Catholic Brides

mist28

I am planning to hold my wedding at Church of the Holy Spirit chapel. Anyone knows what is the cost of using the chapel for the wedding. There will be no rental of canteen for lunch reception. just purely the chapel use. Thanks.

trina_wys

hi mgt,

yupz.. u're right about it being expensive.. i'll just be taking the $300 package without the roses and lilies.. and then buy roses wholesale and DIY the pews.. hehe..

hi ahjo,

oic.. so funny.. coz i wanted to go for the 10 - 12 one but felt it was too close to CNY so we postponed it to 17 - 19 instead..

hi missy,

i was actually planning to give $100 to the priest.. but now.. after seeing how much u gave.. i think i can cut down on my budget.. coz i'm also very tight with my budget.. haiz.. getting married sure is a lot of $$..

moarie

hi Petrina,
the really good thing about SVDP is the canteen is super nice..with the lightings and the stage and the everything.. super classy.. how much did u have to pay for the church premesis and the canteen??

hi Minssy,
hehehe...i think the amount to give priest will come out only when it gets nearer to date..
super budget leh...
hehehe

Hi sharon,
not sure about the rental though.. called HS already???

Hi Viv,
how much did u print ur wedding booklets for at Tdragon ???? and how many ah??? i am thinking of about 200plus booklets of about 20pages each...

lovebug

Hi mgt,

I see... so you're the couple who made the special request =) So sorry, we can't have the timing change, as the schedule is pretty tight on us, hope you understand. =)

Cheers! hope you're enjoying your wedding prep =)

lovebug

Ladies, I need help to get the lyrics and music score for this hymn, "In His Time". Any kind soul out there has this hymn to share with me? I'm using this hymn during the thanksgiving.

lissa

Hi lovebug,

I'm using 'In His Time' for my thanksgiving hymn too!

If you still need the lyrics leave your e-mail here and i'll send it to you.

Lissa

trina_wys

hi mgt,

the church rental and canteen is at $150 an hour.. so my mass and lunch will be 3 hours.. hence $450.. but my mum was saying that we just need to pay for the canteen timing and not the church.. dunno whether she heard wrongly or i heard wrongly.. hopefully the church rental is free.. otherwise its quite ex leh..

hi petrina,

hahhahahh! $88 & $100 is not much of a big diff lah :p

sometimes i think back.. i can spend abt $800+ on topping up of the photos so what is extra amt of ang baos? keke....

hi mgt,

well well, set aside the budget first... its always good to set aside a higher amt first so that you will be able to have extra cash for whatever stuff... so when time gets nearer and you have to cut some budget, at least you have more space to work around

jacquise

Seems that most pple opt for EE... Hmmm...
Im going for MPC in Feb...Anyone?

Today we sang THESE IS NONE LIKE U in mass and bf said want to use that as thanksgiving song during wedding mass. *Faint* We can choose any songs we like rite?

kitty_li

Hi Jacquise,

I'll be going for MPC in Feb too!
(Yah, we wanted "double dosage". Did EE last yr liao. hahaha). Hmmm....see you...

ahjo77

wah seems like a lot of BTB going for EE on 17-19 Feb hor ...hmm if not due to FH committment mi would be joining u guys ...but now I will be haivng my EE course on 10-12th Feb ..seems like i am the only one

Ahjo77

kitty_li

Hi AhJo77,

No lah, u're not the only one lah. Just that the other couples attending that EE weekend don't come into this forum at all...not yet perhaps. hehs...

trina_wys

hi missy,

haha.. yah.. i know.. $12 difference only right? but it can be another angpow for the page boy.. hehe.. me so money minded..

hi dreamdoll,

i'll be going for the 17 - 19 EE too..

lovebug

Hi roses & lissa,

Thank you so much gals! =)

roses: that's so nice of you to help me search for the webby *hugs*

lissa: that's a very nice hymn yeah! =) what did you choose for your responsorial psalm? I look here look there, there's still none other most suitable than "Loving & forgiving".

hi jacquise,

technically you can choose any songs you like that are appropriate of cos
thats why we need the priest's clearance...

annelise

Hi Petrina

Thanks for the pics! The church looks very different with the reno done and the canteen looks really nice too!

