Catholic Brides

hi lovebug,

no worries, u will be fine
just make sure your veil is down while you are walking down the aisle.. have another helper to make sure of this when he/she coordinate the logistics of the church

minssy, if i hv a church wedding, my veil needs to be down when i walk down the aisle.

but then, my veil wld be down when my FH comes & pick me & he will lift my veil...

then tea ceremony at both side in WG & veil up

church wedding that time, then put veil down again
is it right?

Hi Lovebug, I was a little jittery before my husband's uncle came to pick me up to church. So I said a little prayer to Jesus to walk with me through this day as he has been walking with me throughout my life. And immediately I felt peaceful. After that nothing else bothered me, not even the rain!

No worries lovebug, put the day in God's capable hands and you'll breeze through without any jitters.

Lovebug,
Oh, another thing - if you can, try practising walking in your gown first, especially if you're wearing heels. If not able to practise, then remember to kinda kick the dress in front of you when you walk....I almost tripped how many times while walking down the aisle because can't really look down on the floor when walking!

Jacquise,
I had a luncheon at hotel, so I basically left OL straight for the hotel...didn't have reception. Yes you will be assigned a volunteer couple to assist you. They will set up a meeting with you a couple of months beforehand at their house and go through every single thing with you....just feel free to ask all your questions. They are very helpful. Then maybe a few days before your wedding, they will be at your rehearsal as well and go through everything with you, and troubleshoot any potential problems which may occur. Don't worry, you're in good hands
BTW, which parish were you from? I do like both Fr Paul and Fr Greg. Fr Greg was our celebrant, but we couldn't invite him to our luncheon because he was also doing the wedding at 12noon.

hi diamond,

sorry but what kinda custom is that ah? hee.. even if that is, no offence but i think its kinda
'old fashioned' leh... i think modern couples now combines abit of the tradtional & modern way of doing stuff.. hee.. anyway, alot of pple are doing that ah... as in 'lift the veil in the morning after the sabo part' and also 'in church when the groom kisses the bride'

just my little 2 cents worth....Not to offend anyone (Hope no one takes offense. THis is just my opinion...and also what I tell my mum)

(1) Tradition...who comes out with traditions? Humans. It is just the practice of doing something in a particular way over "the tons of years", that it just becomes "Tradition" that pple like to follow.

(2) Let me give an example to illustrate the point. My place is currently rented out. So tenant is living there till we want to take it back. so my mother was saying, "must buy new bed when tenant leaves. Coz they say (wah, who is "they"?), if dun buy new bed, the couple sure quarrel a lot one. You see, like your uncle and aunty. They never buy new bed. So they always quarrel so much..."

Of course must get new mattress lah...hygiene mah! but not "so that you won't quarrel so much..." Where's the basis in that? "Besides, where's your faith?" (I always tell her that) "In God, right? If you always quarrel, it's because you don't have God in the centre of your lives! not because you 'never buy new bed'...If your faith is in God, HE will make all things well, for HIS will." That's what I tell her.

(3) I think one of the reasons why we are in such a dilemma is coz us Singaporean Chinese want the best of both worlds. We want to keep to our chinese customs of doing things in some ways, and at the same time, we also want to incorporate the Western ways of doing things.

The chinese groom goes to pick his bride (according to customs) and unveils the bride when he meets her. That's once lorh. The "ang moh" grooms don't even go and pick up his bride (in US or EU). THey meet straight at church / solemnization place, when she will walk down the aisle. So they will only unveil the bride when supposed to kiss. That's also only once lorh...So, it's coz we want to put the 2 together, that we have this kind of dilemma (for some).

So, at the end of the day, it's all up to what you want and what you are comfortable with. IMHO, there's no hard and fast rule to this, no right and no wrong.

Yupz, just my $0.02 worth...

CSI_fan, what you said is reasonable. but then all of us wan a happy marriage. so we tend to listen & live with no regrets. if something bad happen and we did not do certain thing or we did something we should not do, we sure will be wondering if that is the cause of it & feel lousy & bad after that....

I wore my veil twice. Once for my wedding in the UK and another two months later for the thanksgiving mass in S'pore. And now more than seven months later ........ I'm still happily married.

Like all things in life, it is unrealistic to expect marriage to be smooth sailing all the way. Its the faith that you put in God that helps you to overcome all obstacles. If something happens, they usually happen for a reason and only God knows that reason, and all that He asks of us is that we put our trust in him becasue He knows best. It is not a result of whether you followed a superstition or not.

