Catholic Brides

hi mountain9!

the driver was really cool! i never heard abt the bride driving before! haaahah! steady! i think its something so funny that each time your hubby and you talk abt it, you guys will laugh like mad! hee...

hee hee diamond...aiyoh cos my FH side nobody is helping...(cos not veri close) so all the helps cum from my frez.

Than everyone oso have their full day job to do....and if we were to pull them into the planning & co-ordination they'll get more stress up and i forsee there will be miscommunication & probs. And FH c i get stress up so easily so thot of engaging one to oversea on the actual day.

hee hee.......

how much does a wedding planner cost? is a 4 digit figures right? well, i dont hv the budget for that. wld rather use that money to get a nice piece of jewellery.. hehe

for whole day is cost $1500 loh...quite expensive loh. but than i oso hestitate loh...whether to ask frez or engage them. frez...duno they can do it a not leh.

hi hippoeeyore,

yah...quite ex horh...I also contemplated engaging a wedding planner, but like diamond said, can use the $$ for other things. So in the end, I'll be getting friends to help, but I have detailed plans and itenerary for them...to at least minimise any "cock ups"...but must brief them thoroughly also lah. A friend told me, at the end of the day, just leave it to God.

Mountain9, cool manz! It certainly is different!

hippo/CSI Fan, no need alot of pp to help co-ordinate wat... FH & I will meet in church. 2 person at the reception will get friends to help. 1 more person to help with buffet stuff. after church wedding, my FMIL said can pay the canteen people to help clear the buffet stuff. then i go hubby's house to change & go back to my place for tea ceremony.

end of events leow as my dinner is 2 days later. at the dinner, get 2 pp to be at reception. another 2 person to help with ushering guests. can use back the same friends who helped in church. so, i really dun understand why u say alot of things to coordinate...

Minnsy, joop & CSI - haha....During the reception, Fr Yim kept laughing when he heard about me driving there myself....I guess it is certainly something that me and hubby will laugh about in future when we think back on our wedding

diamond, it's all about timing. someone must be able to keep strict time of the things that will unfold...esp dinner, when to say what, by what time is the xth dish etc...coz dun want guests to end up staying too late. they wun like it too.

It's good that yours is simple and you definitely don't need a wedding planner. The challenge comes when both sides have big families. Tea ceremony can be a nightmare.

Things can crop up unexpectedly. If your friends have had experience in handling the unexpected in weddings or other events, that's great. More often than not, a wedding planner would have better experience than friends. You wouldn't want friends to come to you "eh, this and that happened. So how ah? Do what ah?" You'd rather the friends / planner handle it, and you won't even know it happened until much later. That way, can enjoy the big day totally...but if yours is simple, then no need lorh. Some pple have more things in place...esp family "requests".

CSI fan, thanks for the explaination. well, i wld love to have a wedding planner & do everything for me.. but 1500 is alot of money which will allow me to buy alot of things. if i am buying a doc or lawyer or earns alot of money, i dont mind.. hahaha

yeah diamond...totally agree with you. that's why I only asking friends for help, and to minimise "bloopers", I got really detailed "roles" for them! muahahahaha....

Diamond & CSI...yah agreed that $1500 can do a lot of things & buy lots of things. So i m still hesitating whether to engage them o not.

One of my main reason to engage them is becos...my FH dun hv lots of frez & relatives r not veri close...so all the helps will come from my side. From flower girl, page boy, reception helpers, co-ordinator for hotel...etc

Therefore most of my frez who is invited wouldn't b able to enjoy my weddin cos they'll b busy helping me to run the errands. And most of them r married with kids. Haiz so that's the prob....i wanted to save $ so tt i can enjoy my HM but ...i m quite worried tt on that day...even though wf a details itinerary my co-ordinator will surely come & ask me this & tat.

My my dear FH of mine...is veri veri veri forgetful...how can i ask him to do 'thing' on this big day. He confirm will forget all these things....Initially my task for him is to ensure all the preparation at the church fm reception table...to the arrival of choir, flower gal..etc but i came across him foretting veri simple thing...haiz...that's my FH.

