Catholic Brides

hi bride,

yes yes.. lovely food.. i ordered for only 70 pax but the food servicing was like for 100! they did up simple deco stuff also.. then they are prompt.. all are good

<font color="119911">sorry minssy, forgot another question. Who can I contact at CJS and is their service and deco good? Their menu looks good and comprehensive... very keen...</font>

hi bride,

i liased with sebastian that time.. not sure if he is still around...

i took only the $10 menu and really its cool..till now, my friends and me still miss their sambal sotong!

<font color="119911">sebastian said must increase $1 per person (i'm interested in the $12 menu) so it becomes $13 per person cos I"m inviting 180 persons, lesser than their 200 persons. I feel it's a bit inflexible leh... he wasn't very friendly...</font>

hi bride,

sebastian is that friendly sort. he is the 'get things done' sort

that time i dun have to pay that $1 extra leh.. tell him that someone recommended lah. my wedding was a weekday and i only catered for 70 pax at $10/head menu... ask him to waive off since its a recommendation?

<font color="119911">i told him already, that you recommend one but he say "if everyone tell me 'it's just 20 people lesser' it's very hard for me to give it to you"

nevermind... i'll look for another caterer... thanks for the recommendation anyway!</font>

hi bride,

wah they become so dao now ah? hhhhmm...anyway, u know u should always order about 10 - 20% lesser hor? so i am assuming you are inviting about 200 - 220 pple and thats why are you catering for 180 pax?

<font color="119911">haha see? THat's the thing... I told him 180 people he already don't want to budge. Can you imagine if I tell him 160?
I'm inviting about 180 people as of now, but I'm sure it'll increase later on. 10-20% can ah? Won't it be too little?</font>

hi bride,

never order exact amount cos they will always give extra food... anyway, book your catering only when you are 95% confirmed on the attendance.. its ok to do it 3 weeks before the actual event..

erm, well, Select told me that they usually will prepare 20% extra on top of what you order. In case last min got extra pple, and customer didn't say...and also, they prefer to give extra food, so that wun have situations where there's not enough food - wun look good on caterer also. That's what the sales person told me lah. heehee...

I think asking for 10-20% less is ok. Some are kids or old folks who wun eat as much as the average guy, kinda thing...

Sorry ah bride, very busy at work. Haven't found the pics for you yet...

<font color="119911">hi csi, it's ok! Thanks!

Hey minssy, oh... we want to confirm the caterer by jul before 13th mth. After 13mth too late liao</font>

<font color="119911">hi minssy, spoke to another person in CJS and the service was different
She sent me a package with so many choices to choose from but it's lesser than the number of items in the $12 menu la. As expected. But at least she gave a choice so it's much better now. I like CJS' variety in choices for each item (e.g. they have at least 5-6 different type of choices for vegetables even!) but they give lesser dishes than other caterers like Mum's Kitchen and Four Seasons. And their package also not as comprehensive. Really torn between these 3 caterers... HELP!</font>

Hi everyone.. I am planning my AD in Dec 07. Would like to do it on a Mon eve, but it seems that all Catholich Church weddings hav to be done on a Sat/weekdays.. Any idea whether can church ceremony b done on Sunday ? I prefer not to hav a lapse of 1 day in-btw my church wedding and AD.. Thx

hi bride,

go with the one that has nicer food... cos that's what the guests will remember.. not as comprehensive nevermind. ultimately, you can only choose that much..dun get too vexed with it.. go with recommendations and whom u r more comfortable with

hi bebel,

typically churches DUN do church weddings on sundays cos its mass day mah.. anyway, my wedding was a monday morning.. church weddings are normally in the day time.

<font color="119911">hi minssy, you're right! People usually remember the food, not the deco hor
Ok, can't wait to taste the food... CJS' new quotation is really good in the sense that they give you so many choices! I'm trying to convince them to give us a tasting but seems like they don't do such things. Did you do tasting with them, Minssy? Cos if not by word of mouth, how would we know if their food is good leh?

Hi bebe, most churches don't allow masses on sundays. Perhaps you can consider saturdays? If must weekday then you must consider also the guestlist cos people will have to take leave.</font>

hi bride,

normally caterers dun provide fodo tasting, except some really big ones during the bridal shows.. thats why go with recommendations or food that u had tasted yourself personally... for me, i dun have food tasting either. i got a recommendation and went with them after comparing CJS with a few others...

<font color="119911">oh ic... ok, will take note of that. Thanks for your help

PANICKING!!! 4 more months to go!!!

hi bride,

when is your AD again?

list down stuff that u need to do and have some deadlines.. so that when its done, cross them out... dun panik....

