Catholic Brides

redpinkroses

Hey evie... I don't think they know about the prayer couple thing. Maybe don't give so much away on the programme

june_goh

wow this is getting so interesting... next weekend is pretty soon!

just to let you guys know that i'm actually not converted to Catholic yet.. it's my FH who is one, I'm a Methodist, attended RCIA a while back.

moarie

Hi evie,
my FH and i also asked to be prayer couples for the coming EE session also
June, Petrina, Carpediem, Dreamdoll & Garcia, u may recive our letter too
all the best ya

roses,
ya ya.. cannot reveal liao! haha
have u called vincent yet???

moarie

Hi chummy,
a comfortable number of altar boys would be 2 lor..
and the red packet can range from $8 to $10.. wat some of my friends who got married did was, they just gave like a red pack for them to share lor.. even if there are 4 of them, they gave $40 or something.. basically per person about $10 lor.. depending on finances..

redpinkroses

Hi moarie, yes I called him already. Meeting him tomorrow. He said he usually shoots weddings for friends, but since you recommended he can't turn me down. He must your really loyal friend!

pinkbunny

i'm not having a church wedding (long story) but i spent many years singing in a choir at holy fam so i thought i'd just join this thread for fun
so nice to envision so many of you walking down the aisle

regarding EE, because we couldn't spare the physical time to 'give back' to the community, we found another way. for those of you who are keen to do the same, maybe can PM me? i'd rather not post it, for the benefit of those who haven't attended

lissa

Hey, I was asked to be prayer couple for Feb weekend too.

Anyway, just wanna check if any catholic brides are getting married on 11 Mar 06 and looking for pianist. Reason is i've already reserved Philip Lye from many months back, but now have problem cos my choir is insistent they need to rehearse with the pianist and Philip wun come for rehearsals. So now i might have to cancel my booking with Philip and use the choir's organist instead. Feel a bit bad leh so thinking of helping him find replacement for that same day.

Anyone else know of other bride's who have faced the same problem and needed to cancel with Philip at the last minute?

Lissa

trina_wys

hi june,

nopes leh.. no more letter after the email that was sent sometime back..

hi evie and mgt,

wow!! prayer couples? this sounds really interesting.. hmm.. i wonder if we would all know one aother when we are at EE or not coz i dunno all ur real names.. hehe..

but i'm easy to locate lah.. petrina's my real name so its a dead giveaway unless there's 2 petrinas there.. haha..

annelise

I guess Angie is cheaper cos' it's just a normal cake and not a fruit cake - it may be a good thing too cos' the traditional fruit cake may not suit the local taste.

Petrina, I've seen some US online stores selling cardboard cupcake trees for arranging the cupcakes in. It's quite cheap - about USD4 or so and cupcakes are very easy to make and fun to ice - if any of your good friends or aunts can bake reasonably well, you may wanna consider DIYing?

It's so fun that some of you will be meeting up at EE :)

mrs_n

Well, since there are so many of you going for the EE weekend on 17-19Feb, how about everybody on this thread regardless of whether they are prayering couples or not offer up prayers for the people going on this weekend? It'll be nice if everyone was united in prayer and ask for God's blessings on the participants. If it were me, I think I would be happy to know that so many out there were prayering for me.

moarie

Hi roses,
hehee
i think i have to know ur name liao! haha..in case he asks me hor.. then i got something to say lah
hehehe
okie.. Vincent looks a little messy lah.. he's got some shoulder length hair.. kept mainly for business lah.. he's pro.. so dun have to worry
hahah.. I prefer guys with short hair lah..that's why i think he's messy
anyway, the point is.. dun judge him by his looks...
hahaha.. he's cool and good...
oh ya, how much is he offering you???

Hi pink bunny,
are u an active youth?? haha.. i just cantored for my best friend in Holy FAm on 7th Jan

Petrina,
my EE was the 343rd EE session
hehe.. so if u were there, then i would have definately seen u lah

Chummy,
yup.. 343rd EE.. I think it was prob July or August last year
yup.. it was Fr. Joachim Chang...

redpinkroses

Hey Moarie, thanks, I'll keep an open mind. You PM okay? You didn't allow PM. Oh, actually he wanted to email me his rates, but I told him it's okay, just tell me when we meet tomorrow. I'm spending too long looking for a videographer, so I want to speed up the whole process. Ultimately I find, the most important thing is the rapport I have with a wedding service provider. I'll definitely make a decision by Friday. Then I can really sit back and relax...

kitty_li

Hi mgt,

You cantored for your friend's wedding on 7th Jan at Holy Fam?? A couple of my good friends got married at Holy Fam that same day too!! Same couple?? Is it C & A?? hehs....

