Catholic Brides

hmmm, nicelip, erm, I attended a couple of weddings before mine. heehee...so I know the church has 2 types of covers for the chairs. So I specifically asked for the white ones.

hi Jmi, u see lorh, using the red one can save on chair deco...white one, a bit plain if no deco.

hi minssy,
erm, maybe ah pui meant that she dun mind just getting a simple ring can liao...but her FH wants something more elaborate? (hopefully that is it lah. hehs...)

Hey Nicelip, CSI Fan

Thanks. Actually I kinda like the red fabric.

hi Jmi,

the red goes quite well with the very white walls...a good contrast actually. Your wedding is in December right? Is it before or after Christmas? If before, the banners on the pillars at the altar may be purple...coz it's Advent...

hi minssy,
hehs...

well, I'm fine thank you...now not only have to get used to married life, but also getting ready for the addition to arrive.
We realise we have a lot of things to handle "suddenlY" at the same time. But we're trying to take it as it comes.
How are u?

Hi CSI Fan

Mine's before X'mas. 22 Dec to be exact

Hmmm...if it's purple, perhaps the white fabric covers may be better

<font color="119911">Can anyone help? I need invitation card wordings for my church wedding cards... am lost...</font>

hi bride,

my sample..

An answered prayer he is to me;
My greatest blessing she’ll always be.
And so this day we’ll pledge our love
in front of friends and God above.

Mr &amp; Mrs XXX and Mr &amp; Mrs XXX
joyously invite

to witness the holy matrimony of
XX and XX

Monday, 14th November 2005
11.00am
Church of The Holy Trinity
20 Tampines Street 11

Kindly be seated by 10.45am
Wedding Ceremony will commence at 11.00am sharp
Lunch will be served in the Church hall
followed by dinner at

Amara Singapore
Amara Grand Ballroom, Level 3
165 Tanjong Pagar Road
(next to Tanjong Pagar MRT)

Cocktail reception will commence at 7.00pm
Dinner will be served at 7.30pm
Your punctuality will be greatly appreciated

RSVP by 31 October 2005
groom's name at 9765 4321, bride's name at 9765 4321

<font color="119911">hi girls! Wow this thread has suddenly died down...
How are your preparations? I've gotten my florist and caterer already. Now waiting to meet the priest for the inquiry. Anyone knows what he will ask/say?</font>

Hi bride,

The inquiry is pretty basic stuff. The only thing that always crops up is the bringing up of the children in the catholic way, but I think you're already well-informed of that. Other than that, there's nothing else to worry about. Just remember to bring your certs and all.

Seems like all my threads have died down.. not just this one. Must be a busy time for all.

<font color="119911">hi bbp, thanks! Haha ya, mine too! When's your AD? Mine's 27 Oct. Hope my guests can make it cos it's a hot date. Haiz... have you printed your invitation cards?</font>

Hi bride,

My AD's 11th August. We're predicting people may go away for holidays cos of the "long" weekend. So far, there are already 2 casualities.

Invitation cards? Yup, printed and sent already.

Why is 27 Oct a hot date?

<font color="119911">hi bbp, oh ya hor, your AD falls on a long weekend. But only 2 casualties very good liao!
Dunno why leh... a lot of people getting married 27 Oct. One of my friends has 4 other friends / acquaintances getting married on that day! But luckily he wants to come for mine

hi bride,

haahh! maybe everyone is busy with their preps?

prenup ah? the priest will go thru some questions with you all as a couple and as individuals.. depending on priest, some take a while, others take as long as.. 20 - 30mins?

Hi Isabel,

The caterer is from Pines. It's more a high tea menu coz that time I didnt want a lunch. Let me know if you want the menu and contact.

Thanks nicelip. Pls do give me the details.

For those printing cards, I'm using T-dragon but I need another set for church invitees only. Wondering can I just buy a set of cards from any church's bookshop and do normal printing on them directly? The neigbhourhood catholic printer told us we need to get smooth paper as inserts.