You mean $450 also doesn't include fresh flowers for the pews?! My mil attended a wedding there last year and the couple splurged $600 on flowers alone! Btw, since you're DIYing your pew flowers, have you come across foam pew clips in S'pore? I've seen them being sold on the Net in the US - if you find them in S'pore do let me know! It'll be really convenient to use them cos' the pew flowers can then be moved to the reception area after mass to be hung on the canteen pillars too.

So have you decided on whether to get a wedding cake? It'll look gorgeous on the canteen stage!

Remember you said there was another couple who booked the same date as my bil? Well, they've since changed their booking to another date so the good news is that my bil could move up his mass time to 11.30am instead of 12.30pm - the bad news is there may not be another couple to split the cost of the flowers with!

trina_wys

hi missy,

opps.. typo error.. i meant altar boys.. not page boy.. hehe..

hi annelise,

nice right? i'm also so happy with the reno.. very zen feel to the canteen..

from what i know.. the pew flowers are artificial.. that why i want to do my own.. foam pew clips?? is there such a thing? i was actually thinking of just using ribbons to tie.. coz we're not allowed to stick anything to it.. ie.. masking tape or scotch-tape.. it'll spoil the chairs..

then when my wedding is over.. i 'll take the pwe flowers and use it for my dinner at night..hehe.. save cost..

i think i would get a wedding cake.. u're right.. it'll look so good on the stage.. it'll just be like a mini wedding dinner (in this case.. lunch) hehe..

haha.. split the cost of the flowers? eh.. but still need to pay min $300 whether there are 2 weddings or 3 weddings on the day itself leh..
its just that he may have roses and lilies if there are 2 weddings.. thats all.. can't really split the costings..

dreamdoll

Hi Petrina,

hehe, so I'll prob see you there at EE on 17 Feb
Was so last minute! Bf's going to be posted overseas and we're in a mad rush!

We're having our service at St Theresa's...anyone else holding theirs there?

Anyone with good florists to recommend too?

annelise

Hi Petrina

Wah....looks like there's no such thing as economies of scale, eh?! This is a pic of a foam pew clip:

346082.jpg

Just have to soak it in water for 20 mins before arranging the flowers. I doubt it's available locally though and it's too expensive to buy from US - US$13.50 for half a dozen (excl. shipping!)

How many rows of pews are you going to decorate? So what does the basic package include? Only altar and rostrum flowers?! Any wedding arch/ flower girl basket/ reception table flowers? What about the canteen area? Does Fr Mike allow us to engage our own pte florist?

trina_wys

oh.. so thats how the clip looks like!! hehe.. i haven't seen it around before..

for me.. its going to be alternate pews ends for flowers and another alternate just ribons.. thats how i'll save on the flowers i guess..

$300 includes 2 large flower deco at the beginning of the walk way.. as well as the flowers infront of all the saints statues.. its quite comprehensive.. think if get outside ppl to do.. it might cost more.. oh.. and wedding arches are not allowed in SVDP..

Fr Mike does allow us to engage our own florist.. but got to let the church know in advance.. and if we do engage our own florist.. the flowers cannot be taken away after the mass.. it has to be kept there.. otherwise for sunday mass.. they'll have no flowers.. thats one of the rules..

fleur1

Hi Petrina,

Hope that you have enlisted help for your floral deco, otherwise it can be quite stressful for you the day before your wedding and on your wedding day.

moarie

Woah..
hi ladies..
suddenly this thread's moving super fast..
hehe..

lovebug,
heehehe..preparations started already.. taken my wedding pics already.. EE gone for it last yr..
heeh.. when we went to book CTK, the secretary said already boooked.. FH and I were like "oh NO" haha..called HS, Nativity,SVDP, SFX, all booked liao! haha..thank God, still got St Annes.. my MIL wanted CTK.. she even asked us to push the time to 7am if need to ah! I almost fainted!!! hahhaa