Now me still thinking....

hippo, that is why i am making it simple, as far as possible. so, i will not be having flower gal & page boy. these kids are not reliable. know a few cases where they hv crowd fight & wail! for me, just a grown-up bridemaid will do. the rest is not necessary. so less hassle.

men are generally more bochap. my FH also like this. i am not asking alot of friends to help either. maybe 2 friends of mine & 2 friends of his. am going to keep it small. too many helpers also mean higher angbow cost & need to manage them also.

well, if u can afford the wedding planner then go for it.

u know, i just bought my dad's 2 shirts yesterday. 1 for the church wedding & 1 cuffling shirt for the night. am surprised that G2000 shirts fitted him so well (it doesnt for my FH). so 2 shirts cost me $100 (i got 15% member discount). so, now i do not have to tailor made for him

as for his suit, my BS will rent it to me for free (altered to his size also). i just need to get him tie & a pair of shoes.

Yah…thot of not having flower gal & page boy…just my father & myself walking down the aisle than can reduce the hassle of buying clothes for them…ensure that can walk probably…rehearsal. When to St Mary yesterday for mass…while walking down the aisle there’s a stairs wf 5 steps…so a bit of problem for kids loh.

Since I have a long way to go…I’ll prepare a veri veri detail program….ask 4 frez to help and give them bigger ang bao loh. Hee hee

$100 for 2 shirts reasonable…luckily have member discount. U got buy ring cuff for ur hubby?

hippo, have not bought any cuff for him yet. he has yet to tailor the shirts. he has just collected his tailored suit on sat. any recommendation for nice cuff? i went to mount blanc & tiffrany to see already. nothing catch my fancy....

wah, mont blanc & tiffany...no idea how much the cuff links there cost. But the pushs cart at Change Alley, Robinsons also have cuff links...can try those also.

Hippo, me too...most of the help coming from my side of friends. Too many cooks spoil the broth lah, so I'll be having 5 friends to help only. And after looking through the iternerary, they actually said, no big deal. Quite easily done...so, ok lorh. If they say so. hahaha.

Try asking your close friends lah. Initially, I was also worried that my friends won't be able to enjoy themselves if they were to help me. But after sounding them out, I realised that they were all just waiting to be asked!!
Helping out is their way of enjoying the wedding...

diamond...wow mount blanc & tiffrany! For manly items go mount blanc...classic. Tiffrany more suitable for gal loh. Can oso try out those departmental stores...like robinson. Saw quite a few unique one...cost around $100

CIS..yah my frez oso tell me dun worry. so long everyone is happy ok liao. I m tinking whether 3 frez is necessary or 5 frez? I'll give them ang bao & oso a nite stay at the hotel. Cos they oso my emcee ....multi task leh.

They asked me 2 prepare the program & we sit down to discuss...haiz can save $1500.

mountain 9 that's really cool. I was going to do that myself too, thought could save on a car and driver. But when I suggested it to my hubby and everybody else they all laughed at me and said that 'it was totally unheard of for a bride to drive herself to church'! In the end, my hubby's uncle did the honours. But you've just proven the point, it can be done. Haha, I'm going to tell everybody who thought I was crazy when I suggested such a thing last year about this. Excellent!

Hippoeeyore, agree with CSI Fan that too many cooks may spoil the broth. That was why we appointed one 'manager' (my cousin) who could then delegate duties to the rest of my family. Hee! Hee! Too many aunts, can be quite confusing.
I think if you ask around, friends and family are usually more than willing to lend a hand.

Just a hint, you can plan the timings for the day to perfection but things doesn't usually go that way (at least mine didn't, my FIL decided to give a speech at the last minute
). So just play it by ear and go with the flow, for what will be, will be.

God Bless!

I was thinking through the ppl i could rely on to help out at my wedding too (after attending one last saturday). decided not to antagonise any of my relatives if i picked their offsprings for the page boy and flower girl, over the other relatives. e.g. uncle 1's boy and girl over auntie b's children, you know? decided not to have all my girlfriends be my bridesmaid cos there are just too many, and i don't want to just ask one or two. so it'll just be my sis walking in front of my dad and i.

