Catholic Brides

merichian

would like to find out what are some of the things which i should be looking out for?

also, what hymms are more suitable?
also what are some things to take note?

Hi annette,

That's a very broad question. To start off, perhaps you can work on the following:
1) Have you fixed a date?
2) Have you booked the church? Usually, this will be the parish in your neighbourhood/area.
3) Have you attended EE or MPC? This is a requirement.
As for hymns, I'm taking them from past wedding booklets.

hi annette,

yah i always like to ask new brides to look at the past few archives.. else, u gotta at least let us know what stage you are at so that we can assist

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls! I've confirmed my choir! Yay! That's a huge load off my mind. I'll be having Trevor and his choir sing at my wedding. They don't come much cheaper than the youth choir but it's still cheaper :p

hi annette, bbp and minssy are right. We'd like to help but we can't help if your question's so broad
so let us know, yah? We're here to help one another.</font>

merichian

1) Have you fixed a date? <font color="#0000FF">YES</font>
2) Have you booked the church? Usually, this will be the parish in your neighbourhood/area. <font color="#0000FF">YES, St Francis of Assisi</font>
3) Have you attended EE or MPC? This is a requirement. <font color="#0000FF">EE booked for March 30 already</font>

Thanks for guiding me along ladies

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minssy, haha! Ya lor! What's next... think I can relax a while first hor? :p Getting lazy.

hi annette, when's your wedding day? How far off is it? If it's still far away then I think you can relax a while first cos things like mass booklets, floral arrangements, caterers don't need to settle so early. But if it's within the next few months, have to do more things starting now

Hi annette,

Seems like you're on the right track then.
Next,
1) Get your baptism extracts from your baptism churches. Since these extracts only have a 6-month validity period, don't get them any sooner than 6 months from your wedding date.
2) Prepare the documents that you will need to bring with you to the marriage inquiry with the priest that's going to preside over your wedding. They are:
(a) baptism extracts (as mentioned in point 1)
(b) birth cert copies
(c) names and IC numbers of 2 adult witnesses
(d) EE cert copy
(e) marriage cert copy (if you've already registered at the ROM)
These are taken from IHM's website, I think they should be the same for all churches though.
3) Set up an appointment with your priest for the marriage inquiry.

Important point to note: Your children will need to be brought up in the catholic faith and this point will be brought up in the marriage inquiry. Do discuss this with each other if either you or your partner is non-catholic.

merichian

Hi bride and bbp,
thanks for your advice.
My wedding day is 7th July.

hmm, the wedding inquiry will only be after my EE, i guess.

hi bride,

yah there are usually some lull periods..

i am posting this up again for benefit of new brides... enjoy the whole wedding process!

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Checklist - Church.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi annette, no worries, glad I can help
7th Jul is really soon, yah? but you're right, go for EE first and then see your priest to confirm all the documentation. But it doesn't hurt to start now also, so you don't rush at the last minute. bbp and minssy have provided very useful tips so you won't go wrong following them

thanks for the checklist, minssy!</font>

Yup, we need more specific questions. I felt like some professional helper.. although I haven't gotten married yet. Haha.

But no worried annette, I love helping when I can. Guess it's my kay poh streak showing. Haha.

crescent

hi gers, my wedding in oct... need to ask u...

i will need to write in to the church where i have baptised @, which is in malaysia (sabah)...but do i write in? what should i say...etc??

TIA!

hi crescent,

i believe u r asking abt the contents of the letter rite?

u can write something like:

we, name &amp; IC number and name &amp; your passport number, are getting married in XXX church on XXX date. The wedding mass will be conducted by father XXX.

i hereby confirm that i was baptised in XXX church in Malaysia on XXX date. ny future husband was baptised in XXX church in singapore on xxx date.

please feel free to contact me at xxx should you require any further information.

crescent

hi minssy,

thanks! yes, i'm asking abt the content of the letter.
however, can i leave out my future husband part as he's not a catholic?

merichian

hi cecilia,
welcome!

For me, i'm very blur about what to do.
Even with the checklist...

And time flies in an instant.
When's your AD?

hi crescent,

yah its ok... since you were not baptised in a singapore church, i guess that explains why the local church needs a letter from you..

merichian

i am wondering if i should start to worry about my bulletin and choir and also choice of hymms.