Hey Nicelip, CSI Fan

Would you have any pix of how the floral decor was done at the signing table in St Teresa's?

<font color="119911">hi hi, to those who want to print their invitation cards, I have a recommendation. AcePro Creative Link. Look for veronica. She's a really nice lady and she actively helps to cut cost for the couple. They're located #02-24 at Hotel Windor. I will probably get them to do my hotel card, DIY church invitation card and church mass booklet.</font>

<font color="119911">depending on whether or not you want to put your picture on your cover... if no picture, everything in one colour, A4 fold into half type of booklet, it's ABOUT $2 per book I think. It's better if you call her and ask. Cos it all depends on your church invitation card design also, number of colours, how complicated the card is, type of paper you want etc...</font>

<font color="119911">erm, sorry I don't have their contact number now but Hotel Windsor is along Mac Pherson road</font>

Hi all catholics BTB,

I am Andrew from Segami Images, I am a catholics photographer and currently having a promotion to catholics only.

Please contact me at [email protected] for further information on my package.

Andrew

Ask u all har... what happens if ur da yi ma comes knocking nearing/on ur big day? Any preventive measures to take like some kind of pill or something? Thought i saw it in one of the threads but can't seem to find now.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, you can choose to delay or bring forward your period. You just need to see your GP or any doctor and explain to them that your wedding is when and you need to delay/bring forward your period can already. Think see them 2mths before can liao</font>

hi caffeinated,

the pills to delay your auntie to come is to be consumed at least 7 days before the date that auntie comes. normally they will give you say 10 days supply.. so u just eat every morning for that 10 mornings up to your wedding day lor. then your auntie will come about 2 days after you stopped the pills...

Hi jmi,

You mean the table for signing of the marriage certificate?

The table is very small, can't have any floral decor at all. My floral decor included a centre piece for the table but later had to shift to the reception table coz that signing table is really small, only big enough to put the certificate and nothing else.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, I've not eaten the pill before so I can't advise how much they are. Shouldn't be too expensive though... My friends who've taken the pills said one side effect COULD be that your next period (after you stop eating the pill) will be heavier.

BTW, to all who may or may not know Father Louis Fossion, he passed away on 26th Jul and today is his 70th year as a priest. Please keep him in your prayers. He was so important to me and though I know he's in a better place right now, I can't help crying everytime I think of him.</font>

hi caffeinated,

not that ex one.. only a few dollars for the whole dose.. no side effects too... just monitor when auntie will next come....

hi bride,

take care....

I am new to this thread... Hope to exchange information with all of you.

I have been looking out for wedding/ unity candles for church wedding. Some places that I've been are selling at rather costly prices (around $100). I only managed to find someone making these at Yahoo Singapore selling at reasonable price, yet elegant looking.

Anyone knows where to buy unity candles at reasonable prices?

In case you are interested in the source, type "Unity Candles" under Auction Search.

Thanks for sharing!

I wonder if you can share with me what is the sequence of your wedding if you are doing it over 2 days. Church on sat and dinner on sun. Im quite lost as to which will be the most cost efficient way but yet the smoothest flow. Here are some options and questions i have.

1) Pick bride from her house. Go to groom house, tea ceremony then church? After church back to groom house then bride's house for tea ceremony? Reception at groom and bride house, then there will be no reception at church? So all those friends and colleagues I invited have to go to my place? That would be a bit cramp i think.

2) Pick bride, go to groom house, then church, tea ceremony in church and recept in church. No reception at both our places. But that means EVERYONE has to go to church and sit through the entire mass then got makan. Not too ideal as I think I am the only catholic in my whole entire extended family and not all relatives would want to attend mass. Same for his side, they are christians, so prob not all would want to go also. But easier for catering.

3) Pick bride, go groom house, tea ceremony, recept, then back to bride house, tea ceremony, recept, then head to church, another recept. Not too ideal too as that means I have to cater 3 reception in all and when our family goes with me to church, recept at both sides got to end within short time coz nobody else will be around. Weird also right?

