Catholic Brides

Ya ya ya it's me liz! CSI fan! Didn't know u r here too! Been out of action for a long time. Now back ha ha ha I hope! Coz bn super busy! Not only for the preparation for our wedding but also making wedding pillows to sell. Need to earn some money. Have to work on my own one soon! Ya a pity u can't come! Or else u can attend my wedding.

Hi Minssy,

U remember me! How r U? Have to postpone coz I have to get all the paperwork straight first and ROM before I can do it in church. Very strict here. And also to save up as well. Time flies so fast! Got to go and sew, have to deliver my goods, ha ha ha... take care God bless!

Sorry ladies not much of help to those who ask questions. All the best!

hi elizabeth,

yeah..

u helped me liased with the pillow thingy before my wedding too....

hi shine,

try the contact by csi fan....

if you gotta get friends, then bear in mind that there is someone who know how to play the piano/organ too for the songs....

hi Liz!!!!!

Good to see you here too! yah...we're pretty upset (at least I am) we can't go.
The scenery there is so beautiful...JK's been sending me pics of the place (Had to tell him to stop, coz not likely I can go). Yah, plus it would have been nice to attend a European wedding (esp that of a good ole friend)

What's this wedding pillow you're making? Ring pillow? I'm making my own too...heehee...

Hi Shine,
Let me ask my fren first if she still interested in playing for weddings, yah? Usually she (oh, Elizabeth knows her too...) plays and I'm the voice....
(buay pai seh). hahaha. But unfortunately I can't do it for my own wedding...hahahahaha.

csi fan and minssy, thanx for ya replies.

csi fan, yes, pls help me check if ur fren is interested and the rates too ya. hee! do ur belong to any choir?

oh, i need to do simple deco for the church. my budget is around $200. Is it too little? I just need pew deco (ribbon & flower), either 2 flower stand or an balloon arch, and deco for the groom and brides' chair. Any good recommendations too?

As for printing of the mass booklet, any recommendation too?

Hope to settle everything fast cos will be getting my flat soon. Tink i will be very busy with the home deco aftertat.

Hee! *paiseh* so many questions.

hi shine,

market rate for flowers is abt $400 - $500. $200 is tooo little lah.. anyway, u can call my florist, susan at 9699 0104.

mass booklet printing: isuccess 6337 9220

hi minssy,
thks! i'm a catholic btb... juz wondering do we see the priest first or do we juz go for EE first? it doesn't matter right?

j0yz,
welcome to the thread
It doesn't matter which you do first....for us, we did EE first, but it was only because we were in singapore only a week before my AD. I did however have contact via email with the priest and parish secretary prior, and arranged all the documents to be on hand before my meeting with him.

when are you getting married, and which parish are you from?

hi joyz,

normally is to see the priest first (first round short meeting) to just you know, oh i hope u can solemnise our wedding etc etc... EE is normally arranged at least 3 - 6 mths before the AD..

hi tootsieroll,
i'm frm st francis of assisi. actually i'm quite unsure of the procedures. we have already ROMed recently but are tinking of having the church wedding, customary (tea ceremony) as well as the banquet together end of next yr, n so would love to attend EE by tis yr... my FH is not a catholic but he is is very comfy wif attending EE. =)

hi joyz,

yeah call first.. the rest of what to do, you can follow my guideline in the excel spreadsheet i posted up...

i hv already called the priest to chk n he mentioned we can register n attend MPC or EE first n call them up to see any of the priest next yr. =)

thks a lot minssy!
yea sure, i will look thru the archives to look for the guidelines you posted. the priest told me to look for them again next yr to book a date. at least i am not feeling so confused now. hehe.

hi joyz,

yah probably cos your is soo far ahead. unless you want that particular priest so u need to chope him first.. but since its next year and the priest could still be transferred out, u can do that abt 10 - 12 mths before your AD

Hi to all! I'm planning to hold my church wedding at St Peter and Paul at the end of the year, followed by lunch reception and tea ceremony for both sides of the families. Would greatly appreciate it if someone can share with me their experience of holding their wedding at SPP. Is there a place where I can hold the tea ceremony? Also, if anyone has any pixs to share with me of your wedding at SPP, it would be great!!! You can email to [email protected]

Thanks in advance!!

Hi Minssy,

Long time no see!
Still remember me? I came online pretty often before my wedding. But haven't found the time till now to come back since then.

Thanks so much for your recommendation of Susan. She was GREAT!
Loved the decor she did for the church. What's more i had a last minute change of church venue and she was superbly understanding and helpful!

Lissa

hi hi lissa,

march wedding rite? :p

great that susan is of help
i think it can be easier to get fellow catholics to help in some ways....

btw, u have photos to show? hee...

Hi Hi Minssy!

Yep, March bride. I was the one that had to change church 10 days before my wedding cos my original church had a fire... Anyway, everything turned out well. In fact, on hindsight, i see it as a little of a blessing in disguise cos SFX is super nice & i got a longer walk down the aisle.

