Catholic Brides

vvbbb

Minssy,

Thanks for the files.
I'm getting so stressed with renovation+wedding+work that I just quit my job today !! REally need to rest after this roller-coaster.

Did you actually do the booklet yourself? I have no clue abt catholic wedding but it looks more complicated than christian one... i'll just try my best lah. Still have 4 weeks to go, i think shd be enough time to make.

Thanks also for the 'sunshine' shop info.

Honestly, I'm so tired with this wedding+reno that I requested many times to my FH to cut down the process by skipping the banquet part. I personally think wedding is meant to be witnessed by God and family. Maybe i prefer small ceremony compared to a big party.

kitty_li

wah, this thread really moves manz...in 1 evening, so many posts liao!

hi Garcia, oh...ok, so not u guys. hahaha.

hiAmoeba, oh, cathecists ah...yah, we may have bumped into each other before! hahaha...Thanks for checking with your friend about the flowers.

hi maorie, no, have not met Paul yet...Only meeting him on 4 Mar. Coz i'm very tied up at work these days (this thread is my source of "kit kat break").

hi dreamdoll, nah, I haven't found my BS yet. But I got my shoes already. hahaha. so funny...

It's really nice to read through this thread. All the sharings are very encouraging.

hi viv,

wah.. what a move!

i did myself in a way but cos of cos the soft copies helped in copying some of the readings.. but effort definitely need to be put in to type the songs, alignment, standardizing the font size and all...

dun procrastinate in doing the book unless you wanna use the exact copy as it is.. your fh is a catholic rite? get him involved then..

cookiebunny

Hi Moarie,

Not sure when he is leaving 'coz my wedding is end of this year so he might not leave so soon.

Hi dreamdoll,
Can you share your package for Amanda Lee, I'm interested to get my WG &EG from her after reading all the good reviews. Do you have any photos to share?

dreamdoll

hi cookiebunny,

my package with Amanda was quite personalised, because I wanted ala-carte for some stuffs...and was not including WG and some other things...Amanda is a very very nice person! Full of ideas, cheery, friendly and dresses well too!
Strongly recommend you make an appt to have a chat with her...

Haven't decided on designs...fittings should be around May period i think

No prob about sharing pics then! Haha, def have to lose wt first tho! ;p

cookiebunny

dreamdoll,
thanx for sharing, so you only do EG ?
Ya, definitely will make appt with her. Trying to settle my renovation first before sourcing for BS...haiz so much things to do

I guess almost all BTBs will try to lose wt before the big day. I'm trying very hard to go to the gym more often. Do you go to any gym?

amoeba8888

Petrina: My AD on 30 Sept. thanks for helping to update hor hehehe.

Viv.. that is indeed a big move! i'd love to do that. my FH is travelling so much, i am settling everything on my own! (Lucky girl dreamdoll!

Cookie bunny: you are not alone. i have not done selected a BS yet. we should go BS shopping together... and yes! exercise!!! jogging at east coast anyone?

amoeba8888

Petrina: My AD on 30 Sept. thanks for helping to update hor hehehe.

Viv.. that is indeed a big move! i'd love to do that. my FH is travelling so much, i am settling everything on my own! (Lucky girl dreamdoll!

Cookie bunny: you are not alone. i have not done selected a BS yet. we should go BS shopping together... and yes! exercise!!! jogging at east coast anyone?

dreamdoll

hi cookiebunny,

yep only doing EG for now...thinking i might sell all my gowns off after AD...will see how it goes
uh-huh, reno is another headache! - u got ur own place already?

i go to both cali and planet...u?
hmm or rather, used to go la ;p until my long work hours took over! but now must start again when things slow down!

amoeba, my bf's gona be posted overseas for work for quite a few months...so i'll pretty much be on my own by then too...haha, he's trying to make up for it now ;p (sorry dear!) but yep on a more serious note, i'm happy that he's helping more than he'd ever know!

does anyone stay in the north? ;p ooh BS shopping...count me in! it's fun and exciting!
and exercise too...

dreamdoll

CSI,

ooh shoes! where did you get yours? ;) i got so carried away, i bought 2 pairs! hahaha...but figured i can still use them after AD so...

garcia

Hi amoeba,

Thanks for your kind words
Actually I am also very lucky as well! My better half is so detailed and such a perfectionist! She leaves nothing to chance and often would remind me of the smaller details that I leave out. Guess generally men are 'bigger picture' pple! Actually preparing a wedding tog brings a couple closer as well, so should try to get ur FH involved, can help lessen the work load on you

I am being posted overseas (Bangkok) soon for work and will also be travelling quite a far bit, so trying to help babydoll as much as I can before I leave. Cant bear to leave her to do everything cos I love her to bits!

vvbbb

minssy, amoeba,

so happy now, serving my last month. my last day wld be 1week before my wedding, hopefully. Asking my boss to release me 3 days earlier.