Anyone got any suggestions what is the best way to do it, can share with me?

Hi LovesTheSea, have you tried the bookshops at the churches? You can try the Life bookshop at Stamford House also.

Hi Fairbride, i'm having church and banquet on the same day but my sequence for church will be:
Pick bride - go to groom's house - tea ceremony at groom's - church - reception at church - go to bride's house - tea ceremony

Traditionally you only have tea ceremony after you are married, not before. So rightfully you should hold it after church but if you have a lot of relatives like us then maybe that's not a good option. Also have to consider logistics of bringing tea set, tea, etc, and whether the church has a room for you to hold it in.

Hi, am new to this Catholic Brides forum :-)

I'll be holding my AD after my baptisim next Good Friday. Currently, I'm attending RCIA. So hope that kind BTBs here will help enlighten me with a mass of nagging questions I have.

1)My church is going to undergo a major renovation and will take into 2009 which is way pass my AD. Is it possible to have my priest from my parish to hold the church wedding ceremony at my fiance's parish? What is the procedures like?

2) I've already done research on Catholic Church wedding however, I'm still very lost. I know that I have to get a wedding mass booklet done but I've yet to attend any Catholic wedding thus what exactly is a wedding mass booklet and how should I start doing it?

3) Must my AD WG be white/ pure white? No champagne colored allowed?

4) What are the procedures of a typical Catholic church wedding on the overall??

*Gum xia* in advance.

hi Fairybride,

I had my AD over 2 days (Sat and Sun) too.

I think it largely depends on your family and ILs too. For my case, both sides dun really mind who has tea ceremony first and where. Partly coz, the number of relatives is just waaaayyy too large (and both sides Grandmas are quite old, so we didn't want them to travel here and there etc...just stick to once or 2 places for them, easier lah.). Good logistics planning had to come in.

So, when hubby came to pick me up in the AM, we had the usual gate crashing fun. Then it was tea ceremony at my parent's place (I wore my kua). Then it was church. Hubby, bestmen and helpers went to church first whilst I got ready to go to church. Then it was mass. After mass, it was lunch reception at church, followed by tea ceremony for hubby's side. The end. We went out, took more pics, checked into hotel to rest....and prepared for the dinner the next day.

Oh, not all my extended family are Catholics (majority are, but there's also Christians and Buddhists...but they all happily and willingly sat through mass).

hey Blessings,
Congratulations on your upcoming baptism next year.

1) Yah, just ask ur parish priest if he's ok to celebrate ur mass at ur fiance's parish. AND check with the parish priest there if he's ok having another priest celebrate ur mass at his parish. No hard and fast rule as to whose parish it has to be held at. Mine was held at my hubby's parish, celebrated by the parish priest there and another priest from another parish.

2) erm, think if you scroll through the archives, you might find a link on how and where to start a mass booklet. You can start by selecting your readings (your priest would help you on this - ours did. Passed us a whole booklet to search through).

3) Not too sure. I think off white and pure white. No champagne coloured. But best to check with the priest.

4) Procedures? you having a mass or a service? They both differ. Again, hehs...if you scroll through the archives (2006 maybe?) you would be able to find an excel file that lists down the procedures. Sorry ah, would like to post it up here...but kinda busy and off-hand I can't remember where I saved that excel file...it was posted by another bride in here...heehee...

CSI - thanks!!! Hmmm....so I gotta ask both parish priests. Thought it is a must to hold it at the bride's parish though.

Hmm....I'll check it up in the archives. Many thanks carebear :-)

Hmmm....not being able to find the excel files on mass booklet and procedures only a file on church what to do list :-(

Since my AD will be after my baptism, will be having a mass. Saw in some threads that one will require to book at least 6 months before AD. And need certicates of not more than 6 months proving baptism of the party not belonging to the parish. Which means if I go to my fiance's parish, its me who need to produce the cert?

