Catholic Brides

Hi merribell,

You've got mail.

Just thought of something wrt the tea ceremony and church wedding, and would like to hear your view. Traditionally, tea is served by the couple as a married entity where the bride/groom is formally introduced to each other's family during the ceremony.

Standard procedure:
1. Groom fetches bride
2. Couple goes to groom's place for tea ceremony
3. Bride changes into new outfit to symbolise the bride's home visit (三æœå›žé—¨)
4. Couple goes back to bride's place for tea ceremony

Question: Given that the couple hasn't ROM yet and the church wedding takes place later in the day (like 11am or 2pm), would you:
a) do the tea ceremony in the morning anyway; OR
b) do the tea ceremony in church after the wedding mass/in the hotel before the banquet?

If a), relatives have to shuttle to either homes, go to church, then at night go to banquet.

If b), the whole symbolism of the tea ceremony is lost in the sense that the bride cannot be expected to change into a fresh garment at either venue, neither is there the physical act of 'fetching the bride' or 'bride home coming'.

I'm a little split on this because i'm big on adhering to the Chinese culture and tradition, yet i'm concerned with the logistics and time management. Those who are married, what was your program like? Did you compromise the sequence or did you ignore the tradition altogether? Those who are getting married, anyone like me / has given this a thought / has parents who have very traditional mindset and insist you go by the book?

hi caffeinated,

its ok to do the tea ceremony before the actual solemnization...

for a: its common for relatives to shuttle.. its very common to have the tea cremonies to pay respect to the parents before the couple go to church... its abt combining both and making the best arrangement and compromise...

hi merribell,
i'm getting married in SFA on 7th July this year.
Welcome here....

Femme:
think EE would open your HTB's eyes and he might be willing to say those few lines out of respect for the religion. After all religions still advocate respect for other religions

Hi Kopio,
my schedule is going to be something like this as suggested by the ppl here.

this is tentative plan though

8am - gatecrashing
9am - tea ceremony at husband's house
10am - tea ceremony back at my place
11am - some photo taking nearby
1230pm - reach church to rest before the ceremony
130 - 230 - mass
2.30 - 3.30 - tea reception

Hi caffeinated,

Although my wedding has yet to arrive, here's what we have decided to do:
1) He leaves his house at 8am, arriving at my place at approx 0820-0830.
2) Minimal/no gatecrashing
3) Serve tea
4) Leave at latest 0930 for church
5) Church wedding, then reception
6) Leave at latest 1315 for his place
7) Serve tea
8) Leave for hotel

Some relatives "complained" that 0830 is too early for tea, especially for the young and old. It was my parents who said, "If they can't make it, then they don't get tea. Simple as that."

Hi ladies and all BTB of SFA,
I went for my maiden mass at SFA last Sat with my mum and my HTB and I was quite happy with the place, though my HTH did comment about the 'alien' looking air con vents.. very space like but cute! Father Lau was the celebrant and Pauline was the pianist... just to check with merichian and Kopio, which priest have u book for your wedding? And will u be getting the church florist (Carol I think) to do your deco? Thanks!

Thanks for the overwhelming responses! Guess really need to relook into this. Btw, which caterer have you all decided on? Went to the Kr*ston wedding fair yesterday but found the food so-so only.

Hi merribell,
I'm not with SFA. Mine's at St Anne's... Btw, have just emailed you again. Subject head is "Sample mass booklets".

Hey Caffe

My wedding's eons away in Dec but my plans are:

1) No gatecrashing. I meet him in church
2) Mass 9:30am
3) Hotel 11:30am
4) Tea Ceremony in Hotel
5) Buffet Lunch

hi merribell,
Fr John Lau will be my priest and as for the florist, i am still waiting for them to get back to us.
It seems that on my wedding day, there are 3 wedding sessions. So from my point of view, it would be better for the 3 couples to just share one florist. But so far, we still have not heard from the florist, because according to Pauline, the date is considered quite far away.
That's why i posted earlier asking if the other 2 couples getting married in SFA on 070707 are in here.

btw, wanna ask some questions again....
when printing invites to the wedding dinner, do you also have a separate invite to the church wedding?
as in a separate invitation card or just a "memo" within the first invitation card

Hi annette,

I considered both options too. Have had catholic friends who did it either way.
I am printing out a seperate invitation for the Church wedding coz there would be friends that I would be only inviting to the Church wedding and not to the dinner. The only drawback is additional costs. But I don't have too many guests, so the cards cost is still ok.

hi annette,

such things depends on the guests that you are inviting...

if you are inviting the same group of pple for church AND dinner, have 1 card will do....

if you are inviting pple for church OR dinner only, then you gotta do seperate cards for this group of pple.

basically, the CARDS can be the same... what you need to change is the INSERTS...

hi annette,

my phrasing is as such: u may wanna copy to MS WORD and centralise the wordings...