Pertina,
got to find out properly for the rental leh.. usually u got to pay for both leh.. the church and the canteen... i paid 450 in total for St Annes..
I am also thinking of getting a wedding cake leh..
where are u getting urs? I may get mine at Prima Deli.. got discount leh
hehehe

LAdies,
songs u can choose what u guys like..but must be inline with the mass... i've choosen my already
book is almost done.. hehehe...

trina_wys

hi missy,

eh.. cake ah.. i budget only $300 for the cake for about 120 pax.. however.. i'm actually not planning to serve the cake to the guest but to keep it for myself and FH's and my immediate families.. so if thats the case.. i might just get a 2 tier wedding cake.. hehe.. save even more $$..

but i've recently seen cupcakes used to form a wedding cake and i think that its really a novelty idea.. but i've got to check on how much it'll cost.. did u have a real wedding cake too missy?

if i'm not wrong.. u sent us a list of all the cake listings right?

hi mgt,

wah! how come u got discount at prima deli? hehe.. so lucky.. i duno where i'm getting mine yet.. still got time to look around..

yah.. i better find out more about the rental.. coz i also suspect that the church is not free.. hehe.. *keeping fingers crossed*

hi annelise,

eh.. no lah.. its the questions that we've got to ask when booking the church mah.. then from there can plan out the budget and logistics..

hi fleur,

my aunt will be the main incharge for the pew flowers but what we plan to do is to take the measurements of the pew stands and then do the flowers and ribbons in advance like 2 days.. then on the day before the AD.. while the church florist are doing up their flowers.. we'll just go down and 'hang' it onto the pews..

moarie

hi petrina,
i got a friend who franchise a few prima deli lor.. i did speak to her already.. so if i want a wedding cake in chuch, will definately go to her lor.. i think she mention 5 to 10% discount lor.. good enough for me..
hehe..

kitty_li

Hi dreamdoll,

I'll be having my wedding mass at St. Teresa. When's ur AD? Hmmm...when it's over, can share ur pictures for the service pls? Hehs...want to see how the floral decorations would look in that church.

hey, have u left ur details here before? don't see it on the table...

hi petrina,

a.. sorry to say but from what i know, $300 may not be enough to get a decent wedding cake
but well if its for immediate families then i guess its bearable..

also, you must be tactful enough if you only wanna serve the cake to immediate families cos if you cut in church in the presence of everyone, some pple may expect to eat it... ya know.. consideration factors.. anyway, you got a long way.. get some quotes first lah

mine list is more for GDL but some have wedding cakes too

dreamdoll

Hi CSI Fan,

Oh my AD's sometime in the third quarter of the year...still waiting to finalise it! But sure, no prob will share my pics...

Here are my details if you gals wanna update the list!

Nick-Dreamdoll
AD-Third quarter 2006
Church-St Theresa's
Time-3pm
Service or Mass-Service
MPC or EE-EE
Month of MPC or EE-17 Feb to 19 Feb
Caterer-No reception
Florist-TBC
Printer-TBC

annelise

Hi Petrina

Have you seen the wedding cakes at Angie The Choice? I saw it on the website and called them to make enquiries this morning.

It's a 3-tier fresh cream cake and price starts from $338 (for a 20-25-30 cm cake with basic filling like vanilla sponge). She said it serves about 60 people - but I guess smaller portions can be served so that it'll be enough to go around. Delivery is free and they need min. 4 days advance booking.

redpinkroses

Hi, I know this isn't the right thread to ask... but can anyone recommend me their VG? Someone reliable and easy to get along with. Preferably familiar with Catholic Mass. It's strange... but at least 3 VG I called had poor follow-up and don't get back to me on pricing/meeting.

