Catholic Brides

Hi Diamond,

I think SFX provides those candles so dun need to buy. But they're not marital candles i think... i didn't have any lighting of marital candle in my service.

The priest is Fr Brian D'Souza from IHM. I'm from IHM and not SFX. So he was my celebrant from the very beginning. As i changed church only 10 days before AD, it was too last minute to change celebrant. But Fr Gerard did come out and help with communion cos i had a lot of catholics within my 300pax.

As for bridesmaids, i had a total of 2 flower girls and 3 bridesmaids. All walked in front of me down the aisle. But i only started my walk when the last bridesmaids was about 3/4 way down the aisle liao. I had a pretty long walk-in song so the timing was perfect.
And my bridesmaids were all in knee length white dresses so that definitely isn't a problem.

The collage is done by my PG. His works are very good.

Lissa

lissa, ok.. so am i right. bridemaid needs not wear long white dresses. where does your bridemaids get their white dresses?

i dont intend to hv flower girls. too much hassle.. just one bridemaid aka my sister will do.. hey, what walk-in song did u use? music CD right OR played by the organist?

I think there's no rule to what bridesmaids can or cannot wear leh. I mean, just bear in mind to be respectful that it's a church and not wear something too revealing lor.
My bridesmaids all bought from different places. Basically i'm quite chin chye so wasn't insistent that they wear identical dresses. I just told them any white short or 3/4 length dress will do and gave them a budget to work within. So they went to shop on their own and i paid them back for the dresses.
That way, they buy something they can wear again in future.

I used 'Angels brought me here' from Guy Sebastian. I was very lucky cos i managed to get my mum's friend's choir to sing at my wedding even tho they dun normally do weddings. They have a really good soloist that has a superb voice. So instead of playing a cd which somehow doesn't have as nice an effect, i got the soloist to play the organ and sing my walk-in song. He was really good! He also sang my responsorial psalm. Lots of my guests were raving about his voice after the service. In fact, many said he sounds like Josh Groban. Haha...

Lissa

lissa... ya, that was what i thought too.. organist & a soloist to sing your walk-in song. the organist from SFX told me yesterday that she will get someone to ring the wedding gong also before i march-in...

SFX youth choir wanted to charge me $500! too ex meh,.. so guess i will just get an organist & a soloist to sing...

ps: thanks for the pictures

I think a soloist is always better than playing a cd. But of cos must make sure the soloist has a good voice lah. Cos if not the effect will be lost. I've been to a wedding before where the soloist went so out of tune that it was quite painful to listen.
So i suggest you ask the organist / soloist you're going to engage if they are playing at any other weddings before yours. Then you go listen to them first before engaging them. That's what i did with my choir. I went to hear them first and that's where i fell in love with my soloist's voice and becos of that i asked him to sing my walk-in song.

Lissa

Thanks lissa for your photos, wow, you have so many guests!! brings out the deco! If i can fill up the first 10 rows, i will be very happy.. hee.. can i check with you, did susan charged you $500 for 2 floral arrangements in front, the ribbons on all the pews ,lilies on first 10 pews, chair covers and deco?
I have 3 bridesmaids and 1 boy (what are they called? ), i cannot find a flowergirl leh... i guess no need to have girl if dun have right? boy also will do? i have a bridesmaid who hates skirts and she insists on wearing pants, should be ok for walking down the aisle?

diamond, wah you are indeed very considerate to ask the priest on his opinion for the design of gowns.. Philip Lye is a freelancer i think, if you read the archives you will see a lot of info on him... im not expecting alot of guests as my FH is non catholic, but i hope to fill up the first 10 rows if possible..

Hi CSI
I havent met up with any florists yet , i guess i will do so after i settled furniture for the home.. My gowns chosen already, PS next month.. you leh?
I just got my wedding bands from lee hwa, destinee range, got my ADPG already, church wise besides booking of date, nothing else done yet.. haha...

Hey lissa,
Thanks for sharing the collage. It's really well done! And you guys look good!
Who's your PG btw? YOu have so many guests!! It must have been quite a challenge to inform all your guests of the change in venue within 10 days....

