Catholic Brides

hi moarie!

How's ur preps? Getting excited? It's abt 2 mths more right?

Oh, we've "choped" Paul for AD PG, but haven't had the time to meet up with him after our 1st meeting. heehee...

btw...er, shdn't it be "1 STONE kill 2 BIRDS"? heeheehahahaha...

Hey gals, could somebody be so kind as to put down what's your schedule / intended schedule like for the day? I'm still thinking out mine, and would like to have some reference...

I know some of you gals have posted it before, but...I tried scrolling through to take a look, and my eyes went blur liao. hehs...
Thanks, thanks!!

Hi Cookiebunny & ann_marisa,

I was also told by the florist that I can only choose the color, but not the type of flowers. I'll leave it to the florist to do up the flowers, am pretty assured and pleased with her weekly flora arrangements for the main church.

Quote from ann_marisa:
Since I'll have no idea how it'll turn out. Think i'll take the min and make my own pew decorations. Just so it'll look more like a wedding.

ditto, I'll be doing the same too =)

Cookiebunny and ann_marisa, when is your wedding?

Hi Lovebug,

So everything smooth sailing? Good for you, your wedding coming soon, right?
My wedding is in late Dec, so will not meet up with Mrs Tan till Nov, but most probably will go with pink as well....I love pink!

I'm kind of slacking in my wedding prep now..but most of the things already settled. Next week going to design my WG *so excited*

Btw, lovebug & ann_marisa will you have lunch or tea after the mass/service? Which caterer are you using? At first, I was thinking of using Purple Sage(heard their food not bad) then found out their names not in CTK's caterer list...argh...so many restrictions.

Just to share with everyone... I'm preparing my Mass booklet at the moment. And when I read the vows carefully, I find the words so touching. Even when I was writing the Prayers of the Faithful, it hit me that on the wedding day, the whole congregation of family and friends would be gathered together and praying for us, and I felt really touched. I hope I don't cry too much during our wedding Mass.

There's a useful white booklet called "Celebrating our Love, Liturgical resources for preparing and celebrating marriage. It should be available at your church bookshop for $3. I found in useful in explaining the Mass and choosing the texts for the readings. Helps me better appreciate normal Sunday Mass too.

Hi roses, not to worry. If tears do come, it'll be happy tears. There is one thing both my husband & I regret not doing before our wedding was going for confession. We meant to ask Fr at the rehersal but it slip our mind.
I guess we were lucky to have 2 chances, at our wedding blessing in S'pore, we made sure we went the day before.

For those making their own booklets, thought I'd share with you this website which I used when I was doing mine. Its got some clipart appropriate for catholic weddings.

http://www.twoheartsdesign.com/clipart.html

Hi Cookiebunny,

Yeah I'm getting more and more excited as the date are drawing nearer each day! about 2mths+ towards my big day hehe..

Am glad that everything is smooth sailing, and I'm only left with printing the wedding mass booklets, sending out the invitation cards, arranging the banquet seating arrangements and some other nitty gritty stuff.

I've to really thank my bunch of good frens, whom I can really count on them for the church wedding, which left me very at ease, hehe =) From the choir, to the church deco, and the reception, it's all well taken care of.

I won't be having the luncheon buffet at the church function hall, we'll all adjourned to the club for the wedding lunch instead.

Anyway, I've heard good comments of Purple Sage. My other frens who had their wedding at CTK before, used Select Catering, food not bad also. Got quite a good variety to choose from.

Hey dearie, I can fully understand what you meant by "slacking in the wedding prep" hehee.. I had the same feeling few months back too hheheh... you know what, it's a good thing to feel slack now, so that you can have a clearer mind of how and what else you need to do, instead of getting all flusterred up at the eleventh hour. hehe... =) Anyway, enjoy the process and have fun! =)

Hi Annelise,

thanks for the info, too bad no ben and jerry's near my office

Lovebug,
Great everything goes smoothly...I cant imagine when my time comes...seating arrangement will be a nightmare esp since I dont know most of the guests
haizz
So now I'm enjoying my 'free' time hehehe

Btw, are you using the church choir? Which one?