An answered prayer he is to me;
My greatest blessing she’ll always be.
And so this day we’ll pledge our love
in front of friends and God above.

Mr & Mrs XXX and Mr & Mrs XXX
joyously invite

Monday, 14th November 2005
11.00am
Church of The Holy Trinity
20 Tampines Street 11

Kindly be seated by 10.45am
Wedding Ceremony will commence at 11.00am sharp
Lunch will be served in the Church hall
followed by dinner at

Amara Singapore
Amara Grand Ballroom, Level 3
165 Tanjong Pagar Road
(next to Tanjong Pagar MRT)

Cocktail reception will commence at 7.00pm
Dinner will be served at 7.30pm
Your punctuality will be greatly appreciated

RSVP by 31 October 2005
groom at 97654321, bride at 97654321

Hi femme,

Don't worry too much about it. Sometimes it's hard for a non-catholic to say certain prayers especially if your husband to be is a staunch buddhist. But I'm sure the EE will be a gd platform for him to understand the meaning of a catholic marriage. I've seen couples quarrel and argue during the first night of EE because one partner is a non catholic. To make things worse, it was the world cup season when I attended my EE, so you can imagine.....but everything turn out well in the end.

Pray about it and I'm sure things will turn out well. God will guide you through this

Hi Jmi,

Hmmmm, my mass is at 10am, wanted to start the lunch at 12:30pm too but my HTB say may be a bit rush, so we fix at 1pm, now I kind of regret coz I think the guests will be starving by then, but no choice, invitation cards sent for printing liao

hi nicelip,

i suggest this:

10 -11am: Wedding mass
11am - 1130am: hotos taking in church
1130 - 1230pm: LUNCH

its TOTALLY not nice to keep guests to 'starve' and wait around for lunch to be served at 1pm. i believe your lunch reception is in church?

however, please ignore this message if your lunch is not in church.. (just in case you are buffering transport time)

Hi nicelip

Oh, I'm having tea ceremony in the hotel right after some photo taking in church.

Some of my closer friends will likely be staying for the night, so while for lunch to start, they can check into the hotel. As for the rest of the rest, I think they'll come for lunch only.

hi nicelip, agree with minssy...

if ur lunch is elsewhere, thenn I think 1pm is good...but u may want to tell ur helpers to play by ear kinda thing...if all the guests can make their way to the lunch venue easily and quickly, then just tell the venue pple to start first lah, even if it's 1230. Hungry peoople are not happy people...hehs.

hi bbp,

yeah the lady replied!

which church are you getting married in? You gotta contact the church office directly.

This group of ladies, led by Ginger, are volunteers who make the flora arrangment and other church decoration for the church.

enjoy!

Yup, my lunch reception is not in church, will be having buffet lunch in Rasa Sentosa, same as Jmi I think.

I'm actually buffering for transport time but think the buffer time may be too long ;p so will take CSI advice and play by ear, better to start early than to keep guests waiting and starving at the same time

Hi annette,

mine is still being designed by the printer. So still waiting for finalised copy. I am always changing my mind as to what to include so kinda giving her a headache.

Minssy...is it better to include the "kindly be seated by xx time" phrase? I have friends who are perpetually late for gatherings and I thought it was quite a good idea since some might not have attended a wedding mass before...Should I add it in?

Hi minssy,

Umm, I kinda lost track about what we are talking about. What lady replied? From what I can remember, are we talking about the contact for that nice floral decoration that your PG posted? If so, did you send the contact to my email? Cos I didn't receive any...

Sorry sorry.. feel so pai seh I dunno what you're talking about..

Hi nicelip

Yuppers my lunch buffet is also in Sentosa - The Sentosa Spa & Resort.

I have about 2 hours from time mass ends to start of buffet. Enough time for travelling from St Teresa's and tea ceremony in hotel before lunch starts.

hi sea blue,

aiyoh dun keep changing lah.. change too many times make pple difficult also :p

yah if you read my previous sample that i posted, i indicated that they need to be seated at 10.45am. ALSO, when you call them up to get their final attendance, you gotta tell them that church mass will start punctually one.. if they are late, they will be shy to enter the church one... hahhahahaha

hi bbp,

its the florist lah.. i am asking you to call the church directly.. i did not email you lah

Hi minssy,

Aah, completely understand already. Unfortunately, I asked my church florist (IHM) to settle the flowers for me already. But I got to do pew deco myself which will probably just be simple ribbons.
Thanks for the help anyway.

