Catholic Brides

hi caffeinated,

mine is from isuccess at sunshine plaza.. u can also consider axxa printing if you are staying in the east... get the professionals to do it.. its better..

hi merribell,

i am staying in clementi but i did not book holy cross for my wedding (which was supposedly in jul 07 which is now postponed to jan 08) as Fr Richards mentioned tat there will be structures outside the church still. in the end, i booked OLPS because my parents stayed in bedok. usually the churches will ask where u stay, i think for my case, cos my parents stay in bedok so they ok for my booking.

Thanks for the advice... heh I called the Secretary of Blessed Sacrament yesterday and he booked me a date at the church already.. think my dad spoke with him before and he's ok.. so hurrah!
Hi kitty_li, my confirmation was also at Holy Cross.. but somehow I dunnoe why, I dun really like the church lah.. personal preference... heh..
Hmm.. according to what you described about Fr Hutjes, I think yes! He is the same priest for my MPC session.. he has a thick accent though.. but he is really funny... and he is also the priest that my hubby has the "most contact" with since he attended the mass for the MPC... heh maybe fate? Or God's little "magic"?

Hi CSI Fan, minssy,
How much is the printing at various shops that you all mentioned? Also, any idea how early must we confirm the catering order?
Thanks... starting to panic now liao.. really need to settle things liao.

hi bbp,

mass boolets can be from $1 and up.. depending on the type of paper you use and the design...

catering? thats the easiest.. unless you are getting married on a super hot date, its ok to make the reservation just 2 weeks before will do. there are soo many caterers but you can only choose 1.. so why bother to do SOOO much research and call SOOO many? kekekke... for me, i only shortlisted 3 or 4 recommended ones. .then i called and see which one i have more feel.. so in the end after just a short session, i chose CJS..

Hi CSI Fan,
Thanks for the head up!

Hi minssy,
Where's axxa printing? Did the caterers allow food tasting? How's the food and service at CJS? It seems quite comparable to Kr**ton, but doesn't seem like it's halal certified.

hi caffeinated,

its at macpherson.. caterers generally do not provide food tasting.. well, you are paying $10 per head lor
thats why its best to get recommended ones or those that u tasted before and you find them good yourself.

CJS is very good. i got the contact thru a forum friend. she said good service and food. so i used them too. indeed its good service and food
look for sebastian..dunnoe if he is still around by your time...

<font color="119911">hi minssy, does CJS have a website?

Krist*n has a wedding show coming up, was wondering if anyone knows if they have another one nearer oct? Feel it's still too early to book now.</font>

hi merribell,
That's good!
Hehs...my baptism and confirmation were also at Holy Cross...but got married at St Teresa. Maybe it's God's plan for you...
Fr. Hutjes won't do my wedding coz he says he wun do at other parishes...so we got hubby's former cathecism teacher-now priest, to celebrate for us.

Hi bbp, erm, I printed 150 books, normal paper for the insides and b/w printing for the insides. The cover, I used some hard paper with pattern and colour printing. Think it was $2 per book? Price also includes the stapling of the booklets. I had 26 pages (including the Thank Yous, Order of Photography, blah blah blah). Turnard time was 1 day. I left it till quite last minute lah. heehee...nope, they didn't charge express printing or anything like that.

Hi bride,
FYI: I just emailed Kr*ston and the manager say they will extend the 5% gst to us if we book by april 21 (my wedding is in sept), which is their wedding show. Not sure if they will up the gst to 7% before july but i think they're not supposed to according to IRAS, but i also not sure. Emailed CJS also but they have yet to respond. Don't think they are halal certified - that is if you have malay guests.

Hi CSI Fan,
$2/booklet is cheap and the turnaround time is fast! What size was ur booklet? A5?

hey bride, mine was with Stamford Catering.

Hey Caffeinated,

yah, mine was A5 size. Guess it depends on the front cover lah. The patterned paper I used was ok...I mean, it fit my theme etc nicely, so I'm happy with it.
Turnard time is fast, probably coz no designing needed lorh. just print only. I did it all on MS Word (pic etc included), and they just printed. they will even print a few samples for u to see first. For any printer, web-offset printing is best.

