Catholic Brides

hey all..

Fmil vv funny one.. awhile say go, awhile can last min dun go. scare this,scare tat. Dunno la.. FH say she got some mental problem, not the serious one la, menopause & stuff like tat, if she reli not turning up, we wont force her.
I think I'll go with somethg like this:
1. gatecrashing 8am-830am
2. Tea ceremony his hse 9am-930am( vv short one i believe)
3. Tea ceremony my hse 10am-11am
4. church wedding 1130am-1230pm
5. lunch buffet 1pm - 3pm

will try to get a mass timing ard 1130am so no need too early for gatecrashing.
sounds so simple..ya i noe, sure got hicup here & there. but at least, I'm slowly working out somethg, all tks to u gals.. wow if all goes well, isnt it prefect..haha. But still lost with the lunch buffet, dunno wanna go for buffet or chinese lunch.. wat u all think?

hi jass,

your timing is fine.. as time is nearer.. u will add more stuff and amend from there.. its very normal one...

typical caterer will serve chinese lunch.. for $10 per head, u will get decent 6 - 7 dishes and drink..

i'm thinking of doing without the lunch reception after the church ceremony... as those guests invited to church will be invited to the dinner banquet at nite oso...

will it be very funnie?

hi crescent,

in my opinion, YES it will be very funny... cos its lunch time.. pple be hungry and guests will surely expect food.. u dowan to hear stuff like 'oh how come they are so ngeow? dun even have reception... blah blah blah'.. such thing, IMO, is necessary and compulsory in our culture ba... if you are attending a 12pm lunch service and then it ends at 1pm, and you realise there is no food, how would you feel?

well, maybe there will brides who choose not to but i am very sure they are a rarity..

Hi crescent,
Your situation is just the opposite of mine! I didn't want a reception (my ceremony suppose to end at 11am) but my mom went "How can don't have reception?"

ya minnsy is rite, i agree. church wedding w/o a tea reception..vv funny le. No food to entertain ur guests, den wat they eat. Wow crescent, u gonna invite all ur church guest to dinner arh? den the pple u invite surely all close fren & relative la. if not how to cover cost??hee
Just to share, pple will except to hv some refreshment after a church wedding. At least if u dun wan a buffet, a tea recep is a must.

caterers have tea buffet or lunch buffet.. tea buffet are mostly finger food and mostly 1 beehoon or something.. its about $5 - $6 per pax.

lunch buffet is normally from $10 onwards..

so whether you have lunch or tea reception will depend on what time your mass finishes. if its its a 9 am or 3pm mass, normally tea reception will suffice. if its a 11, 12 or 1pm mass, pple normally order lunch buffet..

for tea ceremonies, if its a small affair, normally the families will prepare simple food.. if there are ALOT of pple for tea ceremony and its lunch time, normally will cater lunch in that house.. so it really depends on your timing..

hi jass & bbp,

yah use as reference... there are only that many limited choices and many pple tend to use the more common songs & readings
enjoy the preparation

Just wanna consult you ladies here,
with the wedding in July,
should i start to look for the florist and print the mass booklets liao?

<font color="119911">hi annette, yep, you can start looking now. No harm starting earlier so you can get things done without stressing yourself at the last minute
Latest should be 2 months before the wedding to settle everything but no point waiting till last minute if you have time now... I very kiasee one. I know I will start if I were you

Is it too ambitious to try and cover cost if i have 400 guests for my church wedding and about 300 of these (same) people for the banquet? How much do people normally give for church wedding? Did most of u manage to cover cost for church (after minus rental, florist, choir, ang baos for altar boys/priest, buffet lunch)?

Advises anyone?

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, it depends on where you're having your dinner. For the church, IF the excess 100 people give ang pao, you MAY be able to recover the church portion if you order $10-12 reception menu. But deco wise, it also depends on how elaborate your deco is. If I'm going to a church wedding, I'll give $50. But others may give $20 and some may even give gifts instead of money. If your dinner's <$800 per table (including wine), I would think you'd definitely make.

but of course, this is my own opinion la

I'm in a dilemma. My wedding mass is at 9am. I wonder if I should change it to 12pm instead. Dunno how many ppl would actually wake up early on a Saturday morning :P And if i do have it at 12, after lunch etc will be 2pm. Would ppl mind going for the dinner at 7ish ??

ALso, anyone with good Entrance Hymn to share ?? Would also like to ask, if we're having Consecration to Mother Mary at the end of the mass, do we still need a recessional hymn ??

hey nevermyne,

just my thots...