Wah, cool leh...if it's the same 2 friends...

redpinkroses

Moarie, PM is private message. If you were to click on say, my userid, you would have the option to send me a private message, that will be sent to my email address.

moarie

CSI,
if u have C&A's mass booklet, u would see my name also! hehehe...
me name inside leh...
aiyoh.. so scary leh.. hahaha...now u make me excited to find out who u are! hhahhah

sorry this is something out of topic but I need to find out the procedures to get my new house blessed by a priest. Anyone can enlighted? Just approach our parish priest? What needs to be prepared and do u all give ang pao to the Father?

hope someone can enlighten and sorry for posting this matter over here

trina_wys

hi mgt,

eh.. no lah.. i mean i'll be a participant for the 17th - 19th Feb EE.. and if u're going to be a praying couple there.. then u'll definitely know who i am during the camp..

i'm so excited to be going for EE.. hopefully can get to see u gals there..

annelise

Hi sunnyday

No worries about posting your questions on this thread, we're all here to help :)

Yes, you just have to approach your parish priest to arrange for the day and timing. If you already have an altar in your house, there's nothing else you need to prepare. An ang pao would be a nice gesture of thanks.

trina_wys

hi simon,

wow!! the cake is so interesting!! it actually looks more like a christmas tree.. hehe..

where did u get this from? singapore? can u give me their contacts so that i can get a quote?

the apple green theme looks really good.. but will it be too light for SVDP's pews? coz its a much lighter shade of brown..

thanks for ur help once again..

trina_wys

hi June, Carpediem & Dreamdoll,

i received a call from a lady called christina just now to confirm that i'll be attending EE next weekend.. did u all get the call too?

moarie

Hi simon,
ur cake looks so cute.. i dun think i would bare to touch it let alone eat it!!! hahah
super cute leh... very exciting cake also...

Apple green theme is nice.. unique.. apart from the usual baby bluie,pink, champange colours lor..

annelise

Hi sunnyday

Sorry, I'm not sure what is the usual amount that pple give. My house was blessed by a priest whom I know very well and he came all the way from Bukit Batok to my place in the East - so my hb gave him $50.

redpinkroses

Has anyone gone for Natural Family Planning lessons? How long do the lessons take and could you please share your thoughts on the program with me please.

redpinkroses

Hi CSI Fan,

Have you engaged a florist for St Teresa's yet? I haven't looked around yet. Did you ever meet up with the church recommended florist? I haven't and was wondering if her floral arrangements are nice.

moarie

CSI, does ur name start with the letter 'L'???
was asking A about it.. and she mentioned that it was so co-incidental...
heheh...

peichee

Hi CSI Fan & Dreamdoll,

We've booked St Theresa for our wedding service too. It's a lovely church. Btw, who is your priest?

My AD on 27 Jan 2007. Kinda lost now cos FH and me not sure what others preparations needed for church wedding. Appreciate if you gals can share with us the programme sequence on the AD in the church itself.

dreamdoll

Hi Petrina,

Hmm don't think I got a call for the EE! Wow, this thread is sure moving quite fast...

Hi Peichee,

Our priest is Fr Arro...I'm quite lost about the church programme myself, only thing I'm thinking of at the moment is the flowers...
Anyone who can help?

kitty_li

hi mgt,

sorry for late response. I just got back from biz trip in HK...so no time to drop by here. Yah yah!!! I know who u ah...(coz saw u sing mah...hahaha).
yap, my name starts with 'L'...heehee...
this is so eerie...but it's quite fun too!
I got to know C&A from NTU...

kitty_li

hi peichee,

We haven't confirmed the priest yet. We've tentatively booked Fr. Arro (and he's very nice, says it's ok if we want another priest). wah, urs is in 2007 and u preparing for that already. Mine is in Nov06, and i'm not doing anything abt the programme yet. Mine would be a wedding mass, not a service...

Hi Dreamdoll,
yap, me too. me only thinking abt the flowers...coz the altar is actually quite a big area to do up...hehs. plus the no. of pews given the long aisle...

moarie

hi CSI...
it shoes that C&A knows their friends well..
I just asked who like CSI among their friends.. they gave me a few names, then i mentioned getting married in St Teresa..
and then ur name can out!!! ahahaa
hehe.. where are u having ur dinner???

peichee

CSI & Dremdoll,

Try this florist:-
1) Green Point Flower
2) Fiore Dorate

Fiore might be too ex, but lots of ppl commented that their deco is unique.

lipstar

lovebug: The mass booklet cover at Tecman costs 20 cents each. We bought 100 from them.

pinkbunny: Hello! Nice to see you here!

kitty_li

Hi mgt,

yah...C&A sure do know their frens well...

my dinner would be at Marriott. Where's urs? How's ur prep coming along? Your AD is a few months away (and a few mths before mine)...will prob need ur advice manz...hehs.
I haven't even found my WG yet. no time ah...so busy. Only managed to buy my shoes (when I dun have a WG yet...hahaha) and kua. Also haven't found PG and VG...headache ah...

Hi Peichee,
thanks for the info. will check them out. Will you be using either one?

ahjo77

Hi Everyone

I am back from the EE weekend ....I would say its a enriching programe and great time being spend there ..

for those who going to attend the cming weekend ..enjoy urselves