Hi CSI Fan,
Thanks! but I am having another problem... I read somewhere that the priest will ask the couple to sign an agreement to bring up their kids as Catholics.. but my hubby is a staunch Anglican and he is apprehensive about signing it... I also cannot force him to convert to Catholicism mainly cos I am such a lousy example for a Catholic... any advice?

hi merribell,

wah..then he is agreeable to have the wedding in a catholic church ah? not bad yah..

my 2 cents worth from a non catholic point of view: its just for paperwork.. sign can liaozz..

<font color="119911">hi, but raffles hotel told me the 7% will be charged regardless cos the event will be held after jul! How come like that... we signed the contract before jul but the coordinator said it doesn't work that way... alamak, then the caterers also like that then how?

hahaha...like minssy said, sign lah.

but seriously, it's one of those things u 2 have to really sit down and talk about. for my MPC, the couple facilitating were a catholic and a christian (can't remember if it's anglican). so they related their experience to us. They taught their kids about God, mary, Jesus etc...brought them to mass and the Christian services (both of them attended either sides' mass/service when they brought the kids). They baptised the kids as Catholics. (It's an obligation. The obligation is on the Catholic partner to ensure that the kids are baptised and brought up in a catholic manner.) So, this couple (married for...30+ years) baptised their kids, let them have a christian/catholic life...and then when it came to confirmation, they let their children decide for themselves. That's the beauty of things lah. We have the rite of confirmation. That's when we decide if we want to remain as catholics or not. So the couple told us, that one child chose to be a Christian. Which they were ok with it. Coz they have done their part, with the baptism and bringing the child up in a christian/catholic environment.

I'm not sure abt wedding service...but i think there's a part that says "do you promise to bring up your children in a catholic manner" (something like that). so...when the response in church is "I do"...well, not sure if it matters to u or not lah. heehee...(coz I know some pple is just "say only lah"...haha...heehee...)

<font color="119911">hi merribell, I think it's all about compromise. I'm a catholic so I can't really tell you to just sign
But if you can talk to him, tell him that anglicans and catholics believe in the same god, jesus christ. Our beliefs are different, sure. But if compromise is sometimes unavoidable. That's how I see it la

hi csi fan,

well said! hee.. my friend's brother is brought up a catholic but he has since converted to christianity
the mother also got no choice but gotta accept it.. kekeke...

Hi bride,
When you signed the package/contract, it wasn't nett price i suppose? If the fine print reads 'subjected to prevailing gst' then i guess you don't have a case against them.

Sorry to digress abit from the current topic... Do you send church invites to guests whom you are also inviting to the banquet? Is it rude to invite the older folks by word of mouth and then do email invite for the rest?

So many things, so little time... *pulls hair*

Hi Merribell

There was a nice article on the Catholic EE website (forum) about mixed marriages. It was written by one of the local priests (can't remember which as it was sometime ago since I read it. Unfortunately the forum seems to be under maintenance at the moment otherwise I would have put the linked on here). From what I understand after reading the article, it is the Catholic spouse that has to sign the undertaking to bring up the children as Catholic (as best as she/he could) and the non-Catholic/Christian spouse is a witness to this undertaking. It also said something about Baptism . While it was ideal that any children be baptised Catholic but should this become and issue and cause friction between the couple then it was best to pray about it and leave it to the guidance of the Holy Spirit. After all the Catholic Church does recognise Anglican baptism which is why when a protestant wants to become a catholic he/she is officially received into full communion with the Catholic Church and not 're-baptised'.
My hubby's niece and nephews were all baptised in the Anglican Church even though my BIL and SIL are catholics. But with their spouses being staunch Anglicans it was kind of hard. It was a sore point with my FIL but we can only pray that someday if it's God's will these little ones with become full members of the RC Church. But in the meantime we should be thankful that they are church-going Anglicans who believe in God and are actively practising their faith. Besides some of the best and well known Catholic authors today were once protestants themselves. Ever read about Scott and Kimberley Hann? I guess the bottom line is whether to baptise your child anglican or catholic the main thing is to pray about it with your husband and discern God's will, for you can never go wrong if you follow His will.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, but the prevailing tax at the time of signing the contract was 5%. That's not counted?

