Catholic Brides

Hi all, i'm new here...

Have a question to ask... My AD (+ church and all) is on a sunday but i've been told by the priest that they don't hold weddings on sundays. Is that true for all Catholic churches? How long in advance did u all book the church? I'm having a major headache coordinating the banquet and church because of the day and date. =(

Some advises will be great!

hi caffeinate...

Yah...dun tink catholic churches allows wedding on sundaz as they hv masses on tt day. Therefore narrowed my search to Sat (both church & banquet)

CSF Fan/Hippo, i have checked out daniel yam at wisma, i do not find anything suitable from there. my siser who will be my bridemaid, cannot wear bustier/tube dress. she is on the "big" side & very bottom heavy. she tried on a few EG material dresses & she took really ugly in them.

actually, looking for a simple sleeveless dress that is flare. i think she will look nice in it. i saw one cream coloured one at chomel, PS just now.. simple & only $69. but the material is lace. do u think the material is suitable? do share with me your views. thanks

hi CSI, yah my BS told me if i m interested she'll charge me $300 for 2 loh. She'll help me to add some design. But than spend a lot $ on banquet duno still can afford to buy for my jie mei. And tink tink they oni wear it once duno wasteful a not.

diamond, does she look good on 2 piece?

hippo, actually, my sis is a tom boy. she will only wear that dress once for my sake. that is why, i do not wan to spend too much money.

the dress i saw in chomel is one piece. lace material. i find it okie. do u think is appropriate for church wedding?

diamond, does she feel comfortable in it. so long is presentable and not too exposure i tink is fine for church.

she must feel comfortable in it cos she need to move around very often.

hippo, i get wat u mean.. but then again, i personally think the material of the dress is impt also.. it must be appropriate for the type of function it is wearing to

hi diamond,
oh i see...no wonder you say wear one time only.
Maybe your sister will like her new look on your wedding day that she changes her mind abt wearing skirts! hehs..

so those shiny, soft soft EG kind of material (Daniel Yam types) not suitable for her...yap, from your description, I think a stiffer fabric would be better (at least clothes made from stiff / heavy fabrics have their own shape and not take the shape of the person wearing it).

The chomel one u describe sounds nice! The lace is on top / over some other material? As long as the dress is not too revealing (no low low cuts or low low backs, and not too short - I'm thinking from the points of the older relatives in ur FH side, since they are the Catholics), it would be appropriate. Like what Hippoeeyore said, she must feel comfortable in it.

Hippoeeyore,

Not bad leh, ur BS...I know my bridesmaids wun wear it only once lah...but it is still a bit ex for a normal day dress...hehs. So I'm going for the shiny material type, so they can at least wear for formal dinners too...then not so wasted. hehs...

Diamond,
I forgot to ask, what is your WG like? You mentioned cream coloured. Does it have lace too?

Hi caffeinated,
yap, generally no church weddings on Sundays, though some priests might allow a wedding service to be incorporated into the church's Sunday mass. I attended one like that. It was the usual Sunday mass. Bridal couple walks in with the priests, lectors etc...sits in front. Halfway through, there was a segment for the wedding service. No fanfare. Just the rest of the congregation as guests, and the choir will play something nice.

There was also one instance when after the 1215pm Sunday mass, I saw some people get ready for a wedding (probably at 2pm kinda timing). That one could have been an isolaoted case. I'm not sure if this is still allowed. You may want to check around with other priests.

Alternatively, can you do a split day?

CSI Fan, you are right on the description of the chomel dress. nothing revealing. simple & nice. my gown is also cream colour.. not the lacy kind.. except some lacy at the train... but i do not think my bride maid's dress need to match the material of mine. what are your thoughts?

btw, my sis is only 21 years old & she has a child like face still.. asking her to wear daniel yam types of gowns will make her look old... actually, i like that chomel dress design & it is actually what I have in mind.. my only worry now is whether she can fit into the largest size! got to bring her down next week to try

CSI, u tink $150 is reasonable ah? me still tinkin whether do it at my BS or find outside???

Scare later they wear once..nvr wear veri wasteful. Mayb buy 2 piece than can wear 2 work 2.