Do you girls face or have seen the problem of relatives not turning up at the church wedding? My hubby and i are both catholics but the majority of our extended families aren't. i'm worried they won't turn up at the church for the mass. was intially thinking of doing the tea ceremony at the church before the lunch reception, but now thinking twice about holding it elsewhere so that they'll come. sigh.

joop!! yes i also think the same manner as U.. the bridemaid's walking infront of my dad & I wld be my sis too!

btw, my relatives are all non-catholic. so i bet most will not turn up for the church wedding... they will just go for the banquet. on the contrary, it wld be my FH's side who are mainly catholic that will turn up.. so i bet they will be on time ah?? the christian church wedding i attended last sat, started 20mins late as the guests were late!! gosh!

i will invite my close friends for the church wedding though..

btw, tea ceremony on my side will not be at the church. will be at my place. also, u may wan to consider having a service instead of a mass if ur gut feel tells u that most of your non-catholic extended families & friends will come.. b'coz a mass will bore them meh! a service (which i am having) will only last 35mins.. short & sweet.. u can include a communion for those who are catholics though

hippo, u still looking for bridemaid's dresses. U may wan to check Robinson at Raffles City out. It carries this brand - YEN. i saw 2 designs which were quite nice. and the price is 99 & 108 respectively. u may wan to check that out.

Hey gals, I went to this VG Vougeois (first mentioned by diamond) during lunch today to check out their CS. Some of their CS are not bad leh (plus their other clothes too)...they are having a sale. Prices range from $99 to $300+ before discount for the CS. Designs are quite nice. I didn't buy yet as I wasn't sure if I would be needing a CS at all. hehs. But they are all so nice, felt like buying just to wear say, for a dinner function or something...hehs...
Cannot lah...cannot anyhow spend $$...

hi diamond...busy like a bee these few days @ work. Oh yah i went to robhinson some week back and saw it too....will consider.

CSI, yah lah wear for CNY or next time got frez weddin can wear. Buy and keep 1st.

Mrs N, will try to b as detail as possible and hope that on tt day nothing major will pop up. Cos I m quite impatience and i know that i'll get worked up quite easily. Pray Pray Pray...every day.

diamond, hippo, yah...hehs...can wear for CNY horh? hehs...hahaha. Tmrw lunch time I go take a look again. Like a few pieces leh...hehs. cham...

Hippo, at the end of the day, have faith.
You are a special child of God. We all are. He will make your (or any of our) day perfect, in His own way...

Just wondering if you girls might share where are affordabable places to get clothes and accessories for your little flower girls and boys?

1) bridal studio
2) Delfi Orchard (can "rent" dress and suits, charge by per day basis)
3) OG (as contributed diamond)

anywhere else?

Hi CSI fan,

I am not sure of the name, but the shop is opposite Olive Suite (3rd flr i think. The shop sells mainly wedding nic nacs, but there is a small section for rental of flower girls' dresses. Range isnt too wide though...

Me new to this thread. Any of you having Church wedding, ROM, tea ceremony and banquet on the same day? Can share how's the schedule like? Any idea how long the tea ceremony take? I know surprises may happen....but at least I can have an estimatation. :p

My FH's grandparent (non-Catholic) want us to go pay respect to ancestor that day. And my mum insisted that I must "hui na jia" for the tea ceremony. I have feeling my schedule would be very very tight.

Hi Joop,
My parents and my family all non-Catholic. (Only FH side). They already told me they not turning up for Church.
But it is Ok. I do understand. Somemore some do not understand English. We have the choir singing for us. So more pple. Maybe you can get the choir and your colleagues and friends?

hi katherine,

u have a common & yet tricky issue.

1) first, try to convince your parents to go to church cos thats where they will witness the exchanging of rings & signing of ROM cert part. esp if 1 of your parent is the witness of the ROM, he/she need to be be present.

2) with a normal schedule of tea ceremonies + church, it is very tight to end by 2pm. if you gonna have the pay respects to ancestors, it will be very very very tiring for you.

3) suggested timing:

8am: gate crashing
9am: church + tea reception
12pm: tea ceremony at FH side (try not to do lunch else sure drag one)
1pm: tea ceremony at your house
2.30pm: the respects thingy
nite: dinner

of cos i dunnoe how u gonna plan your timings and the above is just an example. plan a skeleton first and you will definitely be able to visualise better as you have more stuff to add in

Hi Roidana,

Kiddy's place at Marina Square has some dresses suitable for flower gals as well. I think about $50/pc.