Hi Adel,
the boy is called a pageboy or ring bearer (if he's carrying the rings down the aisle). Your bridesmaid wants to wear pants ah? That's interesting. It would be quite different. I think it should be alright...don't think there's a hard and fast rule that "must wear skirts".

I dunno if I would be having a PS. FH is against the idea (coz he dun want to spend $$ just to get the photos to show pple). I volunteered to pay for it (coz he paying the other stuff), he dun allow me to....
I just decided on the colour of my EG. So, that's one more thing done. hahaha.

adel, is not being considerate to ask the priest. if he is not agreeable of you WG b'coz he finds it inappropriate, he will make u wear an ugly shawl during the churching wedding. if not, he does not wan to soleminise the wedding. i dun wan such things to happen.

how come bridesmaid is always at the magic figure 3? not shld be even no? so 1 bridemaid walks in at a time? am not having any flower girl & page boy. my FH & his family who are catholics, said he has seen too many cases, the kids made a fuss on that day... when they see so many strangers & will not follow instructions.. some just start crying away!

Hi Adel,

Susan charged me $500 for everything. But when i negotiated with her it was based on decor for IHM. As i mentioned, IHM doesn need more flowers than SFX. So if you're negotiating for SFX, you might wanna try slightly less if you're not planning to do up all the pews. For me, cos the change in venue was so last minute & Susan was so helpful, i didn't bother to ask for reduction in price since SFX needs less flowers. Furthermore, Susan agreed to use some flowers for the pew decor towards the front of the church.

Hi CSI,

It was a mighty challenge to inform everyone. I had 400plus pple on my invite list. So had to call EVERYONE up including those to rsvped as no in case they change their mind. But i also arranged for a minibus to standby at IHM on my AD morning in case anyone still goes to the wrong place.

As for PS, why dun you try my PG. He's Sam Wong - 98584964. We actually went to take some outdoor shots after the church ceremony at Nativity on our AD itself. If you dun have a pre-wedding PS, that will be a very good option cos the photos turned out really nice. The best thing is Sam gives you back all the shots in soft copy so no need to pay additional like to the bridal studios if you wanna choose more than what's offered in your package. If you want i can send you some shots we took at Nativity then you can consider.

Lissa

hi lissa
thnks for ur pics! very beautiful indeed =)

btw, cld i check wif you (or any other catholic brides),
is the bride supposed to be on the groom's left or right? as in during the walk in (which will be the same as thru out the whole ceremony) & the walking out... what abt seating arrangement of the guests? cos i all along thought it to be left cos of some old english superstition, but i attended a few weddings recently where the bride was on the right of the groom & the bride's guests were seated on the right as well!
so i got confused! cld anyone advise pls?

HI Lissa

Can share with mi some pics taken at nativity ??
cos i might change to nativity as the timeslot i want with my perish is taken up...
btw ur weding over ??ur wedding mass is what time ??
i ahve the concern of being too stuffy ot warm in the church cos no aircon ...

Hi moninet,

i was told by my church secretary tat the bride should stand on the left when doing the march-in cos the groom is on the rite.

Hi Lissa,
Dun mind, can share some of the pics with me please? Nativity has a nice structure. You are right...that is one option...though I would like a pre-wedding shoot...haiz.

Hi Diamond,
I think it's just coincidental lah...you have a bunch of frens...there are 4 of u (nice number when going out...so none gets left out). Then 1 getting married...so of course left with 3 to be bridesmaids lorh. It's really up to individuals lah. I'm having 2 bridesmaids...

Usually the bridesmaid walk in one after the other. But again, it's really up to individual. You can have them walk in together or with the groomsmen (if any). No hard and fast rule. In some movies, you'll see bridesmaids walk together.

Hi moninet,
I think the bride is on the groom's left (facing altar). But the recessional (walking out) may be different, coz that is usually after they have signed the cert and church register. So after signing, reader/commentator/lector/emcee will usually announce, "Please stand for the recessional". I think by then the couple will be too excited to notice whether he/she is on the right or left side...hahaha. So usually, it's just, whichever side u're standing on, just hold hands and walk out. May end up with bride on right of groom.