Yup, I know what you mean, great help means a lot to us, really lighten our load...my bridesmaids are helping me with the church booklet etc and my mum is going to help me with the church pew decorations

Anyone has contact for good seamstress? Looking for one to do evening gowns for Mum and MIL.

Hi Cookiebunny,
I'm not using the church choir, we'll be having our frens to sing for us instead =)

If you're considering the church choir, I suggest to hire the Christus Dominus Choir, they sing for the 9.30am mass. You can take a listen to their angelic voice during the mass. =)

Hope that helps =)

If we invite the priest for the dinner, will they usually go? I plan to let them sit VIP table with my FH's parents. He knows the family very well.

hi jacquise,

may or maynot. subjective. do invite the priest earlier and express how impt & meaningful for him to attend

Hi Jacquise

It would probably depend on whether they have any prior engagements. No harm in inviting the priest. Whether he comes or not, that's up to him to decide.

Minssy
i understand that you have your mass booklets printed at isuccess. How much did they charge you for one booklet? Wondering......

hi aiko,

i cant recall offhand but mine is 70 copies, 10 pages (4 pages on 1 A4 paper, design fee, conversion fee, and all in all its only $1.50 or less than that... ultra cheap for the quality..

thanks minssy for responding to me so soon. Who did you contact for the printing?

What about the rest of you gals, where did you go for the printing of your mass booklets? I have thought of DIY, but I believe I may not have the time as the AD approaches.

hi aiko,

can look for eunice.. she was the one that rushed out my booklets in just a few days
. i dun suggest you diy cos nearing to wedding, there will be alot alot of nittys for you to handle..

Hi aiko,
at first I thought of DIY. Then I got lazy...I mean, I'm already DIY-ing my ring pillow lorh...

So, the plan for now, is to use the LCD TV screens in church (i.e. no booklets). But see how, may end up going to Minssy's recommendation.

CSI, just being kpo here... I didn't want to use the LCD TV screens cos I notice at Mass, people have to look left and right toward the screens to read, and hence can't focus on what's happening at the alter. Personally, I don't like that. Still prefer to have something in hand to read from.

hi csi fan,

yah remember to print at least 5 copies for the priest and helpers and also yourself should you use the screen yah...

hi roses,
hmm...yah, that's true. I'm usually at the back of the church...hehs
...so I dun have the problem of turning head too much to the left / right to read. hahaha...I just look straight and I got a few other TV screens to read from. heehee...that's why it never occurred to me.

but at wedding, think at most only fill up the first half (which is...2 screens on each side at most?). hmmm...that's a good point. Shd reconsider the TV screen bit.

Personally, I like the booklets (as a momento), but FH is all about cutting cost (and I keep asking him, "how much can you save by not having the booklets?")...

Thanks minssy for the reminder. hehs...oh, thanks for your email too!

hi csi fan,

hahahh. welcome.... anyway, sometimes i dun get it. say your hubby insist in saving some $$ for the booklets. BUT he must get someone trustworthy to operate the system, u must make sure your powerpoint works, the person is familar with the sequence, cant jump the slides too fast or too slow, and not forgetting you gotta spend alot alot of time in the PPT slides.. of cos its similar to spending time to do the booklets but at least booklets can keep.. keke...

Minssy,...
yah lorh. but well, the system will be operated by the church choir (they operate it every sun, so that shdn't be a prob
), but like you said lorh...keep the slides vs being able to keep the booklets...hehehehs....

The good thing abt the TV is that guests can observe what's going on at the altar from the screen too (got camera for that too), instead of straining their necks...

Aiyah, maybe just do both lah! (*faintz*) hahaha.
But good thing FH's cousin's wedding is at same parish in 2 weeks' time, so we can see what he does first. heeehee...

hi csifan,

do both very very siong one

u gotta take care of all the printing alignment for the booklet as well as the slides? double headache
not recommended actually.

how big is your crowd gonna be? if its gonna be a lot then maybe the tv is useful..

yah go observe! thats what we did too.. we gate crash a wedding 1 week before ours and its really nice of the couple to allow us to do that

CSI fan, which time choir are you hiring? Do you know how many choir members will turn up to sing in the choir? Is your FH's cousin wedding on 12th May? I'm know there's one then, so was going to go and check the decor out

hi roses,
I think we'll prob hire the 10am mass choir. Haven't decided yet...coz we haven't heard the rest! hahaha....