Hi bride,

I'm afraid Fifi is right on that. Don't sweat the small decimals. There are other more important things to put your heart into. Cheer up!

caffeinated, u r right! dun sweat on small money. how much is 2% more when we are willing to spend so much on the church wedding, choir, etc. not as if buying an private apartment lovenest of half a million of more.. even so, those who want to spend big money, wont sweat at 2% more if spending within their means.

caffeinated, yes, church invites have to be sent to all invited guests, incl relatives. it is a form of sincerity &amp; politeness to send invites. furthermore, some relatives or even friends are very fussy over such things so, just get the invites ready &amp; send them at least 3-4 weeks prior to your big day.

no time? rope in your siblings or friends to help.

Dear ladies,
This is a bit belated, but thanks so much for the advice on the "mixed maraiges"! I actually got my hubby to read the postings and somehow, the tension has eased. We have yet to sit down and discuss this properly cos we have been so swamped recently but these postings and advice have definitely paved the way for a good discussion; makes us feel we are not alone in this dilemma...

Next up, can I check how soon we need to show the priest the mock up of the stuff we will be putting on the booklets? Thanks! I am also worried about Blessed Sacrament's apparently lack of parking spaces... oh dear...

hi merribell,

1 to 2 mths or so in advance, the priest will ask from you. You need to prepare to the best that you can with your confirmed verses and songs and he will advise if its ok. So long as you stick to the 'standard guidelines', it is ok.

parking lots? actually no worries lah.. the guests will find their way

Hey Tea,

I used my mum's fren. The sacristian at St Teresa can be quite sticky....so gotta know how to get around her.
Which florist are you considering? When's ur wedding?

Hey purplecat,

Not sure when the car park reno will be completed. It's been a while, but things are movinng.
Like Minssy said, the guests will find their way. Alternatively, if ur wedding is soon, and the renos are not over, u can insert in ur invites...a little note on alternative car park. e.g. Fort Canning Park, UE Square, Park Mall etc...so that at least, guests can be prepared. Who knows, maybe with that note, ur guests may decide not to drive...then no worries on the car park space.
Just ur own bridal car, and relatives' cars.

<font color="119911">thanks fifi and caffeinated for your thoughts on the GST issue. Your comments were helpful
I guess even if it's a couple of hundred of dollars, cannot anyhow throw money mah

hi merribell, no worries! CSI Fan is right. You can include of map of other carparks around the area and your guests will know what to do. Alternatively, you could change church. It's up to you and your FH's preference.

hey girls, I'm a bit lost as to the church deco, what type of flowers and should i use organza sashes to tie up between the pews? I would like a more elaborate deco but still have a budget to work within. What do you think?</font>

hey bride,
I guess it really depends on what flowers u like...I've seen roses, sunflowers, lilies...

Hey, not sure what length of organza sash u need...but I have some (er...I also dunno how long. haha. it's one very, very long piece. it was used for the deco of the church's entrance. White colour...)

Hi bride,
I'm also cracking my brains on church deco. Probably cheaper to DIY but if the church florist doesn't charge sky-high prices than maybe will consider using him/her to save the trouble. Think if want to DIY only can do so the night before? Not sure also.

Hi CSI Fan,
Are you selling ur organza sash? Where did you get your materials from?

<font color="119911">hi CSI Fan, thanks for offering!
But I'll need a very long sash as I need it to span over at least 15 pews on 2 sides. do you know where i can find these sashes for cheap?

hi caffeinated, DIY the night before is a little scary for me cos I don't know how to do these things properly. But if you're good at it, you should! It'l save you money but bear in mind that you have to sleep early the night before and shouldn't stress yourself out over the church deco. So if you really wanna DIY, why don't you leave it to your jie meis or pay for a florist? I think there are some florists that charge $350. That's below market price I THINK. And if you get kr*ston to be your caterer, they can do it for $350.</font>

kr*ston will not do the church floral deco at all. they basically will refer u to an external florist the red petails- to do it. so, dont hv to use kr*ston as caterer to get cheap &amp; good florist. just approach "the red petails" florist directly &amp; mark, the owner will still charge u $350. he is a very nice &amp; accomodating guy. i even give him an AP after everything to thank his help in additional to his fees.