Diamond..bring your sis down to try during the weekend. In case she dun like you still hv time to look around.

hippo, went down with my sis earlier. XL size just left with 2 pieces. so i better hurry. well, the XL size dress fit her perfectly! even her gf who tagged along said that it is not easy to get a dress for my sis that fit & dun make her look pregnant or like a bachang! and the price after discount is only $55. her gf also said that kind of price very difficult to get something suitable & decent. ha! so am i right! anyhow, i bought the dress for her

ps: i can keep the dress after the wedding & wear it when i am pregnant!

ha ha diamond...u veri cute leh. wear for pregnant. actualli $55 veri reasonable loh and can still wear for other occassion.

me now tinking whether to buy for my jie mei.

hippo, well... am a small to medium size. there is no way i can wear for other occassion other when i am pregnant (may hv to alter the sleeves though). as for my sis... she will never wear a dress/skirt! she is a tom boy!

hi stella,

welcome...me oso at st mary's of the angels AD is on 27 Oct 07.

diamond...can save $ on maternity clothes. Hopefully ur sis will change her conception on dress/skirt. Yippe!

hippo, i just bought my modern cheongsam!! made of thai silk.. finally, i found one which will not make me look more mature... now, i got to find a pair of bright golden heels to match

office comp was spoilt this morning, and they just fixed it....haiz.

Diamond, yeah! You settled one more thing! yap, no need to match your material, but would be nice if it has similar aspects, which in your case, it does! Colour and the bit of lace...
I'm sure your whole wedding would look beautiful.
I think the dress is a good buy!

Hippoeeyore, yah, I thought $150 was reasonable, afterall, she's gonna do the designing for u too, right? and they get to keep it...versus those that charge say $50 dry cleaning, and it's OTR, and cannot keep. With the designing (even though it's adding sequins etc on it), at least you can have "some" say in it...
But can try what diamond has found...

diamond, where u buy your cheong sum? knee length or full length? u wat size ah? want to bring my mum go & c 4 my wedding.

U wearing it for 2nd march-in?

CSI...ok. mayb bring them down & try 1st.

Btw...u gals know for church the page boy will walk-in 1st, follow by flower gal than bride & father rite?

hippo, i bought it at this shop in OUB centre. 2nd floor, next to VNC shoe shop & infront of the escalator. i took a 'M' size instead & get them to alter (for free) because i find 'S' size too short for me. Not full length.. that will make me look mature. it is slightly below the knee (the shop does hv full length CS). I paid $260 for it after 10% storewide discount, find it quite reasonable & it is thai silk & has embrioderies also.

not for 2nd march-in. is for tea ceremony. i hv a separate EG for 2nd march-in. may change in CS when sending the guests off after banquet. if u wan to get for 2nd march-in, a full length CS may be more appropriate. yes, u shld bring your mum there. there are quite a few CS there & some i think is more appropriate for older women like our mothers. All of them are thai silk.

I wont be wearing any necklace for my WG & CS for AD also 'coz of the cutting at the neck there. maybe, will just wear a pair of drop pearl earings will be good enough.

hey diamond...u knw their working hr? Opened during weekend?

urs is plain in color or wf patten?? Duno should oso buy one myself. Like u say can change into CS when sending the guests off.

hippo, not sure abt their opening hrs. its unit no is #02-17, OUB centre. Shop name: VG Vougeois Pte Ltd.

The one i bought is pink in colour. Plain other than some embriodered flowers near the hem of the dress & another flower at the back.

U already bought a tea dress for tea ceremony at your parents' place? OR u plan to wear ur EG for that? Am not lor, coz my EG has a short train & it is defintely only for dinner

hippo, as to sequence of the church march-in, you forgot abt ur bridemaids. anyhow, dun worry abt the sequence la, during the rehearsal the church will tell u. also if u need to get page boy & flower girl clothes & accessories (eg shoes), pls go OG. $150 is enough for Both & everything.

diamond...kum xia ah. will find a day 2 go down wf mummy.

4 my tea dress, i will b wearing my ROM dress which was made by my BS (2 yrs ago) hopefuli still can wear...ha ha wasteful if dun wear another time...cos i made it around $580. Is off shoulder and knee lenght. A bit ivory wf embiorary @ the end of the dress.

as 4 EG...will be MTM by the BS. Thot of wearing CS @ the end of the dnr. still tinking want to spend this $.

regarding the march-in can ommit the bridemaids? cos dun feel like having one. Btw OG so cheap ah. I saw at kiddy palace oso quite cheap accept for the page boy around $70 for 1 suit leh.