I have loads of photos! What you wanna see? The church decor? But hor, the pic size is quite big so send by e-mail can only send 1 - 2 shots at a time.

Lissa

I'm new here.

Lissa - You from IHM? M planning to do mine in IHM in June'07. Can share with me your pics please? Also, costs for church decor pls? Thanks v much.

hi lissa,

u can go to www.irfanview.com and download a prog that you can use the view to file, and change the file size, and then upload to a webbie for others to view the photos... for me i used multiply... maybe when your link is up, you may PM me so that i can catch a wink of it? hee...

Hi Chick,

Yep, am from IHM. But had my wedding in SFX instead. I used Susan from Font Creative for decor. Paid $500. For IHM, there's a lot more floral arrangements required. Think it's 5 or 6 hence the cost. So when i changed to SFX, she gave me some flowers for the pew decor as well cos SFX requires a lot less flower arrangements.

Lissa

Sorry gals,

Uploading on the web is just too time consuming. Kinda lazy to do it.

If any of you wanna see a pic of the decor Susan did for me in SFX, think sending 1 pic by e-mail should still be possible. But tough to share the rest of the pics lah.

Lissa

hi lissa, your wedding was at SFX? St francis Xavier at serangoon gardens? and Susan did the deco for u at %500? hey, my wedding is also going to be beld at SFX! can send me some pics of ur deco? my email is [email protected]

thanks alot

Hi Minssy,

Cool u still remember me! Hee hee...

Hi CSI fan,
U r also here!
Ya! I know the friend we talked about. She played for my engagement mass. She is good, v good!

Hee hee, I probably going to have about 300 roses for my wedding. Going to have a v special rose decor for the altar. My FH's neighbour is doing it. They r v gd. I am impressed with the flower decor in church. I saw what I want while attending mass. So I picked that for the altar. The rest is still yet to confirm. We only found out that the bouquet is supposed to be s surprise for me from my FH. We didn't know that. Now I've to see what kind of bouquet then. I have searched for the pics fr internet. He can browse through n decide. Ha ha ha...

Got to ladies, as ususl busy. Here is super hot n stale in the house.. Can die! Hot hot hot! Ha ha ha....

Hi Diamond,

Yep, my wedding was at SFX at Serangood Gardens.

Susan did a great job! I sent you an e-mail with a collage attachment that gives a nice overview of the decor. Hope it's clear enough. I loved the ribbon decor she did for me on all the pews down the entire aisle. Had a super nice effect.

The attachment is pretty big so it might take some time to download. Sorry bout that...

Lissa

Hey Elizabeth,

wow!!! 300 roses!! Luck you...unfortunately, 300 roses will cost a bomb in Singapore...My wedding mass will be held at the church where you had your engagement mass...heehee...L's parish lah (think it's nicer than my parish anyway...hahaha). hmm...your boquet is supposed to be a surprise? That's fun! so exciting....

Lissa, could you share your pics with me too please? Thanks! [email protected]

Hi CSI Fan,

Previously I asked u about the organist and solo for wedding mass. Anyway thanx.

i managed to engage one aredi. Its about $350 to $400 for 1 organist, 1 violinist and 1 lady to sing. Hmm... now i m tinking if i want to top up a bit to get 2-3 more persons to sing. tink it will cost about $450.

Hi lissa
My wedding going to be at SFX too! Im sourcing for a florist now as well, can you share your pictures with me? My email is [email protected]
Who was your priest? Mine is Fr Gerard , but we have yet to meet him to discuss the wedding, my AD in nov so prob still a little early..

Helloo CSI!
Havent talked for some time, have you got your florist yet? Hows your wedding preps going?

lissa, i saw the pictures. Thanks! But personally, i think the ribbions were an overkill... too many already... i guess i like it simple.... anyhow, thanks for the pictures!

shine, i just asked the rate of the youth choir at SFX. the guy quoted by 500 bucks! i find it too ex. i called up the church organist also and she said she will get me a solo singer from the choir and the charges for the organist & singer are by way of angbows. ie, she leaves it to us. she told me the singer she is providing will also act as the emcce and she will help us do the hym book & other things MINUS the church deco

adel, my AD is in Dec & wld be by Fr Ho at SFX. Have u started looking around for the choir/organist/singer? as for church deco, u may wan to check out the rates of the church florist. i hv not asked her yet on her rates... but i was told, at times, church florist will just charge u the cost of the materials = 200-300 bucks. u pay for her service by giving her an angbow (amt determined by u)

Hi Shine,

sure...no probs! She hasn't come back to me on the availability anyway...hehs...

wow! $300!! My church choir is charging $250 for the choir and I thought that was a bit high already...hahaha. oohh...ok, guess I had better not make any more "noise" about that...