Are your only options 9 or 12? 9 does seem a bit early...but I guess if you have a friend's wedding to attend that day, you just have to wake up earlier.
If you intend to have it at 12noon, hmmm...instead of a heavy full lunch spread, have light foods. And perhaps on your invites, you can word it as "Please join us for a light reception after mass" (or something like that...) instead of "Lunch will be served after mass". Then at least pple wun be expecting a full lunch. As for relatives, can always inform them before hand that it won't be a heavy lunch kinda thing...when u give out invites...At least pple wun feel so full / bloated by dinner time and can fully enjoy the more expensive meal - dinner. heehee...

Entrance Hymn ah...I used When Love Is Found. I think a recessional would mark your exit from mass as husband and wife. "Ladies &amp; gentleman, Mr &amp; Mrs X". then clap clap clap...depending on the length of ur song/music to Mother Mary, perhaps you can continue from that music after the consecration, or u can stop it, and then play a classical piece for marching out. I used Vivaldi's Spring...

hi annette,

welcome.. just helping out since i had been thru the process

u can gather some florist contacts but its better to go with recommended ones if you are particular.. else, u can take referrals...

mass booklets: its best to start your homework NOW. it has to be vet by the priest and u need to get it printed say 2 weeks before the wedding if possible...

hi caffeinated,

pple who are invited to the dinner AND church wedding normally give the ang pao at the dinner itself.. its a 2 in 1 thingy... so set aside some good budget for the church wedding.. anyway, catering will cost $10 per pax only... (the basic and decent menu already).. if you have 300 church invitees, u can safely cater for 250 will do...

hi nevermyne,

9am is a little early but if they are close to you, they will still attend one lah
having a 12pm mass is ok. pple will go back and then come out again for the dinner.. its very common...

Thanks bride and minssy for the advices.

Does anyone have soft copies of mass booklets to share? Is it ok to let guests share or beter to print 400 (gasps!) copies?

My wedding mass is at 11.30am. Is it strange if i cater light refreshments (pastries/finger food)instead of lunch?

hi caffeinated,

u can leave your email here or PM and i can send some to u..

its best to have individual copies though some pple will share.

since yours is at 1130, lunch will be more appropriate cos by the time everything ends, it will be abt 1230pm and thats lunch time already. no point saving a few bucks and your guests get hungry..

hello CSI Fan (kitty_li)

Thank you so much for your inputs. Really appreciate it. We're really toying with both times but my BF has got a point - by the time we're done after 12pm mass, we'd be rushing to his place for tea ceremony then we'll be left with little time to get to the hotel (less time to play with if something does go wrong *crosses fingers) but with 12pm.. can wake up later.. not so sleepy hehe

How does your Entrance Hymn go ? Don't think I know it very well.

hi nevermyne,

if your guests are catholics, its still ok cos there are early masses... but well, you will get the feel when you do your RSVP nearer to date

I am new here and my AD will be in Mar 2008. Am planning to marry in Blessed Sacrament church... However, as I haven't been going to church for a very long time, I dunnoe any priests there at all... Moreoever, I am also not a parishioner there... would like to check if anyone knows whether Blessed Sacrament "accepts" couples that are 1) none parishioners and 2) one party is not Catholic - my HTB is Anglican, but we both attended the MPC in Aug/Sep last year...

Thanks much for your help.. am kinda helpless and lost here...

hi merribell,

getting married in a catholic church kinda depends on your geographical zone.. guess if you are staying in the commonwealth area then its ok..

its common for interfaith marriages but if i am not wrong, 99% churches will not accept non parishioners. that means, if me &amp; my hubby stays in the east, blessed sacrament will not accept us cos there are east area churches.. hope u know what i mean.

hey merribell,
the parsih priest there (Fr. Hutjes) usually does not do for non-parishoners...but since u stay nearby, he might. and he's the chaplain for MPC...hehs...go for mass there one Sunday, and approach him...
Think it's better than just calling the secretariat.

kitty_Li, minssy,
Many thanks! I stay near Blessed Sacrament (ok lah.. West Coast area...) but still in teh west mah.. :P my nearest church should be Holy Cross, but I prefer Blessed Sacrament...
heh.. thinking of going to mass this Sunday.. been a long time loh! I got 52 weeks to get to know that church.. since my AD is next year Mar...
when are yours if you dun mind my asking? thanks!