I like your ROM dress based on the way u described it. but it was too ex! u really "she3 de1". my BS package came with MTM WG & EG. but i exchanged it with MTM suit for my FH & to keep. i chose OTR for WG & EG instead. took those new ones of course. initally wanted an off shoulder WG, but BS said i will feel uncomfortable & inconvenient wearing it as it is off-shoulder.

btw, the shop which i bought the CS from, its CS only comes in 3 sizes, S, M & L and there is only 1 piece per size.

of course, u can omit the bridemaids march-in part. if so, then there is no need for u to buy dresses for your bridemaids at all. they will just be your jie meis for that day. u decide on the colour theme u wan & tell them to wear dresses in that colour will do. that was wat my best friends did the other time. she told me wear a white dress. if we dont have then we go get one at our own budget.

yes OG is cheap. the suit for page boy is either 59.9 or 69.9. incl the shirt inside & the tie. the shoes is abt 20+. for flower girl, the dress (either white or pastel light pink) starts as cheaply as $20+ & i saw some nice one the other day. the shoes for the girl is also abt $20+. OG also sell pretty bridal hair clip/hair band for the flower girl.. as cheap as 7.90 for 1. that is why i said in total $150 wld be enough for suit, dress, apparals & accessories. go check it out

hee hee ...diamond .. tink tink a bit wasteful lah. so wear for tea dres so $580 divided by 2 times loh.

for jie mei, most likely not providing dresses for them...give them ang bao better. Ok will drop by OG one day.

btw...how 2 incorporate church invites into our wedding invitation cards? Usually pple give 2 cards or wat ah?

anyone know where can find cartoonist?

hippo, dont need 2 cards. your wedding invitation for banquet can be printed directly on the cards provided by the hotel. for those guests where u wld be inviting for church also, put in an "insert" get the printer who is printing the wedding cards for u to print the insert. as simple as that.

dunno any cartoonist wor. cannot help on that.

wah, diamond and hippoeeyore,
heehee...you gals have so much to share...

hippoeeyore, like what diamond said, dun need to worry so much abt that, coz there will be someone to help you somehow...hahaha. but to ease your mind, page boy can either walk first, or together with flower girl (they need company too, so they will be less nervous).

Actually, bridesmaids, groomsmen, flower gals, page boys all not necessary. It's really up to you whether you want to have this entourage or not.

Oh, that CS shop that diamond mentioned...I like their designs. Not bad. I don't think they are open on weekends as Raffles Place is like a ghost town on weekends...You should try weekdays. They probably close ard 7pm to 8pm, coz the whole place is pretty deserted by then.

Regarding the mass booklets, aiyah, get the soft copy from someone, change the names, lagi easier!! hahaha...but thanks for the link! It is useful...esp with the timeline bits.

Cards-wise, you can do what diamond suggested, or you can print them all on one card. Some pple give 2 cards, some 1 card.

Hi shugar, yes lookin 4 a cartoonist. can give me ur email.....FH say along orchard oso got sum, but they move around so will take time to look 4 them.

Diamond, didn't know tt church invites is so simple....in that case me no need to worry so much. the printer guys will know wat to do rite?

CSI, my church got give me a sample...but is a service no mass so got some differences loh. will get from Father when we meet up wf him.

hipp, yup. printer guy will hv all the template for u to choose. ie, the way u prefer the wordings to be phrase

i was told by the organist of my church to get my booklet out soon. she said get it over & done with and i can focus on other things. she is very helpful, ask me to go meet her and she will help us do the booklet in 1-2hrs time as she has the whole file on that. we just hv to pick & choose (with her advise) & type it in our notebook & bingo. done within 1-2 hrs.

u wan a mass booklet? i hv a few samples at home. give me ur email, i email u later. remind me if i forget..

now, i hv settled my CS & my bridemaid's dress. next, i wan to bring my mummy to get her clothes & get my sis a dress for the dinner.. also shoes for them & myself

after that, i will bring my dad to the tailor to made 2 shirts & buy a pair of beetle bug shoes for him.

aiyoh, this few wks i spent so much money... haizzzz...

Hippoeeyore, I have a few soft copies too. If you need more. hehs.

Diamond, at least all these were during the GSS manz!! Imagine if it's not during GSS...hehs.

now I just worried on the songs of the mass…duno where to find or how to choose leh. Btw u which church ah? Hey tat would be good…to share some samples with me. …email me at [email protected]

yah agree that we need to spend so much $ on these……than my mum oso veri difficult to please……ask her to do CS she say she wear not nice…say go outside and buy…later buy one liao say dun wan to wear cos scare later pple wear the SAME THING….haiz. me say wan to go see cloth to make dress…..aiyoh I veri sian ah! She even ask me to bring ALL my bridal magazine home to let her see.

For dad, I just want to rent for them cos oni wear it once. But rent oso not cheap ah…..

All these ‘things’ oso need to spend a few thousand dollars ah!

hippo, my BS is renting me the suit for my father for free. that is what i asked for the other time. but i still need to tailor made the shirts for him wat. that cannot rent one.

btw, the CS shop at OUB centre opens from 1045am -4pm on Sat. I saw 1-2 new CS again today.