Hi Adel,
how are you?
I haven't decided on florist yet. I've met up with 2 florists, (including the church's florist). The rest of the preps...well, I think I'm still pretty much at ground zero. My DIY ring pillow (will be using as a deco piece coz my BS is providing one too) is coming along well... still trying to decide on EG colour, engaged ADPG, that's about it. hahaha. Haven't bought the wedding bands, designed the invites nor design the mass booklets yet...How abt you?

Hi Diamond
Have you spoken to Fr Ho? Wonder how long before we must look for the priest? I engaged Philip Lye , the organist and soloist for my wedding . He was recommended by many brides from this thread, I have yet to meet up with him to choose songs and go thru the details as he said its still early.. will prob contact him again in july.. maybe you can consider hiring him? I see, i have not actually got down to shortlisting florists yet, just collecting names and numbers.. abit lazy.. haha but will have to do so soon...

adel, yes i spoke to Fr Ho on the phone on whether he has any restrictions over the design of the gowns. understand that some priests are super fussy, no bustier, no this & no that. luckily Fr Ho is flexible. He said leave it to us. Wanted to meet him but he said no need so early.

Philip Lye is from which church? u mean he will play the organ & sing? does he charge a fee for his service. i called mabel yesterday, SFX organist yesterday. she told me to see her soon & to send her my hym booklet... she said get it over our mind soon & we do not hv to think abt it anymore. she told me, she can play pop songs also & change the lyrics for us to wedding stuff, etc. she is abit long winded, other than that, she was rather helpful. she actually offered alot of advices on the whole church wedding procession.. ie, signal to her b4 i walk down the aisle, so that she can get someone to sound the bell... more romantic. she also said i do not need a emcce, as the soloist will do it for us... also she mentioned abt phototaking details after the ceremony....

as for church florist, i will call up the church florist. i do not wish too spend too much on something which is just 45 mins! hehehe

anyhow, i hv also not done anything

adel, fyi, am not a catholic. is my FH who is a catholic & wanted a church wedding... BUT end up, i hv to go do all the calling & arrangement! men all so bochap.. he only will say, he anything one! *faint*

adel, how many guests are u expecting at the church? my gf who is getting married in 2 weeks time told me she is expecting a headcount of 300 people!! my god! i think mine got 60 pp i happy leow (coz my relatives side who are non-catholic will most likely not come wor - based on those cousins who got married in church)

Hi Diamond,

I think it looks overkill cos it was quite a zoom shot. But when you see the entire church, it has a very simple and elegant effect.
I also like the decor to be simple and elegant and i felt that Susan managed to achieve that leh. SFX has a super long aisle so the ribbons still managed to look simple cos of the size of the church. Furthermore i had about 300 guests so the crowd filled to the very back of the church and helped to enhance the look. Guess if the church is pretty empty then the ribbons just might look too kua zhang.
Anyway, it really depends on your personal preference. If you dun want the ribbons you can always tell Susan. Then it might be cheaper cos SFX doesn't really need much altar flowers.

Hi CSI Fan, Adel & Moninet,
I'll send you guys the pic when i get home. It's only 1 attachment but it's a collage of photos. It's close to 7MB i think so that's all i can send in 1 e-mail.

Lissa

lissa.. wow! u have 300 guests!! no wonder the ribbons look like alot... not i understand

i am thinking of just deco 10 pews with flowers at most.. so i guess it wld be <$500 for me...hehehe

why SFX do not need much altar flowers?
btw, i saw that the chairs where the married couple were supposed to sit were deco with flowers also.. that done by Susan OR the church?

also, the big candles at the altar there, is it provided by the church? thanks!

Hi Diamond,
Yah, my church wedding was pretty big.
Original invite list was 400 plus, but final turnout was about 300pax. Just nice to fill the centre portion of the church all the way to the back.

Anyway, the candles belongs to SFX. I didn't specially request for it so i think it's used for all weddings. The SFX bridal chair is red in colour and quite old looking... so Susan did up the white chair cover &amp; flower decor for me. But the kneeling stand is still red.

If you only want the front 10 pews with ribbons, Susan can do that too. In fact for mine, she did ribbons all the way down and for the front 10 pews, she did ribbons with a lily in each. She didn't charge me more for that cos there was less flowers required in the altar as compared to IHM.
My wedding was originally supposed to be in IHM and the altar at IHM has 3 big arrangements + 2 big arrangements at the church entrance. Wheras SFX only has 1 arrangement at the altar and another at the side altar with Mother Mary. That's only 2 arrangements. That's why i say SFX doesn't need much flowers.

Lissa

lissa, i was told to get candles if the church does not provide.. oh.. she did the white chair cover &amp; flower deco for u.. that is very nice.

i dont think i can see the arrangements in the pic right? actually, i dunno what u meant by that.... who did the collage for u? very nice.. and who is the priest in the picture? is not father Ho nor father gerard... is the priest who soleminised your wedding from SFX?

lissa, do u hv a bridesmaid who walked infront of u? check with you, can the bridesmaid wear a short white dress instead of a long one?