Just one quick question hor; am I allow to book the church and priest now even I am not baptise??

hi blessings,

1) yes. so long as 1 partner is a catholic, u can get married in a catholic church. call the church and book the date, time and priest. if you have a specific priest in mind, book him. whether the priest can go over to your parish church is dependent on the priest. u gotta check with him directly. there is no fixed answer.

2) get samples from various pple. its all standard.. just a difference in terms of readings and songs. u may get a sample from the priest for reference. else, PM me and i can send u a couple.

3) why champagne? typically its white and off white mah

4) procedures is a big general question. u may use my attachments as a guide.

i) Difference between mass &amp; service
- do note that u can have communion even if you chose a wedding service
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Difference between wedding mass &amp; service.xls (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

ii) Checklist
- will give you a guide of the stuff to do...
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Checklist - Church.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi fairy bride,

consider the logistics as priority but given your 2 days wedding, you will not face what other brides face - 'rush'. but since yours is over 2 days, u cant save cost cos everything will have extra charges: PG, VG, make up etc etc..

i suggest:
day 1:
1) gatecrashing (pick up bride)
2) church ceremony
3) tea ceremony

or you can have (1), (3), (2)

then day 2:
1) dinner

whether u gotta cater for reception or prepare simple food depends on the number of pple that u will have at the respective houses.. if its already lunch time and there like 30 pax, it makes sense to cater.. after, what is $300 compared to overall wedding costs? if there aint alot of pple, normally pple will prepare simple food stuff....

normally reception is prepared at church... no friends will go to your house.. weird.

Minssy - wow. Thanks for your checklists :-D Didn't know I can have communion even for a service cos my other sponsor for my RCIA says its better to have a mass so I can have communion and she's in charge of the wedding coordination for my parish *even blur* now.

1) Yap. My fiance is a cradle catholic. But then, how should I start off to ask. My parish priest whom I have to invite to other parish to hold my wedding? Or the priest which I intend to hold my wedding at?

2) Kudo :-) Can u send a few samples of a wedding booklet to [email protected] Many thanks!!!

3) Cos I saw a champagne colored designer gown ma..LOL...guess I have to ask the designer if he can do it in offwhite.

Once again, thanks alot for the info :-)

hey Blessings,

yah...it was Minssy who posted those files in the archives back then (maciam so long liao. hahaha). heehee...

<font color="0000ff">Since my AD will be after my baptism, will be having a mass. Saw in some threads that one will require to book at least 6 months before AD. And need certicates of not more than 6 months proving baptism of the party not belonging to the parish. Which means if I go to my fiance's parish, its me who need to produce the cert?</font>
- Erm, you dun need your certs to book. I booked my church like...11 mths in advance. hahaha. KS mah. The certs are only needed when you do the Inquiry with the priest closer to your AD. So shd prepare the certs ard that time. Bearing in mind that the parish would take some time to prepare an extract of baptism, confirmation certs etc...

The idea of the certs is to also check the status of the Catholic person getting married. Coz one of the fields in the extract is "Date of Marriage". I guess that would sieve out those who are getting married in Church the 2nd time (eg. those widowed or something) and they forgot to highlight to the priest etc...

For my hubby, he had to get an extract of his cert, even though he was baptised, confirmed etc from that parish. So both of us had to obtain extracts. I would think that's being prudent also lah...coz nowadays, u may be baptised in Church A, but after that u moved to the other end of the island...then ur parish becomes Church B. Church B would not have your baptismal / confirmation records mah...hehs.

Erm, as to how to ask the priest...just ask lah. I would think it's only polite to ask the parish priest first (say, when u go and book the parish for the wedding) if it's ok for another priest to celebrate in his parish (it's like, someone asking you, can I hold my bday party at your house?...ask u first is more proper right?)
Once the parish priest OKs it, then u ask the other priest lorh.

Wow minssy...thanks again for the info. It's alot of homework :-)

CSI - Which means no matter whose church, its best to extract ba. Yah...I'll go ask my fiance's priest first. As long as the date for AD finalize, will book with the church. LOL...judging from it, I'll be booking my church a year in advance :-p