<font color="119911">hi minssy, it's 27 Oct. I have a list but scared list not comprehensive enough. Scully missed out impt things then die :p But thanks for the assurance

If my wedding in oct, when would be a good time to file for ROM? Then after filing must go to ROM to collect issit? Then bring to the priest? Does this happen before or after the inquiry? Alamak, blur about these things...</font>

Hi bride,

Don't panic. Mine's 2 months away!!! *PANIC* Haha.

You can file anywhere from 3 months before, but not less than 25 days. Once file, ROM will give you the date/time on when you are suppose to collect (usually 3 days before AD). Then bring to the priest/church immediately for processing. After AD signing, must bring to ROM for MORE processing. Inquiry is independent of this filing so you can do the inquiry any time.

after AD still bring to ROM for more processing? My priest did that for us leh...so you might want to check with your priest if he would be sending the docs back to ROM on your behalf. But before you file online, make sure you have the priests' license number on hand...then can just key it in straight away...makes the process faster...

Regarding food tasting for caterer, Select didn't state that if there is such a thing, but I called to request, and they did prepare (had to go down to their office in ulu Senoko) a spread for us (we ta bao-ed quite a lot home too...hahaha). So maybe you can try to request for food tasting too?

<font color="119911">alamak, stupid me... told select that I don't mind paying then offset from the package *slap forehead*

Okie, thanks for the ROM notes.</font>

Anyone need to buy Unity Candles? There is this shop in Chai Chee Ave which I bought my candles for less than $40 and it was customised.

The shop is having a moving out sale now, 30% to 50% discount, think it will be worth to go take a look as they also sell wedding stuff like Ring Pillows, Ang Bao Box, Wedding Favours etc.

Do let me know if anyone is interested.

Thanks dears. Great to hear that the priest can help send back. Thought had to do it personally. Makes one less place to run to after the whole AD. Now only need to go to the bridal studio to return all the stuff.

Hi Minssy,
am back again just finish my exam...
just like to check with u do u have a budget list to share abt the things require to buy?

hi minssy,
thank u so much...
yup am looking for that n things i need to buy....so can plan requires.n start to do from the small things 1st..
cos thinking of diy as much as possible to cut cost..

So basically just walk and look cute hor?
Haha.
Don't think I will ask my flowergirl to do anything, only 2.5 years old. If she actually manages to make it down the aisle, I'll be very grateful already.

<font color="119911">hi bbp, my flowergirl is also about 3 years old! haha Ya I'll be really grateful if she makes it down the aisle! I think they look cute enough walking down and people sure go "awww..."

my flowergirls; one is a 6 yr old, with a gorgeous face but REALLY chubby body, and another would be coming 3 year old. That one, her mom is always reminding me now and then that she's worried that she cannot walk straight that day and run off to her instead.. haha.

hmmm...my flowergals just held on to a bouquet of hydrangea each, looked pretty, and walked in time/rythmn/to the beat of the march-in music...that's all.
Kids will be kids lah...dun give them too much expectations. Just let them appreciate the importance of the event, and they will outperform themselves...

Hi CSI Fan,

Yup, kids will be kids. That's why I'm not expecting anything much. In fact, many people told me that many kids get stage fright on the actual day. So I'm already prepared to walk in on my own (with my dad of course).

This way, if the kids DO perform, it will be a nice bonus! Did think of carrying my cousin's kid in with her holding my bouquet, but everybody say I crazy. But she very cute one mah...

yah, you really crazy...hahaha. she may be cute, but it's your day! You're the star of the day, pple will want to admire you in your gown etc...not with a kid on your arm...

plus, wouldn't that "spoil" the dress? hahahaha...just pose more pics with her lorh...hehs.

Hi CSI Fan,
Ya, I sorta gave up the idea after at least 5 people pronounced me crazy when I suggested it.

I need to get a tiepin and/or cufflinks for my BF as a tea ceremony gift from my parents. Anyone have any suggestions where there are nice ones? Looking for simple classy designs.

I saw nice ones at Anthropology yesterday. Thought of buying these pair of cufflinks with the "XI" words for my FH, but still contemplating.

Also, there's this shop called Roff at Bugis Icon, designs of ties are cufflinks are nice, but the quality of ties is quite short of expectations.

Hi CSI Fan,

I read from another thread and found out that you are a pure hainanese, so am I! Now we have 2 things in common, we both got married in St Teresa and we are pure hainanese
but my hainan cannot make it la, can't speak at all, my parents always say I'm a disgrace to the hainan clan, kekeke

hi nicelip,

is it?? hahahaha...yah...no lah, 3 things in common...plus Veron. hahaha. My hainan also half past six one...eh, come join us in that thread leh...
we're a chatty bunch...chat about anything under the sun one. hahaha...