If I had to follow every tradition in the book for my wedding, I think my hair would have turned totally grey!

Like Mrs N, I married an ang moh, and it was the matter of getting a compromise. My husband's tradition was that he would not see me in my dress until I arrived (separately) at church, which meant that I had to forego my tradition of having him do all those forfeits before fetching me to church.

I did my tea ceremony at the hotel, and he had to learn to address all my elderly relatives by their titles.

I wore my veil once, at my wedding in Singapore, simply because that was the one that counted. For the overseas celebration, we walked down the aisle together, as we already were married, and I didn't wear the veil then.

I think traditions are nice to hold on to, and by all means hold on to the ones which are most important and meaningful. I'm not sure if they make or break relationships though
For any good relationship, there also needs to be a lot of hard work put in from both parties.

hi diamond,

i had also replied your email on the suggestion that he dun even have to pick u up from home. that means no gate crashing and no lifting of veil. just meet him in church and he will get to see you only when you walk down the aisle.. lovely and romantic... think this is the best compromise based on your current sticky situation i guess
all the best.. dun fret.... u have more stuff to do...

hi mrs n,

haha. i wore it twice too.. same, 6 mths and still happily married! hee... guess there are some superstitious beliefs in life and its really subjective...

morning gals,

hi diamond, yap, totally understand what you mean. well...for me, "if something bad happen and we did not do certain thing or we did something we should not do" (hmmm, who's to determine what should or should not be done?), I know I definitely won't be wondering if that was the cause of it.
Coz if I'm comfortable with what I have chosen now, nothing in future should ever make me regret my choice now. So, I think it's impt to do it the way you feel comfortable with.
So if that's not comfortable for you, then you gotta find another alternative that would give you peace of mind (and have best of both lah...hehs)....

Agree wholeheartedly with Mrs N, that God wants us to put our trust in him becasue He knows best.

Also agree with tootsieroll that traditions are nice to hold on to...esp meaningful ones.

Let me just share what I have planned for myself. I know my mum likes to follow what other pple say (and yet on the other hand, she keeps saying things like "must pray. God will take care of everything, blah blah blah"...like so contradictory). So if there's no gatecrashing bit, the "san gu liu po" will talk. I don't mind the gatecrashing bit, coz I think it adds to the fun. But yet at the same time, the folks will also "yak" if I were to put on my veil for church again (hello? Who's the one getting married manz?). So, to ensure peace around me, I will be wearing my kua when he comes to pick me up (now, those san gu liu pohs can't say I'm not following tradition here...muahahaha. Red somemore! Just no veil, coz I can't stand the red veil bit...it's a bit too much for me). Then when they all leave to prepare for mass,, I'll change into my WG and put on my veil for mass. I think that's the best I can do to "give" everybody what they would be satisfied with. At least there will be peace and quiet...

Now I only have the "going back to bride's parent's home" (the 3rd day thingy) to contend with...still thinking about that...coz there's not much time and I think it's a bit tiring...

Hi everyone, thanks for all the advice. i hv to wear my WG and the groom has to pick me up in the morning. i know my parents will insist that. also, i am a non-catholic & i came from a non-catholic family. thus, i also do not like the idea of meeting in church.

similarly, i also believe that on the AD, we should go back to our matrimonial room after he picks me.

yes, i agree
there is a lot of hard work & sacrifices to get happiness... so since the day we plan to get married, i start to feel that my life is happier & i only hv to care abt MY views when i am single....

maybe, i am not ready for marriage still?
sigh.....

Hi all catholic brides....

I'll be holding my wedding next year at St Mary of the Angels...and now sourcing for caterer...shortlisted Purple Sage, anyone has comments & feedback? Contacted Rasal, but no sales staff get back to me...so disappointed.

wow.. so early look for caterer... i hv not done anything other than booking the church & canteen. mine AD is in Dec 06. Honestly, do we need to do so early when we are not even sure on matters like:
- songs & hyms
- actual no of guests
- sharing of church deco, etc

Hi Mrs N,

Thanks for sharing =) I'll not wanna be the G.O.L.F (girl of little faith)

Hi tootsieroll,
That's a very good tip indeed!coz my gown is pretty big at the bottom and got a rather long train ... =p

Hi minssy,
Thanks for the great reminder, coz that incident of not wearing the veil down happend to my galfren, while she was walking down the aisle, and we've to stop her half way to wear it down for her hehe... it was quite a booboo, but recalling it back can be quite funny. Sometimes bloopers do happen, but just laugh it off and move on =)

hi diamond,

me kiasu so....like to plan early and dun need to stress up nearer to the event.