anyhow, if interested, can just go to the website www.theredpetals.com
the packages are all listed there

btw, i dont think kr*ston's food is that good these days. we used lavish (it has a website too). the deco was really class &amp; food was great. father ho at SFX soleminised our wedding on 9 dec. he was the first to taste the food and also the first one to ask me which caterer i used. he said, good food &amp; how come he never tasted it till then! everyone was singing praises of the food.

lavish does not even need any downpayment. i highly recommend lavish. or u can ask father ho.. ha!

girls, please do your homework &amp; find out more yourselves. use this forum as a reference, gather more information &amp; verify them yourself. how i know which florist kr*ston uses. i asked them. i dont leave it at face value when they say they will do the church deco. b'coz utilmately, if they are not the one doing it, the quality of the church deco is dependent on the florist they refer to. and we have to evaluate if the florist is good. we dun go to the florist just b'coz is cheap.

also dun bother to diy... unless your wedding is the first for that day... if not, how to diy the night before? the couple before ur wedding may be fussy &amp; wants their own florist to deco the church. and if ur wedding is the 2nd one, ur deco cannot be put up until the first couple remove them! at times, the florist/your helpers may just have 1hr to put the deco up.

bbq, if u dun mind, write to mark. he will send u the pictures. my pics are all big files.. and i dont really hv the time to go compress them &amp; send via email.

<font color="119911">hi bbp, i can send you pics. Mark sent me photos before. But don't expect too much for $350
Frankly, the pictures he sent me were too sparse-looking for my liking. But if you just want a simple deco, then yes, red petals is a good deal. I'll send you the pics tonight, yah?

Wow, diamond, you have a lot to say huh? I knew kr*ston gets the red petals. How i know? Cos I asked also. I think all the brides here will have the idea of verifying what they see in the forums. Everyone will do that, not just you.

For those considering Kr*ston, don't worry, food is subject to individual tastes. Some people like Kr*ston, some people like Lavish, some people like other caterers, and I've seen so many examples in the forum that one caterer can have many different opinions from the customers. If you look into the lavish dine thread, there are plenty of bad comments. Same with kr*ston so this is an unbiased comment. Some people like rasel, I personally don't. But like I said, just book whichever caterer suits your tastebuds and whichever caterer gives you the best deal and good service.</font>

for those who know me for quite a while, my florist is susan from font creative.. nice lady.. i just trust her and leave everything up to her.. she is also a catholic so she knows exactly what is necessary
she is contactable at 9699 0104.

<font color="119911">hi minssy, do you know which parish she's from? Thanks for the contact! I'll probably give her a call. You passed her contact to one of my friends i think

hi bride,

i cant remember but could be holy trinity since she stays in the east...

oh really ah?
in this thread too?

Hi bride,
Are u going for the Kr*ston wedding fair? Select is having theirs this sunday. I'm going to eat eat eat... hee.

If other couples getting married on the same day as u, maybe can ask if they want to share florist so can cut cost also - provide both parties are agreeable on the deco that is.

Hi diamond,
Thanks for the input. You have a point abt DIY and being the 1st/2nd/3rd couple... didn't consider that before.

Hi minssy,
Does she have a website? The only font creative site i found deals with mannequins. Heh.

ya, i hv lots to say.. hehehe

bbq, where are u holding ur church wedding? SFX is a very pretty church. basically, minimalist at SFX is good so as to bring out the beautify of the pretty church hall. anyhow, if u wan elaborated deco, any florist will do for you also and of course with a different price tag.

in spore, if u are willing to pay. u can get watever service u like. so got budget, have to work within the budget. no budget, the sky is the limit.

hi caffeinated,

no she does not... here are some of my pictures that she has done for me.. i just told her i want champagne roses, and this budget of $xxx, then she just settle for me.. hee..

caffeinated, there are lots of logistics to do. just the deco also, is alot of work. if you are not sharing floral deco with other couples, u need to set up on time &amp; arrange for the deco to be taken down in time for the next couple. if u are sharing, u also need to have helpers to standby to ensure that everything is in order prior to your ceremony...

the best thing is to get a wedding planner if budget allows. she will handle everything for u.

bbq, the pictures here are no different to what Mark will do at $350. all sama sama ones. go see his website la. if u wan elaborate ones, or expensive flowers (instead of roses) tell him &amp; he will quote.