U may wan to bring ur mum to this shop in City Plaza, 03-76/77. it sells a no of EGs which i think is suitable for mothers. price is abt 100 bucks. ur mum can hv the open if she does not wan to wear CS.

there is this other shop in parkway parade ( same level as Charles & Keith & a few units away). it sells those chinese embroderied clothes (shanghai tang style). it has some promotion there now. u may wan to bring her there to take a look also.

y dun go to G2000 and buy a shirt for your dad? If you tailor made the shirt isit veri expensive? wow u have many lobang for EGs hor....confirm oways go shopping one. hee hee

Hi gals didn't come on this thread for a few days and it looks you have all been busy.

Hippoeeyore, me also very shy one!
No need to say long prayers lah. Hubby & I used to end our nightly conversations with the 'Our Father'.

Btw, for your mass booklets it might be better to use the samples from the girls on here. The website you mentioned is good and while the order for mass is the same, the words especially when it comes to the marriage rite may not be the same as those used in S'pore. I got married in the UK, and the words we used were slightly different. I guess it doesn't really matter as the 'meaning' is essentially the same but some priest may be fussy about sticking to the text used locally.

This webbie is good if you want a quick run down of what happens during a nuptial service with mass and one without mass.

http://www.ultimatewedding.com/articles/get.php?action=getarticle&articleid=638

God Bless & Have a good weekend girls.

hippo, the sleeves length will not fit properly for my father loh.. so i thought tailor made is the best alternative? G2000 will alter the sleeves length for me for free?

also, not every guy can wear G2000 shirts. eg, my FH cannot even fit into the largest size there as he has a fat neck!

If you are looking for sarong kebayas, or cheongsams, i saw two shops in Centrepoint the other day when i was there. They are on the second level towards starhub centre. The cheongsam store is quite decent. They do off the rack or tailored. Prices are also in the range of $200 upwards. They have both the younger and more matured "patterns".

As for the kebaya store, i didn't venture in. But they have eveything including accessories (brooches to close the kebaya top) and beaded shoes.

Maybe you guys wanna check them out?

Mrs N...yah we r busy sharing infor. Duno how to open up to FH leh...mayb try out one FINE day. hee hee

Thanks for the website, will take my time to go thur @ home tonite.

Realise that guy r not worried abt all these...me hv to source all these myself. Should ask my FH to join in the planning & preparation.

Diamond, not sure whether they alter the sleeves length??? think just bring my dad & FH down to buy from G2000.

Hi stella, tks....gather all these info 1st than take leave go down wf mum one day.

stella, i know which shop u r talking abt for kebaya. it is not cheap for that shop. i went b4. the other cheaper one is in that shopping centre beside novena MRT station..

hippo, my FH cannot wear G2000 shirts. as for my father.. i do not know. anyhow, it is okie for tailor for my father & FH. my father can wear the shirts some other time and as for my FH, he can wear the shirts to work. so they will not be wasted.

aiyoh, i hv been doing homework lately during lunch hrs. if not, how wld i know where sell wat & wat? i jus did pendi & mani just now.. hehehe

I wore a Kebaya for my tea ceremony. It's pretty difficult to find nice ones in Singapore that dun cost a bomb! I went to Malacca to make mine... it's very detailed and i paid less than S$300 for it. If anyone's interested i should be able to dig up the address.

Lissa

Hi minnsy

sorry for the superlate reply.....was out of town after wedding, so didnt manage to log into the forum until now....hehe.....

Well, my wedding was really fun! hehe....even though there were a few hiccups, to share wif u.....for example,

1. my driver actually FORGOTTEN about my wedding cos he thought its the following week....He tried to rush down to my place, but in the end, I couldnt wait so I drove to the church by myself, together wif my bridesmaid....haha....I thought was quite cool but i got pedestrains staring at me whenever i stopped at traffic junctions...=p

So, to all brides-to-be, dont ever assume that pple will rem your wedding date. On the day before, I reminded everyone except for my driver cos we jus test-drove 2 days ago....but ya, we shouldnt assume =p

2. my flowergal was walking soooooooo slow that the choir finished singing my march-in song before i could reach the front of the altar...haha..Think she was simply too overwhelmed by the crowd there. But luckily she didnt cry or anything....cos my fren told me that she attended a wedding before that the flowergal was sooo scared that while marching in, she actually threw up....haha

But i felt that God has blessed me abundantly with really fantastic frens and family and we thorougly enjoyed our wedding day =)

I always felt that a dinner is jus a dinner and its jus part of tradition....but I really enjoyed it a lot =)