btw which church r u using? cos the church i am using will provide deco for me so i dun need to worry. except for the mass booklet which i'll do it probably nearer to the event.

hi lovebug,

hahhah. it happened to me too!!! my PG was the one who noticed and got my jie mei to veil for me while we were sitting down.w ahahhahhahahahahahha!

anna, am using church of st francis xavier. well, the church does not have its own florist. just a lady who is a volunteer who helps out in floral arrangement

she is the florist. but a volunteer for the church loh. i dunno, i find it kind of early still leh.. coz if can share the deco with other couples who are getting married that day, that wld be good

Hi Lovebug, you're welcomed.
Talking about wedding bloopers, you reminded me of something funny. I must have lost quite a lot of weight before the wedding because the top part of my dress was kind of loose and the straps of my dress kept falling off. Good thing I had a coat and a very sharp bridesmaid, otherwise ....
. Oh, also make sure your husband doesn't stand on your skirt!

Hey Tootsieroll, we didn't even strictly follow the 'dress' tradition. My hubby saw the material and the dress pattern by default because it was posted to his house. He also saw the veil while I was sewing it in his house.

Diamond, keep the traditions that mean the most to you. By all means let your fiance pick you up from home especially if it will make you and your parents happy. Whether he meets you in church after that or whether you go down the aisle together with him or with your father; have your veil up or down, it doesn't really matter. Just follow your heart on this, as the most important bit of the catholic wedding service, is when you both make your vows and are pronounced husband and wife, not so much how or whom you go down the aisle with.

It is nice to hold on to traditions but it is also impossible to please everybody (as I've and many others have learnt). And when all is said and done, it is after all your day, so whatever you choose or choose not to follow, let it be a true reflection of who or what you are, remember as a couple you are both unique and special.
Good luck, I'm sure everything will work out in the end. They usually do.

Mrs N.. thanks. i like the part where u said "most important bit of the catholic wedding service, is when you both make your vows and are pronounced husband and wife, not so much how or whom you go down the aisle with"

yes, u are very right. that is the purpose of the wedding service. i am a non-catholic & the church service is for my FH's sake. FYI, i do not even attend church wedding all these while. i will just skip it and attend the banquet at night.. simple reason = i do not understand & cannot "feel" for it

hi Tootsieroll, Me was converted and baptised in St Anne's. FH grew up in OL and his family are catholics and most of his family members (Catholic Clan) hee... attend OL so it makes more sense to hold it there. It's impt that most know the priest and the parishioners to make the sacrament a warm and meaningful one. Sad that some pple choose the church that looks the best on pics. Though for me it is a plus point that OL has a nice interior. :p

Mrs N, what you said is really nice...
You always have inspiring things to say...

Diamond, yap, just go with your heart...The fact that you are open to the church service is already very wonderful of you...The church service means something to your FH and his family.

Btw, have you attended MPC or EE? It's a must to attend before getting married in church...so, from there, you would also get to understand a bit more about the church.

CSI Fan, oh ya, attended EE last wkend. it was a enriching & nice wkend. never a time was i presured or intimated to convert. i was never even ask why i am not converting! father ambrose is so open & flexible... am really impressed

Jacquise,
I agree totally about choosing a parish you or your FH hubby can relate to. OL is my home parish, and part of my husband's tradition was that the couple marries in the girl's parish, so that was more special for me, as deep down I think I would have liked to have been able to marry back 'home', especially as probably the rest of my life will be spent overseas now that we have a newborn son. Welcome to the Catholic family
When did you convert, and was there any particular reason why? It's always nice to hear people's conversion stories

Diamond,
We attended EE last year, held by Fr Alex. I also found it very enriching, although when I had persistent diarrhoea over the weekend and asked to leave early, was urged not to. I can see why they tried to persuade me to stay though. Out of all the couples in our session, I think only my husband and another couple were both catholic. The rest were inter-faith couples, and I'm glad there wasn't any pressure to convert (otherwise I think it would be a disaster!), and as much as Catholics are asked to evangelise, forced conversion is probably one of the worst things someone can do
If over time you develop an interest in the Faith, there are many places you can look to for information (family, friends, church, literature).