As you know, my wedding is 7th July.
Do i have reason to panic now or should i just faint now?

hi annette,

yes you should.. mass booklet takes quite along time to prepare cos you gotta customise the songs and readings etc.. it will take some pple months cos everything in the mass booklet is so important.... but of cos there are a few pple i know off that are not particular and they just use another bride's and amend certain stuff from there..

u better start on it ba... i am sure that there are other stuff that is important but so long as you are getting married in a cahotlic church, whether you are a catholic or not, the booklet is still the main thingy

Hi annette,

My priest actually gave me a bunch of papers, from which you choose the first &amp; second reading, the gospel and the responsorial psalm. So make an appointment with your priest and ask him for help

As for hymns, I'm going to reference other brides' booklets and pick and choose from their hymns.

mrs_n

Hi Crescent

You just write to the priest where you were baptised in Sabah and tell him that you are getting married. Give him details like your parents name, your full name, date of birth and year you were baptised in (if you know the date better still) so it will be easier for him to look up the Baptism records. He will understand what it is for as it is quite standard practise (I work as a secretary to my parish priest at the moment
) to write to the church you were baptised in and get a baptism cert re-issued 6 months before your marriage. This is just to confirm that you have not been married in a Catholic church before.

mrs_n

Crescent you're welcome. Are your parents still living in Sabah? Otherwise you could ask them to go to the church on your behalf and get the cert for you. That's what I did. I got married in the UK and my mum went to the church I was baptised in, in S'pore to get the cert before sending it over to me.

Annette you could try this website: http://www.stjosephsretford.co.uk/ click sacramental preparation and next to marriage there is a downloadable pdf file called marriage booklet in it there is some suggested readings for a wedding. Hope that helps!

beetlejuice

Hi, am cathoilc bride, FH is not. my priest insist to prepare us 1yr plus b4 he solom us in church. So long, tot of finding another priest.hee..So my AD shld be nxt yr 08 jun to jul period. Question to all: pls help
1. wen do I start preparing for the church? exp: choir(me ex member) so shld be easy.
2. alter boys?
3. bestman &amp; bridesmaid? I tot of using this married couple frens to be our BM. but they say that both of them got to be single?
4. must I pay for their gown &amp; suit?
5. page boy &amp; flower girl? I hv 3boys, 3 girls in mind? wow.. gonna cost me a bomb if I hv to pay for their dresses &amp; suit..

5. tot of a buffet lunch out of church? any good loc or good caterer?

Tks so much for all

Hi jass,
Wow, sounds like you're going to spend a bomb! Anyway, just my 2 cents worth.
1) You can always start preparing as soon as you can. Book the venue (church) and priest first if they allow such early bookings.
2) Ask your priest if he's "providing" the altar boys. Oh yah, that reminds me that I have to ask my priest about the altar boys too.
3) I don't think it really matters that they have to be single. After all, I feel that bestman &amp; bridesmaid are basically your good friends who are going to help you on the AD. But I AM a bit of a "rebel" where these "traditions" are concerned.
4) Discuss this with them but normally, yes, you pay for their suit/gown.
5) I'm going to only have 1 pageboy and 1 flowergirl. And yes, normally you do have to pay for their clothes. Unless you're really close to their parents and their parents insist on paying their ways.
6) You can try Delihub for catering. My office often uses them and the food is not bad.

hi jass,

1. prepare now... start finding samples of mass booklet to prepare...
2. altar boys: small matter.. the priest will normally settle himself.
3. bestman &amp; bridesmaid? nope.. those whom u r comfortable with.. however, if u have BM, u must have brdesmaid else it could be a little weird.
4. u may or may not have to. u can borrow the blazer for the bestman and for bridesmaid, u mjay also try to borrow from your BS. else paying for bridesmaid is a nice gesture.
5. page boy &amp; flower girl? yes u gotta pay for all 6 sets. it will look soo much nicer if they wear the same stuff
6. depends on what time is your mass, reception is better to be in church else guests who expect food will get disappointed and u need to prepare transport to send your guests for the reception.

merichian

ladies, i am having some sort of a predicament now.
hope you can help me out here.

now the thing is that my church wedding is at 130pm which is right smack in the middle of the AD.

so i am kinda lost now about the timings and schedule of events. What do i do in the morning? and also do i still hold a reception?

hi annette,

my suggest timing for you, if you are having gatecrashing..