Yep, last night i told my FH to do the booklet... his response 'i knew this is coming' hehehe... Otherwise, i'd resort to copying other pp's booklet.
I'm going to concentrate on my work instead coz i work quite late (til 8pm) and need to do reading now coz just got an interview appt on MOnday. Another stress!

Nevertheless, I'm thankful for everthing God has given. All goes well though short of time. I just can't wait to the day AFTER the wedding, where the 'real' marriage life begins hehehe...

dreamdoll, i stay in the north (YISHUN) and new flat'll be in Boon Tiong (same as urs?)

Cookiebunny, Amanda Lee is good, very nice pp there.

i put on weight in the last few weeks hehehe... i think resigned to being plump on that day lah, no energy to go exercise. Having YOng Tou Fu for lunch now hehehe....

cookiebunny

amoeba : i sometime bring my dog for a walk in east coast but dont really like jogging

dreamdoll: yup, got our own place now renovating...hopefully can finish most of the work next week *keep my fingers crossed*

I go to go!fitness, I prefer those aerobic classes, dont think I have enough self-motivation to do workout by myself.

dreamdoll

hi viv,

i stay in bishan and our new place is a short walk away
wow ur wedding's coming soon! ur reno's all done?

cookiebunny, aerobic classes can be quite good also i think!

hmm anyone got reno contacts to share too? how extensive work done and cost also...

cookiebunny

dreamdoll: i stay at bishan too!!! what a coincidence!!
I stay near Catholic High, my new place is there as well.
Your FH's place is near St Theresa, is it? Coz saw from the list that you are getting married there.

kitty_li

Hi dreamdoll, I got my shoes in HK when I was there for business trip. So you're only getting your EG from Amanda Lee...? What abt your WG?

dreamdoll

hey cookiebunny,

wow, what a coincidence really!!

i stay in those houses behind catholic high side...and our new place is opposite catholic high side! ;) which block is your new place at? done any renos yet?

hmm actually he stays ard the west side...but we just fell in love with the church! the architecture is just beautiful!
urself?

dreamdoll

CSI,

Was quite lucky to win a WG at one bridal show
so yep think i only need EG with Amanda for now! What about urself? U got ur WG and EG yet? Where from?

hi viv,

so u resign and is going for another interview? and the reason for leaving is that you are too stressed with work? thought you said you need a break? anyway....

anyway, there are bound to be stuff you & your fh can do together.. must have fun doing it so that it will be less stress

garcia

Wow! This thread is moving like crazy! 8-10 new posts in the last hour alone.

Don't you all work ?

Cookie, our new place is just opposite the PRIME supermarket area, the courtyard blk of flats there. It was the very first flat we saw when we started house-hunting and babydoll fell in love with it! But Bishan is a good and well-developed area, central, gd schools (I used to be frm Catholic High!), J8 nearby, Bishan Park (babydoll loves going for walks there), good resale value etc. And we qualify for the HDB grant as well, so its fallen into place really.

cookiebunny

hehehe, we're good at multitasking

dreamdoll/garcia, my new place is one of the pt blocks at the market there...my current house is near ur new place though *small world*

St Theresa allows non-parishioner to get married there? ehm maybe I'll consider if I cant book CTK

annelise

Gosh, all the talk about exercising is making me feel really guilty sitting here and munching on butter cookies!

Btw, do BS in S'pore have flower girl dresses for rent or do most people buy them from department stores? The ones I've seen so far at Isetan, Metro etc. are a bit too much with the beads and lace and ribbons! I saw a gorgeous Vera Wang flower girl dress on the Net though - anyone knows of a good seamstress?

kitty_li

wah, garcia, so now your wife's nick is "babydoll"? wahahahahaha.....sorry! couldn't help noticing...heehee...

Cookie, why dun you just give them a call to find out?
no harm...

garcia

Wow! Small world Cookie! We will be neighbours next time!

From what I know, Fr Arro did not ask if we were parishioners of St Teresa when we first enquire about using the church. After all, we are 'donating' to rent the church, so you should consider if like the 'look' of the church

I have some pictures of the inside of the church & alter, can send to you if you havent seen it before.

garcia

Yeah CSI! Its my own nick for her

You see, she is like a doll and she is my baby, so baby+doll = babydoll!

Hahahaha.... Ok, that was abit lame, coming from a guy:p (Sorry dear!)

dreamdoll

cookiebunny,

what renos are u getting done? can share how much you're paying for the renos?
we're trying to find a good contractor also...

annalise,

the vera wang flowergal dresses are soo lovely!!!
simple yet so sweet! hmm there are quite a few forummers offering their seamstress contacts...