Mrs N,
My husband was unbelievable when it came to not seeing my dress. He would literally shriek and run away or cover his ears and eyes and sing loudly whenever I talked on the phone about the dress, or brought the dress anywhere near him. Although I understood where he was coming from, to me it was more superstitious than anything. Then again, I suppose I have my own 'superstitions' on other things
The look on his face when he saw me for the first time in church wearing the dress was priceless though, and will remain in my memory forever

haiz...another question.

for catholic brides....do we meet our husband at the church itself or he still come over to my house to pick me up?

Hi Anna

Whether your meet your hubby at church or he comes to your house to pick you up, really depends on what you want. There's really no hard and fast rules. Do what you are comfortable with and what you know will make you happy. That's the most important thing.

Heya all,
Need some advice on invitation cards. Not to sure whether to print separate invitation cards for the wedding mass in the morning and one invitation card for the wedding banquet in the evening.They are both held on the same day.Is it okay to put the two events in the cards? I am just afraid it will make RSVP more complicated. Please advise - I am lost.... Thanks.

Hi bliz,
I think it is perfectly fine. save $$ too...hehs. The thing here is, whether the group you are inviting for church is the group you're inviting to dinner as well. For my case, not all the dinner group are the churchie types. So I guess when they RSVP, you can always double check if they going for both or not...

Anna Zhang,
MPC is Marriage Preparation Course. It is held over 6 (or 7) Sundays where you will be with other couples and 1 'model' married couple whom will 'prepare' you for marriage life. EE is Engagement Encounter. EE is held over 1 weekend (staying overnight) where you will also be guided/prepare for marriage life. You can attend either one.

My husband met me in church because it's my family's tradition for the groom to meet the bride in church. It was the case for my aunties, uncles and also my own parents so I just follow. So it would depend on yourself which you prefer.

hi anna,

MPC will cover more stuff.. EE is like a 'crash course' but will of cos cover the same topics.. guess it really depends on the schedule of you and your FH, as well as how much u wanna learn and share...

hi bliz,

invitation cards largely depends on the crowd that you are inviting. if its the same, of cos you print only 1 set of cards. U will have to get the RSVP for both since its 2 different functions....

Bliz,
I had two wedding celebrations. Both had church and hotel reception. I printed everything on one invitation card, but with different RSVP contacts. To save on costs, one card should suffice, and roughly you will know who will come for one or both events when you confirm with them

Hi Mrs N...

Thanks. Will tok to my parents (as they r not catholic) & seek their advise.

Personally i prefer to see my FH at church...more meaningful. hee hee

Hi aspiration & missy,

spoken to my FH...he ask me to decide. mayb going for the EE cos is faster....btw where is the EE held?

Hi minssy,

Oh...than very near my house. At St Anne church??? Need to bring anything???

Sorrie to bother u ah...when do we need to present the certificate to father? My FH & I will be having n interview wf Father next week

hi anna,

its not in st anne's. its ME house... details of what to bring will be sent to you nearer to date, after you applied. basically its your own clothes and toiletries stuff for that 2N stay.

so you gonna have the interview next week? which cert are you referring to? the baptism cert? if its the EE cert, then just tell the priest that you have not attended EE yet. But usually the pre nuptial interview is done nearer to wedding and not so early one leh....

minssy, is it during that time, that u get the priest soleminisation registration number? need that for e-filing at rom's website 2 months before the AD right? What other information of the priest is needed?

hi everyone...

Have been busy at work, no time to login

Diamond,
We went to the same EE but I dont know which one is you.
My FH & I also enjoyed the EE very much.

I've also not decided whether I want to meet my FH in the church directly or do the normal fetching of the bride etc.
For those of you who went to church directly, where did you do the tea ceremony? In the church hall?

hi diamond,

yah during pre nup, there will be a form that he will fill in and pass back to you, which u need to pass to ROM to certify that you are doing your solemnisation outside rom premises. that will contain his details. you only need the priest's NAME & his REG number when u apply online. anyway, the priest name will be in the ROM list of certified list of solemnisers (if he is certified of cos :p)

cookie bunny, i plan to meet FH in church directly. his house is v v near to the church. can walk there somemore. may or may not have tea for his side. if has, can do at church. by my side, will do it at my place

Hi Missy,

Yah...father say to meet him next week for an interview. Duno wat is it??? Kaisu leh.

Oh the cert i m referring is the MPE o EE cert?

Oh btw me getting marry at St Mary of the Angels...

minssy, but the priest may call us for interview very late right? can register online 2 mths before the AD.. at that time, may not have even called us for interview

if so, how am i going to do online rom registration? i will not have his license no then also wat