Maybe some of the bride's guests were asked to sit on the right so that the whole place would look more balanced/even? As in, maybe the bride had more guests?

hi moninet,

haha. no worries.. technically the couple who is assigned to assist u with the wedding rehearsal will guide u in that

Hi Ah Jo,

My wedding was in SFX not Nativity. But i wanted to take some outdoor shots in my AD gown since i was not allowed to take it out for my pre-wedding PS. My photographer suggested going to Nativity since it's pretty nearby and has a good ambience so we went just to take photos. So it was like an outdoor PS location.
I was there taking photos from about 2 - 3pm and it was rather warm. The church was totally empty so with the church fully filled it might be even worse. But my AD was super sunny so weather was quite hot lah.

Hi CSI Fan,

I'll go look for some Nativity shots and send to you. To be honest, i really liked the outdoor shots my PG took at Nativity. I was so so glad i didn't top up more $ with my BS to purchase more photos cos Sam's photos were definitely as nice if not nicer than some of my pre-wedding ones.

Hi Cookie Bunny,

Which photos do you want? SFX decor or nativity shots?

Lissa

Talking about photos, did any of you get coffee table books? What are they like, quality-wise?
I'm thinking of selecting my photos and rather than using albums, just collating them into one huge coffee table book.

tootsieroll, go to http://www.lightedpixels.com/ , click weddings then coffee table.

for church wedding, anyone know the name of this song which asks god to bless the couple with a happy marriage & kids? i understand from a lector to use that as an entrance hymm or something...

tootsieroll: you can try edmund leong photography, he is well known for capturing emotions and his coffee table album layouts. His coffee table ablums are very artistically done, not just paste paste paste. I just collected mine from him and i'm very happy with it!

He is vey experienced in our catholic chruch wedding also. When i collected the album, he showed me a feature of him on the recent catholic news, quite impressive.

diamond + pinkcandy,
thanks for your suggestions. I'm already married - exactly 1 year
It's only now that I've had time to look through all my photos - and rather than just have loads of album, i thought i'd just have a big coffee table book. Thinking of using Kodakgallery to create the book online. It will be a bit more expensive, but hopefully the quality is good.

Hi Lissa,
Thanks for the photos. Lovely! Just to check with u again, what cloth is that u used for the chair? Thanks.

CSI fan mentioned about a friend who can play for wedding mass. I've checked with her, she can play if you want. As for the price, you've to check with her. If you're interested, let me know, I can give u her email and you can contact her. She is very good in piano. She has been playing for church weddings and masses for years.

Hi Tootsieroll,

As for photos, you can try Stephen Low. He is one of the official photographer in the Singapore Bride. He does for my enagagement mass, tea ceremony and indoor shoots. He is coming here too to do my church wedding mass. You can check him out in the thread. He does coffee table books as well. This is his website. http://www.lyricalmoments.com/ Hope this helps.

Elizabeth,
Thanks for your suggestion. I took my photos 1 year ago. Basically I only purchased photos from my photographer (Simon Lee) as I didn't have much time in Singapore to proofread all the photos I wanted. So I've got a CD with hundreds of photos, and now want to pick out the best ones and put in one photobook. Ya, maybe I'll just hand the CD to someone and ask them to do a coffeetable book for me

Are you getting married in Sg or .NL? If .NL, then is Stephen charging a lot to fly him over?

Hello, was busy moving house over the weekend...now I'm so tired. haiz.

Hi Liz!

wow...you contacted J already? hehs...I still owe her one music book...hahaha. haven't had the time to meet up with her. heehee....Yap, she's a real talent.

Tootsieroll, yap, you can consider Stephen. I've engaged him to be my AD PG. His works are really good.
If only I can make the trip in August, Stephen would be doing my PS too. My FH quite strange right? He's ok for a PS in Netherlands (with the scenery and all), but not a local (or anywhere else) pre-wedding shoot. What the...? Really dunno him.

wah....hahaha. sounds like Elizabeth and I are "marketing" the same people! hahaha...

Hi tootsieroll, I forgot to add...hehs.