9am - gatecrashing
10am - tea ceremony at your fh's house
11am - tea ceremony back at your place
1230pm - reach church to rest before the ceremony
130 - 230 - mass
2.30 - 3.30 - tea reception

if your timing is even earlier for the day events, u can go for AD phototaking at maybe 1 location...

merichian

hi minssy,
thanks for your help and suggestion.

wow, the tea ceremony to and fro is quite a challenge.

wondering if i can consolidate and have both tea ceremony at our own place... any one ever did that before?

i am wondering should i have a tea reception at all, considering that there is a dinner?

what are your thoughts?

hi annette,

not really challeng lah.. its more of buffering for tpt.. but your church start at 1+.. good and bad.. its less rushing in the morning but very rushing if you are having dinner at the same day..

a... technically its not that nice to have tea ceremony at your own place cos parents are still parents.. its right to pay respects at their houses for tea ceremonies. but with more and more modern parents, i guess its getting common.. you must check with both sides. there is no right or wrong.

as for the reception, i still think its nice to have a simple tea.. its weird that you invite pple for church and you have no food to serve them.. alot of brides have asked in this forum and my answer will always be the same - its better to have..

beetlejuice

minssy, bbp..tks for the info.
me oso contemplating shld hv gatecrash &amp; tea ceremony b4 go church? tot of just go church individually den after tat hv a tea reception? but as I dun intend to hv a formal dinner, tot of just hv a lunch buffet elsewhr if the timing is rite, wat do u gals think?

hi jass,

gatecrashing - its for the fun of it.. a wedding would be more fun &amp; lively with the gatecrashing cos its the only chance the gals tekan the boys

tea ceremony - we are chinese and afterall, tea ceremony is paying respects parents and relatives..

not having a dinner is fine IF the old folks are fine too.. it all depends on the compromise level of you and the 2 families.. remember a marriage is NOT only between you and your fh/hubby... alot of pple also have a lunch reception with no dinner..

beetlejuice

ya, gatecrashing are always fun. When I was jie mei, I always tekan the groom, now they all waiting for my turn to cum oni.
minssy, u seem experience.Ask u somethg:
As this is my FH 2nd marriage, so his parents say they are not gg to invite any of their relatives &amp; frens( understandable la) cos their 2nd son oso gg thru divorce case..,
so i think i will oni serve tea to the 2 of them oni.
Shld i do the tea ceremony b4 i go church?(must depend my mass timing rite?) cos my FH &amp; familes not catholic, mayb the mum might not even go church.

hi jass,

i have been hanging in this thread since.. 2004 i think...kekeke...

yah for respect wise, do it before church.. that means u go like this:
1. gatecrashing
2. his house for a very short tea ceremony
3. your house for tea ceremony
4. church

try to have church at 11pm or 12pm so that everything can be done and end by 2pm.

if your church HAVE to be in the morning, then u may skip the gate crashing part and meet in church directly...

then tea ceremonies will be from the guy's side then to your house...

then u see if your fmil is comfortable to go to church.. its ok for non catholics to go church.. my family also went mah.. main thing is to see the 'ceremony' of the rings exchange and ROM lor..

Hi Minssy,
Is it a necessity to have tea ceremony at the guy's house before the girl's house? Just wondering cos I'm having mine first simply because my church is just 5min drive away.
So mine's going to be:
1) Gatecrash
2) Tea ceremony at my house
3) Church
4) Lunch reception at church
5) Tea ceremony at his house
6) Chinese dinner

Hi Jass,
I think it's nice to have the non-catholic family and friends to be at the wedding. After all, it's a event to celebrate. Saying that, my FH has an aunt who has already declared that she will not be going cos she doesn't do those catholic things. I was quite upset inside as I didn't ask her to do any catholic stuff. To be honest, I'm still not very happy but haiz.. can't help it if people choose to think like that.

kitty_li

hey bbp,

Mine was the same situation as yours. Tea ceremony at my parent's home first. then church, and then tea ceremony for his side at church premises. hehs...as long as ILs are ok with it lah. To me, at the end of the day, it's all symbolic.

Hey Jass,
why not check with your FMIL? For all you know, she may not mind, and may suggest tea ceremony just before your reception kinda thing. Or she may suggest the tea ceremony after you and FH have done what you all wanted to do for the day...kinda things. hehs...but when you check with her, you suggest doing tea ceremony before church first lah...(out of respect mah), then ask her if she has any other suggestions or not lorh. heehee...