I'm only getting the flower gals' dresses nearer to the date, coz scared cant fit in case they grow too fast

What will your flower gals carry/do when they march-in the church? Nowadays most churches do not allow throwing of flower petals

Katherine,
Like minssy said, it's going to be very rushed if trying to fit everything in by 2pm. For me, I did my tea ceremony at the hotel (I had a luncheon). I missed the gate crashing.
Most of my dad's family are non-Christians also, but they still turned up to church in the end
Nothing wrong with paying respects to the ancestors, as long as never worship them, which I don't think you do anyway. My non-christian aunt had a very good time explaining the origins of the ancestral god on her altar to my husband when we visitied.....rather entertaining! I tend to take it as educational

Hi Cookie Bunny, Thanks, will check out kiddy palace at marina sq! My ceremony is in Nov, so guess it's abt time to start looking around... perhaps will buy them dresses (if necessary) by early oct.

I have yet to speak with my priest, but i suspect throwing of flowers will not be allowed too... I am also at lost of what my flower girl will do... just carry flower basket and smile sweetly beside ring bearer? Any other ideas?

Thank you so much minssy and toosieroll. It seems
really really tight. Do I need to finish everything by 2? Can I drag till later i.e.3.30???

Roidana, think the flowergirl can cling onto the ring bearer's arm, like you cling on to your dad's? little couple. very cute. :p

hi katherine,

2pm is quite a standard time cos some PG's timing for the day ends at about that time, and also, the more u drag, the less rest time and the more rushed u will be at nite.... and its not only affecting u but the whole group of entourage too..

Hi kat
Im in the same situation as ya, doing everything in one day (minus the paying of respects) this is my draft schedule:

8am Gate Crash
8.30am To End Gate Crash and to proceed to FH's place for tea ceremony
10am Leave for church (FH's family very small, tea ceremony will be short)
11am Church Wedding Mass
12.30pm Lunch reception
1.30pm Tea ceremony at my place for my side
2.30pm End

My church is a 3min walk away from my house so therefore the above timing is feasible though its still tight.. but bo pian have to try to stick to it if i want to finish by 2.30pm and have at least 2 hrs of rest before the dinner at night.. I dont want my friends and family to be tired as well...

Like minssy said, just draft a skeleton , review it as you go along... should be workable ...

Hi girls, could someone pls send me a soft copy template of a mass booklet? My email is [email protected]
Many thanks.

BTW, Bangkok has very cheap and nice clothes for page boy and flower girls too. If you plan to go, do check them out. I bought mine already when I was there in Apr. Bought 2 sizes bigger so that they can fit by my wedding in Dec.. Heh

Yoooohooooo my dear ladies!

Finally we're married! Our wedding was a blast! The church wedding was fantastic! It was very well-coordinated, all thanks to a great bunch of wedding helpers. The choir, which comprises of a great bunch of friends, they are AWESOME! It's indeed heartwarming to have them sing for us. Glad we made the right choice! =)

Our flowergirls are such sweetie pies and our ring bearer is looking good in his mandarin suit, so cute!

Tis the first time I see my dad looking so tensed, holding on to my hand so tightly, while we walked down the aisle. He behaved rather emotional when he handed me over to my Hub. His voice was kinda breaky when he said something to the Hub. hehe.. that was very touching I thought. Just regret that I didn't gave him a good hug.

The homily was very interactive, I thought, and it was good. Hee.. We're both glad to have Fr. Stephen to celebrate the mass for us.

After the church wedding, our frens came and said that, they were so touched and happy for us that there were tears of joy. I refrain myself from tearing... so as to maintain my makeup and still look good haha.. call me VAIN! but seriously speaking there's couple of times I felt breaky and wanna cry... but I control.

Overall, the church wedding was AWESOMELY BEAUTIFUL, the best memory we'll keep always... ...

For those looking for flower girl dress and page boy suit, you can try either kiddy palace, tom & stephanie or even OG orchard.

I got mine from OG orchard. Lots of designs and sizes to choose from. There's also lots of accessories like the flora hair wreath, matching hair band, flower baskets, bows and ties...

Best is that the price is not very high! Range ard $50+ - $60+

Hi lovebug,

Congrats again! Glad to hear everything went well.
So lucky to get Fr Stephen to celebrate your wedding!

Btw, did the florist provide the pew deco?
Will you be uploading your pics in your multiply? Me kaypoh want to take a look hehehehe