I think the wedding is on 13 May. Can't really remember...must ask. heehee.
I think the decor shd be nice...It's from the church's florist (Wendy). Wendy's charges are a bit high, IMO (abt $700 leh...). But if her decor is much nicer than outside florists, why not lah. Outside florists may give much less flowers, and hence cheaper price, kinda thing...So, see how lah.

CSI, actually, Wendi's charges are very reasonable for the amount of things she's including in the package. And she's also familiar with the church and setting up. I'm considering her. But I think skill-wise, some outside florists are more artistic. See how lah

hi all catholic brides,

how's things with everyone? this thread seems pretty quiet.. keke....

guess the coming up brides will be emma21 & mountain9

Hi Minssy,

Yes, it has been very quiet in this thread lately.

I guess everyone is busy with their wedding prep.
I just went to my bridal to design my gowns last week hehehe *so excited*

Now have to lose some weight before the 1st measurement

Btw, anybody knows good seamstress? Need recommendation for my mum's clothes.

hi cookie bunny,

i see
dun have to purposely loose weight... you can even make the gown smaller at your last fitting before your wedding if you are going smaller

seamstress? there is 1 at siglap centre... but dunnoe if you stay too far to go there..

ehm Siglap...I think should be ok if she's good. hehehehe will ask SO to drive us there

Do you roughly know how much she is charging?
Did your mum make her evening gown or buy OTR?

Hi Cookie Bunny,

Hehe.. it's nice to know a fellow Catholic's sharing the same wedding month & dinner venue too
!
I'll be married this Dec 2nd in Blessed Sacrament with Fr Anthony Hutjus as our celebrant.
Just attended our 1st MPC session on Sun, it was good.

Hi Minssy,
would you mind sharing the name of the shop with me too? My mum's been asking for recommendations but I'm unfamiliar with good seamstresses.I've asked her to try D. Yam or A. Yen.

Cookie,
is your mum looking for a particular style? Mine has a sarong kebaya for mass & want's a gown for dinner. I'm thinking of wearing a kebaya for tea ceremony so starting my hunt for one soon!

hi cookie bunny,

MIL made it from her usual seamstress.. red red nice nice and yet elegant, in my opionion lah. hahaah. i go get the contact and let you know later

Hi Vanessa,

Nice to see you here, we can do our wedding prep together

Are you peranakan? My mum is not looking into any particular style but will likely wear evening gown for dinner.
For the church, she has managed to get something OTR(2 pieces) but for evening gown, it's kind of hard to get OTR which can fit her nicely.

Minssy,
Thanks, please help to ask the contact and roughly the charges.

Oh ya, we are going for our EE this coming Vesak Day weekend *so excited*

Hey Cookie Bunny,
Yup, I'm half peranakan hence the kebaya. Popped into D Yam's at suntec earlier & found some really lovely gowns. Will try asking mum to take a look. Maybe your's will find something suitable too.

Hi Minssy,
thanks for the help

my wedding is on a weekday and the church secretariat said that the usual church volunteers would not be able to help out, so we need to have our own helpers.

I'm not very familiar with what's required, ours is only a wedding service. Can anyone advise me on who i need to "mobilise" and the duties involved? Or is there a web resource i can refer to?

thanks much!

Hi turtle,

the church volunteers may not be able to be present on the AD but I'm sure your parish can asign someone who can guide/advise you during this preparatory period. Is your celebrant from the parish? He could advise you appropriately.

You'd need a copy of the 'marriage rites' booklet or an approved sample copy of a wedding service booklet, which you can follow/use when doing up your own booklet. You'll then need to get your booklet proof read by Fr.

For the sequence, march-in, exchange of vows etc, Fr will have a rehersal approx 1 mth - 2 weeks prior to your AD.
Remember to select your 2 witnesses as well.