CSI,

should go BS shopping - v fun!

kitty_li

dreamdoll, I haven't decided on whether to get from a BS or not. Coz I travel a bit to HK for work (though most of the time, it's on a last min notice), so initially I had thought of making / buying one from there. Then there's the "hassle" to consider...So, we're still deciding. hahaha.

dreamdoll

CSI,

my friend who got married in HK says there're so many beautiful gowns there! maybe you shld check it out there!
but sometimes i think the more i look, the more i get carried away! hahahahahah...

annelise

Hi dreamdoll

My friend from NTU used to help his dad run his reno firm. Most of our friends got him to do up our homes but he has since branched out to do his own business. Last I heard his sister was helping to run the biz.

If you're interested, I could check with him and get back to you on whether they're still in the reno biz. They are very nice people (staunch Catholics, might I add!)

dreamdoll

Cookiebunny,

Have replied...

annelise,

will u be engaging them for your reno too? dont mind sharing? we're on the lookout for quotes etc now

amoeba8888

Garcia - Eh!! i'm from your sister school!!

Annelise - i am also looking for flower girl and page boy stuff. was browsing the other thread and they mentioned OG at albert street, and tom and stefanie at west mall about $50. i know this person who sews wedding gowns for a particular (high profile) bridal salon, and she does bridesmaids gowns. i presume she can sew flower girls clothes if you want...

dreamdoll

amoeba,

how much does the seamstress charge for sewing bridesmaids gowns?
does she sew other things like sashes and ribbons too? can get her contact from u?

PM me...

amoeba8888

eh..dreamdoll, what is PM huh?

her dresses start from $120. i dunno if she sews sashes and ribbons though. i'll send you via email?

annelise

Hi dreamdoll

We didn't engage them cos' our place didn't need much reno. My sis got them to do her new flat in Punggol 3 years ago and it cost her about 20K.

Hi amoeba

Can you pm me the seamstress' contact, please? I dunno how to go to Albert Street - any MRT stations nearby? I'm terrible at taking buses and always get lost. Thanks!

kitty_li

wah amoeba, you have a lot of contacts leh...!
Florists and seamstress....heehee...
Can PM me the seamstress' contact also please? I'm also looking for one to do bridesmaid dresses / flower girl dresses.

amoeba8888

Dreamdoll: slowly but surely progressing lah.. going to book the AD PG tomorrow - by my lonesome self

so now, still sourcing for BS - still by my lonesome self

amoeba8888

BAHAHAHAH...why dun we all go to the tailor together - since we all making flower girls dresses....

I'm lonely... I'm Mr(s) lonely.. i have nobody.. to call my ooooownnnnnn...

CSI / Annelise / Dreamdoll: sent.

cookiebunny

amoeba, can you send me the contact for seamstress as well? [email protected] , thanks

Every church has its own florist to do the flower decoration(I think this what people refer to Church's own florist), some churches do not allow outside florist to do the flower deco for weddings in their church.

garcia

Amoeba - You are from St Nick's? OMG! This world is too small for comfort. Its kinda of scary. We might even know each other cos I do know some of the St Nicks girls then cos I was in SVDP as 1 of my ECAs and we always had gatherings with St Nick's SVDP.

Btw, where is your FH in all this preps? You cant be left to do everything rite?

amoeba8888

Garcia: yup!!! the world is small small.. i was not in SVDP but legion of mary. catholic high did not have legion i think - or maybe it was the english one. st nick's was with the chinese one

My FH is always travelling - whole of jan and feb. hopefully not march! also, he will not be seeing me in my gown until the church wedding, so that makes it more stressful for me to find my gown alone. Thank god for girlfriends though!!

dreamdoll. tailor is in eunos area. i am seeing her next thursday after work.

dreamdoll

amoeba,

hows ur WG search going though? If u need help, lemme know!

Hmm wld like to meet w the tailor, but i can't make thurs...have u set an appt already?

dreamdoll

amoeba,

hows ur WG search going though? If u need help, lemme know!

Hmm wld like to meet w the tailor, but i can't make thurs...have u set an appt already?

kitty_li

amoeba, yes, it can be stressful to go search for WG on your own, but it's also quite a nice, romantic thought...that ur FH only gets to see you in your WG during ur wedding. That would be like a surprise for him, right?

Oh, Eunos area ah...far manz. I dunno if I can make it on Thurs. So far seems ok, but work...it's hard to tell.

trina_wys

hello gals,

wah wah wah.. so many post!! took me 10 mins to read them all!!

eh.. now i also dunno where to start..

i'm also looking for flower gals dresses!! i need 2.. but my budget is $50 for a dress only so guess i got to go to OG or tom & step to look for it..

but i dun think i need them so early right? I'm afraid that they'll grow somemore coz my AD in Nov only.. how are gals? what is a good time to bring my flower gals to get their dresses?