Stephen can scan your photos etc and process it into an album. That's one of his skill sets. You can meet up with him to discuss and see what else he can do for you.
Can always mention Elizabeth and me (his Nov 18 client...hahaha).

Hi catholic brides...

I'm oso a catholic bride to be...my AD is on 27 Oct'07 will visit the threads more frequently to gather infor.

Very blur...duno wat to do now???

hippo,
Long way away
Now maybe start looking at where you want to hold your AD meal (and book early). Also, if you aren't getting married in your home parish, then think about which church you will get married in. Also have a think about the readings, hymns that you want in your wedding mass/service. Also, you will want to go for EE and/or MPC.

Most importantly, if you aren't already doing it, start trying to pray together regularly, or if your FH isn't christian, then some other activity to deepen both your spiritualities

hawlo tootsieroll,

Me a bit kaisu loh...AD confirm liao. Both FH & myself r catholic. (i got baptised last easter) ah..will be getting married @ his parish. Attending EE in Sept'07 but no confirmation yet..so duno confirm a not???

I do pray regualarly...but not wf FH..

Hello hippo,
The EE co-ordinator should call you in about 2 weeks after you register/ send in payment. When you signed up? Sept '07? That seems very far away. Why not go earlier? They recomend 6 months before AD.

Hi Hippo,
Heehee... thot so that it must be a typo too.
Think someone would get back to you soon.
We just went for our weekend 2 weeks ago!
It was a full weekend! 32 couples.

Its a good experience! I hope you both find it beneficial too!

Hi hippoeeyore, you don't have to be physically with your FH to pray with him. Before we were married, my hubby & I used to pray together when we talked daily over the telephone.

It does help to pray together - my mother is a great advocate of this saying that a family who prays together, stays together! Its very true.

Hi Shugar...yah i m lookin forward to the EE. Wanted to attend earlier but no time. Really hope than after attending the EE, it will bring my FH & myself closer & united.

Hi Mrs N, me veri shy leh. my FH veri quiet type...not those tt will express himself! Duno how...???

may i ask, what colour dress shld bridemaids wear? for march in during church. does it necessary need to be white? and where can i get reasonably priced dresses.. do not wan to spend too much since it wld only be worn once.

hi diamond,

I m oso sourcing around 2. My BS quoted me $150 per piece. Most likely not getting cos they only get to wear it once.

Btw wat colour is ur grown? try to get something plain & classi for them

hippoeeyore, ur BS charges $150 per piece to buy? can i buy from them other it only sells to its customers? am willing to pay $150. i cannot find a decent one at that price so far!

my WG is cream colour. i understand the bridemaid's dress needs not be in white, can be some pastel colours or colours like champagne.

wats ur views?

diamond...yah my BS charge me $150 off the rack..she say she'll add sum design & alter for me. if u wan i can check from her whether she sells to other pple. When u need it? Cos my next visit to her is mid July.

Most of the design are bustier...and the one she show me is a bit purple (veri veri light purple) she have 2 pieces quite similar

if urs is cream colour...than find someting like pastel loh...if not veri plain leh. Pastel colour look brighter.

hippo, so bridemaid's dress need not be white.. understood. can give me your BS's name? i call & find out myself. it seems that most are bustier design. she got those which are not bustier? my sis quite big size & plump... so she will look like bachang if wear that kind of design.. :P

Hey hippoeeyore,
your BS charges $150 for bridesmaid dresses...that's not too bad.
Or is it coz u taking package from them?
Those Daniel Yam kind of dresses can be used for bridesmaids too, and they cost ard that price too (depending on design lah...and now GSS). I dun think bridesmaids will wear their dress only once lah. Eg. those Daniel Yam types, can wear for co D&D or friends wedding dinner...

alternatively, diamond, you can find a seamstress to do one for your bridesmaid. I found one to do slightly below knee-length dresses for my bridesmaids. Based on satin material, bustier/tube dress (my friend likes the tube) with a bit of flair (A-lline cut) and ribbon at the waist, she quoted a bit over $100 (ard $110) including material costs. For Thai silk material, slightly more ex coz Thai silk more ex. I dunno about her workmanship, coz I dunno how to see how good it is etc...hahaha.