As for decor, you can consider using your church's florist if you don't already have one in mind.
How about using the church's choir too? Or if you,ve got friends who can form a simple choir & an organist/pianist, that'll be lovely too. You can decide on your own hymns or have them suggest some
Mine's a one-man choir! Philip Lye sings & plays the organ beautifully!

It may be helpful to have 2-3 friends who can hand out booklets & usher guests to their seats before the service.

Do ask your church secretariat for the relevant contact nos. I'm sure they'll be happy to help.
Least of all, don't fret coz it's all in God's good hands
!

thanks very much vanessa! very reassuring...

ya, my celebrant would be from the parish. For the choir and ushers, I have friends who would be able to assist. However if its about helping with the altar arrangements or assisting Fr (i'm not even very sure what's involved) then i'm more concerned as most of them are non-catholics and quite clueless abt these things.

but you're right, it's in God's good hands. I suspect i would have to remind myself a lot more often as the day draws closer! :P

Hi Vanessa,

Ic, Kebaya will look very unique...

I heard a lot of good comments on Phillip Lye, where did you hear him sing? I havent decided on the choir for my wedding.

Hi turtle,

Don't mention it. It's stuff I'm learning along the way too! Actually, I've got the jitters as well & at times really blur!
Fr just reminded us to get a copy of our baptismal cert (from church secretariat) ready for him.
We've gotta go down to ROM (have to bring birthcerts/ic) approx 3mths prior to our AD to obtain some documents for Fr to fill in as well.
It's good/convenient for us Catholics coz we don't need solemnizing at ROM, all done in church

The altar's set-up will be done by the church. You can ask for specific altar boys if you know of any, otherwise they'll arrange for 1-2 for you.
It's optional if you wanna get a 'unity candle' for lighting nearing the end of the service.

Btw turtle, is your AD fast approaching?

Hi Cookie B,

Philip has sung & played at many of our parishioners' weddings for several years. My cousin recently had him for his wedding too & it was lovely. If you're ok with an organist cum soloist then he'll be a good option. You can have some friends to sit around him to form an impromptu choir.
He's visually impaired (reminds me of Stevie Wonder) which makes it truly amazing coz he plays with his heart- a real God given talent! Philip's wife accompanies him throughout the mass & acts as his eyes, prompting him
I think in recent years he's gotten lots more requests to play at various church weddings coz he's often booked for the weekends.

hahaha no my AD is not fast approaching, it 28 Dec actually. Maybe that's why Fr is taking the "i will call you later" mode. the only problem with that is, i thought he meant monday or tues after we met him (sun), but i guess not! haha :D

Turtle,

I too met with Fr once (that was when we approached him with our intent to marry).
He'll only see us again in July.
He said, "Aww.. no worries, long way ahead, we'll discuss futher, 6 mths before your wedding, eh?"
So with that I guess it's a standard practice with most parishes/priests

I was wondering if anyone had any advice to share on the "programme" for the wedding day. In particular, do most brides meet their husbands at church? Or do they still adhere to the chinese custom of the groom going to "fetch" the bride? Also, what about the tea ceremony? If my church ceremony is at 10am in the morning, it would probably make more sense to have the tea ceremony after church? Thanks everyone..would appreciate at advice you might have

I m tinking of doin a lunch banq instead of dnr for my wedding...but my husb to be is not open 2 the idea...due to the timing as he tink is very rush and we don't have time for tea cermony.

Anyone of u out there has done a lunch banq...would like to share the timing wf me??? Need to sell the proposal to him and both parents...ha ha ha.

hi nerak,
your nick is cute...I happen to know someone with your nick as the email id...hehs. Not a friend, just someone (a customer) I got to know when I was doing bazzar sales at a country club in my final year at NUS (gotta earn a bit extra pocket $$ lah...hehs).

Hmm, I'm also still thinking of whether to meet FH in church or should we have the gatecrashing. On one hand, the gatecrashing is fun. Yet on the other hand, meeting at church is also pretty romantic...the 1st time he sets eyes on you would be when the church doors open....awwww....So I'm still undecided. hehs.

Tea ceremony, if no gatecrashing, we'll have his side at church and my side at my parent's home after lunch. Our mass is at 11am. If there's gatecrashing, my side first, then church, lunch and then his side at church. That's the plan for now...