PS. Minssy, I got the sample from Raymond already. Good follow-up from him
Still considering.

hi roses,

hahahha! ok to ask what.. catholics brides also need to have VG ah

hhhhmmm, who's your PG? maybe can ask him to recommend....

chummy

Do we need to have altar boys for the wedding mass?

Also, any recommendation where to print mass booklet?

Thanks thanks

chummy

Hi Annelise..
$338 very reasonable leh.. I checked with Cheryl (??) n Pine Garden and they quote me almost $500 for 100 ppl.

kitty_li

Hi Purplecat (and any one else thinking of having ur service/mass at St. Teresa),

Just thought should clarify / let you gals know...I just found out from St. Teresa's that they no longer refund the $100 deposit. The charges for church is $200 flat. Think it's w.e.f Feb 06...

But we can still use our own florist.

moarie

Hi roses,
my friend runs VMC, his company.. can go view his website.. http://www.vmcmedia.com.sg/ he charges rather reasonably since he does commerical also..
he's doing mine..whole day... plus he's catholic..he knows the highlights of the mass too... another PG is Paul Goh.. catholic.. we're good friends...
paul goh does pro photography.. www.paulgohphotography.com. Yup, there're good..that's why i asking them to be my officials for the whole day

chummy,
ya...altar boys must have.. at least 1..

moarie

roses,
paul goh, vincent chan(VMC) all catholic..
u can check out their websites lor.. and say that i recommended u.. hopefully can get better prices
and hopefully more things lor..
Moarie is my name and pronounced as MO-RI.... yup..
they're good.. really... hehehe.. really nice pple too..
seems like i'm doing business for them leh.

PaulGoh:9028-2504
Vincent: 6-1000-862

trina_wys

hi mgt,

oh.. no wonder u got a discount.. hehe.. good for u!!!

hi missy,

i have to agree that $300 is ont really enough for a wedding cake.. so i'll have to see nearer my date whether i've got the budget for it or not.. if i do have the budget.. then maybe can get the cupcakes.. that way.. easier to serve for the wedding lunch also.. dun need someone to cut it..

hi dreamdoll,

we'll be going for the same EE.. as for ur details.. i'll update them tmr okie.. very tired today coz i just got home.. need to do some school work then zzz..

hi annelise,

hmm.. i've not seen angie's the choice cakes just.. but i quite like pine garden's cakes.. nice nice.. and i think the pricing is cheaper than cheryl shuen's too.. but cheryl's cakes are really lovely!!!

kitty_li

Hi Purplecat,

Yap, now it's a $200 donation for the use of the church (wah, sounds so nice. hahaha...). Maybe you give them a call and check? We called earlier to make enquiries abt other stuff and that's what we were told. Previously, when I booked it, it was $100 donation and $100 refundable deposit for church. But for FH and I, it was never our intention to take back the deposit, coz we wanted to give it to the church - afterall, it's FH's parish...so I guess, we're not so "affected" by the change. hahaha...

june_goh

Hi Petrina and dreamdoll,

Did you guys get any latest confirmation letter from EE? I'm also attending it next weekend but no news from them except for an 'confirmation email' about a month ago. Is it the same situation with you all? Worried that they forgot about my application haha!

hi petrina,

if you really want it, set the budget for it first... thats what a budget is all abt mah.. so say, 2 mths before AD and you are tighter with your funds, then you scrap the idea?

garcia

Hi June,

We also received the confirmation email from EE (Francis & Mary) for next weekend's EE, together with instructions for the weekend and map.

If you have also received the email, then I am sure you have been registered as well, so nothing to worry about.

So far, looks like June, Petrina, Carpediem & Dreamdoll are all set for EE next weekend. Should be good since we all know each other from this thread.

Btw, I am the FH of dreamdoll=)She's my girl!

See all of you next weekend!

evd

Hi June, Petrina, Carpediem, Dreamdoll & Garcia, good luck with your EE next weekend. My FH and I are just being asked to be the prayer couple for that weekend....hehheee...so who knows one of you may get our letter :))))