don't really see a need for that, lucky our parents don't too.. haha.. We're quite western la.. just meet directly at church. First time hubz sees me on my wedding day is looking at me walk down the aisle.

imserious

Thats when he will be lost for words by your stunning beauty. Just like in the movie.. I like!!! But i can't do.. cos parents very traditional.

asweird

Hi all... I am new here but i m not a bride to be but a hubby to be...

My wedding will be held in SFX in Oct 09 and i was helping out wif my Future Wife to find a nice florist to decor the church and also for choir recommendations and i bumped into this forum and found many brides to be sharing info and many are getting wedded at SFX.

Any one has any florist or choir contacts to recommend?

noknok

I got a question to ask. I was baptised like 3 years back and my HTB is going to be baptised soon. In church, right after I was baptise, ppl whom I know call me by my baptism name. Outside, I still used my own name. Which name is usually used during wedding mass??

I was like thinking, most of my friends are not catholics, if father insist on using the baptism name, will it be very weird as no one knows my baptism name.

Am I worrying too much??

raine24

hi noknok, don't worry. I attended a wedding last sept and the bride got baptised a few years ago as well, but used her chinese name at her wedding mass cos most of her guests know her by that name. Don't think the priest wld insist.. good to check with him again.

imserious

We'll be having the usual gatecrashing then church. After the gatecrash, my FH will see me, lift my veil & kiss me right? So do i have to let down my veil again before i walk down the aisle?

shakingheads

Hi ,
I'm planning to have a weekday church wedding in NOv09. Can anybody share with me what choir size would be appropriate/suitable ? Does anyone know of any choir tht sings on weekdays ?

love_or_money

nyonaeurasian...when did u book ur church? my fiance and i went to book sometime in oct and it was already taken and my date is the same as urs! lucky girl!

shakingheads

Hi fifteenmay
Any idea if your choir that you booked for your wedding does sing at other churches and on weekdays?

Andrea,
As most of the attendees of my wedding are non-Catholics, I was just wondering if the overall effect of the mass will sound too "plain" if I just engage a soloist to sing at my wedding?

shakingheads

Thanks for your feedback . I approached a couple of choirs earlier and was rejected cos its a weekday.
Is it too early to arrange for the musician/soloist now if my wedding is in Nov09?

fifteenmay

shaking heads, you can check with my soloist if he can do weekdays.PM me if you need the number
my mass is also mostly non catholics thats why i chose him cos his voice is really good. so we are hoping that the non catholics would just listen to his voice. heheeh

lalaa_27

haiz im so stressed.. my parish (Our Lady of Lourdes) confirm goin under renovation durin my weddin in sep.. now must scramble ard lookin for other available churches.. till now no luck.. st peter n paul also goin under reno.. sacred heart booked on dat day.. how how.. help..

noknok

Lalaa.. what's ur wedding date again?? Worse come to worse can try my church. very seldom ppl have weddings there one. Really the last resort...

noknok

St Stephens.. it's at Aljunied/Macpherson area.

Many couples dun like weddings there cos they do funerals as well. But to me, it doesn't matter.

lalaa_27

oh all churches dun do funerals uh? my parish also does funerals leh.. dat didnt stop us..
ok will keep St Stephen in mind.. thanx Noknok!

noknok

If I'm not wrong some churches don't do funerals..

If you need me to go down with you to take a look or attend a mass let me know yah.