Hi minssy,
Oops, yah I realised my mistake when I read some previous postings. Congrats! and hope you are enjoying a great marriage!

I have a couple more questions...

1) I see a lot of mention about the booklets? Could I check if the printing of the booklets is necessary, or can I just use the OHP and flash the readings etc on the screen?

2)Can I also confirm that when one talks about being in the same "parish" we actually mean belonging to the same geographical region (i.e. west, east) and is NOT church specific?

3)One last question, is Fr Anthony Hutjes (the priest for Blesse Sacrament) the same one who was conducting mass for the couples who attend the MPC in SJI (in Aug/Sep 06)?

Apologies for the many questions and many thanks cos I a bit blur here...

hi merribell,

haha. no worries lah..

1) yes cos the booklet is the 'foundation' ah..all that is said by the priest and all actions is in the booklet.. yes u can choose to use the screen but you still need to print out a few drafts for the priest himself, a copy for you, and some for helpers.. probably 10 should suffice... no harm printing abit more in case you really need it and you dun have it! as for using the projector, so long as you make it nicely into the PPT format, and have someone reliable and familar at the PC, its ok.

2) dun understand u. say, i stay in simei, tamp or pasir ris, then holy trinity is the way to go. if i stay in marine parade, then holy family is the choice.. your church secretariat should have the map of the zone..

3) cant answer u. u gotta call him yourself. priests who do MPC and EE are always changing and its never fixed.

Hi merribell,

I thought of using the projector as well but the priests i consulted in two different churches both disapprove of using the projector for the wedding mass. Even if ur parish church uses projector, they may not want to loan out for use. Best u confirm with ur parish priest.

Hi minssy, kopio,
Thanks for the replies!
minssy, for 2) what I mean is if I stay in West Coast and the church that I was baptised and confirmed in is Holy Cross, can I have my wedding at Blessed Sacrament since both are in the west district (i.e. "same parish")? Or is it since I stay near Holy Cross I must go back there for my wedding ceremony and I can't go to Blessed Sacrament, or Mary of the Angels (at Bt Batok), or other churches in the west cos even though they are all in the West, Holy Cross is nearer to where I am staying... blur ah...

kopio, since u mentioned "parish priest", do u mind helping to clarify my query as well?

Many thanks!

as for the booklets, do u have any samples that you can share online?

hi merribell,

okie i need CSI to better explain.. ok what i can confirm is:
you stay in west coast yah. so technically holy cross is nearest to you and you should have it in holy cross. BUT if bless sacrament is ok to accept your wedding (basically this is pretty much priest dependent), then feel free to have it as blessed sacrament. it is still under the west zone/district so its ok....

SOOOO, if you really want to have it in blessed sacramemt, u gotta call early and 'reserve' the date and priest...

also, parish can mean the church but can also mean the pple in the church..

u need to PM me or leave your email address her for me to send some samples to you.

Hi merribell,

Not sure what u want me to clarify. I think minssy has answered ur qns quite clearly. I got my sample mass booklets from her as well. Heh. =)

hi merribell,
erm, your parish would be the one closest to u, geographically. maciam like those GRCs kinda thing when it's election time. It's usually 1 in each "area". West Coast would be under Holy Cross...Jurong East, can still come under Holy Cross, or St Mary's. Boon Lay side is SFA etc...

My cousin told me before, usually the advice is to go to the church nearest the bride's mum's place. Think it's partly due to tradition, and also, it's easier for the bride and bridesmaids etc to travel to the church...esp bride, in the big gown etc. But then, Singaproe so small...hiyah, no big deal lah.

I think since u got baptised at Holy Cross, (where's ur confirmation held at?), wouldn't getting married at Holy Cross be quite meaningful too? Plus Holy Cross would be renovated by then right? So...new compound etc...

But if u really like Blessed Sac, then gotta approach the Fr. Hutjes lorh. Some priests prefer to so-called "give priority" to the parishioners of that parish lah...fair enough.

Hmmm, I'm not sure if it's the same priest, coz I'm not involved with MPC. But yah, Fr. Hutjes usually does the mass at MPC at SJI. The priest you saw, is he hard of hearing in one ear? Is his homily funny? If yes, then it's Fr. Hutjes.

Hi minssy,

Good things must share and distribute... hehe.

Where's a good place to get the mass booklets printed? 400 copies sound like a daunting task to do from home...

I did mine at Queensway Shopping Centre - top floor. It starts with the letter U. hehs...designing etc all gotta DIY lah. then just pass them the soft copy.