Does anybody feel that they can't seem to settle anything? 3 weeks ago - doing mass booklet. 3 weeks later - still doing mass booklet.

Everything isn't moving! Work isn't moving, wedding isn't moving, argh!

hi bbp,

yah exactly.. the pictures you saw on the previous post? that bride uses the church florist also..

a.. put your heart into the mass booklet.. its really not that hard actually.. the harder part will be to align everything and make sure its error free..

Hi minssy,

The thing is, small stuff seems to keep cropping up. The image disappears (maybe I accidentally deleted it), the layout is wrong, spelling mistakes, not enough pages, too many blank pages... sigh. Hope I can close this by this Friday. Then when I go see Father to submit my papers, I can pass it to him for approval. Then must remember to get his "registration" number to file for marriage with ROM.

I don't know how you guys went through it. Sometimes it just drives me crazy...

hi bbp,

more of proper planning.. its very common one.. esp when you are doing a 20+ pages mass booklet...but once its done, its perfect! you will be fine.. just list down the stuff that needs to be done.. maybe you can carry pen & paper or something so that you are constantly reminded?

hey for those of you who are marrying non-Catholcis, is it true the non-Catholic partner has to sign an agreement letting the Catholic partner raise the kids as Catholic?

Hi femme,

I believe the agreement is not to stand in the way of the kids being raised in a Catholic way.

As what others have discussed before, it does not mean the kids have to be baptised Catholics if that would cause a world war. It just means to share with them your faith and to teach them to live the Christian way - ie. the values.

just manage to see this link.... am non catholic (am chirstian)...but my hubby to be is catholic...will like to marry in church is all the long my wish...but i need to held in catholic church. I have been attending catholic church with my hubby to be...
we also recently sign up for ee classes...will be held in aug...looking forward for it...but am feeling scare dunnoe how it will turn up...(reading this forum it seem impt to attend ee classes
1)what are the things i need to take note during the EE classes?
2)can anyone of u share with me how the EE classes like?
3)can anyone share how is it like to have a catholic wedding?
4)how do i go about book the church?
5)how much i need to pay for all the things?(do anyone have a breakdown wat is reqiure n things need to pay?)as i need to set aside the budget...cos am on tight budget...dun noe can i fulfil the payment anot...if not enuff think have to cancel the church wedding...

5)really need my kid to be catholic way?why do we have to sign up for the agreement? i like my kid to choose their own faith...

hi ah pui,

sounds lovely
no worries, you will be fine.. i've been thru the same as yours..

1) just go with open mind... its not meant to be a brainwashing session but on topics discussing... and also clothes and toiletries for that weekend

2) its lots of sharing and writing.. you all will know more when you go there

3) very very lovely and beautiful.. esp the exchange of rings part. just like movies! but of cos there are alot of logistics....

4) if you have identified the church, call them up and book... i have included an excel spreadsheet on things to do.. u gotta look thru some past archives..

5) church weddings are not ex, unless u go to places like st mary whereby just the rental alone is like $800? something like that.. personally for me, mine is only like $100? then church flowers deco is about $400. buffet is about $10/head.

5) yes both parties gotta sign.. CSI fan mentioned before and shared from her catholic point of view... read thru past archives also since we have discussed this earlier... its just an acknowledgment and by bringing your kids up in a catholic way, its nothing bad anyway..

Hi ah pui,

Since you're on a tight budget, book a church with a low rental. But as previously discussed in the archives, not all churches may accept your booking if you're not under their jurisdiction. It depends on where your hubby lives. You can also do away with the floral decoration and buffet. Yup, some brides have done that before.

Hi, Minssy and Bbp
Thanks for your sharing. Really appreciate it alot.Thank God for this website to allow me to tok to the two of u. I will check out abt the excel spreadsheet.
Once again, Thank you

hi minssy,
i try to read all the archives...but i still cant find it...
May need u to send me if is it ok with u?

Really thank God for u.

Just get to noe that u marry in 18 Nov 05(correct me if am wrong).Yet u still stay here to help so many of us here.

Another thing common in us is we attend the "same" church(holy trinity)for the wedding...

hi ah pui,

hee... it was 14 nov 2005

oh! u r from holy trinity!! i still go there.. evening mass normally.... so if you are going to get married in holy trinity, then i will be of direct relevant help to you liaozz..

here is the checklist to get your a headstart..

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Checklist - Church.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

<font color="119911">can anybody help? My thumbdrive was corrupted and I lost everything! So sad
I need to do up my massbook soon and I was wondering if there are any kind souls here who would send me their mass booklets. [email protected]

So sad... Lost all the impt info...

Thanks in advance.</font>